Hewn out of natural rock in 1821 under commission of Captain Carl Pfyffer von Altishofen, the (20 feet/6 meters high and 33 feet/10 meters long) Lion Monument commemorates the Swiss Guards who lost their lives guarding the Tuileries castle in Paris during the French Revolution. The lion’s paws rest on Fleur-de-Lis while a broken spear juts from his back, and an inscription that reads, “To the loyalty and bravery of the Swiss.”
Travelers may explore Lion Monument during a half-day, full-day, private or group, walking and boating tours incorporating a lake cruise and a visit to popular attractions like Chapel Bridge, Swiss Transport Museum, and the Rosengart Collection. More extensive tours tag on a journey to Vitznau to ride the cog train up Mt. Rigi for spectacular Alpine views, or to ascend to the lofty summit of Mt. Titlis for an exhilarating ride on the Ice Flyer chairlift.