Airlie Beach

Camira Sailing Adventure through Whitsunday Islands

Airlie Beach, Australia

From USD 156.29

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Free cancellation before 18 March.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the Whitsunday Islands on a sailing day trip from Port. You can swim in the turquoise water, soak up the salty sea air as you zoom across the water by high-speed catamaran and be wowed by the islands’ most famous natural sight, Whitehaven Beach. Lunch, snacks and refreshments are included throughout the day.
  • The thrill of high-speed sailing through the famous Whitsunday Islands
  • Morning and afternoon tea
  • An all-you-can-eat barbecue lunch
  • Snorkeling the Inner Reef
  • Guided walk to Hill Inlet and Lookout

What's Included

  • Beverages
  • Afternoon tea
  • Guided walk to Hill Inlet and Lookout
  • Live commentary on board
  • Round-trip cruise
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

08:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Your full day Whitsundays day trip starts at the Port of Airlie as you hop aboard Camira - a high-speed purple commercial catamaran. Take off to sail through the azure blue waters to explore one of Australia’s most idyllic destinations. 

Enjoy a guided walk following the path and history of the Whitsunday traditional owners, the Ngaro people, which will lead you to the picture perfect view of the Hill Inlet lookout. Learn about the history, flora and stories from the informative displays along the way for an insight into this picturesque area. 

Cruise around the Whitsunday Islands National Park and enjoy your snorkel stop in the Inner Reef. When the boat is in motion, relax on the deck and admire the scenery that makes the Whitsundays so renowned—lush islands surrounded by aqua water and swirling sands. Your fun and well informed crew, with years of experience will ensure you have a memorable day. 

Your sailing adventure ends with a return to Port of Airlie.

Cruise Whitsundays

Checkin ready fro your day out on Camira

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Hill Inlet

Take a short hike to this lookout and take a snap of the most iconic place in the Whitsundays! Your guide will be on hand with information on how this special place came to be and to help take holiday snaps!

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Boat is licensed to serve alcohol from 10am (or after snorkelling)
  • Bathroom available on the vessel
  • Bring Swimsuit and towel. Protective clothing, hat and sunscreen lotion, credit card for optional purchases
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 72 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
289 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 289 reviews
The landscape and the...
Richard_O, Feb 2023
The landscape and the crewmen. All of them were great. Captain was great weather not so much but ok great day overall
Excellent camira boat trip
caroline_m, Jan 2023
Fantastic boat trip, would highly recommend. Friendly staff that will help with anything, lots of great food and drink ( soft drink,wine,beer and cider) all day. Staff really look out for you, would highly recommend.
What an amazing trip.. superb hospitality too!
Paul_K, Dec 2022
I would highly recommend booking the Whitsundays trip with Camira!!! Snorkelling off the reef in the afternoon was the highlight for me.. plus you can have a few beers after 😉
Wery well organised tour
Lise_N, Dec 2022
We had a great day and the tour was very well organised. Good food and drinks included. I would, have preferred half an hour more at Whitehaven and less time sailing back to Airlie.
An unforgettable day
Sheila_L, Dec 2022
The service that the crew provided was outstanding. Always available, always on hand. Helpful and cheerful and fun! The snorkeling was a highlight - just an amazing spot with lots to see and also with the knowledge and security of knowing that the crew were out there keeping an eye on us all the time. Walk up to the hill lookout with helpful commentary, amazing food all day plentiful drinks and great music and vibes on the trip home made this one of the best days ever! Thanks to all
Fun day with incredible views
moirajparker, Oct 2022
The view from the lookout over the beach was just stunning and photos do not do it justice. Enjoyed the snorkelling and food was fabulous.
Sensational experience sailing the Whitsundays
Christine_C, Oct 2022
Great sailing on a catamaran with sails up on the open sea. Visiting Whitehaven Beach was very memorable and loved the opportunity of swimming. Buffet luncheon catered for everyone and the chicken and salads were a highlight. Great day out indeed
Despite the weather and...
Sala_S, Apr 2022
Despite the weather and unable to snorkel, the cruise was exceptional! Food was tasty and plentiful and the unlimited drinks really seals the deal. The little guided tour they provided on the island was great!
Hubert_P, Mar 2022
Absolutely amazing experience ! Weather was perfect & staff was fantastic ! Would definitely recommend ! 10/10
Amazing adventure
Rob_E, Mar 2022
Amazing day out ..Camira has been the highlight of my holiday.. was fun .. exciting .. relaxing day Great pace of activities.. genuine sailing under wind feels magnificent.. the food and hospitality of world class standard.. all staff switched on to make this a special day.. best adventure of my life.. really .. truly Have booked again before I go home
A must
Christopher_G, Feb 2022
Best cruise ship ever, great staff and a memorable experience. Would recommend to anyone whi wishes to vidit Witsundays
Awful and terrible.
Hannah_S, Feb 2022
It was pouring rain with 28 knot winds, not a day to go out safely but this company doesn’t worry about safety it’s all about money. I asked if we could reschedule a day earlier as this was not the ideal situation for a 10hour tour. I was told too bad too sad really and couldn’t even just change my dates to get a bright day where we all felt safe on the boat. They were rude and awful through the whole process. I only booked it two days prior so I could cancel because I have to do it 48hours prior. I obviously couldn’t as I booked it within 48hours of travel. I would never go on this boat or book this trip ever again. I would absolutely not recommend this company to anyone. It was one way to throw away $850 in 5 minutes.
Great Day
Ronan_R, Feb 2022
Great trip - lots of food, drinks & stop offs, the crew were great. Highly recommend for anyone looking to explore.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Ronan, Thank you for your great review, glad you had a great day!
Letter to the big boss!
Megan_S, Jan 2022
Jan 4th 2022.. Unfortunately our (dream trip that we came up to Airlie beach for) Whitehaven catamaran trip on the Camira was cancelled. (Staffing issues) Our family (group booking of 10) We were notified whilst waiting in a very long queue of disgruntled people (outside the sail Whitsunday office at around 7:00am by phone. I spoke with Ashley. Just an hour prior to sail.. hardly any staff around to ask questions… coffee shop closed due to no staffing. Again, very crowded and disgruntled customers waiting… Due to our “large booking” we were offered to hop on board the cruise to the reef which we accepted “on the spot” but now looking back I feel I was left with no other options…. I was not offered a $refund by Ashley (I spent over $2000) as an alternative if we didn’t choose to go to the reef. Unfortunately we were very disappointed as the boat was overcrowded and not staffed adequately. We definitely felt we were an “add on” This was evident as our family were unable to snorkel together as they had run out of equipment. There were many other patrons too that were very disappointed and challenging staff… Wait period was more than 30 minutes and then they shut down the snorkeling due to too many rescues from strong currents and not enough patrol staff. Wait period was more than an hour. People were sitting on the floor of the boat as they were not allowed to go inside the boat with their stinger suit on even though they hadn’t been in water yet… This was further complicated by a staff member who sustained a severe cut to his foot from the boat propeller whist in the water. He was heard screaming, carried back to the boat by 4 other staff members which was very distressing (a lot of blood)… A lot of people on the boat were traumatised in this event including my daughter who was meant to be returning the next day on a reef overnight stay with her partner. Our family were seated in a u shape lounge near the captains wheel. Our window view could all see this poor young staff member (Cory) lying there on the floor in severe pain the entire time we were there. Staff obviously preoccupied with him therefore again, more understaffed on board for patrons… We wondered why he was not helicoptered back to mainland, yet we watched a family including x2 children under 5 yrs old with no life jackets being escorted to the helicopters. Morning tea ran out of food on one deck so we moved to another deck yet again to wait in another long line. My daughter who is no longer feeling safe to travel to the reef again has foregone her overnight stay on the reef…. We also witnessed no signs of sanitisation during linen change if the bedding or tables/chairs for the next lot of patrons moving in for the overnight stay on the reef. For these number of reasons, our family were very disappointed in our experience and the money spent was not worthy. My daughter Amy Scott has foregone her overnight stay 5thJan 2022(the day I write this)as she no longer feels safe.. she has lost alot of money. We are very upset as she is not being offered a refund and we feel no one should go somewhere if they are not made to feel safe.
Great day out.
Mark_B, Dec 2021
Snorkeling,food,drinks and very well informed staff.Free coffee and cold drinks all day and amazing food.
Very relaxing
Geoffrey_A, Dec 2021
Very friendly staff and a very relaxing trip The weather was good to us which helped We’ll fed and plenty of refreshments
Great day out
Glenn_S, Dec 2021
Chilling on the boat with ice cold beers and a fantastic bbq lunch .. Whitehaven is a must see . Snorkelling very average
Fantastic day well worth it
anne_r, Nov 2021
Fantastic crew I will be back Best day in the Whitsunday islands Food was delicious And free drinks The sailing was amazing Whitehaven was atunning
Must do
David_B, Aug 2021
Despite an overcast day, sailing around the islands was great. The island stop over was wonderful. Views from the lookout were great and Whitehaven beach was spectacular. The staff were also very good.
Camira. Magnificent & Friendly
David_W, Aug 2021
The Camira boat & its crew were exceptional, extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this cruise to anyone.