Recent Searches
Clear

Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

star-4.585 reviews
|
Antigua, Guatemala
Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Pacaya Volcano is one of the most active—and most popular—in all of Guatemala. Stationed some 8,000 feet (2,500 meters) above sea level, this destination is an ideal spot for travelers who want an easy hike, epic views, and some memorable stories. This tour allows you the comfort and ease of pre-arranged transportation to ensure you get the most out of your hike.
  • Transportation to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua
  • See one of Guatemala's most active volcanoes
  • Hike to the top with a professional local guide
  • Take in the views from the top of the volcano
Saved to wishlist!
Trail Guide in both languages Spanish-English (Basic English)
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Collective transportation Antigua-Volcano-Antigua
Entrance fee Q100.00 per person
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Horse ride (Q100.00 one way/ Q200.00 round trip)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

- We can pick up in any centrally located Antigua Hotels, Air BnB and family homestays. - We DON'T pick up in the villages around like hotels or Air BnB in Santa Ana, San Bartolomé Becerra, Ciudad Vieja, San Juan del Obisto, Santa Inés or Santo Domingo del Cerro. - You are purchasing a collective service, this means several people will join the tour. This means that the van will experience some delays caused by travellers that are not ready in time, or gave a wrong address. Please be Patient. - Please sen us your hotel name or home address to confirm the reservation.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Take note that Rainy Season is from May to October, more chance of rain in the afternoons
  • The hike it runs even if it's raining.
  • Wear hiking boots with good traction and toe protection, pants, jacket (rain coat and waterproof clothing in rainy season)
  • Only cash of quetzals is accepted to pay the admission fee
  • If you want to rent a horse, bring cash of quetzals
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Voyageur Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time." See review
  • "The trip was well organized and a great value !Definetily worthy doing if you are up for a hike!If you are in fair shape without knee issues you should be fine" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
85 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
star-5
Tough hike but great view and wonderful Experixance
Lewis_J
, Jun. 2022
Such an exhilarating trip up the mountain, in my first ever hike I managed to climb the 2.5 km mountain (1.5 miles) no problem. There will be horses available to get up top if you need a little push.
star-5
Very accomodating!
ELIZABETH_G
, May 2022
Such a great intro to Guatemala! I booked this tour thinking I'd hike it, but then injured my knee a month ago, but luckily horseback was an option! A little hike at the end, but the hiking stick helped. Great guide, great horse guide and altogether great adventure!
2 travellers found this review helpful
star-5
Great hike, guides and overall experience!
Erika_K
, May 2022
This was a wonderful experience. The guides were helpful, encouraging during the hike and knowledgable about the recent activity of the Volcano. We went on a cloudy afternoon but the weather cleared up just enough when we got to the top to get some great photos! Feeling the heat from the ground and roasting marshmallows at the top was such a wild experience. The hike was just challenging enough for someone who is active, but not necessarily in shape (me), and made for a nice workout. There are horses available, as well.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Cloudy Sunset Hike
Lindsay_D
, May 2022
Manageable hike, in loose dirt. Can buy a stick from kids for Q10. Not much information was provided, just a guide leading the way up the trail. Unfortunately it was cloudy, would have been nice to see the views.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Great experience!
Zeetia_M
, May 2022
Shuttle was on time to pick me up. You can rent a horse to go hike or a hiking stick. I got both but barely used my horse. This was a great experience, I enjoyed roasting marshmallows. My tour guide was friendly and accommodating! (As an extra) Pizza made from heat of volcano is available for purchase at end of tour, pizza was great and experience was a vibe (pizza very pricey tho). I wish the hike went higher up the volcano we stopped at the Lava store and I was expecting to keep hiking. Overall great experience and I would recommend.
star-4
Hot Rock Marshmallows and Perro Caliente!
Cliff_O
, Apr. 2022
Good visit to the volcano despite the weather! Tour bus was about 30 minutes late departing. But guides were friendly. They offer walking sticks or horses throughout the hike. I rode horseback on “Chulo” up and back which was worth it. The horses are thin but in good shape and appear well cared for with horseshoes. The guide, Jose, walked the horse the whole way so no solo riding. We were also escorted by several friendly dogs. The pyroclastic flow (as of this review) is from March 2021. There is an opportunity to walk out on the rocks and roast marshmallows at some of the vents. We were escorted by one dog who seemed to enjoy the warm rocks, I dubbed him “Perro Caliente”. Amazing to see and very well worth the trek! Wear good shoes and be prepared for cloudy wet weather. The guides have ponchos if it rains. No food is really available so bring snacks and water.
star-4
Nice and interesting climb to the Pacaya
Karina_Z
, Apr. 2022
It was nice and easy to climb volcano. The begining looks hard, but possible to make. I didnt like that there were horses coming very close to the group of people (intended to catch the first one that think cannot make it). It is in total 2,5h climbing, looking and goinf down if you bring your own food. On top is difficult to sit, hard lava is everywhere and there are not a lot of smooth places to sit. You have the possibility to feel the heat comig out from the volcano in some places (there are some holes made on the lava), but it is not so bad, my soils were not melted at least. There is also a pizza place (they cook pizza with the heat coming from the Pacaya) and also a lava store. The guides were nice but they knew quite few about easy questions as "why the colors of the lava?, "how high we were" and so on. But they brought marshmallows and it was interesting to be there. Specially for childrens I wouild highl recemmend it.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Definitely worth it
Evan_G
, Mar. 2022
Guide was awesome and trip was beautiful. I wouldn’t say the hike is hard but know your personal fitness level. It gets steep at some points and isn’t a cake walk. The view at the top is breath taking and roasting marshmallows was fun.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Thank you Evan for your great review on the tour!
star-5
Hard Hike
Daniela_B
, Mar. 2022
I had a great Friday morning doing this hike. It is somewhat difficult but worth it for the views and company.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Great!! Happy to read you did well!!
star-2
Bad Tour
Sabrina_S
, Feb. 2022
The driving to the Vulcano was good, but the guid was not good. he walk so fast and we are have to walk alone up to the vulcano. He didn't like to talk with as and he just want to finished the tour so quickli as possibel. and the way down he wan't that we take the shorter dangeres way. We had much fun with the other people but de guid was not good. I dont recomand this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Hi Sabrina, we are sorry to hear your bad experience. In our description of the tour, we do specify that our guide is a treck guide, they don´t speak english. But we will address this concern to him.
star-5
Great hike with awesome views
Heather_L
, Feb. 2022
This was a fairly tough hike up but we’ll worth it for the views. Also a unique experience to walk on lava rocks. I would 100% do it again.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
We are happy to hear that you had a great time!!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Great day trip
Amy_C
, Feb. 2022
A large international group. Very enthusiastic guides with good English. Hike was harder than expected but I resisted taking a “taxi” (horse).
star-5
Great Experience!!! - Highly recommend!
Elena_B
, Jan. 2022
It is a great experience! Amazing hike! The volcano is Beautiful. The guide are very helpful and knowledgeable. - Highly recommend!
star-5
Sweet Guatemalan Experience
bdeeharte88
, Jan. 2022
Punctual pickup from hotel. The drive was short to the volcano where we were greeted by our local guide. He clearly explained how our tour would go and what to expect. He spoke good English and also Spanish. Our group was young so we climbed rather quickly but the guide offered rest breaks when needed and filled us in with interesting info about the region. Unfortunately it was a cloudy evening so we didn't get a good view of the sunset but it was still a very enjoyable evening. If you need you can buy a hiking stick from the kids at the start of the hike or hire a horse. Pack layers! Will be chilly at the top but you get very sweaty climbing up.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-2
Tour was NOT in English, Underwhelming experience overall
Rachel_C
, Jan. 2022
The tour was NOT in English. Repeat, do not go on this tour if you need English instruction. Luckily, I was able to translate for my friend. Having read the reviews about negotiating for the horses, we came fully prepared to walk up the mountain or ask for a low price. I started negotiating after we got off the bus, but I was put told that the horse was included (not true) and put on anyway. The ride up was easy and nice. After the horse ride, we still had to walk about 15 minutes on steep rocks. Once at the top, there was a flag on a pile of rocks and a man selling "Volcano Pizza" cooked in the Volcano vents- for approximately $50 USD for the pie. We received marshmallows also cooked over the vents. We were allowed to stay for maybe 15 minutes after a 1 hour and 20-minute ride up. No views or lava flows to be seen, but that was probably due to the weather. At the bottom, I was told I had to pay for the horse after being told it was included by the guide. The ride on the bus wasn't bad and was quick by most standards. My recommendation- skip Pacaya altogether and do Acetanango instead.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Hi Rachel, we are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We have noticed, that somehow, our information on the description of the tour is not well seen. Our description does make the distinction on to what we offer as far as a "guide". We specifically describe our tour package, to have a trail guide, and a non bilingual trail guide. Regarding the horse, i think it was a misunderstanding and a difficulty due to the language barrier. I hope you still enjoy our beautiful country.
star-5
Fantastic Experience
Yasmin_L
, Nov. 2021
This was such a great experience! We were picked up on time, and the bus was comfortable. Our guide Lilian was amazing! I definitely need to do more cardio, and she was encouraging, eventhough I was slow, and stopped to give us information about the volcanoes in the area (and a second to catch my breath!). I would highly recommend this tour!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Best tour!
Dajhane_G
, Aug. 2021
Would highly recommend this tour! About a hour hike up and down and a hour ride from Antigua there and back. Tour guide Catalina and bus driver were really nice! I had a good time. I rode a horse her name was princess! I would do it all over again. Had to pay extra Q50 to hike and Q100 to ride the horse one way.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Thank you very much for your comment. We love to know that our clients enjoy the tour!
star-4
Good half day trip
Marvin
, Mar. 2020
Got up early to get this early morning experience but it did take 2 hours to get there. Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time. The hike was pretty easy and it was a really gorgeous view at the top. Got some nice marshmallows and guide was great. The ride back was also long but fantastic as we got to see Fuego Volcano and it was lively active! Overall I would say good.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Great View, Challenging Hike
Jennifer_D
, Mar. 2020
If you are not an avid hiker I would plan on taking a horse up the volcano. We ended up buying horses not that far in and enjoyed the rest of the trip. View from the top was amazing and we saw lots of lava flowing and spewing from Pecaya. Also I would recommend you bring a flashlight if you are doing the tour at night and something to cover your face with while you walk down. The path is very dusty in dry season and it was hard to avoid breathing it in.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
I lava’d it!
Kelly_Z
, Feb. 2020
Transport picked us up on time outside of our hotel. The ride to Pacaya Volcano was smooth. The guides were informative and kind. And the views of the volcano incredible! Make sure to take some snacks, water, and warm layers as it gets chilly at the top. Suggestion for tour operators: Perhaps it would be easier to set up a central pick up location? It seemed we went in circles in central Antigua to pick everyone up.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations