Auckland Explorer: Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Auckland, New Zealand

From USD 30.86

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 day (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


See Auckland’s major sights and attractions with a hop-on hop-off city bus tour. Perfect for first-time visitors to Auckland, it’s a great way to explore the city. Complete with English audio commentary, the bus tour takes about an hour to complete. Enjoy the flexibility of a 1-day or 2-day pass, and hop off at key points, such as Parnell Village, Auckland Museum or the Sky Tower, at your leisure.
  • Create your own sightseeing itinerary
  • Stay on the bus for the loop or hop off to visit Auckland attractions
  • Listen to informative commentary on board
  • Bus ticket valid for one or two days

What's Included

  • Hop-on hop-off tour
  • Informative commentary
  • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Start time

12:00 am

Ticket redemption points

  • 23 Customs Street East, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Hobson Street & Victoria Street West, Hobson St & Victoria St W, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • What To Expect

    Start your Auckland hop-on hop-off bus tour at Downtown Auckland. You can create your own sightseeing itinerary with a flexible ticket, valid for one or two days. Listen to interesting audio commentary during the entire loop. Buses depart regularly throughout the day on a seasonal schedule.

    If you’d like, hop on and off throughout the day to explore Auckland on your own or visit top attractions. Discover New Zealand history at the Auckland Museum, meet King and Gentoo penguins at Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium, and soak up the city skyline from the Sky Tower, to name a few.
    Red Tour

    9 Stops

    6 Points of Interest

    Duration: 1 day

    Operating Schedule: The first bus departs at 9:00 am and the last bus departs at 4.00 pm - departing every 30min

    23 Customs Street East

    SkyCity Auckland

    Auckland Art Gallery

    359 Broadway

    Auckland Museum

    Holy Trinity Cathedral

    279 Parnell Road

    Hapimana Street

    23 Tamaki Drive

    Points of interest passed by on this route

    Sky Tower

    Auckland Museum

    Hauraki Gulf

    Holy Trinity Cathedral

    Bastion Point

    Princes Wharf

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • A child fares apply for ages 5 to 14 years (children aged 0-4 travel free
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travellers can participate

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more

    Traveller Tips

    With only one day in port, the Hop On Hop Off Bus is the only way to maximise what you see in a limited time.
    Bus stops easily visible with a regular timetable for you to pick up where you left off.


    730 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 730 reviews
    Hop On hop Off Bus
    Peggy_M, May 2023
    The Hop On Hop off bus service was a good way to see the highlights of the city. It could be enhanced by putting the exact location of the starting point on the information when you purchase your ticket.
    Good for Short Time
    rickandchris, Apr 2023
    Nice way to see some of Auckland in a short amount of time at a reasonable cost. Buses came fairly frequently. It was a bit of a challenge to find the pick up stop, but then easy. Buses were comfortable and did not need to use earphones.
    Auckland peekaboo
    Joanne_L, Apr 2023
    It was a good way to see the highlights of the city in a short time. There did not seem to be alot of stops compared to our experience in other cities however it was nice. I liked the fact you could here the narrative in the bus without earphones.
    Only way to see Auckland
    john, Apr 2023
    The narrations were very informative and Rebecca was wonderful. Busses were clean and so comfortable.
    A great day
    Glenda_P, Apr 2023
    Museum Church Parnell A wonderful way to view the city. Good commentary. Comfy seats.. buses on time. Weather was pretty good
    Hop on Hop off Auckland
    Richard_F, Apr 2023
    This worked out better than we were expecting. It was a little difficult at first to find where to checkin and redeem our vouchers, once we did get our tickets we were ready to travel. Got right on a bus and off we went through the city. It was narrated and some great sites. We decided to get off at the Auckland museum, so glad we did. 3 floors of exibits ranging from history of NZ participation in World wars 1 and 2. Maori exibits from there first first landing to present. Great dinosaur exibit. Continued on to some great harbor scenery. Buses were on time. No issues.
    Good way to see the city
    Edward_M, Apr 2023
    Julie from Quebec was extremely helpful and very informative. She knew the best things to do and how much time to allocate for various venues.
    Cynthia_F, Apr 2023
    Great overview of the city & friendly staff. Found our way to Mission Bay for some beautiful beach time & great food.
    Good City Sightseeing Bus
    Sandi_H, Mar 2023
    Nice option for touring Auckland and spending time at several of the highlighted stops. Would be nice if they added an app that would show you where the buses are located at all times on the route so that you know when to be at the bus stops.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora Sandi, thank you for taking the time to review our Hop on Hop off bus. Glad to hear you enjoyed the trip.
    Go at your leisure
    Heather_G, Mar 2023
    Jumped off cruise. Ticket staff across street at port. Exchanged online voucher and given directions for a short walk to stop 1. Very helpful and efficient staff. Have don this before so this time was a circle tour to enjoy the sights. Excellent buses and commentary with no headphones which I loved as cannot wear headphones due to hearing aides.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Hi Heather, thanks for your feedback and glad you had a great day out with us. Regards MIke
    The tour went to great...
    Marg_W, Mar 2023
    The tour went to great spots but the commentary made ridiculous generalisations and was hard to hear. I still think it was worthwhile tour but we recommend a revamp of the commentary.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora Marg, Thank you for your review and feedback regarding the commentary, always great to hear from our customers directly. Regards Mike
    Auckland in a day
    Timothy_C, Mar 2023
    Great way to get a flavor of Auckland. Make sure you get off and visit the museum. Plan on spending st least two hours.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Good morning! Thank your for taking time to leave us your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed it:)
    No reduction in price when two stops could not be included.
    Carol_H, Mar 2023
    The sound system on the bus was terrible - loud and crackly inside. Two stops were unattainable due to the recent cyclone/heavy rains (Feb 2023) but I was not offered a deduction. I booked online for a 48 hour ticket, (after the roads were damaged), which was unnecessary as two stops weren't included. 24 hour ticket would have been sufficient. Too much money for too little product.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hop on Hop off tour. It's unfortunate that during your visit we had road closures to the floods and cyclones. The two stops had to be removed as one sustained flooding and were closed and the access to these stops had slips preventing access for all traffic.
    Efficient way to see Auckland
    Rodney_S, Mar 2023
    The stories and prompt times for pickup and drop off!! Please let me out of this review. I have no more to say
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora Rodney, Thank you for taking the time to review our tour! Regards Mike
    Very convenient and a...
    Michael_A, Mar 2023
    Very convenient and a great way to explore Auckland when you’re on a cruise and only have 1 day to see what’s around. Highly recommended
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Hi Michael! We appreciate your time to post your review. We are glad the service was worth for you :)
    A lovely way to explore Auckland
    Jennifer_H, Mar 2023
    The views of the city were fantastic, but the museum was a highlight for me. I recommend spending a couple of hours there. The Holy Trinity Cathedral and associated St Mary’s Church were also lovely.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora Jennifer! We are happy that our service helped you to explore the city:)
    Unfriendly CSR/ Fun@HOHOT
    carolyn_m, Mar 2023
    I hope the middle aged lady ( by the pier) would be more friendly than sounded irritated bec we're asking where we can pick up the ticket since we bought it on line. Had a hard time understanding bec she's in a hurry even though there is no customer aside from us. She should have just told us " pls go at the 1st bus stop, 2 blocks from here corner near the stop light,there's an employee there to help you for on line tickets" instead of saying " there's a desk there accross the street".guess what? across the street is a huge plaza and no desk for hop on hop off. Luckily we have common sense to go to the 1st stop instead. She needs to retire or get re-train. Anyway,we still enjoy our trip and have fun!
    Total disappointment
    Bipasha_C, Mar 2023
    It was a total rip-off. They overcharged for the tickets and did not visit the places advertised on the flyer.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora, Thank you for your review, unfortunately, your trip with us could not access two out of the nine stops due to road closures to all traffic following Cyclone Gabrielle.
    Hop on hop off Auckland
    William_K, Mar 2023
    The two main attractions that we booked the trips for were not available and we were not told of this until we arrived to get on the bus. The drivers were good and gave descriptions of the high lights along the route.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Kia Ora William, we are glad you enjoyed the rest of your trip, it's unfortunate that two stops we not available due to road closures from Cyclone Gabreille.
    Good way to get a view of the city
    Maddison_K, Mar 2023
    I used the hop-on hop-off tour to get my bearings for the city of Auckland. It was a great low-energy way to see an overview of everything. I did the full loop early in the day so that I could go back and visit some of my favourite stops later in the afternoon.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Good morning! We appreciate your time posting the review and happy you made the most of our service :)

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    Auckland Explorer: Hop-on Hop-off Tour


    1 day
    Free Cancellation
    USD 30.86
    No Photo
    Auckland Self Guided Audio Tour


    1 hour 45 minutes
    Free Cancellation
    USD 15.29
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Auckland Small-Group Walking Tour with Treats


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 61.10