Belize City

Private Altun Ha Ruins with Rum factory & Belize sign from Belize City

Belize City, Belize
Belize Mayan Ruin Altun Ha

From USD 110.50

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Tour Altun Ha, the ruins of an ancient Mayan city, with a local guide. After some souvenir shopping and lunch, make a pit stop at the Belize sign, a colorful art display against an ocean backdrop. The day wraps up with a tasting and tour at a local rum factory.
  • Tour the Altun Ha ruins
  • Sample local rum
  • Small groups—maximum of 15 people
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Bottled water
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Gratuities (recommended)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

08:30 am

Pickup details

Incase you don’t see your hotel, guest house, air bnb or other, please state this during your booking or contact us by email

What To Expect

Altun Ha

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

The Belize Sign Monument

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Travellers Liquors - Belize

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
Our tour guide was Percy Lewis. He did a great job in explaining the history of Belize and the Altun Ha ruins. Everything went smoothly from the pick up at the cruise terminal to our return there. Wonderful experience!


40 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews
Makes you want to return!!
walter_w, Sept 2023
The history of the Mayan way of life. The artifacts, the murals, the structures!! It was truly an amazing experience!! Going to the rum distillery, along with the history the country. Words cannot discribe it!! Ask for Percy!! You cannot go wrong!!
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Thank you for your honesty and for being such great guest. We’d love to have you back again sometime soon.
yvette_z, July 2023
My trip was canceled without notifying me. No communication . Can never get hold of anyone in the company.
Response from Host, July 2023
The thing about bad reviews is that most of them come from a biased place. Your trip was canceled days before your trip and you were notified the reason for this before canceling. You were even given another option so that we would have been able to make your tour possible, however after we didn’t receive any responses from you we were forced to cancel. Furthermore, we remain focused on providing the best possible services to our guests and we will continue to do so.
The tour that never happened!!!
Andrea_N, Dec 2022
The tour that never happened!! Total miss on Viator’s end. The Viator rep was inadequate at his job and should not be helping clients book tour. He put on the wrong pickup information and the operator of the tour never responded to my calls or messages. They won’t give me a refund for their error but I will be fighting this for sure! DONT BOOK WITH THEM!!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Good day Andrea, I as the owner of the company, I would like to apologize for the miscommunication. Your pick-up location for this tour was in Belize City however on the morning of your tour, we were called from your agent saying that you were waiting at a new location approximately 80 miles from Belize City. I stated to him that we had already been waiting for you at the original location. Also I have already requested your full refund the same day your tour was to go and it usually take 3 business days to return.
Good tour
Daniel_E, July 2022
Good tour. Our guide seemed to know his stuff about the ruins. Picked us up on time, communicated well, and didn't rush us. A great time!
Response from Host, July 2022
Thanks for reviewing us! Best regards
Old, beaten up vehicles but great tour guide
Markus_K, Feb 2022
Our guide Dennis was very knowledgeable, helpful and did a great job. The thing that let this tour down was the vehicle used to transport us. It was incredibly old and beaten up. It was also dirty and we didn’t feel completely safe. The seats were all ripped. The gear shift was actually broken off. The car had lots of dents and clearly was very old. The Viator assurances of clean dis-infected vehicles was absolutely not the case here. We also found the rum factory quite disappointing. It was very small and the stop mainly consisted of us being offered rum to buy. Overall I would not recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hello Marcus, this will be the first time that I will not thank a guest for leaving a review. I will respect and accept any review that is thruthful and honest however, I will never respect liars. The van that your group of 4 was taken in, was a Honda Odyssey 2014 with clean leather interior and only 80,000 miles so how could this vehicle possibly be "old and beat up" as you clearly exaggerated. There were no dents on the van, the only issue was that plastic for the gearshift was damaged and this is by no means acceptable for you to write an atrocious highly exaggerated review like this. Ifyour review was even close to being thruthful, there would have been other guest saying the same remarks about our vehicles. We clean and sanitize our vehicles daily so for you to say that we are going against TripAdvisor policy is highly defamatory! Clean, highly maintained vehicles are used for our tour each and every single time someone books with us and our records show that. I would like to apologize to future guest that are interested in doing this tour on behalf of our entire hardworking staff and even for you as well Markus. This is a poor attempt at sabotage and this review has already been reported because you stated that you would have done so.
Loved the Tour
rhildebrandt811, Nov 2021
Our tour guide was Percy Lewis. He did a great job in explaining the history of Belize and the Altun Ha ruins. Everything went smoothly from the pick up at the cruise terminal to our return there. Wonderful experience!
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Thanks for booking this exciting excursion and for leaving honest reviews. At Royal Belizean Adventures, we believe that each guest is royalty and should be treated as such.
Amazing Guide
H_B, Oct 2021
Our guide Percy went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our tour. He was incredibly knowledgeable and well prepared. He had interesting stories and extensive historical knowledge. We couldn't have had a better guide, Percy is the best.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
As long as you book a tour with Royal Belizean Adventures, you’ll get the best service guaranteed. Thank you for reviewing your experience and we look forward to taking you if you ever return to Belize! ❤️
Fun day in Belieze
Neil_G, Oct 2021
Great tour. Joey picked us up and took great care of us. When you take the tour at the ruins take and use bug spray. There is 1 tree that is infested with mosquitoes. These are the best ruins we have visited so far. Thanks for a great day.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thank you for your review and your reminder about the mosquitoes for other customers.
Awesome tour! We will definitely Repeat!!
PaulAnthony_W, Aug 2021
The best part of our tour was our guide! Joel was EXCELLENT!! His insight and knowledge of the ruins and Belize brought the tour to life!! When back in Belize, we will definitely ask for Joel and Viator!! It started raining, and he was prepared as he provided rain gear, making it possible to continue touring. The gods were smiling on us as the rain was short lived!! Joel gave us a tour of the rum distillery and was able to describe the history and rum making process, and rum running in Belize. He also showed us some of the historical sites in the city, which was an added bonus!!
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Firstly, on behalf of the RBA family, we would like to thank you for visiting Belize and choosing our tour 😃. This your was created with full intentions to put each guest FIRST! Joel is one of our senior guides; his professionalism and knowledge is top tier. We are happy that you enjoyed your touring experience with us and we look forward to taking you with us whenever you return. Thanks again
Altun Ha
Stephen_H, July 2021
Purcey is a friendly, knowledgeable tour guide. He provided information about Belize City and the countryside between the city and the Altun Ha site while on the short drive to the ruins. His guided tour of the ruins provided an overview of the history and main points of the ruins. I really appreciated the self exploration time he allowed so I could explore and take pictures without feeling obligated or pressured to leave sooner than later. It was very hot and Purcey made sure I recieved a large cold water upon exit of the ruins. We were unable to do the rum tour because the factory was sanitizing so we did a tour of downtown Belize City. The city tour was great and I felt safe the entire time. I recommend this tour and Purcey as a tour guide.
Response from Host, July 2021
Thank you for reviewing us. The rum factory is closed on Sunday for COVID sanitizing.
Francoise_S, June 2021
Very personalized and felt welcomed . Love the entire tour. Percy was excellent and explained everything well.
Response from Host, June 2021
Personalized to suit each guest. Thank you very much!
Amazing tour
Lamanda_W, Jan 2020
Percy was our tour guide. We had a private tour and it was amazing. Percy was knowledgeable about his land. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a good experience.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Whenever you book with us, you can expect nothing but the utmost best from our employees and the service we provide. Thanks for choosing the number 1 tour company in Belize! We hope to see you again.
Great Experience!
Jessica H, July 2019
We had a wonderful tour with Percy and Shaquil visiting Al Tun Ha with several personalized stops along the way. Percy was extremely knowledgeable giving us a history of all of the places with drove through and visited. We had a great time and would highly recommend this tour to others!
Response from Host, July 2019
Truly proud moments to receive honest reviews from our grateful customers. Thanks on behalf of our entire staff for traveling to Belize and for using our company to book your tour.
Love this tour
Terriyanna B, July 2019
Percy is very hospitable, knowledgeable and patient. I love the fact that the communication was superb.
Response from Host, July 2019
Thank you for your time and for your helpful review. Our entire team has a minimum of 7 years experience as professional guides in Belize. We also noted that you appreciate the response rate of our company. Our office opens from 7:00 a.m to 5:00p.m however, we respond to our guests 24/7; around the clock. Lastly, we would love to take you out more tours upon your next visit to Belize!
Incredible! Pictures Are Not Enough
Janice C, July 2019
Great tour! Percy L. our tour guide was very knowledgable. He was on time, polite, courteous, and personable. In the Belize City heat, the air conditioned vehicle and cold water he provided was greatly appreciated. Percy answered all our questions on the history of the Mayans and any other questions we had about Belize culture. He patiently allowed us finsh our breakfast in upon pickup and to shop for souveniers at the site. Stopping at the Rum Factory and Belize sign made the experience all much better. I highly recommend a private tour.
Response from Host, July 2019
Thank you for reviewing your tour. Here at Royal Belizean Adventures we provide comfortable, safe and reliable tours that is second to none. Our guides are all professional experts in Belize and can, and will provide you with a memorable experience. Feel free to contact us upon your next trip to beautiful Belize. Thank you for enjoying our service and thanks for visiting Belize!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Private Altun Ha Ruins with Rum factory & Belize sign from Belize City


4 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 110.50
No Photo
Altun Ha, Monkey Sanctuary and Rum Factory Tour from Belize City


4 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 170.00
No Photo
Rain forest Zip Line Adventure & Belize sign & Rum Factory from Belize City


1 day 3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 124.79
No Photo
Historic City and Rum Factory


1 to 2 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 40.00

Explore Similar Things to Do