Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Remembrance Day Tour: Bruges City Tour and the Poppies of Flanders Fields

Brugge, Belgium
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Delve into the poignant history of World War I on a full-day tour of the Flanders Battlefields from Bruges. Follow in the footsteps of soldiers with an accomplished historical guide and visit moving memorials that immortalize soldiers lost in battles. Gaze at endless rows of graves at the German Military Cemetery; revitalize with a traditional Belgian lunch at a local restaurant; and visit Flanders’ Field Museum to see exhibitions that speak eloquently of the area’s turbulent past. Conclude your emotionally stirring tour by experiencing the Last Post Ceremony in Ypres.
  • Day trip to Flanders’ WWI battlefields from Bruges with an expert guide
  • See the sobering Käthe Kollwitz sculptures, Grieving Parents, at the German Military Cemetery of Vladslo
  • Pay your respects to fallen WWI soldiers at Tyne Cot Commonwealth War Graves Cemetery
  • Explore In Flanders’ Field Museum at leisure, listening to audio-guided commentary
  • Attend the Last Post Ceremony in Ypres with your guide

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Professional multilingual guide
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Bargeplein
    Bargeweg, 8000 Brugge, Belgium

    Bargeplein

Start time

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Depart from a central Bruges location in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan and travel towards the traditional town of Vladslo to visit the Germany Military Cemetery, a significant burial site of thousands of soldiers. Admire the poignant sculpture of Grieving Parents, by Käthe Kollwitz, then re-board your coach to venture to the small city of Diksmuide. 

Disembark at the foreboding Trench of Death, a stretch of the Western Front upon which many soldiers met their end. Admire the statue of the 'Brooding Soldier' which commemorates the sacrifice of 2,000 Canadian soldiers during the first German gas attack.

Appease your appetite with a hearty plowman's lunch in a local restaurant in Ypres.

Peruse the varied exhibitions of the Flanders’ Field Museum to observe artifacts that speak eloquently of the battlefield’s history; hear the story of the war on an audio guided tour before ascending Hill 60 to see tunnels that played a pivotal role in the war.

Depart to the city in search of Passchendaele, a brutal battlefield that transformed into a tranquil and traditional town. Then head to the Commonwealth War Graves Cemetery to feel emotionally stirred at the sight of 35,000 solemn headstones. Learn about the global significance of this memorial site then travel to Essex Farm Field Hospital to see the iconic bunkers in which John McCrae wrote his influential poem, 'In Flanders Fields.' 

Finally, venture to your last destination, the moving Last Post Ceremony at Ypres Menin Gate, and observe the simplicity of the daily tribute that remembers the courage of fallen soldiers. After the ceremony, return to your vehicle and relax during the journey back to Bruges, where the tour concludes.

Bruges

Discover Flanders’ most enchanting city with your guide.

3 hours Admission Ticket Free

Minnewater

Your guide will take you to the Minnewater, also called the Lake of Love, a romantic hotspot par excellence! Once people believed that water nymphs (“minnen” in Dutch) lived here, and thus the lake acquired its name.

Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 200 travellers
Operated by Brussels City Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Remembrance Day Tour: Bruges City Tour and the Poppies of Flanders Fields?

A:The policies on sanitisation are:
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Remembrance Day Tour: Bruges City Tour and the Poppies of Flanders Fields?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Remembrance Day Tour: Bruges City Tour and the Poppies of Flanders Fields?

A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Made for a long day but was well worth it.
It would be difficult or almost impossible to do the same on your own.
Tour Organizers could do a better job with precisely where to meet, or even provide a big sign with the tour name on it, but other than that all was great, and fully recommended.
Reviews
4.0
158 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 158 reviews
Very moving day
Melanie_S, Oct 2022
Great tour. Very informative. Very moving at the Menim Gate. The Trench was incredible. You see cemeteries on the side of the road and throughput the journey. Tyne Cote was very moving. Disappointed the Museum was not included however.
Our tour guide Jan was...
Bruce_S, Oct 2022
Our tour guide Jan was excellent, very knowledgeable and very detailed oriented. The tour destination was very powerful and moving. The reason we rate this a 4 is that head sets should have been used. There was so much information but a lot was missed because of the size of the group (18) and not everyone was able to keep up with Jan. It was also raining so umbrellas in the way. No matter the size of the group, head sets should be used so everyone gets all the information - after all, that is why we took this tour!! We have done several tours with Viator in the past, in Europe and in Australia, and all have used headsets ….so we just assumed this would be the same. We would not book future tours unless headsets are used
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear customer, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Brussels City Tours. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. We will take your comments about the headsets into accounts. We hope to see you again in Brussels in one of our tours. Kind regards, Brussels City Tours
The Ypres part was good.
John, Sept 2022
The Ypres part of the tour was worth experiencing. Sadly we were told to meet our bus at 10:30. After waiting an hour we called (a second time) to learn that the Ypres part of th tour started at 1 pm and to meet our bus then. So we wasted a morning and missed a portion of the tour.
Bruges and Flanders Fields for a day
Tasneem_L, Aug 2022
We loved the tour of Brugge in the beginning of the day. Now knowing the history of Bruges, we are better able to understand the struggle that WW1 placed on so many people. The story told by Stefan from Napolean’s time to 1920s was poignant, leads us to think about today and our current situation with geopolitics. The tour is a long day and not for those who want to rest and you get back late. I do wish there was time for dinner.
Get inside Flanders
Nigel_P, July 2022
Bruges tour very insightful. WW1 background talks on bus / at lunch great. Visits to wide range of sites which gave excellent insight into the insanity of it all. Long day but worth every cent.
World war 1 battlefields tour of Flander from Bruges
Gerald S, Oct 2019
A nice day, full of visits. Made for a long day but was well worth it. "Diederik" was our guide for the day and very well spoken English and very good explanations.
Ypres and Flanders All Day Tour
James C, Oct 2019
Excellent historical and informational trip, Our guide was extremely personable and had great local knowledge. Tour Organizers could do a better job with precisely where to meet, or even provide a big sign with the tour name on it, but other than that all was great, and fully recommended.
Excellent, but a long day.
Jim B, Sept 2019
Our guide was outstanding, as was the overall experience. However, my fiancé and I found it to be to long. The tour organizers need to eliminate one or two stops.
Tour of Flanders Fields
Njoyhall, Aug 2019
Very informative Tour Guide, and places we visited were very interesting. Attending the Last Post ceremony at the Menes Gate was a great way to end the day. We joined the tour at Bruge, we were told to be there for departure at 10.15 and the bus didn’t arrive till 10.40pm. Accurate information what type of bus, name, and the time of pickup would have alleviated our anxiety as from Bruge it is not evident were to meet the tour in a sea of buses and we had to contact the office when it had not arrived on time.
Flanders Battlefields Tour
John_J, July 2019
It was a great tour and brought home the horror of the WW1 Flanders battlefields. The tragic loss of so many young people on both sides of the conflict was explained. When you see something like this, it makes you wonder how this could have happened, yet some 20 years later it was being repeated. The German cementery, with the statues of the grieving parents, the Tyncot cemetery , and the last post at Menin Gate were an experience not to be forgotten.
Absolutely fascinating and informative tour that covers all the important sites
Elisa_G, July 2019
My teenage son and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour . Our guide Johann provided excellent in depth historical background, context and an endless array of facts, points of interest and lively commentary between and at each of the sites. The tour itself felt very thorough and complete, with so many fascinating stops including battle sites, trenches, German and allied cemeteries, Ypres and the emotional Last Post ceremony (get there early for a good view!) Johann kept it all very authentic and contextual , deftly brought the sites to life and has an amazing breadth of knowledge. We learned so much and highly recommend this tour to anyone interested not just in WW1 but also the historical events that led up to it.
Great guide
Emily_W, July 2019
We really enjoyed our day tour of Flanders and Ypres. Our guide was very helpful and informative. A word of warning - the majority of the day was spent driving from site to site. Having done a similar tour 10+ years ago it's a shame there wasn't an opportunity to visit any of the trenches (that you drive past en route). We both felt this would have been more insightful in place of one of the 3 cemeteries that were visited.
Wonderful
Tony_M, June 2019
Very interesting tour , great guide . Would highly recommend this tour to everyone. So many sad stories
Very interesting
Tony_M, June 2019
Enjoyed this very much . Very good tour guide . So much to see, my only criticism would be that we didn’t have enough time in yepres to discover the town .
Great tour of WW1 Battlefields
Suzanne_A, June 2019
The bus was on time to pick us up from Bruges. The guide Jan (John) was very informative and helpful. He accommodated everyone on the tour. The driver was amazing as the roads are very narrow and in a lot places were undergoing roadworks. Would definitely recommend
Bus never showed up
Jet55312646907, June 2019
We were at the pick up point in Bruges 20 minutes before the scheduled pick up time. We met another couple who were also supposed to be on the same tour. The four of us checked all of the buses coming into the parking area, none of them were for the operator, Brussels City Tours. Eventually we called and were told the bus had already left, knowing they were missing four people. Either they never actually came to Bruges (tour originates in Brussels), or there was a huge lack of care in not being able to locate the four North American tourists trying to find their tour. The company said they would provide us a full refund, but that hasn't happened yet.
World War 1 Battlefield Tour
Wayne_G, June 2019
Excellent tour. Great driver and very well informed and interesting guide. More than we expected. Visited hill 60 site that was not on the original tour - this makes the company extra special with this kind of service.
Good tour, bad weather, some quirks
Bill_J, May 2019
First let me say the weather was cold and rainy so that may bias my review a bit. The tour left from Brussels, but we were picked up in Bruges. The pickup experience was quite poor - we were told when to be there and that a bus would come. But what bus to look for - no. A guide holding a sign for the tour - no. Four of us were huddled in the rain in plain view looking for someone/anyone. About the time the guide found us was about the same time the tour company called frantically looking for us. OK, anyway we finally got on the bus and off we went. The tour itself was a pretty good overview - there are so many things to see and I think the tour did a good job of hitting the hilites. Lunch was nothing to brag about, and there was a lot of stops. Luckily we had a pretty spry load of people so the loading/unloading was efficient. The guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot. Overall I'm glad I took the tour. It would be difficult or almost impossible to do the same on your own.
Good but needed more time
Linda_E, May 2019
Great tour. Our guide Dietrich was very knowledgeable. My only criticism is that there was not enough time at the museum. Maybe if the bus hadn't been late arriving from Brussels, we would have had more time at the museum.
Outstanding Tour and Guide
Edward_L, May 2019
This extensive tour was very well planned. Our Belgian guide ensured that all members of the tour felt included throughout the day and evening. He is exceptionally knowledgeable; he provided an easy-to-understand and comprehensive commentary; and he answered everyone's questions clearly. He is the best tour guide I've ever encountered. Many thanks.
...