Antwerp and Ghent Day Trip from Brussels With Atomium Photo Stop

Badge of ExcellenceBruxelles, Belgium

From USD 51.73

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore two of Belgium’s most in-demand cities in one day—and leave the planning to someone else—on this seamless tour of Antwerp and Ghent. Depart in the morning from Brussels via coach, and head to Antwerp to discover the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Town Hall, and more. Later, soak up Ghent’s history and see the Castle Of Gerald the Devil, the Ghent Belfry, the Old Fish Market, and more.
  • This tour takes all the hassle out of exploring Antwerp and Ghent
  • Round-trip transit from central Brussels via comfortable coach
  • Discover UNESCO sites, medieval landmarks, and other top attractions
  • Soak up the cities’ history on guided tours, and enjoy free time, too
  • Take a photo in front of the Atomium

What's Included

  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Recommendations and city tips
  • Round-trip with A/C
  • Bussiness discount (chocolateries, restaurants)
  • We keep your suitcases on the bus.
  • Entrance tickets
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Brussel-Centraal
    Carr de l'Europe, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    In the Carrefour de l'Europe square under the columns of the main entrance of the train and metro station, in front of the Hilton Grand Place hotel. Look for our logo in our roll up! Our guides wear a black jacket with the Nice Day Tours logo and also the logo of our main sponsor Air Europa.

Start time

08:30 am

End point

  • Rue du Marquis 1100
    Rue du Marquis 1100, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    End of the tour. Our guide will give our best tips for sightseeing, eating out, and excursions in Brussels. The end point is near Central Station therefore from plublic transport. Is 7 mins walking from Grand Place and near many good restaurants and bars.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • You will receive the confirmation at time of booking
  • Our guides have your best interests in mind; while the tour usually includes the sites & stories mentioned and lasts about 2.5 hours, your tour may vary depending on what your guide thinks is best for your group.
  • No meals are included but your guide will be happy to point you some great food spots :)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
40 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews
Great tour worth doing.
Marion_M, Feb 2023
Well organised tour. Very informative. Good guide made sure and included everyone. Everything went on schedule.
Not recommended. The guides dont care if you loose the group.
DIEGO_M, Dec 2022
The guide forgot me at the church. I had to tour the city alone, she did not even try to look for me when I lost the group. Very irresponsible.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Diego, We deeply regret your bad experience with the Tour. We will take note of his thoughts and try to correct him. Our guides always try to keep the whole group together and recover lost clients, but it is not always possible when there are many groups in the city at the same time. Hoping we can have you in our activities in the future. Greetings.
A coach trip without a coach
katy_l, Dec 2022
The company failed to book a sufficiently large coach for the trip so we ended up using public transport, which completely defeated the purpose of booking a coach trip in the first place. The company have yet to acknowledge my email.requesting a refund. I travel extensively and I have never experienced anything like this previously. This company should be ashamed of itself.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
We are deeply sorry to have had a problem with our bus. But since the trip was finally made by train, we hope that both Antwerp and Ghent seemed beautiful cities to you thanks to the guide.
No bus for the guests !
remymoh9, Dec 2022
After much waiting around and disorganisation we walked towards some buses. The tour company didn’t have enough space on their bus so the Spanish speaking guests took the bus and the English speaking guests were left stranded. The company were very poor with how they handled everything. Thankfully Mark Bellido (a freelance guide) took the initiative and took us to the Atomium, Antwerp and Ghent by train. He is an excellent guide and his knowledge is sublime. We were lucky he managed to save the day. He gets five stars from us. The company however who are called Buendia tours should be better organised and make sure they have enough buses.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
We are deeply sorry to have had a problem with our bus. But since the trip was finally made by train, we hope that both Antwerp and Ghent seemed beautiful cities to you thanks to the guide.
Expected too much but fall short.
Ariel_G, Nov 2022
Expected too much but left short the tour is just quick they didn’t mention that shops are closed cause it’s bank holiday. We only have an hour and a half free time to explore the city but not enough. We didn’t see much of Antwerp mostly all talk about the history of the city it’s kinda good to know the history but not enough to see also the beautiful place and not to mention or they didn’t mention that shops are closed. Not that we’re going to shop a lot but Antwerp is known also for diamonds but didn’t see one to tell my friends. Same experience in Ghent not much to see about the place .
Response from Host, Nov 2022
We are deeply sorry for your bad experience with the Tour. We will take notice of your thougths and we will try to correct it. Our guides are well prepared in the itinerary. Hoping we can have you in our activities in the future. Greetings.
Very enjoyable!
ChongGuan_K, Aug 2022
Alvaro provided detailed information on the historical background of Antwerp and Ghent. He made the trip very interesting and fun! Very enjoyable!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your day with us. We hope to see you again in one of our tours in the future. Kind regards,
A & G
Joselyne_L, Aug 2022
Love to see the cities in Brussels, i could do my own trip but want the added knowledgeable tour guide this with Jarmel, kearning stories and some history if this towns.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
First of all, we highly appreciate you for taking the time to send us your feedback about the trip. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and hope to have you back in our trips around the world. Kind regards from the Buendía Team.
Its a little tired but worth it
Janet_L, July 2022
Jamal is a very good guide. Its a little tiring but its a good tour. I will recommend to our friends.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thanks for giving us your feedback and cheering the team! We hope you to have you back with us in your trips and enjoy with our tours around the world. Kind regards, the Buendía Team
Needs better organisation
Angela_S, July 2022
More than three quarters of the Group on the tour were Spanish and were given head sets so that they could hear the commentary via ear phones. They seemed to be given lots of information on the journeys between the cities on the coach. We were a very small group of English speakers and so had to rely on the guide telling us things face to face. I am a slow walker and so by the time I caught up with everyone I missed a lot. The coach was cramped with no seat belts and there was a nasty moment when it hit something- maybe the kerb. Fortunately only things from the overhead shelf went flying.
Nicole_B, July 2022
Exploring the castle in Ghent and learning all of the history from our guide in the several beautiful churches we saw.
Could have been a great tour if our guide was actually interested
Shelly_G, July 2022
This could have been a great tour but our guide, Jamal, was less than interested in it. To start, this was not advertised as a bilingual tour, yet it was. We have no problems with bilingual tours, we have done plenty in the past. However, on this one we just sat on the bus and listened to the other tour guide giving his guests commentary. Our guide, Jamal, stood up and said he would tell us everything the other guide said at our destination. I’m sure this didn’t happen. Our first real stop, Antwerp, was good. The sights we saw were good and Jamal is very knowledgeable at the sites. Unfortunately as we walked from site to site there was not the normal sightseeing dialogue. We just rushed from one site to the next. Our last stop was in Gent. The sites and churches were very nice. Again, no commentary from Jamal between the sites. Let’s just hurry up and get to the next site. Unless, of course, Jamal runs into a friend and he wants to say hello to him. Once we met up after our free time we had to do an extended walk back to the bus due to street closures. No fault of the company. However, Jamal appeared to be in a race to get back to the bus because our small group of approximately 12 people were stretched out for a couple hundred yards. Jamal had his headphones on, talking on the phone and never looked back to check on the guests who were unable to keep his pace. Once on the bus for our return trip to Brussels, Jamal came around to us and asked what we thought of the trip. When I gave him my disappointment about just sitting on the bus while Carlos was commentating to his group, Jamal said it was for their history, since they were Spanish. I advised I like history, no matter the culture. Jamal asked if I spoke Spanish and I told him no. He basically replied that if I spoke Spanish, I would have gotten the commentary. I also advised I like commentary about the areas we are going through and here I will quote Jamal “Based on my years as a tour guide, I don’t think you would enjoy it”. WHAT???? Now he knows what I like. He just made up excuses for not being engaged with his group. The gentleman behind me told Jamal he didn’t have enough time at the castle and Jamal told him an hour was plenty. It obviously wasn’t enough for this gentleman, or he wouldn’t have mentioned it. Also, Carlos came around on the bus and offered water to his group. Jamal never offered it or even mentioned if we could buy some on the bus as per some previous tours. The “What’s included” on the Viator site advertised discounts for chocolatier shops and restaurants, none were offered to our group.
History with humor
Philip_P, July 2022
Great tour. Good pace even for my age and condition. The tour guide Jamal was great with a good sense of humor. Extensive knowledge of history plus his communication skills makes the tour much better. The transportation bus is comfortable and clean. The driver was good too. Take this tour.
Tracy_C, June 2022
I took a trip with this same company on the previous day and it was excellent. But this day did not go as smoothly. The guide did everything he could to get us through the trip, but it was a bit rough. The bus driver did not seem to know exactly how to maneuver the bus and he did not pick us up after Antwerp. We waited over an hour. We ended up needing to take a train, then a city bus to Ghent. The visitors office was closed by the time we got there and we could not get a map to try to find highlights of the town. Frankly, we were all so exhausted, we sat and ate and drank until it was time to leave. We did end up having a nice time meeting one another! I think that when you travel, you have to be prepared for inconvenience and trouble. Being flexible is good. I know the company did its best, but it did impact my enjoyment of the tour. My 3 stars is based on the fact that, for me, these cities were worth seeing, but the history was presented in a drier fashion and in comparison to the tour I took in Bruges the day prior, it just did not compare. If you have to only choose one tour, I would choose Bruges. If you have more time, these two cities are definitely worth the visit.
Response from Host, July 2022
Hello We are sorry for what happened. In the same way, we appreciate the comments you have left us, to avoid new errors and to be able to improve every day. We hope to see you again soon
Jamal and the tour were great.
Sehaj_B, June 2022
Jamal was a great guide and made the tour a very fun experience. I highly recommend this tour as it helps cover both cities in a day if you're short on time.
Knowledgeable Guide!
Michelle_H, May 2022
Our tour guide, Jamal, took us on a fascinating trip to Antwerp and Ghent. Jamal always made sure everyone was enjoying the tour and he even ensured individual tastes were incorporated. His superior understanding of history and architecture enriched the experience. Jamal also shared important cultural and social norms to help visitors gain a deeper understanding of the region.
Wonderful Day!
Elizabeth F, Jan 2020
Very quick views of Antwerp and Ghent, but perfect for our four day vacation to Brussels as we would not want to spend a day in each city. If your vacation is longer I would recommend spending a day in each city. We loved Ghent and the walking tours of each city.
Antwerp & Ghent
LQblark, Oct 2019
Beautiful and wonderful cities. A must see. The tourist guide was nice and informative. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.
Muy buena
Natalia_G, Sept 2022
Me gustó mucho! Los guías fueron muy atentos y demás. Ambos lugares merecen la pena y el tour está muy completo. Cabe decir que yo agregaría tal vez media hora más de tiempo libre en cada uno, pues tal vez para visitar los lugares estan lejos del punto de encuentro.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
¡Gracias por su comentario positivo y por animar así al equipo! Esperamos que siga contando con nosotros para sus viajes y disfrutando de nuestros tours por todo el mundo. Tenemos en cuenta sus recomendaciones para poder mejorar de cara al futuro. Saludos Cordiales, Equipo Buendía.
Muy recomendable
Carlos_Y, Apr 2022
Excelente experiencia, muy bien hecho el tour, el equipo de guias y conductor, muy atentos, los que viajamos y que eramos hispano parlantes, recibimos muy buenas indicaciones de Sebastian, muy claro y preciso, se agradece
Melanie_L, Jan 2020
Alles gut, hat alles geklappt, netter Guide, viele Infos und die Städte sind ganz nett. Die Tour war allerding sehr Kirchenlastig.