Day Trip to Chichen Itza and Valladolid from Cancun with Cenote Swim and Lunch

Cancún, Mexico

From USD 79.90

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore spectacular Chichen Itza on this full-day tour of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. Stop for a swim in a nearby cenote before a certified guide leads you through the ancient capital of the Maya Empire, considered the most important archaeological zone of the Yucatán. Visit the ball court, El Castillo (the Castle), Pyramid of Kukulkan, and Temple of the Warriors. Then, indulge in a buffet lunch of regional dishes. Your Chichen Itza day trip includes round-trip hotel transport from Cancun.
  • Explore the observatory, a sacred cenote, the ball court, and the castle
  • Enjoy a delicious buffet-style lunch
  • Visit the UNESCO World Heritage Site and its fascinating temples
  • Complimentary pickup and drop off from most Cancun hotels

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Cool off at a cenote on the way to Chichen Itza, where you explore with a guide and independently.

What's Included

  • Certified bilingual guide
  • Visit to Colonial Valladolid
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Visit to a sacred cenote (Hacienda Selva Maya)
  • Buffet meal (drinks not included)
  • 2 Water Bottles during the tour.
  • Gratuities
  • State Tax applies Per Access of 400 MXP or its equivalent in 20 USD
  • Life Vest Rent in the Cenote 5 usd per person

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Our trained staff will go to the lobby of your hotel or if you are staying in an Airbnb or private home we will see you at a meeting point.

What To Expect

From your hotel in Cancun, you’re picked up in the morning for the drive to Chichen Itza, considered the most important archaeological zone in the Yucatán.

Start your tour of significant locations at the UNESCO World Heritage Site, including the ball court, el Castillo (the Castle), the Pyramid of Kukulkan and Temple of the Warriors. Learn from your certified guide why the extraordinary architectural beauty and geographical location have led to Chichen Itza's designation as one of the New7Wonders of the World.

Then, stop to explore the natural wonders of a nearby cenote. Play in the deep, aquamarine waters of an underground swimming hole formed from a collapsed limestone cavern.

Head to a local restaurant for a buffet lunch of fresh salads, soups, rice, meat, chicken, fish, vegetables and other regional fare (drinks at own expense). 

Stop in the “magic town” of Valladolid on the way back to Cancun for a brief tour of its town center.

Your Chichen Itza full-day tour ends with return transport to your Cancun hotel.

Chichen Itza

2 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

Cenote Saamal

1 hour Admission Ticket Free


1 hour Admission Ticket Free


20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children ages 3 years and under are free, but their seats are subject to availability. They may have to ride on their parents' laps if seats are not available
  • Comfortable lightweight clothing
  • Good walking shoes or sneakers
  • Hat
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Sunglasses
  • Biodegradable sun block
  • Swimming suit and towel
  • Extra change of clothing
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

A long day, so make sure to bring a bunch of water.
Water was supposed to be included but day of only the "deluxe" package got bottled water so make sure to check!


1,497 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,497 reviews
Remarkable experience
Fernando_P, Sept 2023
I'd like to thank all the people involved. You guys provide an amazing, unforgettable experience. I am so glad to have taken this trip and that I used you to be my tour guide. I had a blast, cannot thank you guys enough for all you have done. May god repay you
Ricardo was a great and...
Reyes_P, Sept 2023
Ricardo was a great and knowledgeable tour guide!!! Definitely recommend him As a guide! He shared his knowledge and was able to keep a group of people engaged thought the whole tour!
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Thank you for sharing your comments, so glad you enjoy the tour and had a great experience
Its not worth it for that Long of a trip wasted in travel time
aaron_f, Aug 2023
Chichen Itza, Cenote and Valladolid trip Chichen Itza is ok but too many vendors inside. I feel that government could do better to make the ground area with less vendors and or organized. The Cenote i think is the best part of this trip but we were rushed. Valladolid was 30 mins stop and it could be longer. This is too long of a trip from when we were picked up, where we were gathered. We first made a stop in a Mayan Village where we had lunch(buffet lunch is terrible). Wish we had more time to enjoy the Cenote and Valladolid. Overall - i think this is Overrated trip and be ready for the upsell on things here and there. I would not recommend and if i am to suggest, look for a private tour and have a better meal somewhere of your choice.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you very much for your review, we are sure this will be useful for us to enhance the points you mention. we are really sorry that you do not like the buffet. We will definitely analyse and take action pretty soon,
PETER_C, July 2023
The day was way too long with hard selling not only at the stops, but on the bus . The bus was sub par, with a non working toilet ( for solid waste), a severely cracked windshield and non working individual light & air controls. Our guide was more interested in selling than in ensuring that we had an enjoyable transportation experience. We had one family (one person in it the worst) who made the trip miserable for the rest of us on the bus, being loud, obnoxious and talking about inappropriate subjects without ever being addressed by the guide. The stay at the cenote was too short, at the lunch location (and hard sell souvenir shop) too long, and the stop in Valladolid unnecessary. Having been a travel agent for over 40 years having been on hundreds of excursions world wide. I would advise this company to address these issues and to rearrange the trip order to go to Chichen Itza first, then go to the Cenote and then lunch and souvenir stop and then return to Cancun. AND STOP SELLING ONBOARD THE BUS. Several people we're not aware that the $25 "Mayan birth certificate" was OPTIONAL. Also, I would include any MANDATORY fees in the up front cost. ( This would also benefit the tour operator as well as any no-shows will have already paid. Those fees and you would not waste time collecting from every passenger.)
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will take this review as a serious opportunity area to enhance the way the drivers make sales of extras on board the bus. As you mention, the purchase is optional, however the way how the guides did is no ethic and we will take measeures
Mayan Adventure!!!
Samuel_L, July 2023
The Chichen IIza was wonderful. The guide Victor was very knowledgeable and funny. He was great with explaining in Spanish and English. He also taught us some Mayan phrases.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We are very happy to learn that your activity was a pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We strive to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guests. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared them with our team.
Francisco and Roberto...
Michael_H, July 2023
Francisco and Roberto were great guides; got to see many different things and they made the long bus ride fun and entertaining.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you! Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.
Great day
Giulia_F, July 2023
Our tour guide, Roberto, was amazing! He was very knowledgeable and he made the experience a marvel. The only little thing was that we didn’t have a lot of time in the Cenote.
Gwenaelle_C, July 2023
Chichen Itzà and the Cenote were awesome but the organization was awful! The shuttle came to pick us up at 6:40am as planned but then, they dropped us off in a mall where we had to wait more than 2h!! Then we took another bus and we picked up more people on the side of the road! The first stop was in a tourist place with stuffs to buy and we had lunch without a drink. It was mandatory to buy a drink. A lot of extra expenses during the day (drinks at the restaurant, life jackets and lockers at the Cenote…) It was very disappointing! Because we waited so long before our departure we had only 1h to spend in the Cenote, a beautiful place where you can easily spend 2h.
Bad organisation
Christophe_T, June 2023
Being picked up at 6.40am and finally departing Cancun 2 hours after is not a great experience at all… poor organisation, for an expensive trip.
Response from Host, July 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience, as this is a shared tour we concentrate all our passengers leaving from Plaza la Isla, this probably takes a while but it is important to us. We will take in consideration the comments on this review.
Extraordinary time, Luis gide and Jesus driver excellent human beings
Magdalena_V, June 2023
The trip on time the explanation on the chicken itza site exelent, my husband and I, enjoyed every moment
Response from Host, July 2023
So glad you had a good time and enjoy the experince, thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share with us.
Incredible tour
Malin_H, June 2023
Beautiful tour, we saw many great things. The guides gave us a very detailed information of the Maya people and their culture, as-well as an informative guided tour at the archeological site.
Response from Host, June 2023
We would like to thank you for choosing our company as your host on your recent tour in our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor
Amazing experience and tour
Amanda_S, May 2023
I thought it was an amazing tour for the time we had. They picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel, which was amazing. 3 hrs drive to go have lunch. Then drove to Chichen Itza. We were partnered with an amazing tour guide Caeser! Learned a lot!! We had 2 hrs there. An hour tour and hour of playtime. They have a lot of vendors. Bring lots pesos with you on this day trip. We then went to the centotes. Was crowed the day we went but still very nice. We only had an hour there which we thought was plenty. Did some jumping into the centote and hang out. Then we went to the Valladolid square. More vendors, amazing food and snacks. Get the street corn!! Great end to the trip before the 3 hr drive back. Bus had AC, seats were comfortable, bus was clean, had a bathroom in the bus, whole crew was amazing. I would recommend this trip to anyone's first time going!!
Trip to remember
Danielle_B, May 2023
Our tour guide was amazing! Pick up and drop offs from hotel were easy and smooth. The lunch stop was fantastic. Definitely a memorable experience.
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience on this activity
Very nice experience. ...
Victoria_S, Apr 2023
Very nice experience. A little confusing when tax and admission are listed as two different things. We spent a great deal of time figuring out that it was actially the same. A bit long stops in the heat. Great memorable day
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you for sharing, we are so glad you enjoyed and had a good time.
Tarachand_V, Apr 2023
Simply awesome. Well arranged. Picked up on time and walked us thru entire history of mayans. Great fun.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
We are very happy that you have been able to fully enjoy our history and the importance of Mayan history, we hope that you have been able to have a wonderful experience on this magical tour.
Entirely Mislead!!!
Tim_G, Mar 2023
The trip was a disaster: in fact, it never happened. They told me to meet the bus for my pick up at the entrance of the Hacienda Isabel at 9:20 AM. I was told verbally over the phone to meet at the entrance of the Hacienda Isabel and not the entrance of the resort I stayed at, which is about 150 yards further in. Fine. By written notification my confirmation email said, "Your pick-up time is scheduled at 9:20 am from the Hacienda Isabel, located at the main entrance of the Bahia Principe Complex. So, I waited at the entrance of the Hacienda Isabel, even 40 minutes early. By 9:18 AM, I walked across the driveway to the guard station and he called the tour. They said the bus was 4 min. away. It never came to the entrance of the resort or the Hacienda Isabel. It parked on the highway and waited, then drove off! Really? The guard called the tour at 9:25, only 5 minutes later, and the driver refused to come back. I pleaded with the tour company and they said he won't do it. $140 down the drain after I followed explicit instructions to the tee. The grouchy lady I spoke with mentioned 4 other "no shows." Gee I wonder why??? I told her in their email confirmation to say, "Meet at the entrance of the resort complex RIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY!!!, not at the entrance of the Hacienda Isabel, which is inside the guard gate of the resort complex. Just leave the "Hacienda Isabel" out of the description. That's an entire other building. It cost me an additional $350 to have a taxi replicate the tour that day. So, grand total was almost $500 US.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Mr. Gnazale, Thank you for sharing your feedback, this helps us a lot to know every visitor’s experience and improve our service. We are sorry for the misunderstanding with your pick-up, we confirmed with a photo attached of the exact meeting point. Our staff tried to reach you several times on your phone with no success. We had more pick-ups scheduled, and this is the reason we could not get back to you. We gave you the option to reschedule free of charge; however, you did not want to. On the other hand, is important to clarify that we have 3 categories for the Chichen-itzá tour and none of them cost US 140 per person. You paid US$ 70 for the classic tour. Kind regards
Too long, but fun
Shalyn_M, Feb 2023
Everything we did was fun but the day was entirely too long. The guides were kind but they asked for money a lot. Pack an umbrella so you don’t have to rent one. We had the premier experience. The included lunch was a bologna sandwich and fruit so I’d avoid that. The drinks were included at the buffet lunch but you’re kind of in a rush to eat. The buffet was decent food, better than I expected. Life jacket rentals are required at the cenotes. And the last stop which is the best dinner option is too short. There’s not enough time to eat. Definitely bring snacks and buy some on the way. We had to arrive at transport at 6:50 am and we didn’t get back home until 10 pm. So the reviews are true it is a LONG day. There’s a lot of waiting and the English translation wasn’t the best, but it was fun. For the price, I’d rather have driven myself to chichen Itza than to have been stuck all day with little food.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback about the guides, we are really glad you enjoyed the experience, yes, as you mention we suggest packing an umbrella, and sun protection Chichen Itza is really Hot, Please recommed us to your friends.
Fun Activities- NO TIME TO DO THEM, and poor communication.
Chris_R, Feb 2023
The tour feels rushed and you don't get much time to actually experience Chichen Itza or the cenote. The first part we wasted a lot of time waiting to get food, and we were pushed in line to get things quickly. About an hour before that is wasted standing around. The town tour is only about 25 min and you are rushed back to the bus. In Chichen Itza you arrive with less than two hours to explore. The tour guide did not communicate what time to be back, and the first hour he had us standing in the rain pushing us to ask him questions. We only got about 50 min to explore independently. The arrival to the cenote gave us about 55 min for everything (changing, waiting in line for a locker key, showering, coming back and doing it all again). We got to swim in ​the cenote for about 15 min before we had to race back to the bus. The tour guide, driver, and rest of staff are very friendly and mostly helpful. What they need in the future is better communication about time for activities, and more honesty up front.
They did not pick me up....
Marcus_S, Feb 2023
They did not pick me up. They left me and I need a refund. They did this to other people that where there waiting like me. They need to refund my money . I think I'm going on social media and let everyone know that they steel money from tourist
Insufferable tour guide explanation
yiroenrique_g, Jan 2023
The Cenote was very nice and the best thing in my opinion. The thing that was most disappointing to me and my family was the tour guide explanation, that felt like a conversation preaching into his pagan beliefs. I recommend you find another tour wherein the guide will be more history base and more accurate.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you very much, your opinion is very important to us, we will convey this to the manager of the guides in order to provide the proper feedback to the guide. we are really ashamed this detail turns the complete tour into a bad experience.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Day Trip to Chichen Itza and Valladolid from Cancun with Cenote Swim and Lunch


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 79.90
No Photo
Chichen Itza Day-Trip, Cenote Swim & Valladolid with lunch


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 49.00
No Photo
Chichen Itza Combo Tour with Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 77.00
No Photo
Deluxe Chichen Itza Ruins, Cenote & Valladolid Day Trip


9 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 109.00

Customers Who Bought This Tour Also Bought

Explore Similar Things to Do