Chichén Itzá, Coba, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch

Badge of ExcellenceTulum, Mexico

From USD 59.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Escape the tourist crowds and explore the atmospheric Coba ruins in peace with early access and gain in-depth knowledge with an expert guide. Then visit Chichén Itzá, one of the Seven Wonders of the World, before enjoying a refreshing swim in a secretive underground cavern. You can do all of this in just one day when you book this exciting tour.
  • Beat the crowds and see Coba ruins in the early morning
  • Visit one the New 7 Wonders of the World—Chichén Itzá
  • Enjoy free time swimming inside a cenote
  • Buffet lunch and round-trip transportation are included

What's Included

  • Round transportation
  • Bilingual guide
  • Lunch
  • Ticket to Cobá
  • Cenote admission ticket
  • Chichen Itzá Ticket
  • Gratuities
  • Drinks
  • lifejacket
  • Taxes (36 USD)

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Please provide the name of your hotel. The picking up at the meeting points will start arround 5am. The exact time will be confirmed the day before the tour.

What To Expect

Enjoy a scenic drive to Coba and upon arrival, greet your professional and certified archeologist guide. Enter the iconic site and marvel at one of the largest pre-Colombian settlements of the Classic period.

Enjoy the early morning tranquility as you wander the ambient ruins of Coba, listening as your guide offers captivating commentary. Absorb information relating to the translation of the site’s Mayan name, which means ‘place of choppy water’ and hear intriguing stories of the ancient civilization that occupied the 43-square-mile (70-square-km) city in the 13th century. Visit large stone monuments decorated with hieroglyphic texts and gain insight into how the city maintained a useful relationship with the rainforest and surrounding lakes.

After admiring the views, visit Chichén Itzá, one of the New 7 Wonders of the World. There your guide will give you all the information needed to get you immersed in the Mayan Culture and the mysteries of this archeological site. Then you’ll have free time to explore it on your own.

The next stop will be at the Cenote Saamal, where you’ll be able to swim and relax right next to its impressive waterfall before tasting a typical Mexican buffet lunch.

To end the trip, enjoy a quick panoramic visit to Valladolid before heading back to your accommodation.

Cancun (Pass By)

One of the meeting point options

Cancun (Pass By)

One of the meeting point options

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • For safety reasons, it is mandatory that you wear a life vest during the visit to the cenote (the cost is not included on the inclusions list)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travellers
Operated by Amigo Tours Mexico

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

There is a rope to help but beware that quite a few of the steps are rather worn and sloping and can be slippery.
It was a long drive from Playa del Carmen but it was totally worth it.
196 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 196 reviews
It was a very informative...
Akira_H, Mar 2023
It was a very informative tour. Our tour guide Daniel and driver Joe made sure we were well informed and taken care of along the way. You will be out for the ENTIRE DAY so wear comfortable clothes and shoes. Also, it’s super hot at Chicen Itza so stay hydrated!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Akira_H, we are thrilled to know everything went smoothly and according to plan with our dear friends Daniel and Joe, hope to hear from you soon! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Great time at Chichen Itza
Amanda_K, Mar 2023
We had a great time on our tour! Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. She was even willing to talk with us on the bus about Mayan culture. We packed a lot of activities in a full day and I would say it’s a good value. I gave it 4/5 bc our lunch ended up being around 2/3pm when it was supposed to be around noon and we were fading fast at Chichen Itza. I would definitely pack some extra snacks and water if you book the excursion.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Amanda Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us! We are sorry that the experience was not satisfactory at all, we will be on the lookout for this issue. Mariana, Amigo tours
Poor tour
Samuel_P, Jan 2023
Unfortunately, chichen went on strike and we couldn't go which altered the tour. Not their fault. However, the tour only allowed for 1 hour in coba and Tulum which really didn't leave time to do anything. The time it took to walk to the location only left you 30 min to explore. Every where we went felt rushed. The tour wasn't informative. Tulum’s guide said two things and sent us on our way.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Samuel_P, we are sorry to know that your experience has not been 5 stars, thank you for sending us your comments, which we will take into consideration for future tours, have a great day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Jenny_V, Nov 2022
great trip the only thing is that you are rushed at the cenotes - need more time please 2 hour to get tickets change and swim is not enough
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Jenny_V, thank you for sharing your review, we are very happy to know you had a nice time with us, and we will take into consideration your feedback, have an excellent day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
The most disorganized tour with false information
Gladys_K, Nov 2022
This tour is so badly described and their communication is even worse. When booking from Tulum, it says in their description that the meeting time is 8:00 and they ask you to provide your hotel info for pickup. So I booked it based on that information because the time and hotel pick-up were the most convenient for me. After booking, I was surprised and angered when they send me a message changing the meeting time to 7:15, and that they don’t do hotel pick-ups. I went back and forth with them about the misleading information they provide to clients but they insisted that they only start at 7:15 and I have to go to a certain meeting point (which would cost me to get there). I then give up and accept their terms so I show up at the agreed meeting point at 7:13ish and I wait and wait and wait. At around 7:30, I was convinced that they must have changed the meeting time to 8:00 (because of the confusing information provided from the beginning) So I decided to wait until 8:00. Important to note that although you leave your phone number for them to contact you on the day of pickup, they don’t. Once you have paid, they don’t care about providing a fair service. Anyway, I end up waiting till 8:15 when I gave up. At that point, I had tried to call them but no one was answering. Long story short, if you want to go to Chichen Iza, please do yourself a favor and avoid this tour at all costs because they only care to get the money and not provide a good service. There are many other trips that I could have chosen so I really regret paying for this and losing my money.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Gladys_K, we are very sorry to know you had a bad experience, we would like to clear out that the tour indeed starts at 8:00 am, that´s the starting time of the activity, and the pick-up is at 7:00 am at the meeting point. Nevertheless, we invite you to email us at to follow up on your case. Ivana, Amigo Tours
Great tour!
Priscilla_C, Nov 2022
I was on a journey to see the 7 wonders and made a stop at Chichen Itza! The tour was great. We were able to learn the history of Mayan descedents and the unique history of Chichen Itza being the largest microphone and calendar in the world. Alvaro - our tour guide was very knowledgable and gave us a unique experience throughout the tour. I highly recommend!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Amig@; Our team will be delighted to receive your comments, it was a pleasure to be at your service! We hope to have the opportunity to see you once again. Mariana, Amigo tours
I had an amazing...
Richard_M, Oct 2022
I had an amazing experience with the tour guide and driver. My gf and I went for her bday. From beginning to end they treated us so nicely. Rubens way of touring is great! He really cares about his tourists ! I would definitely recommend them if you are wanting to explore these places !
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Richard; We love to hear that you and your girlfriend had a great experience! Thank you so much for choosing us to live this adventure. Mariana, Amigo tours
Amazing sites, but unorganized and horrible lunch
Lauren_V, Oct 2022
The sites were amazing but way too crowded. The guide was very difficult to understand, he would randomly switch between English and Spanish and spoke very quickly so I missed a lot of what he spoke about. He also gave us the wrong instructions more than once about where to get things and when to be back at the bus. Some of the sights were large so finding him was nearly impossible because the group didn’t stay together. Also we had to figure out how to pay the taxes at each sight because we weren’t given any directions. There just wasn’t enough communication and it felt very rushed and unorganized. The buffet lunch was horrible, really long lines and the food was so bland and not many options. Then the employees were yelling at us to sit in certain seats.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Lauren_V, we are deeply sorry to know you had a bad experience, we will take into consideration your review to improve, although we would like to point out that the description of the tour that is on the website does explain that the taxes for the sites are not included in the price of the tour, only if you pay for the deluxe one. Have a great day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Good tour that packed...
AS_P, Oct 2022
Good tour that packed both Chichen Itza and Coba into a single package along with a cenote trip - difficult to find other tours that do this very efficiently given the distances involved. Also appreciated the convenient hotel pick-up and drop-off. Our guides - Marcela on the tour bus - and Rodrigo at Chichen Itza - were both very good, provided good information (in both Spanish & English) and relevant background / historical info. Marcela was very accommodating to everyone's needs, great sense of humor too.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear AS_P, we are delighted to know you had an amazing time along with our incredible partners Marce and Rodrigo, we will be looking forward to having you again! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Pleasant Trip
Daniel_C, Aug 2022
Tour guide was really fun and knowledgeable. We loved it. The tour went by very fast so definitely rent the bike at Coba. They don't take card so pay with pesos.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Daniel_C, it was a pleasure to be at your service, we hope to have the chance to see you once again! Mariana, Amigo tours
Not as described
Steven_M, Aug 2022
Disappointing trip, not as described at all. Tour guide Alvaro seemed to have an attitude problem with the tour attendees. On arriving at Coba we were given only 45 mins (instead of the listed 3 hrs), and the guide told us to hire a bike to get across the jungle to get to the main pyramid, otherwise we'd never make it there and back in time. People in our group were walking in extreme heat as fast as they could just to have a couple of mins at the pyramid taking pictures. The guide did not come with us, and did not offer any explanation of Coba until we were back on the bus after, and even then it was brief. The pyramid cannot be climbed, despite the description of the tour saying it could. We were not taken to any underground cave as per the description. Next stop, Chichen Itza. It is described that we would have an explanation and then free time after. We didn't get any free time other than 10 mins when we arrived to take some quick pics. When someone tried to buy (reasonably priced) souveniers, the guide refused to let them and said we must do our shopping at 'Number 1 shop in Yucatan' as the shopping time was accounted for there (despite it NOT being advertised as part of the tour and is not something we wanted to waste our time doing). We had a stop at the shop for 25 mins next to where lunch was, and it was extraordinarily overpriced with staff pressuring to buy. Lunch was mostly inedible, many people left their food and only ate watermelon. After this, it was the Saalmal Cenote. We were given 1 hr 15 mins for this which included another unadvertised activity - a tequila tasting (another way to sell us more stuff - starting around 55 USD a bottle upwards). We went straight into the Cenote instead and enjoyed it. The guide wasn't impressed that we didn't want to be upsold further products. Finally, a measly 20 minute stop at Valladolid where the guide made us go into a shop with 'free toilets' aka another deal with the company to get us to buy souveniers from a given place. Valladolid is a beautiful place, instead of forcing us to spend 25 mins at an unadvertised shop at lunch, the time should be given to Valladolid. The additional charges for the day include: 100 peso Coba tax per person (mandatory), 150 peso for Coba driver driven tricycle or 65 peso per bicycle, (optional - but guide said we wouldn't make it otherwise), 486 Chichen Itza tax per person (mandatory), 50 peso per person life jacket for cenote (mandatory), 50 peso locker for cenote (optional), 55 peso per 355ml soda at lunch (optional, no drinks inc with lunch), 60 peso umbrella at Chichen Itza (optional)
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Amig@ Steven_M We are sorry that this experience was not a 5-star experience for you. The climate of the Riviera Maya is very hot and should be taken into account when visiting this area of the world. In our product, it is indicated that the guide will not be able to enter Coba. Many of the mentioned observations are explained in the product description, and we are sorry for not having been to your liking, we try to make an incredible experience that will take you to know the best tourist sites on your visit. Dulce, Amigo Tours
It was an okey day
petter_o, Aug 2022
The tour arrived late to pick us up from Tulum. An explanation about Mayan civilization, history and culture was missing during the trip, for example we didn’t receive any info about the first stop Cabo site. The guide mostly talked about souvenirs or all those additional costs instead (citytax, bike rentals, umbrella, lockers, lifejackets, drinks during lunch etc). Additional costs will be more than you think at the end of the day, be mentally prepared and don’t forget to bring cash. Overall it was a transportation service rather than a guided tour. But it was an okey day and we enjoyed our time during the visit
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear petter_o, we deeply regret to know this tour did not meet your expectations, we are working hard to offer great experiences to our customers. Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us. Mariana, Amigo tours
Over promised, under delivered
Francisco_M, June 2022
Where should I start... The tour started one hour before the arranged time, and that was only communicated on the night before. Second, we were expecting to be driven directly from Cancun to the tour places, however, the tour made a 3 hour added journey to get added passangers in Tulum. And third, the tour didn't guide us on doing the cave swimming on Koba, which was included in the description. However, the worst part was definitely Daniel, the tour guide. Poor explanations throughout the journey, but the lowest was when we were left alone in the middle of chichen itza explanation because it started to rain a bit. In every stop, even though we were always 5 minutes before the arranged time, the tour guide was always wanting to move (two times, if it was not for us insisting, the van would leave with 2 passangers from other group missing). Also to note, on the lunch place (which was included in the on the price), the waiter was rude to us, demanding for us to pay for the service charge that was already included. If it is not possible to see all the things that the tour promises on the arranged time, don't make such tour available. The places that the tour passes on are definitely pretty and worth a visit, just not in this tour/tour guide.
Response from Host, June 2022
Dear Francisco_M, we are sorry about this situation, we will speak to our tour guide in order to avoid this kind of poor experiences, we will also do whatever is needed to be done to improve the food services. We truly appreciate your comments, please receive our most sincere apologies. Mariana, Amigo tours
Great trip jam packed with history!
Poppy_S, June 2022
We were lucky to have Rodriguez as our guide at Chichén Itzá - fascinating history and excellent tour guide. Beautiful cenote.
Response from Host, June 2022
Dear Amig@ Poppy_S Beautiful was to be at your service. Thank you very much for your trust. See you on your next ad adventure Dulce, Amigo Tours
They did not pick us up
Vanessa, May 2022
They did not pick us up and now don't want to refund us. We have waited for an hour, we even got to know another traveler who also did not get picked up. We tried contacting them which was also very expensive and then they just said our tour is off the driver would have left already. We ended up taking our own trip with an ado bus.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Reviewing your case, I see that your service was indeed marked no show, however we can also confirm that we had other clients leaving from the same hotel as you, and they were able to take the tour. we are very sorry to hear that you were not able to take the tour. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Michael_Y, May 2022
We started early, pick up was at 5:45AM. Good thing we started earlier, so COBA, our 1st stop was light in traffic. Selva Maya cenote was good stop, especially for people who want to swim there. We stopped by Valladolid, for only 20 minutes, that was definitely too short. Mexican lunch was good, abundant food, but drinks extra. Chichenitza is always a favorite, I was fortunatley enough to be there for the 4th time. Guide, Ruben was informative, driver was excellent. Overall, very happy!
Shawna_H, May 2022
We were told to arrive at 7:10am at the pick up spot but the bus was about 20 minutes late. There are a lot of tour pick ups in that area so just be alert. Once we were picked up it was amazing. Our group adhered to all the time policies and our guide Ruben was amazing. He taught us so much. He was also very witty and funny. Chichen-Itza was the most informative part of the tour. Ruben explained every aspect of the site and don't shop until the end because the merchants are packing up and ready to make a deal. The Cenote was beautiful and Coba was best on the bikes with a driver because he provided information the pedestrians didn't get. Overall this trip was amazing and I would do it again. 9/10.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Excellent comment, thank you very much for letting us know your point of view and your experience. It has been a pleasure to serve you. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Not that what was promised
Manuel_B, Apr 2022
The entrance is not included in the price. 40$ come in addition to the mentioned price. I don’t like that. Even it’s not called entrance fee. It’s the tax. However it was nothing special. You just pay for the bus and a meal without a drink. That’s a huge price for that what you get. And it’s not a small group it’s a big group. The Mayan village was missing.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, we are sorry for your experience. In our tour we try to be as explicit as possible so that the client knows what is included in the package he/she is hiring. If upon reviewing your voucher carefully, you find that you were overcharged, please contact us so that we can clarify the situation. Dulce, Amigo Tours
SCAM - Didn’t pick us up and refuses to give us our money back
Sabrina_M, Mar 2022
Wish I could actually review the trip itself, but they failed to pick us up at the meeting spot. Was waiting for one hour and THEY no showed. I called at the time they were supposed to be there and they said they will be there in 5 minutes, they knew we were there already waiting. Once ten minutes passed, we called multiple times and no answer. They knew we were there and they claimed to not have seen us and marked US as a no show. Then had the AUDACITY to tell us to pay for a taxi (over 100 US dollars) to meet THEM at the first stop. This is YOUR company’s fault and I want my money back. Terrible service.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ We are sorry for the experience, the refund request is approved or cancelled according to your agency's policies. We are sorry for the inconvenience Dulce, Amigo Tours
Lovely tour combining so...
Marcela_H, Mar 2022
Lovely tour combining so many interesting places. Great value. Our guide Daniel Hernandez was excellent. I definitely recommend it especially if it's your first time in Mexico
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Amig@ We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience. We are very happy to know that we did our job; to provide you with an incredible experience. Thank you for letting us know. Dulce, Amigo Tours