Discover the FABULOUS PINK WATERS at the Caribean (Las Coloradas+Río Lagartos)

Cancun, Mexico
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 109.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 to 14 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover fabulous pink water on the Caribbean coast at the Las Coloradas lagoons, which can range from yellow and orange to fuchsia depending on the time of day, then enjoy wildlife including flamingos and crocodiles on a boat ride through the Ría Lagartos nature reserve. Round-trip transfers save you more than five hours of self-driving, while your package includes breakfast and lunch. Preservation tax is at your own expense.
  • See the vibrant Las Coloradas salt lakes and capture spectacular images
  • Ride a boat through the mangroves at Ría Lagartos Reserve
  • Enjoy an exfoliating scrub with clay from the salt lake
  • Comprehensive package includes breakfast, lunch and transfers

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Breakfast
  • Visit to Las Coloradas and Salt Harvests
  • 2 Hours Boat Ride to Rio Lagartos Reserve: visit flamingos, birds, mangroves and crocodiles.
  • Lunch
  • Native Guide in Las Coloradas
  • Federal tax of $17 USD per person
  • Soda/Pop
  • Optional Viewpoint $8 USD per person

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:00 am

Pickup details

If your hotel is not in the previous list please let us know in which hotel are you staying so a representative of our company can contact you to indicate the correct place and time of your pickup. We ask you to indicate the hotel where you are staying in the special requirements box and also with your email. This service has only one schedule, between 6:00 am to 6:30 am. The schedules vary according to the hotel, our representative will indicate the exact schedule via mail or via text message. Every service and every part of the tour is directly operated by our staff. This is why we’re able to guarantee an excellent and high quality service. Most of the web pages you see are simply selling tours as a middle-man, providing little to no guarantee of quality, safety or assurance. Here, you buy directly from the tour operator.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Operated by Top Travel Connection Tour Operator

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
34 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
Crocs, crocs, crocs
Ank_A, Feb 2023
Crocodiles were the highlight of the day. The pink lakes are also very nice. The boat ride on the river was fun and we got to see a lot of birds, flamingos and crocodiles.
Number 1 tour
amornitinanpong, Jan 2023
It was very good time with worker Arturo tour guy he was so gentle he can speak 3 language English Spanish and French and good take care the driver and another guy eveyone do good job very polite and the tour good every minute pink water was so good the lady work they so nice too we are very happy for this tour good more than we expect thank you everthing we had for this tour recommend to people
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello! We are glad that your tour to Las Coloradas was a nice experience and that our staff was able to do a good job for you. We look forward to seeing you again for other wonderful experiences in the Mexican Caribbean. Thank you for your preference and recommendation. Have a great day!
It is good experience ....
Vandnakpatel, Nov 2022
It is good experience . If u have some more option for vegetarians food will appreciated. Spend too much time in town when they drop off
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello dear traveler, thank you so much for your comments and your suggestions, your are helping us to improve the quality of our services. We hope you continue to enjoy your vacations in the Riviera Maya and feel the magical atmosphere that you will only find here.
Amazing Experience
Mark_M, Sept 2022
This tour was absolutely amazing! Had lots of fun and new experiences. The driver Julio and the guide Frank was there for the whole team and made the trip totally unforgettable. I can only recommend them.
Response from Host, Sept 2022
Hello Mark! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. we remain at your service and hopefully, we can serve you in the near future. Have an excellent day!
Just a picture tour
Fabian_B, Sept 2022
They provide none informational background or give any explainations what so ever. It's just a trip for getting the best instagram pictures. If that's the only reson, go for it. But if you want to experience cancun and mexico in it's full glory search further. It's sad because the trip definetly had potential
Response from Host, Sept 2022
Hi Fabian! Thank you for sharing with us your comments, they help us to know the opportunities to grow and give you the best service, we will send a report of this situation due to our guides are certified to talk about this tour and is strange that you do not have any information about your tour. On the other hand we are glad to know that you enjoyed the activities and you had a great time with us! Thank you so much for your preference and trust, we hope to see you again in the Mexican Caribbean!
Mixed bag.
Linda_K, Aug 2022
This trip was kind of a mixed bag experience. There was some good and bad to it. It is not a trip I would repeat. We were picked up pretty early which I understand since it is a long drive. We were given a standard bagged breakfast of ham and cheese sandwich, apple, granola bar, and fruit juice which was okay. Then we sat on the bus while the driver and the tour guide got off and ate breakfast themselves at a cafe while we waited. I thought this was very unprofessional. It turns out the pink lagoon is a business. It is a natural salt manufacturing plant that, yes, is located in a biosphere but the advertising of it seems misleading. You pay to see a salt plant. It is more of a pink pit not a lagoon. This was very disappointing. They do take you on a boat ride which is nice since you do get to see flamingoes in their natural environment which is pretty awesome and this part of the experience was wonderful. 5 stars for this. The lunch at the restaurant was also 5 stars. Some of the best seafood I have had. The alligator farm was "okay". Pretty much like most alligators farms you go to. Neither extremely bad nor outstanding. I wish there would have been a little more talk about the biosphere. They did talk a bit about how the lagoon got its pink color. I would have liked a little more history about the salt gathering before some rich guy took it over.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Linda, we are glad that you gave us your opinion about your experience in "Las Coloradas", this place stands out for the salt that is accumulated by hundreds of years. The practice of salt harvesting has been carried out during the Mayan era and was marketed as a valuable natural resource of the region. Today, salt is still collected, generating the sights that so many tourists want to see and take pictures of. We understand that some people may not find this type of site very appealing, however, it is how the destination sells itself and you will get to know all of this during the tour. We are sorry that you do not enjoy the complete tour, but we count with different kind of tours that may fit with your likes, thank you for your understanding and we will improve how our guides explain all the information on the destination. Thank you and have a nice day.
AnneMarie_B, Aug 2022
The whole tour was stunning. Definitely worth while. Guide was client centric and very welcoming. Pink waters, crocodiles and flamingos, boat trip to Rio Lagartos, lunch in a local restaurant, the journey was more than interesting. Just make sure the weather is sunny to see the pink waters (if cloudy or rainy, the waters turn to grey). 👌🏻☀️
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Anne! Thank you for letting us know about your experience in Las coloradas and Rio Lagartos. Glad we could assist in making a memorable day and thank you for traveling with us on this amazing tour. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean.
It was really...
Gordon_G, June 2022
It was really interesting. Really pretty, although we've heard that it's more pink at other times .But we could still see some pink. That was good enough.
Response from Host, June 2022
Hello Gordon! Thank you for letting us know about your experience in the fabulous pink waters of las coloradas. Glad we could assist in making a memorable day and thank you for traveling with us on this amazing tour. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean.
A Totally Lost Day of my Vacation
Elena_N, June 2022
We were picked up from our Cancun hotel at 6am and dropped at 2am - unthinkable 20 hours inside a tiny uncomfortable poorly conditioned van stuffed with tourists like sardines! We had a total of 3 maximum hours doing tour activities, the rest of time was spent driving to various hotels of Riviera Maya, Playa del Carmen to pick up and later drop people, sometimes one at a time. I believe we have driven to 12 different hotels which took hours and hours! Las Colorados is totally overrated - this lagoon not entirely natural, the waters in a manually shaped square pool were mixed by owner, and were light brownish color. Lagartos park was unimpressive and flamingos were so far away from the point we stopped to observe them we barely saw pink dots. I believe I have lost a day of my vacation: Instead of having fun I was suffering all day in a stuffy vehicle and did not see or experience anything special. From now on I will be dubious about descriptions of Viator tours, no more trust.
A very interesting experience
Kamal_M, May 2022
A very interesting experience. The pink lake is scenic but just a photo opp. You can pay the tax is Pesos which is $300 MXP per person. The boat trip through Rio Lagartos was the majority of the trip where we saw crocodiles and walked through mud to see flamingos. This was the exciting part of the trip. After a stop at a resturant to have some lunch, the last part of the excursion was to a crocodile farm which wasn't specifically mentioned when we booked. People were allowed to hold small crocodiles and feed the larger ones as well as take pics. However we were wondering about the morality of doing so and welfare of crocs in the enclosure. The guides said very little and were more like shaparones than infirmative tour guides. The worst thing about the trip was the long journey in a cramped bus. The mini bus was too small for so many people on such a long journey. We travelled over 4 hours non stop back to our hotels others were still on the bus fir a further 2 hours. The driver could have taken comfort breaks along the way even if it was for 10 minutes. Overall the experience was great but the way the tour is run could be improved to be more comfortable for the participants.
Good trip with bad guide
Nathalie_S, Apr 2022
Hello, the trip yesterday was good but the tourguide frank was horrible. He was very unfriendly and had always a lot of stress. He had from the begining of the trip bad vibes. The most guests from this trip think that he was very bad.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Nathalie, thank you for your comment, we have filed a report about what happened during the tour, and we would like to inform you that we received your request to have a German speaking guide to provide you with a better service, however, it was not possible to assign him to you, so we proceeded to give you a partial refund for this inconvenience. We appreciate your understanding and hope you will come back soon to enjoy another adventure in the Mexican Caribbean.
Not what I signed up for
Jessica_H, Feb 2022
Unfortunately, I was put on the wrong tour in an overcrowded van (there were 2 more people than seats) for 16 hours. We went to Las Coloradas (pink lake) and boat ride on Rio Lagartos but also stopped at a Crocodile Farm where I never would have signed up to go to. Guide gave little to no information. Someone from Viator did call me while we still driving back to Cancun to apologize.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Jessica, we apologize again for the incident, I would just like to comment in detail on what you mention. Indeed by a human error on our part, you were assigned to a different tour, which has additional stops to ours, and you were taken to the crocodile conservation area which is not included for our customers but which has all the permits and animal conservation measures, this area was developed by the government of the state of Yucatan for the conservation of crocodiles in the area. On the other hand, the person who called you was not from Viator, he was the general manager of Top Travel Connection, authorized operator for the southeast area of Mexico, who upon learning of what happened personally called you to offer you an apology and authorized to give you a 100% refund and also authorized to offer you a free transfer to the airport on the day of your flight back home. We are sorry for the inconvenience this generated in your visit and we hope to be able to offer you our services on your next visit to Mexico. At Top Travel Connection we are committed to the well-being of our clients and the protection of the environment.
Do not book-terrible tour guide and long bus ride
Yanfeng_G, Jan 2022
Two stars gave to the contents and site crews. However the organization was poor and the tour guide was horrible. 1. The tour guide Pablo was rude and has zero knowledge of solving conflicts. On the bus the ladies in front of us almost laying on our knees and all he did was ask us to lay back. Like what? 2. The tour is supposed to be bilingual but 90% of time he spoke Spanish only. A lady ask him to explain things in English as well. Of course no response. 3. He basically didn’t provide any useful information for the whole tour. Many people have no clue what’s next and where to get off the bus. The bus ride is 4 hours one way. A respectful and reliable tour is very important. I won’t suggest anyone to book this tour especially with Pablo if you don’t speak Spanish!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Yanfen. Thank you for notifying us about this situation. In advance, we offer you our sincere apologies on behalf of our entire team. In order to investigate what happened and improve the quality of our service, we kindly ask you to send us an email to with the following information: - Full Name - Booking Reference - Date of activity - Phone number - E-mail - Explanation of what happened Thank you for reaching us and for your understanding, have a nice day.
Not sure it’s worth it. But I looked good in the picture!
MinSharon_L, Jan 2022
Not sure it’s worth the drive. We left 5::30 AM and got back 10:00PM. It’s smaller than I thought. BluH….
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello, thank you so much for sharing your comments. We invite you to check out our other tours, where you can get a variety of activities to enjoy according to your interests and schedules throughout the Mexican Caribbean. We hope to see you soon again!
Full, beautifully remote day
Michele_B, Dec 2021
Full day of beautiful remote landscapes and wildlife. Wonderful boat ride. Super attentive staff. Plentiful, delicious food. Super clean safe bus. Excellent value
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Michele! we appreciate your comments and preference. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our tour to Las Coloradas and Rio Lagartos.We will tell to our staff your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Great experience
Masanori_T, Dec 2021
Great tour. We had a lot of exciting experience. Your staffs and local guys in Rio Lagartos are very friendly!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello! we appreciate your comments and preference. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our tour and had a wonderful day full of adventure and fun at Las coloradas and Rio Lagartos. We look forward to seeing you again!
Worst experience
Laurin_C, Dec 2021
Horrible. They didn’t pick me up. Do not book! As a solo traveler it was not in my best interest to be sitting there for 3 hours waiting…
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Laurin. Thank you for notifying us about this situation. In advance, we offer you our sincere apologies on behalf of our entire team. In order to investigate what happened and improve the quality of our service, we kindly ask you to send us an email to with the following information: - Full Name - Booking Reference - Date of activity - Phone number - E-mail - Explanation of what happened Thank you for reaching us and for your understanding, have a nice day.
Incredible Day!
Sharolyn_P, Nov 2021
This was a long day from Playa del Carmen but so worth it! It was a fantastic tour and our tour guides Arturo and George were amazing. The tour was very well done in Spanish, English & French, Nice Work Arturo!!! Despite the 3 hours it took us to get there and another 3 back we saw and did so much. We highly recommend this tour for a very memorable fun filled day!! Tons to see and do.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Good afternoon Sharoly, we appreciate your comments and preference. We are glad that our tour has been to your liking, we will pass your comments to Arturo and George. We look forward to seeing you again!
Frank the bilingual tour guide needs a training on customer service.
Stephane_S, Nov 2021
Our day trip on October 28, 2021 was a slight disappointment for me and my 65 year old sister on our way to the Las Coloradas+ Rio Lagartos trip. As a frequent traveler, I feel utterly disrespected by our transportation bilingual guide Frank. He was getting frustrated on two-three occasions because I had made two attempts to use the restroom during his guest pickups (one time I was able to go). At the second time that I had actually used the bathroom he said please try not to use the bathroom at every stop. I explained to Frank that I have a weak bladder and I constantly have to use the restroom and it is disgusting and unsanitary to pee on the seats nor is there a bathroom on the bus. I also told him that I paid full price for this tour like all of the customers/guest. He picked up several people at quite a few stops in which we had to wait 3-8 minutes each time for them to arrive on the bus.  My sister who is 65 years old and has medical conditions was a bit cold and asked to turn the ac down and he tells us not to complain and he cannot turn the ac down but so much. All of this while informing me and my sister that we have two options: continue the trip or be left at the last hotel pickup which was over an hour from our hotel pickup. Frank proceeded to talk about us in Spanish to the driver and other customers/guests on the bus. Ten minutes later at another pickup location, my sister was going to buy a scarf to wrap around herself for the bus at a location directly in front of where our bus was parked. When she comes out of the bus, he tells her we have to go and says "rapido". We both have at this point taken offense and felt highly pissed off, annoyed and disrespected. I told him he was rude and he kept saying loudly " how am I rude?" and kept trying to create negative dialouge. During this unfortunate incident, Frank claimed he was going to talk to his supervisor in which he did because I understand spanish, however I feel he was using a condescending power of authority tone from customer to guide/employee standpoint when speaking to me and my sister. It took two other bilingual guest/customers (a couple) that were at the back of the bus to talk to Frank and tell him in Spanish to calm down and to stop going back-and-forth with me. Another guest saw how freezing my sister was and gave her his towel. She was very thankful at the act of kindness and was a bit warmer for the duration of the ride. My sister and I have been to Mexico several times. We travel to different countries every year for our birthdays in October and constantly take day tours and do excursions. I told Frank he is very rude and his response is that I complain all the time. Me wanting to use the bathroom two times and my 65 year old sister wanting the ac turned down is not complaining. We are paying customers (who actually tip well with every customer service interaction in Mexico). I have worked in retail, a variety of customer service jobs, and in the food service industrt for well over 30 years. I know what customer service looks like and what Frank delivered on the day of October 28 2021 was not that during the bus ride. On top of that at the end of the evening, somehow Frank came up with a plan that half of us should stay in the bus with the driver which I did not catch his name and the others including myself and my sister stir to be put on a coach bus that was going in the direction of Cancun. I am not aware that this was part of what we had paid for because it was never stated when we booked the reservation (which I will be investigating for safety reasons). Frank and some of us were on a sidewalk waiting for the coach bus for maybe almost 20 minutes and then we got on and proceeded to get dropped off to our hotels. Me and my sister were the last to get dropped off because of where we were located which was ocean spa hotel, however Frank was talking to the driver and a couple of other people and somehow the driver slightly missed our stop by a couple of feet. In closing the last day of me and my sisters anual birthday vacation was a bit terrible because of Frank. I suggest any interaction either be video recorded or voice record and send to his supervisor.  I also suggest that something is stated on websites prior to booking on changes that could potentially happen last minute, for example the transferring from our tour bus initially to a coach bus at the end of the night or  a suggestion/recommendation / notification that if people have to use the bathroom frequently or if someone is cold on the bus that they should reconsider booking the reservation for a full day tour Especially if it may be their 1st time booking a tour for a full day.  I do want to add that Frank did apologize to me at the crocodile far, however I feel like that was only done because he saw that we had tipped him and the driver when we finished eating lunch (which he kept suggesting for the guest/customers to do before we go to the crocodile farm of the tour).  Any other concerns or questions you can call me or email me if need be. Thank you for reading this in its entirety and I apologize for bringing this to your company's attention but I feel like it needed to be addressed because Frank may think it's OK to do this to other guests and it is not right as a human being. Please be safe and God bless you all. -Stephane Sykes
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello. Thank you so much for contacting us and notifying us about this situation. Your comments help us to improve our services. In advance, we offer you our sincere apologies on behalf of our entire team. Thank you for reaching us and giving us your feedback, have a nice day.
Restaurant isn’t for black people
Anna_N, Sept 2021
The 3 hour drive was no joke lol. The pink waters is cool, we stayed 30 minutes and just took pictures. The tour guide didn’t speak English so we didn’t learn the history of the location(my bf and I were the only ones to speak English in the group) afterwards we took a boat to see the flamingos, and saw a crocodile on the way. Then we went to eat lunch at “Los Negritos,” -which for me as the only black person in the group, I felt extremely uncomfortable. I took offense because the restaurant had old time racist face cut outs for people to take pictures with.. very distasteful and ignorant for the tour company to have as part of the itinerary when there were multiple other restaurants right off the dock that we could’ve went to.. the food was ok though.