Cape Town

Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise

Badge of ExcellenceCape Town, South Africa

From USD 3.75

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Explore Cape Town's waterfront, from the central business district to the Victoria and Albert waterfront, with this hop-on hop-off sightseeing cruise. Along the way, listen to commentary on the city's maritime history and hop off at any point you like to explore further. Choose a one-way or round-trip ticket, each valid for a full day, to suit your schedule.
  • Hop-on hop-off canal cruise from the Cape Town central business district to the Victoria and Albert waterfront
  • Guided commentary on board, with headphones to hear the guide clearly
  • Hop off at any stop to explore further
  • Choose one-way or round-trip tickets, both valid all day

What's Included

  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Hop-on hop-off canal cruise
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Transportation to/from attractions
  • Any attraction fees

Meeting And Pickup

Start time

09:00 am

Ticket redemption point

City Sightseeing Cape Town Visitor Center, Ticket Office, Dock Rd, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town, 8005, South Africa

What To Expect

Canal Cruise

5 Stops

2 Points of Interest

Duration: 30 minutes

Operating Schedule: 08h00 - 17h00: Every 20/30 minutes

Wright Architects Pty Ltd

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

1 Cast Anchor Way

Dockrail Road

4 Lower Long St

Points of interest passed by on this route

Victoria & Alfred Waterfront

City Sightseeing

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Cruises are operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more


62 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews
For older people
Gcina_Q, Jan 2023
It was short and not exciting, my kids feel asleep it's for older people all that information really not for kids, and it's all about money
We had an amazing cruise...
Prudence_M, Dec 2022
We had an amazing cruise of the waterfront, everything beautiful about cape town, the cruise driver was very friendly and bubbly, I would do all over again.
Waste of cash
Anela, Oct 2022
The boat came and I asked them to wait a few seconds as my wife was coming down the stairs to the boat but they point blank refused stating they wait for no one, even if it's a few seconds. Just like that my money was wasted.
Fun & easy trip through the canal at the V&A Waterfront
Judith_S, June 2022
A fun little trip through the canal by the V & A Waterfront. We started by the aquarium & ended up not too far from our apartment. We had our own headsets provided by the tour to listen about the what we were passing. Great views of Table Mountain & Lion’s Head. While not terribly exciting it was a nice change of pace.
Sunday lazy laid back peaceful
Anel_L, June 2022
Lovely Sunday morning out on the canal boat. Interesting commentry. Friendly staff. Lazy laid back and relaxing. Interesting commentry along the way about the canals.
Birthday cruise
Khutso_S, Apr 2022
It was a good and calm experience. Enjoyed the ride, the driver was smooth. I loved the views of the canal.
Best place in South Africa
Sonto_M, Apr 2022
The trip has been amazing. Staff members were very friendly. Bus drivers were excellent. Cost effective
Cancellation Refund
Nozipho_D, Apr 2022
Trips canceled by service provider due to wind, booked with 3rd party. Aviator, sent an email to third party for refund and got no response 😩
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Not completely true! Yes the boat was canceled because of gale force winds. Nothing I can do about nature, sorry. You were informed to request your refund from Viator as you booked your ticket with Viator. You did not book directly with us and neither did you pay us - you paid Viator. There is and was no reason NOT to get your refund (They are actually very good at this) unless you did not log back onto the same supplier you booked with to request the refund from them! So your 1 Star review is totally unjustified as it does not reflect our boat cruise or the booking process but rather your lack of following basic online refund principles
Gieljam_K, Apr 2022
The scenery was beautiful the crew were friendly and spoke Afrikaans which made us feel good that they spoke to us in our own home language
Smooth sailing
Khanyi_N, Apr 2022
The crew was very nice, friendly and accommodating. It was a smooth sailing. This is a must do when you visit CTN.
Great service I'm impressed
Sindiswa_N, Apr 2022
Lovely experience, I will bring my family soon. Great service. Looking forward to our return soon. Worth the money
Were a bit early, so had a long wait, but it was really worth it. Friendly staff and a relaxing and beautiful cruise.
CorinneJeptha, Mar 2022
We have our own little Venice in the heart of Cape Town; water canal with stunning apartments. Loved it
Something new
Dianne_L, Feb 2022
I thought it would be something new to do. Ended up loving it, planning to take the rest of my family
Tiffany_C, Jan 2022
I went with my boyfriend and after hours of convincing him to go, he finally caved in. He was so scared at first, but the moment we stepped on the boat, he realized there was nothing to be afraid of and really enjoyed himself. He now wants to go on the Harbour cruise and all other kinds of boat rides. Proud of him pm
Crewmember Kyle, funny...
Robert_G, Jan 2022
Crewmember Kyle, funny and spontaneous, really an asset to your company! Learned a bit more about my own town.
The perfect Canal Uber
AnneMarie_P, Jan 2022
It was very interesting to hear the commentary, the view was beautiful and the punctuality and friendliness was astounding. And the fact that you can use the pass for the whole day to operate between the hotel and waterfront is such a bonus.
The canal end to quick
Lindiwe_M, Dec 2021
The experience was okay but the canal cruise if it can be extended o| the recording be mo exciting as we are frm Inland
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Thanks for the feedback. The canal tour is a 25minute cruise and sadly takes you to the end of the canal and back. We can't make the canal any longer.....
The only way to travel
Elzane_H, Dec 2021
Wonderful way to travel between hotel and VA watefront. Great sights of beautiful properties. Wish you could do a multiday pass and that there were more canals to explore :)
Not a good system of booking.
Manya_B, Oct 2021
I paid for 2 persons and only got 1 sms to download and on this download only 1 ticket was reflected. It caused much embarrassment.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Sorry that you did not like the way Viator sends you your tickets. This with respect is beyond our control. We can only issue boarding passes according to the vouchers you present on the day. All the same, I trust you enjoyed the cruise with us!
Andrew_H, Feb 2020
Was totally unable to find any of the boarding places, the instructions for which were clearly written by someone who has never been to the place. Complete waste of money.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. I have just purchased a ticket which confirms the departure at the V&A Waterfront, next to the Two Oceans Aquarium. We have very clear signage in Red directing you to both the Harbour and canal boats from there. (Our harbour boats are right there with staff on duty) I am sorry you felt it was un-clear but I am not sure how to make that any clearer.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise


30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 3.75
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour with Optional Cruise


2 hours 20 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 14.74
No Photo
One-Way Hop-on Hop-off Bus from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth


8 days
Free Cancellation
USD 199.00