Cape Town

Stellenbosch and Franschhoek 20 Wine Tasting & Lunch & Tasting Fees Shared Tour

Badge of ExcellenceCape Town Central, South Africa

From USD 81.17

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Raise a glass to an incredible day of wine, food, scenery, and history during this small-group, excursion to the Cape Winelands. Explore the unique wineries and stunning landscape of this region just north of Cape Town, stopping at wineries for tastings accompanied by local meats like biltong (dried meat) and cheeses. In between tastings, discover the historic cities of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek and see Drakenstein, the prison that once held South African leader Nelson Mandela. A guide, plus round-trip hotel transport are covered.
  • Explore the Cape Winelands during this full-day tour and tasting session from Cape Town
  • Discover the incredible wine, food, history and scenery of this region just north of Cape Town
  • Enjoy wine tastings at five of the area's top wineries, accompanied by local cheeses and meats like biltong (jerky)
  • Experience the unique history of the cities of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, including free time for eating and shopping
  • See Drakenstein, one of the prisons that once held South African leader Nelson Mandela
  • Small-group trip is limited to a maximum of 13 guests

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Shared Transport (Vehicle), Top Notch Tour Guide/Driver and fuel
  • Bottled water
  • Wine tasting fees at Delaire Graff, Tokara, Delheim and Fairview Wine Estates
  • Optional Lunch at Delheim Wine Estate or Muratie Wine Estate in Stellenbosch (main course only)
  • Starter/Entree and Dessert is excluded (available at your own cost)
  • Drinks and gratuities (optional)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:30 am

Pickup details

Pick ups at any hotels and guest houses including AirbnB

What To Expect

Cape Town Central

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Delaire Graff Estate

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Tokara Wine Estate

1 hour Admission Ticket Included


2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Fairview Wine and Cheese

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Groot Drakenstein Prison

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Cape Town Central

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more


154 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews
Excellent adventure with Francis
Sandra_V, May 2023
Our guide Francis was amazing! He was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The wineries chosen were excellent, each different than the last, Some tour mates caused a delay, Francis gracefully adjusted our trip. I would not hesitate to take another trip with Francis.
Jennifer_C, Apr 2023
We did not get to go on this tour as the pick up time listed on our confirmation was changed the day before the tour. We were travelling and did not have WIFI so we did not receive the email until it was too late to cancel and get a refund. Worth knowing before you book that the time listed is not necessarily the time you will be going.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. Your pick-up time was sent to you the afternoon before your tour. You then replied only at midnight saying that the pickup time was too early for you. At 6:30 am on the day of the tour, you asked if we could reschedule the tour to another date. We then made contact with you via telephone after 7:00 am and also advised that we would come later at 8:30 am as we could accommodate you as it was a group tour, of which you then advised you are not feeling well and that you would like to cancel the tour. We then advised you that you are already in the cancellation period and could not get a refund. For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. We would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectation however we did try and assist to the best of our ability. We wish you all the best with all your future travels Kind Regards
Great day out
Robert_B, Apr 2023
A great day out. We were picked up on time and had a very enjoyable experience. Our guide Joshua was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and looked after us very well. We had quite a different experience at each of the 4 wineries. All of them good. It was a good mix of destinations. It was also very nice to see the beautiful scenery in the area as we were driving around.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Good day Valued Client Greetings from your guide who values your feedback on this tour. We are absolutely happy that you had a fantastic time on this winery tour and that it left you with all the positive memories.Travel safe
It's nice experience. The...
igalassota, Mar 2023
It's nice experience. The wine tasting was very generous, I didn't need that much. Lunch was excellent. I gave just 4 stars due to no time to explore the cute Stellenbosch village. It's a little bit too fast.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for the review of this wine-tasting tour. The experience at the world-class wineries is amazing and has the best views. Keep those memories alive until you are back with us again.
Wine-infused peak life experience
Emily_R, Mar 2023
This wine tasting was a peak life experience! Each of the four wineries was beautiful in its own way, and it was fun to sample all of the wine. The pours were more generous than I have experienced in the U.S.! Armand was an amazing tour guide and really helped us feel comfortable. This led to our group of six people, from three unrelated groups, connecting in a powerful way. I can't wait to see two new friends again on my flight home (what a fun coincidence!). I very highly recommend!!!
Excellent wines and excellent tour guide
Lee_M, Mar 2023
Very pleasant tour to four wineries, with a light lunch included. Our tour huide, Armando, was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for using our services and leaving an excellent review of this tour.We are absolutely delighted that this winery tour was enjoyed by you so much and that you had a world class experience.All the best travelling
A great day of wine, scenery and food!
Stephen_A, Mar 2023
What a great wine tour. This was a great all day wine experience to 4 different wineries. Our tour guide Armando was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The wine, scenery and food were divine. I would highly recommend.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client We appreciate the beautiful recommendation of this tour.We are happy that the experience was world class on this winery tour while visiting the best wineries with the most amazing wines of all time.Travel safe and all the best.
Best wineries
Tugce_K, Mar 2023
The tour was including best wineries in Stellenbosch and Paarl. We all were satisfied considering the timing to deink 20 wines during the tour. I definetly recommend everyone to book this tour for wine tasting.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for recommending us in your review. We’re glad we made your experience with us a great one and will be happy to help you again soon.Travel safe
Stellenbosch wines
Elizabeth_H, Mar 2023
The beautiful Stellenbosch and Cape scenery, the really fantastic WINES (not a single bad one!), and the wonderful (and patient) guide David all made for a fantastic outing. Thank you!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client We are glad to hear we provided you with top-notch service. It was a real honor showing you around to the most awesome wineries. We appreciate the feedback and would love to work with you again. All the best traveling
Very good tour !!
YOEL_G, Mar 2023
This is a very good tour and I totally recommend it. Still there are some some details that need improvement. The transportation van very comfortable . The guide was the best , very knowledgeable and nice. The winery selection was perfect . They were All different, but all very pretty and the wine was good. The first winery , graff , was the best . Spectacular design, Generous poring, great set up and detailed service . After that, the last one Fairview, was good too. it was an standing testing but it was good, with a very charismatic girl poring and delicious cheeses. Tokara and Delheim are very nice wineries but service was not personalized and rushed. I was expecting more wine flowing during lunch time . Btw why you pay for a lunch , than only cover the main course and you still have to pay extra for appetizer and dessert ? Non sense. Very good tour over all.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for the review of this Winelands tour. We are more than delighted that you enjoyed the different wines at exclusive wineries while being able to capture these memories. We would like to wish you well with your travels.
Not as booked, but great your
linda_h, Feb 2023
Wine tour was wonderful. Beautiful vineyards and wineries. Ruben, our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly made your nice. Only disappointment is we did not go to exact wineries listed and did not have lunch at winery listed. He gave reason but I suspect not true because previous reviews had said same thing. My fault I booked anyway
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for the review.We are delighted that you had an amazing time however we hope when you back with us again that you would be able to go have lunch at the winery listed.We wish you all the best till you back in Cape Town again.
Geoffrey_M, Feb 2023
Reuben of Beyond Africa Safaris was brilliant on our wine tasting tour, his vast knowledge of the wine industry combined with history (economical & political) made the tour fun and educative. He has an amazing rapport with most of the wine estates thus we truly experiecened the South African hospitality. He was courteous and professional. We had an amazing day in his company. Highly recommended!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for the recommendation of this tour.We are amazed that you had a awesome winery experience while having fun and also getting knowledge.Travel safe
Great day out. Reuben,...
Tina_T, Feb 2023
Great day out. Reuben, the guide, was excellent, very knowledgeable and imparted a lot of history about the area. 4 varied wine farms visited during trip.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to review the wine tasting tour.We are delighted that you could have a fabulous time and visit the mist amazing wine farms with beautiful views.Travel safe
Get ya weight up first...#waistedinSA
Sabrina_G, Feb 2023
Armond was INCREDIBLE. The knowledge that he has about South Africa (and the history of the wine) keeps you totally engaged during in the tour. He was personable and welcomed all of our questions. If you want an experience (and test your tolerability/intolerability) go for it!! Ask to tour with Armond and tell him Sabrina and Shawnta sent you!! :)
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Greetings from your guide who appreciates the beautiful feedback. Armond is delighted that you could have an amazing time on this tour and could leave us with such positive memories.We wish you well until we have you back with us again.
Stellenbosch Wine Tasting
Peter_L, Feb 2023
Great day out - visited 4 different vineyards for our 20 tastings and lunch. Our Tour guide Armand was brill, very friendly and lots of local knowledge. 20 tastings is not for the faint hearted though😊
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Thank you for reviewing our services.We are delighted that you had the most amazing time on the winelands tour.It was a pleasure sharing the most amazing knowledge with you while you enjoyed the most finest wines.All the best with your travels
A wonderful experiment in the wine country
Edmee_R, Feb 2023
Our guide, Armand, was fabulous and extremely knowledgeable . All of the wineries were great. A wonderful experience.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. We really appreciate your business. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future when you back with us.We are delighted that you could enjoy the wineries and the knowledge shared.Travel safe
Wine Tour to remember
inder_S, Jan 2023
I was picked up from the hotel in Mowbray, Marriott, by David,our tour guide. We were joined by a very nice German couple. As the tour progressed, we all shared our travel stories including David our tour guide. We planned our tour with David and we all enjoyed the Wine Tour so much so that we wished we had more time together. Thanks David. You have made our tour a memorable experience.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Good day Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to review this tour.We are delighted that you had an amazing time and that we could deliver excellent service with the most beautiful memories.We wish you all the best with your future travels.
Wonderful Wine Tour
Cornelia_G, Jan 2023
Luke was a wonderful guide who took us to gorgeous wineries. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Good day Valued Client On behalf us all of us we would like to thank you for sharing this great review about this tour. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and that you had a a mazing time at the wineries.All the best
Disappointed and bad customer service
Sofie_J, Jan 2023
We booked this trip a week in advance (3 young women) and looked forward to it, but were very disappointed. We didn’t go to delaire graff as promised, which was the main reason we booked this exact trip. Then we didn’t do lunch at a wine estate but at a very normal restaurant in Frankshoek city. We bought the full deal (2000 ZAR each person), but had to pay for our own lunch because it exceeded a 250 ZAR limit, but we were told from both the waiters and the Tourguide Luca, that we could choose anything on the menu and that it would be included. So we did, of course. We were 8 guests that were very unhappy with the extra bill, which made us call Lucas manager. It took around 1 hour after dinner with discussions over the phone with the manager about whether we as misinformed guests should pay and we were late. The rest of the tour was awkward as Luca were angry with us, and we rushed through the last two wine estates. Very disappointing experience. I have tried to complain to the manager several times, but the person straight up says that we’re lying and that everyone were satisfied with the trip. Which no one were! After the first stop I told the guide Luca that I was unhappy with us not going to Delaire Graff as it was the one place I was looking forward to the most, and we have the names of all the participants on the trip that weren’t happy either. I don’t even have the name of the manager or a proper email, the manager only wants to use WhatsApp and not telling me their name. Very disappointing and sad because the tour has a lot of potential!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Good day Valued Client I apologize on behalf of everyone at our company. Please know that your situation was an exception. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our guide serves every customer. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. We would like to note that your visit did take place in the peak season and the place you wanted to visit was fully booked and had a long waiting time.As for the lunch you have exceeded the limit by far and that would have to be covered by yourself as stated by our guide who did communicate the amount covered for lunch. We would like to invite you to reach out to us when you are in Cape Town again for us to take you to Delaire Graff for a complimentary wine tasting. We hope to hear back from you soon all the best with your future travels. Kind Regards
Very good experience
Son_T, Jan 2023
Great day out ..Thank you Francis our tour guide for a memorable day. We been to 4 wineries in Stellenbosch and had a fantastic lunch had total of 20 tasting .Would recommend Francis 100%. Sonny & Linh
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Good day Valued Client We’re really grateful and appreciate you taking the time to share your rating with us.We are delighted that you had an amazing time at our top wineries and could get to experience some of our foods.All the best travelling

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Stellenbosch and Franschhoek 20 Wine Tasting & Lunch & Tasting Fees Shared Tour


8 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 81.17
No Photo
Stellenbosch Small Group Wine Tasting Tour From Cape Town


5 hours 55 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 73.05