Baru and Playa Blanca Full Day Including Lunch

Cartagena de Indias, Colombia

From USD 55.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 7 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Experience the idyllic splendor of Playa Blanca and Barú with a full-day package that combines round-trip transport from Cartagena and lunch. After a short drive from Cartagena, arrive on the pristine sands of Playa Blanca and recline in a hammock or sun lounger at a local hotel. Refresh with a dip in the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and then revitalize with lunch and a soft drink around midday. Your day will conclude with drop-off back in Cartagena.
  • Round-trip transport to Playa Blanca and lunch from Cartagena
  • Relax on the hammocks or sun loungers on a beach side hotel
  • Take a dip in the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea
  • Enjoy a delicious lunch and choose between fish, meat or vegetarian options

What's Included

  • Lunch
  • Local guide
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Local taxes
  • Sun Chair
  • Alcoholics Drinks
  • Towels
  • Hotel pick up and drop-off
  • Massage

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Monumento Los Pegasos
    Cl. 24, Centro, Cartagena de Indias, Provincia de Cartagena, Bolívar, Colombia

    Los pegasos is a statue of two horses located in front of the clock towel across the AV, is important to keep in touch with us and the best way is whatsup. please be patient a member of the team will be with you. we have 2 departures at 6:30 to 2:00 pm and 9:30 am to 5:30 am

Start time

06:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Playa Blanca

7 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Availability for shows cannot be checked without making a booking. Credit cards will only be charged upon confirmation of show availability
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • The place where you will spend the day is an Eco-Hostel, for that reason the installations and the bathrooms are rustics
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
Beach is beautiful and our guide Melondy can’t be beat! She took excellent care of us! I definitely recommend it and spend th 60 pesos or the cabana!!!!!!!!


332 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 332 reviews
Not relaxing
Christine_N, May 2023
There were too many boats in the area. Too many vendors. Too many flies on your food. Not a peaceful stay. Lunch was okay. The tour guides were nice.
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you very much for your comment, we are sorry that it was not to your liking.
Stay away from this company
Andre_A, Nov 2022
Awful company. Stay away from them if possible. Their advertisement features a “comfortable air-conditioned transportation ” and it is actually an old van very unsafe. The expected pickup time was 6:30 am and they only showed up at 7:15am (45 minutes waiting for them). On the way we had to stop in the middle of the road to change to another van to go to the final destination. On the way back, we supposed to be back in Cartagena by 2:30 and we got back around 6pm. Other than the traffic, the reason for the delay was because our old-unsafe van, crashed against a tree and broke the windshield. Please consider another company
You get what you pay for
Jacqueline_G, Oct 2022
Great customer service from this vendor. The communication was excellent. Unfortunately, it was not a very good day to take this excursion. Traffic was horrible. What should have been a 1 hour trip turned into 3 hours. Less than a mile from the beach, we traveled on a dirt road that was extremely bumpy and crowded with tour buses, the locals on motorbikes, and roadside solicitors. Once we parked, there is a mud slick path lined with more vendor booths that led to the beach. I initially thought we took a different route because of all the traffic but realized that this was the way most of the tour groups got to their designated Playa Blanca location. After all this………the beach was nice and the water beautiful. You have your own spot complete with a covered sitting area and a bar for drinks. There was an additional cost for the loungers fit sunbathing. The meal is included. Stay away from the burgers if you’re not a fan of fake beef. Drinks were great especially the pina colada’s. There are ladies that will give you a great foot massage at an additional cost. The vendors will continue to harass you but please be kind in your delivery as this is how they earn a living. October is considered the rainy season so guess what….it rained most of the 4 hours we were scheduled to be out there. I did not mind a little rain on the beach but after the long drive and mud slick hike, it was time to call it a day. There are many reviews saying that this was a great excursion which means your experience may be different from mine. I just want to forewarn you of all the challenges you may incur getting to your destination. Even though this fall in the budget friendly category, It is not worth it for the price. You get what you pay for.
An unforgettable experience!
Lorena_A, Oct 2022
We had a fantastic experience with this trip. Everyone one was so nice and everything was well organized. I will recommend the experience 100% and I will certainly do it again! Thx so much!
Bad Experience
darron_o, Sept 2022
Doesn’t look like pictures. Too many flies. Water was nasty. Bathrooms👎, had to use water bucket to flush toilet. Cristian the tour guide and his driver were great. Alfonso was also great, made sure everyone was taking cared of. ( drinks & food) Aggressive women trying to give massages and do more than they say to charge you more.
housseini_b, Aug 2022
I don't advertise to anyone but customer service i need my refund back from them i dont believe they are taking advantage on people
Fun and Relaxing
Leticia_R, Aug 2022
The trip was very fun and relaxing… a lot of vendors coming by, but they were fun. I have a great time!
Don’t believe the hype!
Ife_R, Aug 2022
Starting from a 40 minute delay pick up, to no fresh water to wash hands, 25,000 pesos that covers a hot dog lunch, constant harassment from peddlers, lockers with no locks, paying 60,000 pesos extra for a bed behind the fence thinking it would provide privacy but not having a moments peace, this trip was a disappointment. There was absolutely no tour info given along the way. The waters of Playa Blanca were beautiful but this is no place to relax and enjoy the natural beauty. Skip it!
Long trip. Not worthwhile
Rafael_M, July 2022
Paid a fortune to reschedule due to an incident in the day of the tour. This was no island since the whole trip was by land. The beach and water were beautiful but crowded and vendors harrasing you every 3 minutes. Not worth the long trip there.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi Rafael Thanks for your information we are always trying to get better maybe at the description you didn't notice that the transfer is on a van or bus we really sorry we also have options by boats for other places at the island i invite you to visit one of those.
Javier Castro
Castros2008, July 2022
Too expensive for what we get. Food was not good. The toughest meat ever.. to many flies to enjoy eating my fish.. drinks watery… never again Javier Castro
Think twice and Reconsider!!!
Chanelle00, July 2022
Not sure what happened here because based off the pictures and reviews this was going to be a much more upscale excursion: 1.) Bus: the bus was so dilapidated a piece of metal was sticking out from my seat so I had to use my hand as a shield to avoid being injured, it was so cramped your knees were in the other passengers back, the a/c wasn’t working, no music; 2.) Drive to beach: we must have drove through a shantytown; 3.) Walk to beach: walking through a very poor part of the beach, everything was in a hut like structure; 4.) Bathrooms: toilets did not flush, shower was salt water vs fresh water; 5.) THE WORST PART: Constant harassment from vendors; at one point I had to pay the massage lady to go away, and they DO NOT understand the concept of personal boundaries very un-consensual touching! It’s hard for me to write this review because the tour guide and staff at hut were pleasant but this excursion was just all around very uncomfortable. The only highlight of my day was the camaraderie built based off this terrible experience (we all felt bamboozled) and the lunch were I tried a delicious dish called mojarra.
Lovely Beach, Unpleasant Ride
Chaundra_G, July 2022
The bus seats were wet and we arrived at the meetup on time which seemed to be too early (6AM). We waited for an hour before beginning our route to pick up other passengers around town. We did not know that was an option, otherwise we would have slept in and gotten picked up too. By 8:15 or so we headed to the beach. All the while in a mildewy moist seats. The beach itself is beautiful amd Mambo Beach Club was enjoyable especially our server Andres.
José Saved the Day! Hooray!!
Justin_W, June 2022
Jose our tour guide was amazing! He made the tour comfortable and easy. Give him a raise. The beach was fun. The food was great. My only two pieces of feedback are: 1. Make departure time later than 6:45am. I didn’t get to enjoy breakfast at my hotel before having to leave to walk to the meeting point. 2. If 6:45am is going to remain the departure time maybe consider pushing lunch up from 12pm. I got hungry and angry waiting for food and just went to a different place on the beach to grab something to eat while waiting for food service so I wasn’t hungry when they FINALLY served food. The tour ends at 2pm. Serving lunch at 12 pm is just a bit late.
Mamba Beach Club
Michelle_K, June 2022
Playa Blanco on Isla Barú was beautiful. The hostess at Mamba Beach club, Maria, was amazing she was so sweet. They only downside was all the vendors that are allowed to go in and out which caused a bit of irritation while relaxing. They also took away from Maria’s tips. Vendors should only be allowed every 2 hours to allow visitors to relax more. Other than that it was a great experience and I will be back! Viva Cartagena❣️
Yolanda_S, May 2022
We all have an enjoyable day trip to Baru and Playa Blanca. Only setback beach Vendors hustle the whole time and you can't keep them out of the area. Mambo Beach/Maria was excellent Hostess/Waitress
The Beach is Everything. Worth the Drive
Leonie_M, May 2022
I love nature, so driving out of the city of Cartagena to the beach was welcoming. We were given fruits as snack for the 70 minute ride. It went by fast since I wass very curious. We arrive at the parking lot where there were many natives selling different items. We trekked down a little grade to the beautiful blue ocean and white sand (nothing compared to the brown beaches in Bocagrande). Franklin, the tour guide was wonderful, he understood what hospitality means. He guided us in the right direction regarding the natives who sell their wares. The only complaint I have is there were flies but they kept spraying upin request. You literally get chairs as advertised. Not beach chairs or lounge chairs. However, you can purchase a cabana for less than $20 is which fits two. I suppose your whole crew could use.
Too much people begging...
Naomi_B, Apr 2022
Too much people begging and the staff allowed them to annoy the patrons even after numerous no’s. Couldn’t really relax and enjoy myself. And too much rocks in the beach.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Naomi we really sorry about your experience we care about you and local people of the island sells things is their first economic activity for this days is high season and it become more difficult to control it in a public beach, we hope you can give us a second chance.
If you like water activities!
Bethsabet_V, Apr 2022
A must do. We had a great time. The area that was exclusive to our group was more private than other areas which prevents from being hassled by vendors and massage therapist. You will still see some of them around because they have to earn a living but it could be a bit overwhelming. The water was rocky in the area so bring water shoes. But if you like water activities such as jet ski, banana boats and private tours to other island in the area this is the place to be. Clear blue waters. Beautiful. Just make sure to take Colombian pesos to tip. The tour guide and the service was great. Not for our elders. Hard to get into beach area, very rocky and have to go downhill to get in and uphill to come out of the beach area.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Beth thanks for your review for us is very important, the beach is rocky for this month every year we work every day to try to keep it clean for you.
The worst trip ever.
Danuta_S, Jan 2022
Instead of 6am it started at 10:30am. Guid forgot to speak in english so we need to ask for translation . Beach beds were not ready- we need to wait 1 hour. Lockers for bags not awailable. On the way back bus driver stoped sudenly in the middle of nowhere and said he wasn’t paied so he is not going to work anylonger. Higly NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!
sorry....I am not a negative person at all but this tour is a total rip off.
Nicholas_S, Dec 2021
If you like being told to be at a meeting point at 6AM and waiting 1.5 hours for the guide to show up, being packed like a sardine into a tiny minibus with no airconditioning --driven by a chaufer who recklessly almost runs over a guy on a motorcycle--, arriving at a beach littered with massive amounts of trash and garbage, listening to blasted reggatón music, being pestered constantly --literally every five minutes-- by insistent hawkers who want to sell you trinkets, massages, hairbraiding, shells, jewelry, and drugs, and eating greasy undercooked fish for lunch, this tour is perfect for YOU!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Baru and Playa Blanca Full Day Including Lunch


7 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 55.00
No Photo
Playa Blanca Baru from Cartagena City Center


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 50.00