Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

Cartagena, Colombia

From USD 49.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Totumo Mud Volcano is a one-of-a-kind attraction home to mineral-infused mud that’s reputed to have healing properties. Avoid the hassle of public transport and the expense of taxis on a stress-free trip to the the volcano, which include snacks and convenient hotel pickup and drop-off. You’ll have ample time to soak in the mud bath and, unlike conventional tours from Cartagena, this excursion includes a stop at Manzanillo Beach.
  • Save time and travel to Totumo Mud Volcano with ease
  • Avoid finding a meeting point with convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Spend ample time soaking in the mineral-infused mud
  • Make a bonus stop at Manzanillo Beach

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Snacks
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

We pick up all travelers at the hotel, so we need mandatory the location of your hotel for the pick up, please give detail information.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Swimsuit required inside the volcano
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Its a great half day experience but try to get there early.
Short and sweet The volcano mud is remarkably rich and feels great The wash down afterwards is definitely a part of the experience as they literally bathe you Food is more of a snack but it is tasty
Once you get to the volcano you’ll be a little weary with how tall it is but after the climb you see the mud and be a little hesitant but just jump in and you won’t regret it.
193 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
When in Cartagena
Chineme_O, Jan 2023
If you’re in Cartagena I definitely recommend. It something new and interesting to do. We had fun. It was a good experience
Response from Host, Jan 2023
thanks for your comment. we are happy to know that you enjoy the activity
Fun day
Angela_P, Jan 2023
A fun and unique experience that you can’t find in many places around the world. Sitting in mud is a strange experience.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
thanks for your comment
Great experience, not for everyone
Minali_N, Jan 2023
Felt like a little kid getting in the mud! Got an awesome massage in the mud & the women were great at helping us get cleaned up in the lake. Unfortunately we did not have the best tour guide experience as she didn't explain the history or give us any context for the mud volcano tour. Fun to go once but don't think it's for everyone (need to be comfortable with people touching you).
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed the experience. We will work to have a little more information about the place. We hope you visit us again.
We had a great time at Totumo!
Darina_A, Jan 2023
The half day trip to Totumo was well organised by Nevis and the others, there was enough time to enjoy all the moments of the excursion. We had a great time!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
thanks for your comment. we are very happy to know that your enjoed the activity with us. It
Worth experiencing but way overpriced.
Simon_R, Jan 2023
Firstly, in my opinion, this trip is very much overpriced. Pick up was from the hotel yet we had to walk to get the minibus as it couldn’t manoeuvre down the streets of the walled city. This is fine but don’t advertise the option of a hotel pick up. To add to the previous issue, they were late to arrive, apparently there was traffic… this trip is daily so surely they should understand the traffic flow around the city. On arrival to the mud volcano, details of procedures and actions participates had to take place were not communicated well or with any explanation. We literally had to take all our clothes off, including footwear, leave all our belongings in the minibus and walk along a dusty, stone covered track to join the queue. The actually experience was very individual and, depending on your take of it, was fun and very memorable. Afterwards, we all had to change in the minibus before setting off back to the starting point. Some people, who were staying outside the walled city, got dropped back to their hotel but others were dropped at the original pickup point. If you have a car, I’m pretty much 100% certain you can do this activity for a quarter of the $50 plus per person we paid.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry for what happened in the experience, we work hard every day to improve and thus enjoy our activities to the fullest.
It was ok. Prepared to be hustled
April_E, Dec 2022
Advertised that it was a “bonus” to go to the beach but picked us up so late that when I asked he told us and that our hotel is by the beach so we can visit the beach through there. Other than that it was quick and to the point
The experience was good...
Jessica_A, Dec 2022
The experience was good at the mud volcano, only issue I had was with the transportation van. We were picked up late!
Def worth it
S_N, Nov 2022
Definitely worth trying!! Really kind and friendly locals too! The massage is worth it too. Please tip them well, they deserve it! The ride to the place was good too with AC. They communicated well and picked from hotel! We enjoyed it
Nasty, late, and not worth it
Roberto_D, Oct 2022
The tour agency had placed us on a different tour and I had to email them to change the booking. The day of the tour, my friend and I were the first to be picked up and were going to be the last ones to be dropped off so we instead took an Uber back to our hotel because the tour was already running late. The mud volcano was nasty with human hairs floating around and there are some guys who work there for an additional tip who give you a massage (even without consent). To rinse off, you have to jump in a nasty lake with a woman who scrubs you. Definitely not what we expected. There was also no stop at Manzanillo beach. I would not recommend paying for this.
Awesome volcano but book elsewhere
Emily_A, Sept 2022
This tour was a chaotic mess. First off, they said they couldn’t pick us up from our hotel because it was “outside of the limits” so we had to meet at a coffee shop and they were 30 minutes late. Then we drove around for an hour picking people up from hotels much farther than ours. The van was horribly uncomfortable and they crammed SO many people into a small van. The mudding itself was awesome and so much fun. Our guide told us not to tip anyone and that it was all paid for, but afterwards they came up to us asking for tips and the guide didn’t do anything to stop it. The ride home was just as chaotic and the drops off were horrible. Book with another company!!
Good Experience
Paris_W, Aug 2022
The experience was amazing, the drive was an hour and a half from cartenga. Hector was giving us history on the long ride which was great. We got there around 10 am and it was not crowded. Once in the mud you were giving a massage which was amazing. Tips of 5 pesos were wales for the person who takes pictures, massages and washes. Everyone was helpful. After the mud bath we was washed and then had a snack a empanada with a beverage. We did not stop by a beach but we giving history about colombia on the way back home. My friend did have an issue with payment with Viator, they provided her with a ticket and the money was taking out of her bank and they canceled the payment. When she contacted them they were no help.
Joaquin_B, July 2022
Alex was very informative. He made sure everyone was okay and all our needs were met. As for the tour, it was a great experience.
Poor experience due to beggars
marissa_r, July 2022
The only part that was good was being in the actual volcano. That was only about 20 minutes though. Once we got back to the van, we were ambushed. Ten different people surrrounded us asking for money. They said we were supposed to pay for massage, photos, and bath before hand for 15.000 total. I ended up paying 52.000. They acted like vultures. A guy charged us just because he watched our shows even though we didn’t ask him to. Multiple people came asking for tips that didn’t even service us. The tour guide was no help. They didn’t try to help us or communicate with the people. We couldn’t get any privacy to count our money or to get ourselves together. They weee touching us. It was so uncomfortable and caused us a lot of anxiety. I would not go again. Then we’re went to some hotel for like 3 hours with a dirty beach. Overall not good at all.
Loved it
GIROLAMA_G, July 2022
The tour was awesome! From beginning to end. People were very respectful and helpful especially when cleaning off the Mud!
Fun day
Jennifer_D, July 2022
Fun experience. Tour company was easy to work with. Bring small bill for tips - anyone that does anything for you expects a tip.
KeVonte_C, July 2022
This is a must-do! Jose and Jesus were very hospitable and professional. The small lunch you get is so worth it. I even ate 3 more empanadas. They have a dedicated picture guy who takes pictures from your phone. The transport to/from there was easy breezy. Highly recommend/
Recommend Any Day
Lornette_M, June 2022
Great experience. Mud and the washing in the lagoon felt nice. The massage in the mud was great. You can definitely relax when there aren't so many people. Con: There was so many people and it was not organized on how and when to get in or out. Photographer took pics but due to having numerous phones, you don't get many pics and you don't get your phone back right away. I would definitely recommend it.
Very cool
Luz_R, June 2022
Definitely a unique experience! My skin was glowing afterwards. Our tour guides Frankie and Jesus were very nice and made sure to explain everything ahead of time. Frankie also gave us some facts about the land and the trees on the way to the volcano. I also like how they explained that the people there are looking for tips but reminded us it was not obligated (but you should still tip something). They also set up a system where we put whatever amount we wanted in a hat at the end of our experience so the people could divide the tips amongst themselves. I thought this was great because it made the experience more enjoyable in the sense that it didn’t feel like a “money haul” as others described in comments.
Faith_A, June 2022
They canceled 30min before scheduled pick up time . Although they offered a refund , it was a huge inconvenience . Advance notice would have been great
Remember to keep your camera person with you
Damarron_J, May 2022
The experience was wonderful but slightly rush because of their tardiness. Remember to keep your camera person with you for the whole experience from beginning to the end because you'll need them for the latter part (wash up portion) with the Old Lady Gang and don't be bashful.