Full Day 5 Best Island Spots from Cartagena

Cartagena de Indias, Colombia

From USD 125.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Spend a day out on the waters that make Cartagena famous on this island-hopping snorkel tour of Colombia's Baru Islands. Snorkel with the comfort and security of a guide and nautical team, and relax as you sail around the scenic archipelago in the Caribbean sea between locations. This tour includes all equipment, lunch, and hotel pickup and drop-off from your Cartagena lodging.
  • Snorkel and island hopping tour off the coast of Cartagena
  • Sail among various snorkeling locations at Baru Island, the Rosario Islands, and more
  • Live commentary onboard makes for an informative tour
  • Snorkel gear and instruction included
  • Fresh seafood lunch included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Cartagena included

What's Included

  • National Park fees
  • Bottled water
  • Lunch
  • Snacks
  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional guide
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pick up and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

    Cl. 24, Cartagena de Indias, Provincia de Cartagena, Bolívar, Colombia

    We will be at Pegasos statue is a pair of Horses Next to the Cartagena`s Boarding Dock La Bodeguita, a person with a Backpackers uniform will be there waiting for you, please be the at 7:45 am we are leaving at 8 am.

Start time

08:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Muelle de los Pegasos

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Isla Grande

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Islas de Rosario

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Cholón (Islas del Rosario)

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Isla Baru

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Bocachica (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Minimum age is 6 years
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
This was an amazing experience. Alex and Chris were the most amazing guides. Made us feel like family. The islands were gorgeous. Snorkeling was a BLAST! They truly made us have the best day of our lives.


140 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 140 reviews
Not to repeat ever again! Not recommended
ElbaKarina_T, Apr 2023
Not the best spots, not a good experience at all! Too much people in just one boat, which let us not even enough space to sit confortable.
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed the activity
Good Vibes ONLY🤩
LakeshiaD, Apr 2023
First and foremost let me say we felt safe which is important and the guides were informative.This tour was GOOD VIBES and nothing less🤩 Especially Cholon. Lunch was also delicious
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thanks for your comment we are happy to know that you enjoy the activity
A very good tour
Shirley_D, Mar 2023
Franklin was our guide. I was nervous about get on and off the boat. Franklin personally saw to it that I was at ease getting on and off the boat. Franklin was a very good guide. Each island had something different and interesting to offer. It was a very good tour. All of the members of your staff were kind and helpful. However, I think that decisions about who was to be on which boat and the recording of lunch menu preferences could have been handled in a more timely and efficient manner. I enjoyed the tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thanks for your comment we are happy to know that you enjoy the activity.
Tunnel from hell
Dejah_D, Mar 2023
I have so many mixed emotions about this excursion—Let me start by saying I had a great time all in all. We started the tour by stopping by Castle San Felipe de Barajas which wasn’t mentioned in the itinerary so I was a bit caught off guard when we docked the boat there—To my surprise the tourist attraction was full of history and was actually a great stop up until one of the locals invited my group into a tunnel that was optional but he made seem as if it was the only way back to the boat. What an interesting start to my birthday morning as it kicked off with a panic attack in the tunnel from hell. There was no air, no light, bats hanging from the ceiling and rats running around; it was just the scariest thing I’ve ever done in my life and I had no clue what I was in for. I fell and hurt myself pretty bad from trying to run, everything was just so unexpected. If you are claustrophobic, this stop you might want to avoid the tunnels otherwise it will not go well for you. The snorkeling activities was so much fun, the corals and fish were really pretty. I could’ve done without the third stop as the beach was super rundown and had a bunch of stray dogs. Cholon was by far my favorite stop as they had banana boats, and other water activities to partake in as well as vendors in the water selling hookah, drinks and food—I honestly wish we had spent the majority of our time there. The final stop at the beach club for lunch was nice and the food was delicious—especially the fried shrimp. Overall I’d recommend this experience but there are just somethings to be aware of before booking this tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thanks a for your comment we are happy to know that you enjoy the activity
Ryan_J, Jan 2023
Not sure why I cannot upload photos but this tour was AMAZING! Definitely worth the money. Very well planned and executed!! GREAT JOB!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Ryan thank you very much for your congratulations, every day we do our best to make it perfect.
Fun, sun, and amazing beaches and people. Well worth the experience.
Vivian_O, Nov 2022
It was an excellent, fun-filled day trip with an excellent guide, Franklin that I’d rate 5/5 stars. The beaches are amazing, clean and recommend themselves. Well worth it. Brace yourself for the speedboat ride: exhilarating.
Ivaylo_K, Sept 2022
The first island we stopped at. I wish we spent more time there it was magical instead of being just 45mins. But everything was really great I will definitely recommended to anyone.
Well organised tour, but...
Mahendra_B, July 2022
Well organised tour, but lost my eyeglasses on board while snorkeling. Take care of your belongings as this is not guaranteed from the company.
Best day of your life!
Maria_V, June 2022
This was an amazing experience. Alex and Chris were the most amazing guides. Made us feel like family. The islands were gorgeous. Snorkeling was a BLAST! They truly made us have the best day of our lives.
We enjoyed our day, but if you’re not into crowds don’t go on a weekend.
Ingrid_H, Feb 2022
The boat was very new and top notch. Snorkeling equipment was good, as well as the life jackets. Melanie, our guide was enthusiastic and quite bilingual. The ride home was fast and fun, and a bit scary. The snorkeling was not stellar, as the coral reef is dying. We were two “older” couples, so did not enjoy the party island. The food was nothing special. I think all tours out to the islands are a similar service, so I don’t really think that it really matters which one you go with. Also we went on a weekend, so I’m sure that it was much more crowded.
Octavio_V, Jan 2022
Very complete trip! The leader is amazing, she needs to get a raise! The first island personally was the best one but all are great!
Dirty/Dangerous Party your
Andreas_H, Aug 2021
We was looking forward to an nice and quiet snorkeling trip. Realty was that it was an big party’s lots of people local children in between which trying to steal your belongings. We would not recommend that trip
Response from Host, Aug 2021
We apologize for any inconvenience caused, we always try to provide a better service, in our place there are lockers to secure your belongings and they are included in the service. There are factors beyond our control but we always try to take care of our clients. Greetings!
Perfect boat day experience! Highly recommend
Julianne_N, July 2021
This was a great trip! Well worth the money to be picked up at your hotel, travel with a private group from place to place on a boat with music that’s not super super choppy, and to have guides take you from place to place. Jesus was great and very fun! We lucked out and had great weather and very few waves on the trip out to Rosario islands and back. All around an awesome experience, especially given that we weren’t familiar with the area. Bring your own drinks and snacks if you want! It was good to have a place to keep our things while we snorkled and hung out of the beach. Would 100% repeat
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Perfect blend of fun for everyone!
Trisha_T, Mar 2020
We enjoyed our tour of the 3 islands from our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide, John Wayne. The snorkel session would have been better if we had not been required to wear lifejackets. Fins were also not provided. Nice fish and coral though! Loved the private island relaxing time at stop #2, but Cholon (the party island), not so much. The boat ride back to Playa Blanca (starting point) into the waves and wind was exhilarating and fun! Sit in the front of the boat for a roller coaster thriller or in the back to tame it down as much as possible. The traditional Colombian lunch back at Playa Blanca was delicious and we appreciated the vegetarian option. Bring an extra water bottle with you (one bottle is provided).
Amazing day trip
LiN, Feb 2020
Awesome day trip. Great service from the crew as soon as you get on the bus. Nothing but amazing day . Thank you.
Terrible Tour Company
Griselangel_P, Oct 2019
The tour is good in theory- but not in execution. Driver and tour guide were lost at every step of the way so it took 2.5 hours to pick everyone up. Tour guide would never update us in what what going on, and took him over 2 hours to do basic introduction. We were told to be ready at 6 AM. Got picked up at 7 AM and it was not until 8:45 of doing never ending circles around town picking people up that the tour guide introduced himself and told the group what was happening. Giving 2 stars because the restaurant they took us for lunch had amazing food and drinks to it helped the experience a little. My advice - find this tour, with a better tour company.
The boat was too small The food was not great.didnot Worth the money. same ticket for $98us at ARRIv
Winston_A, Mar 2019
The boat was too small The food was not great.didnot Worth the money. same ticket for $98us at ARRIV
Curiosity53663506167, Mar 2019
This was a really great experience. Everyone was very knowledgeable and helped us throughout the entire trip. The water was beautiful. The boat ride was extremely memorable. We wanted to do this tour again the next day. I would recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the islands.
Rosario & Cholon
Kristina S, Jan 2019
We had a great tour guide who spoke both English and Spanish. The boat ride out to Rosario can get a bit choppy so be sure to sit towards the back of the boat. The few islands we stopped on were small and just meant for observing the scenery and wading the in water. Don't expect there to be shopping, restaurants, etc. But it's a great look at how the locals live. The water was crystal blue, water, and we had a great time!
Great Time
Jon_L, Aug 2018
The tour was well managed and the guide Jorge was very helpful. Bring cash if you plan on drinking on the beach - be mindful there will be people trying to sell you stuff at every turn.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Full Day 5 Best Island Spots from Cartagena


8 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 125.00
No Photo
Full day private island tour in Islas del Rosario


7 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 160.00
No Photo
Private Tour & the best coffee of the world in Cartagena (Also for cruisers)


3 hours 35 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 250.00