Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba

Cartagena, Colombia

From USD 36.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Be amazed by nature's unpredictability on this Totumo Volcano and Galerazamba day trip. The impressive Galerazamba salt flats give a pink hue to the nearby sea between December and April. Enjoy magnificent views of the pink sea from a lookout point and learn more about the local area at the Ethnoindustrial Museum.
  • Entrance to the volcano is included
  • Travel in a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle
  • This is an easy way to visit the volcano and the surrounding area
  • See some of the most impressive sights in northern Colombia

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entrance to the volcano of totumo
  • Bilingual Assistant (English)
  • visit to Galerazamba
  • massage, photo and mud removal
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

08:00 am

Pickup details

We pick up at any hotel in the areas of: castillogrande 08: 00- 08:30 laguito 08: 00- 08:30 bigmouth 08: 00-08: 15 Gethsemane 8: 15- 08:45 Center 08: 30- 09:00  San Diego 08:30 - 09:00 Stonecutter 09: 00-09: 15 , Marbella 09: 00-09: 15  Crespo, 09: 00- 09:15 North Zone 09: 00- 09:15

What To Expect

Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano)

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
What an incredible experience! The people are lovely. The tour guide was a sweetheart. The bus really nice and clean. The stops were special. The people at the lodotherapy were friendly and respectful. The mud feels amazing and relaxing. Get the massage and eat empanadas afterwards. Bring pesos for tips.


168 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews
The Totumo Volcano Rocks!
Sheila_K, Apr 2023
Although the museum didn’t have much to see and the pink sea lost its color, the Totumo volcano (and massage) was excellent. It totally made up for the first stops.
Unique but chaotic experience
Ann_D, Apr 2023
The pickup took too long. Would have been better to pick everyone up at a meeting place vs individual locations. The museum could have been skipped. It was really small and we didn’t get any info in English. Some enjoyed the interactions with the school kids next door. The salt sea wasn’t pink due to climate conditions. The mud bath itself was a great unique experience and the workers were good at knowing who’s phone to use for pictures. Appreciated having them do that and capturing the memories. There were ladies in the lake to help wash the mud and showers were available. The most chaotic part was the tipping. We were aware we would have to pay/tip for the mud “massage” and cleaning but having everyone hound you was uncomfortable. Some felt they didn’t get enough tips and were yelling at the guides. Later a guide mentioned a bag we were supposed to put it in to be shared amongst the workers but it was too late. Tipping expectations should have been set up front to avoid the chaos.
Response from Host, May 2023
hello! Thanks for your opinion. we will take it into account to improve
Unforgettable experience
Grisell_M, Mar 2023
What an incredible experience! The people are lovely. The tour guide was a sweetheart. The bus really nice and clean. The stops were special. The people at the lodotherapy were friendly and respectful. The mud feels amazing and relaxing. Get the massage and eat empanadas afterwards. Bring pesos for tips.
Left feeling uncomfortable
Agneta_L, Mar 2023
I’m going to make this short and bullet pointed. Long story short, don’t go with this tour and pay a little more on another one. - the van leaks water on people, there’s no air conditioner and there’s no space for legs( you’ve never seen such little space/ not exaggerating, I believe they put extra seats in to fit more people). - the museum was closed when we got there, there was no water ( so toilets can’t be flushed and you can’t wash your hands properly). - when the museum opened, the lady spoke 30 minutes in Spanish, and the end flush was for 3 minutes, so we just stood around in a dangerous, poor street with nothing around. - the lakes, weren’t pink because of the season, but nothing was said beforehand, not from what I know anyway, because most of it wash in Spanish. - the driver was fine, the lead tour guide didn’t care for her job at all, she stood around not speaking to anyone or about anything. I know nothing about the volcano or what happened with those 4/5 hours. - the volcano was dangerous to get into, watched many people slip on the stairs. - the changing rooms for some reason have lots of people around them, very uncomfortable. - the locals take your phone of you for pictures, grab you in the volcano and just start rubbing you, not a real massage and they don’t even ask you for permission. My partner was massaged for 30 seconds, I was massaged for 5 minutes, under my bikini straps, very high up my inner thighs, constantly on my belly under my boobs. I have never ever in my life have felt so violated and I regret a lot not telling them to stop. - volcano also has about 10 people in the same time. - we went to wash of in the river, they give you a bowl in the middle of you washing yourself, and expect a tip from you. For some reason they also put my partners crocs on and started walking around with them like they are theirs. - we got changed, we got pushed by like 3 people behind the changing rooms to give everyone tips. We walked away after I got pointed at why I’m not giving money when me and my partner have the same wallet. We got on the bus and the locals literally almost got in the bus asking us for more money. I got scared and gave them my last cash. The TOUR GUIDE WAS LITERALLY STANDING THEIR WATCHING THEM HARASS US. The tour guide is there to guide us and help us. She was useless! - and hour later in the hot van we got back to Cartagena, some people went to lunch , others carried on driving, when there was nothing written about lunch on their page.
Horrible. DO NOT BOOK
shilpa_a, Mar 2023
This was the most terrible tour I have ever been on in my life. The guide did not speak any English and the entire bus was confused as to what the toir was going to be like. We were taken in a bus with a leaking AC and seats That were broken. Because the guide did speak English there was silence along the way of the hour plus trip. We did not know what the stops were going to be. When we finally arrived to the salt museum it was pathetic. Not to mention there’s no running water, so this may be a health hazard. Additionally, when we got to the volcano, there was no clear instruction as to what the process was or where our items are going to be kept. We were accosted by all of the workers there for tips. I would not recommend this tour company to anyone. Save your money , and use another tour guide.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello, good morning, we always emphasize that it is an ecological tour, in the volcano it is true that there is no water or light, the guide speaks the English necessary to communicate, you were picked up at your proper time, you did all the activity, you had lunch and They never expressed various disagreements with the person in charge or with me via WhatsApp, they asked for a lunch after it was served, they did not want to pay for it. In the same way, we feel your displeasure and as a suggestion, whenever you go to buy an activity, read carefully what it is about. Thank you
I had a good time....
Breanna_M, Feb 2023
I had a good time. Logistically, there should be better coordination around communication ie. confirmation text/email the day/night before letting the customer know you will pick them up from the location. Or at least a text in the morning that you're on the way if you don't contact them before the excursion. Just to ease our mind and we stay in vacation mode. The water isn't pink but the mud bath is completely worth it. There needs to be better communication with the people running the entry to the mud bath because they questioned me for an entry ticket and wouldn't let me enter while in line then after consulting with the tour hosts they let me continue. That was annoying. Other than that, this excursion experience gets the job done.
Great Time! A must.
Amber_P, Jan 2023
This excursion was an amazing experience. We learned so much about Colombian culture. Our tour guide amazing and lunch at the end was delicious. I would recommend doing the early morning tour.
The Mud Bath is a Cool Experience! This Tour Company wasn't Great...
Mayan_R, Jan 2023
Communication on this tour company's end was absolutely terrible. They never messaged me to let me know when pick up would be. I sent a message via Viator the evening before (around 6pm)-- no response. I send a WhatsApp message at around 7pm-- no response. Finally, at around 8pm I asked the hotel reception where I was staying to call (since I don't have a local SIM) and there I got my answer. The funny thing is, is that at 7:30am the next morning (the day of the tour) I got a message from the tour company to be ready for pickup in an hour. Boy am I glad I called the night before!! haha The mud bath experience (which lasted about 10-15 minutes) was really cool and unique and the view from the top there was quite nice...but the rest of the day was pretty mundane. The guide was fine, didn't explain too much. The ride was okay, except the AC seemed to be leaking...that was sort of annoying. Bring cash, as you will be expected to tip at the volcano. There was a locker to keep our things safe while we went into the bath and one of the guys takes your phone while you're in the bath to take photos which was quite nice. I do recommend going to the mud bath, but not working with this tour company.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Good morning, we're sorry about the communication, sometimes the phone crashes and the person doesn't see the message, if they received the message an hour before because our way of notifying and we picked it up on time even a little earlier than stipulated, thank you very much anyway for your comment, we continue working to improve
The mud bath was a unique...
Alicia_G, Jan 2023
The mud bath was a unique experience, but it was very short, crowded and not worth the long car trip.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
The mud bath was a unique experience, but it was very short, crowded and not worth the long car trip.
Tallyson_N, Jan 2023
There was no red water. They could have mentioned when it’s actually happening rather than have us book and tell us it’s not the season for it. The meuseum i could have done without. Luckily the little time we spent at the volcano was almost worth the money.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello, as the description says, it is a natural phenomenon and we have gone through a very hard winter. but we still want to collaborate with this community. thank you for your comment
"Mud in your eye" not!
james_l, Dec 2022
My trip to the Totumo Volcano on Sunday Dec 12 started by being promptly pick up @ 8am. Our HOSTESS yuliana was very pleasant @ @ttractive, But I digress 😃. The stops we made along the route @ the GAZERAMBA museum was quite interesting. Once @ the Volcano we were tended to by the staff there with comforting assurances of us surrendering personal items such as phones ID E.T.C. The Totumo Volcano is amazing I understand it's 50 feet deep,@nd when you @re In it you don't sink Incredible!!!! I'd recommend, @nd will recommend to @ny @nd @ll visitors to Cartegna. Not to mention @ll of this for 36.00 !! Thank you Viator👏👏👏
Response from Host, Jan 2023
thank you for your comment
Should have been cancelled!
Amanda_C, Nov 2022
This was not a good experience. Took us through a very poverty stricken and unsafe neighborhood to get to what they called a "museum", but it was hardly that. Next, further into said neighborhood to get to a lake that was supposed to be pink but lost it's color due to all the rain. More than once, groups of teenagers ran out on the road in front of our tour bus, forcing the bust to stop so they could attempt to rob us. Again, not a grat area for tourists. Then we went to the mud Volcano, which was also washed out from all the rain and nothing special to look at. Due to all of the rain, we were not able to climb in the volcano as advertised. Instead we were offered to have buckets of mud rubbed on us by some locals. I'm really not usually someone that complains, But this was a horrible experience. Obviously they couldn't control the weather, but this trip should have been cancelled for sure since all of the attractions were rained out. Not really something for tourists.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
After the winter, the sand in the volcano was very weak, so it is advisable not to go while it is raining for your safety. I remind you that the volcano is 45 minutes from Cartagena, and sometimes it does not rain here but it does there, we are sorry for not being able to enjoy from the volcano, I hope they have received the money back
Unbelievable Mud Therapy Experience
Roberto_M, Nov 2022
I never thought that I would be having a mud therapy in a natural mud formation. It was a blast but to be honest, I was fearful of drawning LOL. Instead I was floating on that very thick mud. The locals were very helpful and nice. However, I understand that the area needs government attention to make it look attractive and give locals a real job opportunity. Shout out to Maria for helping me remove the mud off my body at the nearby marsh. The trip back and forth was comfortable and the indigenous museum was very informative. I would have skipped the stop at the pink bay because it wasn't pink and there was nothing else to see there. Overall, a great experience.
The van air conditioning...
Nancy_H, Nov 2022
The van air conditioning was not working, so the ride was very uncomfortable all the way to the volcano. Tour guide and driver were not understanding when issue was brought up. Volcano was fun, but be prepared to be asked for money after giving the tour guide your tipping money.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello, we are very sorry. We will do our best to improve and provide a better service. Thank you
Wait til they repair the volcano
Julienne_P, Nov 2022
I was told when they came to pick me up that you could not climb the volanco and get into the mud. They said it had a crack in it due to the recent weather and it was hazardous to climb and enter the mud. They offered a mud massage instead while sitting down soomeone would rub mud on your legs. Well that's not I wanted. I canceled and they sent a refund.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
We are sorry but nature is like that, and it gets out of hand, we still try to comply and give them a choice. Thank you
Mud Magic
Wilworth_B, Nov 2022
Climbing up to the volcano and the view was breathtaking. Lying in the mud was wonderful and very therapeutic.
Great but no AC in bus
Dexter_D, Nov 2022
Experience was memorable, except a bus ride wherein AC doesn’t work on a 90-degree day. The Galerazamba museum was not great at all
Response from Host, Nov 2022
We are very sorry for what happened.
Totumo? Awesome!
Gabrielle_S, Oct 2022
It was a fun experience! I believe if the water isn't pink during certain times, then that stop isn't necessary. I understand it isn't far from the volcano, but that time could be used for something different. Maybe even including lunch at Totumo instead.
I liked that the guide...
Kinga_K, Oct 2022
I liked that the guide spoke good English however the mini bus we were transferred with was proper bad. No AC, no air, i had to tell them to open the windows cuz there was no air in the vehicle. Otherwise, the trip was too short imo, they only allowed about 15-30min per sightseeing locations. Toilets were also horrible. Shower was good, however, and the mus volcano certainly made up for the inconveniences
Excellent Experience
Jesenia_A, Aug 2022
The pickup was very smooth. The ride was about 15-30 minutes. The experience was absolutely amazing.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 36.00
No Photo
Totumo Volcano from Cartagena and Galerazamba


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 58.00
No Photo
Totumo volcano In the afternoon!


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 25.00
No Photo
Half day totumo mud volcano and pink sea with lunch


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 38.00