Darwin

3.5 Hour Small Group Walking Food & Art Tour with LUNCH or DINNER

Darwin City, Australia
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 122.50

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Darwin's foodie scene is diverse, and with so many restaurants to choose from, it can be hard to know where to start. This tasting tour means you don't have to choose. Instead, visit a selection of top restaurants with possibilities including Snapper Rocks, Little Miss Korea, and Speakers Corner, and enjoy gourmet tasting plates. Every tour is slightly different, so you might dine with a view of the harbor, feast on fresh seafood, or sample Aboriginal bush tucker.
  • Walking tour of Darwin with plenty of photo ops
  • Sample a selection of dishes including Aboriginal bush foods
  • Dine at restaurants in downtown Darwin and along the waterfront
  • Insider tips and recommendations on where to eat in Darwin

Sample Menu

Starter

Seared scallop

With truffle pea puree and chorizo crumble.

What's Included

  • Dinner
  • Coffee, tea, standard soft drinks
  • Lunch
  • Alcoholic beverages

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Hilton Darwin
    32 Mitchell St, Darwin City NT 0800, Australia

    PepperBerry Restaurant at the Hilton, 32 Mitchell Street

End point

  • Darwin Waterfront Precinct
    19B Kitchener Dr, Darwin City NT 0800, Australia

What To Expect

Darwin

1 hour 35 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Darwin Street Art

35 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

The Old Town Hall

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Darwin Waterfront Precinct

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Please tell us if you have any medical condition that may affect your ability to attend the tour.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
Jeannette_J
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Chris is full of information and she thoroughly is passionate about her City of Darwin and all its inner secrets. Especially the street art which she guided us past. We were lucky to be taken to 3 magnificent restaurants and the food in all was very enjoyable. We certainly was not hungry at the end. We can highly recommend this tour if you enjoy great food. It was a small group of 7 which really worked well and they were lovely people.

Reviews

4.5
54 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews
Do it!
Jillian_G, June 2023
Sensational tour, and talented tour guide..knowledgable of both the Art and the food. Would highly recommend
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review.
A fun, but hot, experience
AlsonKemp, Nov 2022
Excellent food, fun guide(s), lovely and interesting art to see, but just realize that a post-tour shower will be required. Also, pace yourself on the food; more to come.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. Yes, it's rather warm in Darwin at this time of year! but we had fun too.
Great night
Naomi_B, Oct 2022
The first two restaurants Phat Mango and Ella By Minoli were fantastic food was delicious. Snapper Rocks was not so great bit disappointed. Art work in Darwin was so interesting. We had such a great night great group.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate it.
A good experience
Anthony_S, July 2022
Art tour excellent Too much food all at once would have preferred spaced out a little more A little bit more variety instead of all Asian based, maybe only two shared dishes at each restaurant and a couple of more restaurants of a different cuisine. Otherwise a good experience
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you for your feedback and we're really glad you enjoyed the tour. We're constantly changing our restaurant line up and we'll do a better job of evening out the mix.
Great experience
Barbara_G, July 2022
Great night great food Aaron was very knowledgeable one of the best tours so far that we have done would go agt
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you so much, we really appreciate that you took the time to give us this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Fantastic
Theresa_M, July 2022
This was a fantastic experience. Aaron was a amazing host and very knowledgeable. The concept is brilliant. Great value for money. We could not have eaten another bite. The Darwin Street Art tour was brilliant. We would definitely do this again. Highly recommend.
Response from Host, July 2022
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us a review--thank you so much. And Aaron will be delighted to know how much you enjoyed your experience.
Really good to get...
Sally_E, July 2022
Really good to get insight into the wall art of Darwin. The 3 restaurants we went to we're great. Meals were superb, hosts were friendly and passionate about their food. Our tour guide Chris was very knowledgeable. Make sure you don't eat all day - they provide heaps of food
Response from Host, July 2022
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We're so glad you enjoyed your tour. And we'll be sure to pass your kind regards along to your guide Chris. We hope to see you again soon.
Amazing
Susan_C, June 2022
The food was incredible, Aron did an amazing job looking after us and you can feel his passion for the street art. It’s definitely worth doing this tour, you get plenty of food and stories.
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. And I'll be sure to let Aaron know how much you loved the tour.
The street art was very rushed and we missed most of it as too dark
Kerry_M, May 2022
The people that we met especially the locals. The restaurant phat mango was the standout as the owner was very informative and the food quality was excellent. The second place at Pepperberry -the Hilton - the food was very small and average - the men’s bathrooms stunk and were disgusting eventhough the foyer was amazing but missing indigenous artwork. Inequity personified. The third restaurant Hanuman we were given overcooked chicken parcels and then bowls of red and green curries to share followed by a brûlée that only half the group ate. This restaurant did not provide any commentary and it seemed like we were an inconvenience to the staff. The locals did let us know that this was one of the best restaurants in Darwin - not on that night! The other thing is I would like to caution people on the safety on the streets as it becomes quite dangerous after dark as there are people that are intoxicated and are easily antagonised by others.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad you thought Phat Mango was 'excellent' as it's one of our favourites and that's the kind of experience we expect to have at each of our restaurants. I apologise that we had an off-night, and that the food for the rest of the tour was not to your liking. You're right, this particular tour was a bit rushed looking at street art, partly because service was slow in one of the restaurants and we had to hurry to get to the next restaurant to meet our reservation. That's unusual, as we normally have lots of time to linger at the art. We’re a little over a year old and we’ve learned some tough lessons about the restaurants we offer. I'm reviewing what you experienced to see what we can improve. In terms of your comment about safety, all of our venues are on main streets in the centre of the city and in well-lighted areas. We travel in groups and our guides are all longtime, streetsmart locals who know how to avoid conflict with the very rare drunken person they may encounter on the streets. Remember, for part of that tour, we're walking along the Number One party street in Darwin, lined with pubs and nightclubs. We avoid problems in advance. I was surprised by your comment about the brule at Hanuman, and you didn't indicate whether or not you had tasted it, just that others had not. Our view is that just because someone didn't eat something, doesn't make it poor food. On the contrary, that inventive Asian brule is often cited as being a strong favourite among all the deserts we offer. Again, I apologise that your tour was not up to our usual high standard.
Ripped Off
Tracey_S, Apr 2022
Very expensive for the amount of food you got, especially at the last restaurant, Urban Spice. I costed the food we were given and it came to $24.50 per person. The food was average at Urban Spice. I’ve had better takeaway. The company took in $1790.00 for one night. The other meals were just tastings, bite size food. Then you had to pay for your alcohol. Cost us over $400 for one night on dining. I will not recommend to friends or family.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Here's a copy of the email I sent to you personally, responding to comments you sent me via email: Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent tour. As a food tour connoisseur, you’ll know that many disparate elements combine to create a satisfying tour. We’re pleased that you had an “excellent” guide in Jaime, and the first two restaurants “…offered some very interesting and delicious local food.” It seemed everything was going well up until then. But Jaime, Tour Manager Aaron, and I were all mortified to hear of your experience at Urban Pantry. As Aaron said, that’s “…not the dining tour we want our guests to experience.” We’ve previously had wonderful experiences at Urban Pantry. Why did they have such an off night? To find out, Aaron has approached the owner of Urban Pantry and is thoroughly investigating what went wrong and what we can do to prevent it from happening again. If we cannot secure guarantees that Urban Pantry will not drop the ball again, we’ll drop them from our tours. On behalf of our company, I apologise that your experience at Urban Pantry did not match our high standards for the rest of your tour. I wish you all the best for your continued travels.
Great Food and Leisurely Stroll
Jeannette_J, Sept 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Chris is full of information and she thoroughly is passionate about her City of Darwin and all its inner secrets. Especially the street art which she guided us past. We were lucky to be taken to 3 magnificent restaurants and the food in all was very enjoyable. We certainly was not hungry at the end. We can highly recommend this tour if you enjoy great food. It was a small group of 7 which really worked well and they were lovely people.
Response from Host, Sept 2021
Thank you so much for this review. And I'll be sure to give Chris your warm regards.
Nature on display
MARK_B, July 2021
Wonderful evening Amazing sunset Food & drinks of a very high standard . The attentive friendly staff made sure everyone was looked after well Good value for money.
Response from Host, July 2021
Thank you for giving us a review. I'm so glad the timing was right for you to see the sunset over the Arafura Sea--yes, it can be awesome. And I'll be sure to pass your comments along to your guide, I know they will be appreciated.
Fantastic Food
Lee_E, June 2021
Great food and walking tour. Enjoyed all the food suggestions and other options provided. Great value and quality of food, our guide was informative with info on Darwin too!
Response from Host, June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. I'm the owner and I'm so glad you enjoyed your tour, and I'll pass your kind comments along to your guide. Best regards, Darrel Trueman
Below average experience
John_N, May 2021
The first restaurant where the owner/chef described his dishes and was passionate about the source of the produce. The rest of the tour was very disappointing, food provided was not explained. 3 dining places in 3 hours was disappointing. Not value for money.
Response from Host, May 2021
Hi John, I'm sorry to hear that parts of your tour did not meet your expectations, but I'm glad that you were happy with Phat Mango, the first stop on your tour. Yes, the owner is very passionate and we love sitting near the kitchen and hearing about how local ingredients are sourced from Aboriginal communities throughout the Top End of the Northern Territory. I apologise that there were not more descriptions about the food at the other two restaurants on your particular tour. I'll work with our guides and restaurant partners to ensure that we continue to consistently get descriptions into the tour at all of the restaurants we visit, as we normally do. I'm not sure why that didn't happen as it should have on your particular tour, as like you, we consider it to be an important element of a food tour experience.
Fantastic
Jane_D, Apr 2021
Absolutely wonderful evening. Beautiful food at fantastic restaurants. Very knowledgeable tour leader. Loved how the owners of the restaurants took time out of their busy evenings to talk to us.
Response from Host, Apr 2021
Thank you Jane, that's much appreciated. We especially loved the food and the seating at Char, with each of us facing the Arafura Sea on such a beautiful tropical evening.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
3.5 Hour Small Group Walking Food & Art Tour with LUNCH or DINNER

54

3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
USD 122.50
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Kakadu Full-Day Tour from Darwin with Lunch

552

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 198.46
No Photo
Sunset 3-Hour Cruise from Darwin with Dinner and Sparkling Wine

625

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 108.81
No Photo
Corroboree Billabong 2.5 hour Lunch Cruise

29

2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
USD 71.86