Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Geneva, Switzerland
Chamonix and Mont Blanc

From USD 117.31

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the allure of the European Alps on a full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe, from Geneva. With a guide, travel through the splendor of the countryside to Chamonix, a picturesque Alpine town. Upgrade options include ticket to ascend the Aiguille de Midi peak in a modern cable car; and a scenic railway ride to Montenvers, home to Mer de Glace.
  • Full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc in France from Geneva, led by a professional guide
  • Drive through the Arve Valley to Chamonix
  • Choose from different tour options to suit your preferences
  • Ride the cable car to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Marvel at spectacular views of the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps, including Mont Blanc and the Matterhorn
  • Hop aboard the cog railway to Montenvers (if option selected)
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Geneva

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

This tour offers both independent sightseeing and a guide on the coach to give you the scoop on Mont Blanc.

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Cable car ride to summit of Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Train ride to Montenvers (if option selected, caves included but the opening is NOT garanteed))
  • Skip the line tickets
  • Guide if more than 10 people or driver guide for small groups
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Geneva Bus Station
    1201 Geneva, Switzerland

    Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

Start time

08:30 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Select from a variety of options and customize your tour according to your preferences. The guide provides historical insight on the region, and then climb aboard a comfortable coach in central Geneva to begin your journey. Admire stunning scenery as you drive to the Alpine village of Chamonix and marvel at the village’s majestic location at the foot of Mont Blanc on arrival.

Select from the tours listed in the Itinerary section to determine the schedule and price of your day in Chamonix and Mont Blanc. Please note from November 6th to December 15th is the annual closure of the Aiguille du Midi.


15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Aiguille du Midi

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Statue of Balmat and Saussure

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train

2 hours Admission Ticket Included


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Stroller accessible
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day, we cannot found out before we arrive in Chamonix, it's a risk to take
  • Near public transportation
  • Please note there is unplanned maintenance on the Aiguille du midi cable car at the moment, an alternative cable car will be offered with a similar view
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Infant seats available
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be travelling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Please note that if you take the Aiguille du Midi and Mer de Glace options, you will be provided with a multipass. Multipass which gives access to all the facilities of the Mont Blanc company. If you use this Multipass for a single activity, it will be considered by the Compagnie du Mont-Blanc as used and cannot be refunded if the other activities are closed. The Mont Blanc company offers alternative activities but does not authorize refunds of the multipass.
  • The train ticket includes the ice caves but the opening is never garanteed and depends on the day , we cannot know before if it will be open. If the train is open and not the cave, there is no refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
The breathtaking views of the Alps as well as the views from the mountain train were incredible. Roger, our tour guide, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and organized. A must see for anyone spending a few days in a Geneva!


1,006 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,006 reviews
Jitendra_S, Sept 2023
The weather was good and it was a fantastic day with clear vison of the peaks. Our guide was great. Overall a great experience
Rent a car
Kendrik_G, Sept 2023
It's super expensive($260pp), but everything in Geneva is. I thought for the money we paid, that it would be a little more informative, not a giant charter bus and skip the line passes. The cave was closed, which it's states in the booking. It's closed for half the year during summer and fall. So that was disappointing that's not even an option. When you get to the top of the tram, there is glass box you can stand in and get your picture taken. 1 hour minimum to stand in line. For the price you pay, I would figure out a different mode of transportation and just do it on my own next time. The views are beautiful and definitely worth the drive.
The adventure was cool...
pauline_m, Sept 2023
The adventure was cool going to the top. Beautiful weather- beautiful day. Caves were not open so that wasn’t fun. Bus was hot, couldnt understand the driver. He didn’t have good energy.
Ok tour, too many (approx 100) people for one guide
Melissa_P, Sept 2023
The tour was fine. The best part was Mont Blanc and the scenery. We got there and back in one piece. The tour guide did the best they could with a group of approximately 100 people in two busses. There should have been a second guide. Overpriced but ok if you just want to ride a long. Not enough time at Mont Blanc and too much time as the ice cave was closed since Sept 22 this year. It would have been better for them to give more time at Mont Blanc. The train goes to the ice cave and glacier. Still worth the train ride if you like mountains and a little time to walk the trails.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning We are sorry to know that you did not fully enjoy our tour and that the way it was organized did not meet your expectations. These messages help us improve our work. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
While coming back, I sat...
anees_i, Sept 2023
While coming back, I sat in driver assistant seat in front of bus near to driver seat amd entrance door due to no place available. I was booked in advance and my seat is reserve but I don't know bus is full while coming back.. Guide came in another use of guide just gave pass and told to meet this place. I opt for full service and paid full amount.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning It hurts us to know that this happened; we will contact the guide to investigate and correct these situations. Again excuse us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Taking pictures in the...
Darren_C, Sept 2023
Taking pictures in the Glass box and the gondola ride to the top. Having a coffee surrounded by the alps was amazing.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning Chamonix/Mont Blanc is a beautiful area, full of nature, adventure, clean air, good gastronomy, etc. It will always be a good option to make a visit. We hope to see you again. Kind regards
Get there on time!!!
Timothy_G, Sept 2023
They left with out us. We had the worst Uber experience and they caused us to be late. I tried to text the tour and got no response. Make sure you get there ahead of time because apparently the bus leaves right at 8:30
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good afternoon We are sorry for the inconvenience; but in our itinerary the departure time and the return time are written. We cannot be delayed. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Wonderful tour & company!
Emma_G, Sept 2023
A must see & do! The bus is very comfortable and seats recline so you can rest. The guide does an excellent job at taking care of everyone's questions despite having a group of almost 50ppl. We missed the gondola on the way down so were late to the train to the glacier but the guide had done a really good job of instructing us where to go just in case and so we were able to meet up with the group. I also had emailed the operator to tell them we missed the gondola and they responded right away to help us in real time. Not often you can say that about a company! The experience itself is spectacular. Incredible views and unreal feelings to stand at the highest mountains in France. Do get the whole package - train glacier & gondola - and experience all it has to offer.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning We are happy to know that the tour to Chamonix was 100% satisfactory, every day we try to give our best so that you feel comfortable and satisfied. Chamonix/Mont Blanc is a beautiful area of Europe. What a privilege to be able to say, I visited Mont Blanc. Kind regards Keytours
Poor communication
VJ_M, Sept 2023
This trip not good for elderly people. Not good communication done by guide regarding train station. Did not meet us at meeting point
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Dear customer, This trip is made for all kind of person, even elderly people are welcome and usually enjoy it, for Chamonix is a very pretty village. However, we are sorry to hear that you found a lack of communication from us, for we always try to give our clients all the information needed for their trip in order for them to fully enjoy it. Thank you for your review, it helps us to improve our service. Sincerely, Keytours Team
Nathan_C, Sept 2023
Great day out, well worth the money. Friendly and helpful guide took us through everything, the cable car and train ride were good and the views were incredible
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning Thank you very much for your message, we are happy to read messages like yours, it motivates us to give our best every day. Chamonix/Mont Blanc is a unique trip, full of adventure and nature. Kind regards Keytours
A trip worth taking at any cost
Naresh_C, Sept 2023
It was a wonderful, exciting and a memorable trip. We enjoyed it thoroughly and we were lucky that weather turned out to be perfect.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning I hope everything goes well; Chamonix/Mont Blanc is a wonderful area, full of nature, adventure and history. It will always be a pleasure to serve you, see you soon. Kind regards Keytours
Great tour and great views
LuiXia_L, Sept 2023
David was a good and helpful guide! He provided good information around the region and was clear on our schedules. He and Dimitri (bus driver) were all very personable. We enjoyed our trip to Chamonix and the mountains. Magnificent views everywhere, especially on top of Aiguille du Midi when it was sunny! One thing to note that the wait to enter the glass box (Step into the Void) is long and might not be worth it for everyone as you can get similar views from the area outside. If you like a fun IG worthy photo, the glass box is for you as it gives an illusion that you are hovering above the mountain.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning Chamonix and Mont Blanc is a unique area, its beauty is unmatched. David and Dimitris are champions, it is an honor that they are part of the company. Kind regards Keytours
worth the effort
Forida_M, Sept 2023
The Mont Blanc experience was wonderful, helped by a brilliant and friendly guide. Nice easy coach trip to the mountain, efficient transfers to the cable cars, and plenty of time to enjoy the view. Tip: it was very sunny on the day, so it was really warm (T shirt weather) at the base and mid-level, but chilly at the top, so wearing layers helps. There are facilities at mid and top level. We didn’t do the glass box as the queue was very long, but we got amazing photos at the top. The train ride to the glacier was lovely, probably even more so because the weather was so good. The glacier itself was harder work than I’d expected! A cable car takes you a little way down, but then it’s 500 steps (stone and metal structures in different parts) down to the cave… so that’s 500 steps to climb back up! The cave itself is small but there are cute carvings inside for photo opportunities. Even though it took me twice as long (with multiple breaks) on the way back up, it was a good experience. Our guide was really helpful, patient, great with giving and repeating instructions and timings etc, and overall it was a worthwhile excursion.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Hello We are very happy you could enjoy the tour at Chamonix and the amazing views of the Alps We hope to see you very soon Our best regards
Breath taking cable car ride!
Bryan_H, Sept 2023
The cable car and viewing experience were great. Unfortuneately, the weather did not let us see anything. I would advise that people book when they arrive in order to guarantee some sighting of Mt. Blanc. We enjoyed Chamonix however and had time for a nice meal cuz we did not choose the caves.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Hello Bryan We are very happy you enjoyed Chamonix Village. As Mont-Blanc is in the Alps unfortunately not everyday the views are amazing, as the weather is very changing. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy a sunny day but we hope you could see the snow and the Alps Our best regards,
Ride to the top of the world
Michael_S, Sept 2023
Being on top of the mountain, inside the glass box. Riding the cable car 🚠 was an experience of a life time. I think I saw Heidi 🫣🤣😎
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Good morning Hahaha so nice, like Heidi! We are very happy to read messages like yours, it motivates us every day to give our best. Chamonix and its surroundings is like a dream, a trip to a fairy tale! surrounded by mountains and architecture causes us full happiness. Kind regards Keytours
Exceptional Trip
Lissan_A, Aug 2023
Wonderful trip. Scenic ride up to Chamonix and even though we couldn't see the ice caves (too hot = too wet to visit), it was well worth the trip. We had clear skies so the view was stunning from the top. The highlight was of course our guide David who kept us all entertained and comfortable through out. Thank you David! Highly recommend this day trip, but maybe wait to book the extras until you understand how the weather will impact them.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Good morning. Thank you very much for your words, we are glad to know that you enjoy our excursion. And yes, Chamonix and its surroundings are beautiful. Kind regards Keytours
Fantastic views from the top.
Harry_K, Aug 2023
It is all about the top The bus ride, the guide, were excellent. The gondola ride, the views from the top were fantastic. The second half of the trip, the train ride to the glacier caves, was a total waste of time and money. The caves were closed, the train, terribly crowded and nothing to see when you get to the top. You should offer a refund or credit for that half of the trip.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Good morning. Chamonix and all its surroundings are magical. We are sorry that the excursion to Mer de Glace did not go as it should. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Keytours
Recommended excursion from Geneva to Aiguille du Midi and Montenvers in Chamonix
Gordon_M, Aug 2023
Caroline, our guide, met our bus at the Gare Routiere bus station in Geneva for our 8:30am departure for Chamonix. She gave us some basic info on the ride and distributed pass cards that were used (often) for the tram ride up to Aiguille du Midi and for the Montenvers train ride. She led us to the tram station and went up with us to the top. My wife and I went our own way afterwards rather than going with the group to the Montenvers train after lunch. The bus then met the group near the Montenvers train station at 5pm, then at the south bus station in Chamonix at 5:15pm, for the ride back to Geneva, arriving after 6pm. Caroline provided clear information in a friendly fashion. We enjoyed the Aiguille du Midi excursion, though we both felt the effects of the altitude. We didn't have time to take the elevator to the very top due to a 60 minute wait. Mt. Blanc was enshrouded in clouds but we could see everything else. It was an experience of a lifetime. We did not take the gondola down from Montenvers nor the many steps to the Mer du Glace - it just didn't seem worth it. The train ride was picturesque, though. And we enjoyed having a beer in Chamonix and walking around town before catching the bus back to Geneva. We waited until a few days before our trip before paying to see what the weather forecast looked like. I recommend this excursion with KeyTours.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello, We are very glad you enjoyed your trip and will pass the compliments to Carol! It is a shame you could not go all the way up due to the wait as Chamonix is a very popular tourist destination. Hope to see you again! Regards, KeyTours Team
Mark_R, Aug 2023
Disappointing organisation, long queues, lots of time wasted and not speedy service. We were told by our guide we could come down the mountain early but the cable car staff refused.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Good morning We regret that the pace has not been more dynamic. We hope that for another occasion it will be more suited to your wishes. We hope to see you again as soon as possible. Kind regards Keytours
Amazing Views
Christopher_H, Aug 2023
An expensive but amazing trip with spectacular scenery. We did both of the optional extras - The Aiguille du Midi cable car and the Mer du Glace train. It did mean that we didn’t have much time to explore Chamonix itself, which was a shame. If you only want to do one of the options, I’d suggest the Aiguille du Midi. The view from the top is spectacular. It is however 3800 metres up, and many in our tour felt light-headed at that altitude. You just need to take things a little slower. The cog railway to the Mer du Glace also has great scenery. Once you arrive, you take a short cable car ride down to the glacier, but as the glacier itself has retreated since the cable car was built, (global warming) it is now another 600 steps down (and back up) on to the ice and the ice caves. They are building a new cable car and visitor centre, ready I believe in 2025. As a last suggestion, given the weather can be very changeable, perhaps don’t pre-book either of the optional extras. You can book them on the day, from the tour guide, while you are on the coach to Chamonix. While we had clear skies, apparently the day before there was heavy cloud, meaning no real view from the top of the Aiguille du Midi. It would have been a shame to book it and not have the views. In short, a great day trip, which I’d recommend to anyone.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Good morning It fills us with emotion to know that you enjoyed our excursion. Chamonix and its surrounding areas is beautiful and magical. Enjoying the highest peak in Europe and the glacier is an experience for a lifetime. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards Keytours

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva


10 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 117.31
No Photo
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Guided Day Trip from Geneva


8 to 11 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 177.65
No Photo
Independent day at Chamonix and Mont-Blanc from Geneva


6 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 91.62
No Photo
Chamonix Mont-Blanc Full Day Guided Tour


8 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 111.73

Explore Similar Things to Do