Gettysburg

Ghosts of the Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

Gettysburg, United States
Ghosts of the Battlefield Self Guided Driving Tour

From USD 14.99

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 to 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Ghostly encounters have long been associated with Gettysburg, given the area’s violent past—and this flexible, self-led audio driving tour will guide you to the most supposedly haunted Gettysburg locations. After purchasing, download the audio file and explore whenever suits your schedule. Set off by car from the Gettysburg Heritage Center, follow the map and instructions, and listen to local author Mark Nesbitt’s spooky storytelling while viewing key historical landmarks.
  • A self-led driving tour offers the most flexible way to tour the area
  • Once it’s downloaded, the audio file never expires—use it multiple times
  • See landmarks like the Eisenhower National Historic Site and Devil’s Den
  • The tour is narrated by Mark Nesbitt, author of “Ghosts of Gettysburg”

What's Included

  • App on your phone: A link to download the Tour Guide App by Action and Password for your tours.
  • Flexible schedule: Use any day, any time. Travel over multiple days or on next trip. Never expires.
  • Good value: Buy just one per car. Don’t pay for each person. Save money compared to a bus tour.
  • Easy to use: Stories play automatically by GPS. Hands-free. Get HELP all day: Call, Chat, or Email.
  • Private tour in your/rental car: No group. Take breaks for photos/ snacks/hikes. Go at your own pace
  • Offline use: No cell signal or wifi required. Offline GPS Map & route. Stop-to-stop direction.
  • Don’t miss a thing: Full itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated, videos, text, hidden gems.
  • Transportation, parking fee, food/drinks
  • National Park/attraction Passes, entry tickets, or reservation

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Gettysburg Heritage Center
    297 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA

    After booking the tour, Check your email with the subject line “Your tour operator sent you a message". For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection. This 10+ mile-long tour covers the essentials of Gettysburg Ghost in 2-3 hours.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 7/30/2020 - 10/8/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 09:00 am - 09:00 pm

End point

  • 1st Delaware Infantry Monument
    2nd Delaware Volunteer Infantry Regiment, Hancock Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA

    Although the tour is best done after sunset, try and start the tour at least 2 hours before the park closes.

What To Expect

Battle of Gettysburg First Shot Marker

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Mark Nesbitt's Ghosts of Gettysburg Candlelight Walking Tours

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Gettysburg Heritage Center

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Seminary Ridge (Pass By)

Schmucker Hall

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Eisenhower National Historic Site

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Little Round Top

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

The George Weikert Farm

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

State of Pennsylvania Monument

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Devil's Den

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Codori Farm

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Pickett's Charge (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • How it works: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a text/email with instructions. Download the app (while in good wifi/signal) and use your unique password to access your tours. To begin touring, go to the Starting Point and launch the app. The audio starts automatically. Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience. Please note that no one will meet you at the starting point.
  • Good value: Purchase only one tour for the entire vehicle instead of taking the bus and paying for each person. You will see a significant saving. Connect your phone to car speakers by a wire or bluetooth. Enjoy the tour by listening together as you drive.
  • Flexible Schedule: Once the app/tour is on your phone, you can use it any day and at any time. You can use it over multiple days. And, also use it on your next trip here. This tour never expires.
  • Preview the tour: You can use it before the trip at home (highly recommended), use it during the trip, and use it after you come back.
  • Don't miss a thing: You will get everything with the app - a complete itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated audio stories, story script, images, videos, deep dives, hidden gems, exciting locations, recommendations for hikes, adventure, activities, treks, and stop-by-stop direction.
  • Private tour: You can use it in your car or rental car. No worries about groups or crowds. Start the tour app on your phone. And it will direct you step by step. You can stop for as many breaks as you like. Take a break for Instagram photos, and take a break for lunch/snacks. Go on a hike. The tour will wait for you and start when you start again. You can even do the tour over multiple days. Go at your own pace.
  • Easy to use: The stories play themselves as soon as the GPS is activated. It requires no use of your hands at all. You can get HELP by calling, chatting, or emailing any time of the day.
  • Offline: There is no need for a cell signal or Wi-Fi while touring. App’s GPS map works offline.
  • Expiration/go again: The tour will last for the rest of your life on your phone. It is available for use on any day of your next trip.
  • Use pictures for a photo book: Create a photo book using clean (no crowd) app images of each spot to make a memorable trip. All the significant photos and the correct sequence is ready in the app for you to use.
  • Social media: Share clean (no crowd) images with friends/family.
  • Devices supported include iPhones with iOS 13 & above, Android phones with version 9 & above and all cellular-enabled tablets & iPads.
  • Although the tour is best done after sunset, try and start the tour at least 2 hours before the park closes.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
55 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
Fun tour different than the ‘only history’ tours
Justin_R, Aug 2023
My daughter loved this tour. The stories of the ghosts of Gettysburg were fascinating. The tour got a little jarbled when we got around Devils Den and our location wasn’t accurate, but otherwise, it was fun!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Justin, thank you for sharing your experience with my Ghosts of the Gettysburg Battlefield Audio Tour. I'm thrilled to hear your daughter loved the captivating tales of Gettysburg's spirits. I apologize for any hiccup around Devil's Den; I always aim to ensure a seamless experience. As your journeys continue, consider exploring my Action+ Tour Bundle, which offers over 100 unique self-guided tours.
For $15 not a too bad little history lesson.
Shannon_T, Aug 2023
We purchased the tour online for our visit to Gettysburg. When we got started the highlighted map on the phone, via the app, would not display, via CarPlay, on my Jeeps screen. When we did get going there were a couple of places where a story was started and not told to pull over anywhere. When we stopped at R.E. Lees monument, listened to the story we were never told to resume. We did on our own. There were 2 places where getting back on track was a bit confusing, one was at the new dorms and the other was leaving devils den and turning at wheat field rd. The Battlefield closes at Sunset, not 10:00pm as your info says.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thanks for your insights on my Ghosts of the Battlefield Audio Tour, Shannon. I'm happy you found the history lesson informative for the price. However, I'm sorry you experienced technical difficulties with the map display and the CarPlay feature. The CarPlay feature is scheduled to be included in our upcoming app update. I want to address these issues to improve the user experience for future customers. I would greatly appreciate it if you could kindly contact me directly to discuss these matters. Thank you.
Not worth your time
Margaret_G, Aug 2023
Narrator was okay. We had a hard time getting started with the directions given. We fell this tour should not be named Ghosts of the battlefield.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Very fortunate, Margaret! I wish you had contacted us, as we're here to assist between 5 AM and 5 PM EST. We must offer an experience that lives up to its name and provides value to our users. We'll review your comments to ensure the tour accurately represents its content. The product you purchased is valid forever, so should you choose to attempt the tour again on a future visit or wish to explore it from home, we're here to help. For an exchange or further support, contact us as soon as possible.
A nice day in Gettysburg
Ian_C, July 2023
I got to see parts of the battlefield I hadn’t seen before, including Devil’s Den and I brought my gf her for her first time here in general. She really enjoyed it and like the area as a whole.
Response from Host, July 2023
Thank you so much, Ian! I'm thrilled that you both had a great time at Gettysburg with my tour and it added so much value to your visit. If you plan to travel more, you may like my Action+ Tour Bundle (it has all of my self-guided tours, over 100). Thanks again!
Great tour even if Gettysburg is very familiar.
Bonnie_R, June 2023
This was an excellent tour. Enough scary stuff for our 20 yo & lots of history for us. It was easy to Follow. We got a late start on the first day so we continued the next & it was easy to pick up where we left off. We loved the “Learn more” button, too!
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you Bonnie! I’m glad you and your family had a great time at Gettysburg with my tour and enjoyed the ghostly stories. If you plan on traveling more, you might be interested in my Action+ Tour Bundle, which includes all of my self-guided tours across the country.
It was okay nothing to...
ivan_c, Apr 2023
It was okay nothing to scream about the pauses in between I really didn't care for but overall it was okay but at the end of the day it's like one and done
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback Ivan! I am sorry to hear that the pauses in between were not to your liking. I appreciate your honest review. I will happily exchange it with any 100 tours in the US. Please let me know.
Lost but found our way.
Mike_H, Apr 2023
We enjoyed the tour but it cut off at the detour. We accidentally got back onto the tour later to finish.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
I'm glad you enjoyed the tour, despite the hiccup with the detour. I strive to provide a smooth and enjoyable experience for all of our customers, and I appreciate your patience and understanding. Thank you for choosing our tour and leaving us a review. I hope to see you again soon for another wonderful trip.
Gettysburg Battlefield Audio Tour
Anne_S, Mar 2023
It took us a bit to figure out how to get the audio to work, but I followed the troubleshooting steps (included) and it really helped. Once we got it going, it was a great tool. Helped us to travel around the battlefield areas and see it all.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thanks Anne! I’m so glad you enjoyed seeing the battlefield with my tour. And I’m happy to hear that my troubleshooting tips helped! I’d love to know what issue you ran into — please feel free to email me! And I have other tours across the country which I hope you check out on future vacations!
I really enjoyed the...
william_S, Mar 2023
I really enjoyed the stories it told while it was guiding u along. Very informative. Seeing the battlefield and all the monuments was cool plus hearing the stories of the houses around the field was very cool. Seeing Eisenhower house was cool as well
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback! I’m delighted that my tour of Ghosts of Battlefield added to your learning and that you enjoyed it. I also have 100 other self-guided tours for other parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic sites in the US — hopefully, you’ll get the chance to try them next time! Also, to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
Day light hours only
Kristina_H, Oct 2022
Park is only open sunrise to sunset. Purchase details to not state open park hours. Audio says 10 pm
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you for your advice! Perhaps because you missed paying attention to the meeting point description, I stated clearly that the tour is only usable from sunrise to sunset. Everyone should take the ghost of battlefield tours two hours before sunset (park closing time). The best part about our products is that they have no expiration date so you can listen to them at your leisure. I will gladly exchange this for any of my other 100 US tours. Please notify me.
Many Pros, One Con
Jacob_H, Oct 2022
We really enjoyed the spooky tales. It took us a bit to get on the correct driving path but once on it, it waseasy to follow. The background music was great. The speaker had a great voice. Part of the park was detoured (Little Rountop and Devils Den) but that wasn't their fault. We listened to those stories on the ride home. One con would be that the accompanying text had a lot of errors. A big plus, was I took a picture of the Robert E Lee on Traveler statue and there was a large aura around him against the blue sky! Very scary!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you for your feedback, Jacob! I’m thrilled that my tour added to your learning and that you enjoyed it. I also have 100 other self-guided tours for other parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic sites in the US — hopefully, you’ll get the chance to try them next time! Also, just to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
Don’t do it!
Deb_L, Oct 2022
It was very difficult to identify my vehicle on the map. It was marked as a blue dot, but every event was also blue. The route was very hard to follow. We got off track many times. The stories were not all that interesting. We lost service and the entire app shut down many times. We finally gave up. Very disappointing. 😞
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you for your feedback, Deb! You are attempting to connect Apple Car Play to our app, which we do not support. We kindly request that all customers connect their phones to the car speaker. I also have 100 more self-guided tours for various parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic places in the United States – perhaps you'll have a chance to experience them the next time you visit! Also, as a reminder, the tour you purchased is valid for a lifetime. As a result, you may listen to it at home or at your next visit.
Ghost tour
Beverlly_M, Sept 2022
The directions were not the easiest to follow. At the starting location it just says straight...but doesn't tell you where straight is..we ended up winding through a residential area at the start..then got on track
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your comments, Beverly! The starting point would be the Gettysburg Heritage Center Parking Lot at 1 Culp Street. Once there, launch the app, and our app will take over. I also have 100 more self-guided tours for various parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic places in the United States – perhaps you'll have a chance to experience them the next time you visit! Also, as a reminder, the tour you purchased is valid for a lifetime. As a result, you may listen to it at home or at your next visit.
Fun at night, informative and entertaining
Dianne_M, Aug 2022
We had fun taking the tour at night about 9pm, we actually got an orb in one of our pictures on the battlefield. The tour is filled with lots of information and the pictures are helpful to make sure you are at the right area, along with the gps.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks so much Dianne! I'm thrilled that my tour added to your learning and that you enjoyed it. The tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit also. In addition,I have 100 other tours in the USA. Please check them out on your next vacation.
The content was great....
Joelle_B, Aug 2022
The content was great. The directions were so poor that we never actually saw the landmarks. It would tell us to turn left in a street that was only on our right and then weave us through modernized neighborhoods.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks for the feedback Joelle! This confusion often happens when starting somewhere other than the recommended start point (Gettysburg Heritage Center) or following the route backwards rather than forwards. I’d love to exchange the tour for you — please reach out.
Worst ghost tour ever. Cannot advise anyone to take this tour.
Robert_K, July 2022
The whole tour was horrible. We had Vinson as our tour guide who could not be heard at all even though we were right next to him. We had even paid extra for the extended version which was a complete waste of our time. We were in the main strip in Gettysburg and it was bikers week. The tour guide did not have a microphone and my whole family could not hear anything. We traveled over three hours and were very disappointed. Please refund our tour prices. Worst ghost tour ever.
Great stories
Denice_K, June 2022
Loved all the stories with many details! My family loved the gory details ails. Will recommend this to anyone visiting Gettysburg
Response from Host, June 2022
Thanks so much Denice! If you're still in Gettysburg, I hope you'll try out my Gettysburg Battlefield, Seminary Ridge, and Downtown Gettysburg tours (or my other tours across the country).
It wasn’t easy to...
Roxanne_S, May 2022
It wasn’t easy to navigate when driving around. Maybe if I knew the city of Gettysburg it would’ve been easier, however since I was a tourist and didn’t know the streets it seemed like I always had to start over each segment from getting lost.
Response from Host, June 2022
Thanks for your feedback! The tour gives turning directions (right/left/straight) along with the ghost stories and an accompanying map with a route line. Were some of those directions unclear?
Haunted Gettysburg
Mary_A, May 2022
This tour was a lot of fun. Learn some things you would not on a regular tour. If you’re into ghosts in anyway this was a lot of fun. Highly recommend
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks so much, Mary! I’m so glad you enjoyed exploring Gettysburg’s ghostly stories with my tour! I hope you get the chance to check out the other tours I have on your next vacation!
Good ghost story tour....
Nicholaus_W, Apr 2022
Good ghost story tour. Takes you to important places on the battlefield. Good amount of time to do the tour.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks Nick! I’m glad you enjoyed our ghost tour of the Gettysburg Battlefield. Please feel free to check out our other self-guided tours on your future adventures!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Ghosts of the Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

55

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 14.99
No Photo
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

514

2 to 4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 14.99
No Photo
Ultimate Gettysburg Self-Guided Bundle Tour

59

6 to 7 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 24.99
No Photo
Downtown Gettysburg Self-Guided Audio Walking Tour

6

1 to 2 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 8.00

Explore Similar Things to Do