Gold Coast

2 Hour Surf Lesson At The Spit, Main Beach ( 13 years and up)

Badge of ExcellenceMain Beach, Australia
2 Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise

From USD 48.16

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Feel the thrill of catching a wave at one Australia’s most famous surf hotspots and sign up for this 2-hour beginner surf lesson in Surfer’s Paradise. Master the basics under the guidance of an expert instructor with a small group, ensuring plenty of one-to-one instruction.
  • Multiple departure times and locations available
  • Small group ensures personal service
  • Perfect for all ages and skill level

What's Included

  • All equipment for use during lesson
  • Fresh water outdoor showers available, change rooms and safe storage for belongings
  • Free all day parking
  • Commemorative photos on USB drive

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Get Wet Surf School
    Seaworld Dr, Main Beach QLD 4217, Australia

    Our head office, The Surf Shack, is located behind the Seaway Café in Doug Jennings Park, Seaworld Drive, Main Beach. To find us, just walk down the right side between the café and the amenities block and come in the back gate.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Please provide your own swimwear
  • Please refrain from bringing any valuables to the beach
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Minimum age for group lesson is 12 years old ( Childrens only lessons available contact supplier)
  • Please ensure that the phone number you provide us with, is the one that we can contact you on, on the day of the surf lesson
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

As too big waves for me It is difficult for me to get through the big waves But this is a very interesting experience and worth to join A nice try


70 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews
Molly_K, July 2023
Awesome staff made sure we were comfortable and safe the whole time. Instructors were knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We had so much fun.
Response from Host, July 2023
Thanks for the amazing review Holly! We're all so glad you had a good time :)
Some great fun!
Darrell_S, July 2023
My wife and I really enjoyed this afternoon. Our instructors were awesome and did everything possible to make sure we felt both safe and comfortable. Once we were in the water and attempting to stand on our boards, they were very observant and offered constructive criticism as needed. Their support was both noted and appreciated. We had a lot of fun! Our only issue with this booking was the photographs after. We felt they were over priced and it was difficult to ascertain what the photos looked like before purchasing. It would’ve been nice if the company had some package offers as opposed to cost per picture. Overall a good experience that was a little tainted by photograph constraints.
Response from Host, July 2023
Thanks for the review Darryl- We appreciate the positive feedback and we're so glad you both enjoyed the surf lesson! In regards to the photos, the 3rd party we sell them though doesn't have the feature for us to add photo packages yet. However, we will take this on board for the future!
Definitely would recommend
StanleyTszKin_L, June 2023
The instructors are friendly and professional. We managed to learn how to catch a white wash by ourselves at the end of the lesson which is highly satisfying and rewarding.
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you for the review! We really appreciate the feedback. We hope you had a great time surfing here at The Spit :)
Wonderful experience
Yun_Z, Dec 2022
Thanks Jason and all other coaches, the class was wonderful. They are patient and will tell you everything you need to take care of. I'm gonna start loving this activity.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hi, we are so stoked to hear your feedback and i'm sure Jason will be to. We hope we see you again to make more memories!
Had a blast!
Leah_C, Nov 2022
We had a great time! The instructors gave clear instructions and were patient with beginners. We were in the water and trying things out on our own very quickly. Had an absolute blast and drank the salt water to prove it!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hey Leah, we are so glad to hear that you had a lot of fun! We loved having you hear and we hope we see you again for more awesome memories! Hope the salt water was nice to drink, haha!
Good Fun with learning
Connector317113, Jan 2020
Just loved riding waves for the first time, the instructors were good, helped us during our practice. Also took turns to make us ride the waves and enjoy our time
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hi, thanks so much for this amazing 5 star review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it!
Interesting experience
Kali_L, Nov 2019
As too big waves for me It is difficult for me to get through the big waves But this is a very interesting experience and worth to join A nice try
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Hi Kali Lau, thanks for the great review. We are sorry the waves were a little big the day you surfed. For the most part they are ideal, but this is mother nature we are working with, and she sometimes likes to test us to keep us on our toes!
Deanna_W, July 2019
The instructors were super efficient at giving us the key instructions to get us out into the water. Once we were in they were super helpful and supportive! Great teachers and such a great day. Also a huge bonus that it was at a dog friendly beach... HEAVEN.
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Thanks for this awesome review Deanna! We love it where we work too!
Great experience with 9/8 yr old kids
Betsy_M, Mar 2019
Great experience! Andrew was very patient with my girls and did everything in his power to make sure they stood up and had fun. They were accommodating to our schedule when we arrived late and spent a lot of time in the water.
Brilliant experience with an...
Thomas A, July 2016
Brilliant experience with an instructor who was constantly giving us encouragement and pointers on how to improve!!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
2 Hour Surf Lesson At The Spit, Main Beach ( 13 years and up)


2 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 48.16
No Photo
Learn To Surf Gold Coast


15 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 57.92
No Photo
Pencak Silat Self-Defence & Martial Arts Class in Australia


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 22.78

Explore Similar Things to Do