Isla Tortuga Adventure tour - from Jaco

Jaco, Costa Rica

From USD 113.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 7 to 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Spend a full day exploring the beauty of the Gulf of Nicoya on Isla Tortuga, starting in Jaco. First stop at the Tarcoles River and watch the crocodiles from the bridge, then have a safety speech, and hop on a boat to the island. On the way visit Negritos Island to see spider monkeys and dolphins, then to the Nicoya stone arch for photos, and on to snorkel and have lunch.
  • Use the provided snorkeling equipment on board
  • Snacks, soda, coffee/tea, water, and lunch are provided
  • Alcohol is an additional cost
  • This is a full day of fun on the water and in nature

What's Included

  • Snacks
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Bottled water
  • Soda/Pop
  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Lunch
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Land transportation Jaco- Puntarenas- Jaco price (USD $ 25.00) per person

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:00 am

Pickup details

We have transfer service jacó-Puntarenas (round trip). We sail from Puntarenas located (40 min) from Jacó.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
31 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
Isla Tortuga
Defne_A, Mar 2023
For everything that is included, this trip is so worth it! There is so much that the crew does and it was a wonderful day. 10/10 would recommend this
Worst excursion ever
George_Z, Feb 2023
Worst excursion ever. It was very windy when we left Puntarenas so we suggested to the tour guide it should be cancelled because we probably wouldn't be able to snorkel, which was the whole reason for the trip. She said it would be okay so we went. It was a very rough ride in the small open boat when the bow slammed down on the waves. We weren't able to snorkel because it was too windy. We spent the day in the trees to get out of the wind. The lunch was good. On the way back the waves were so rough they put us on a large ferry boat (to their credit) at 6pm. The tour group owner met us when we got to Puntarenas and offered us $25 per person because we only missed the snorkeling. The snorkeling was the whole reason for the excursion After spending $125 per person a refund of $25 doesn't cut it. We tried to get them to take us all back early but they said the wind will die down and we can snorkel later. The tour operator can't control the weather but they need to know when a trip must be canceled and give adequate refunds when the main activity is canceled.
Amazing experience!
AudreeAnne_P, Nov 2022
Amazing experience with our guide Daniel! We had such a great Time! Daniel gave a lot of explanations and tips, we learned a lot! Hé came with us in the water to show us the wild sea life! The lunch provided was good! We highly recommand!
Fun trip, I recommend
April_H, Nov 2022
Be sure to indicate if you need pick up when you make your reservation. If you wait until you receive your ticket it is a little bit difficult to contact the tour company to set up a driver. Unless you know the roads and area well, I recommend that you take a shuttle or get a driver. Messaging the tour company through Facebook messenger resulted in the best response. The trip was wonderful. It was a beautiful day. we saw lots of fish, anemones, sea urchins and starfish. We even saw bottlenose dolphins on the way to the island. They do stop along the way at some scenic views and let you take photos and they stop at an island with monkeys. After snorkeling they take you to a beach that has a gift shop and a bar and they fed us a delicious lunch that was cooked right there at the island. They also had kayaks, paddle boards, banana boats, And chairs with umbrellas for rent. They are also very accommodating if you need a pick up location other than a hotel.
Can't go wrong
Redondo_P, Sept 2022
Great experience. I highly recommend! Daniel was amazing The tour started on time and even with some rain it was worth
Saw monkeys, rays, fish and more!! So worth it!!
Keith_N, June 2022
Ok - seriously such a great adventure. It was our family of 4 (wife, kids 20 & 16) plus 3 tourists boys (26 yo) from Netherlands so it was like a private tour. At first I thought small speed boat? But it actually was perfect. Not only comfortable and served beer, water and soda plus snacks but most importantly we saw amazing animals in nature. First out of the port they found the pod of 7 dolphins. Then onto a small island (we stay on boat off shore) where we found dozens of spider monkeys. They were amazing swinging through the trees and walking down the rocks waiting for our watermelon rinds and pineapple, plus saw to manta rays swim by. Then to a dive spot where we snorkeled. The water was a bit murky (not the guide's fault) but we saw 5 different kinds of fish and our guide provided food for them to eat out of our hands. Onto Tortuga island for a delicious lunch. We did the hike (optional) to the top of the island (45 mins) and laid on the beach chairs for a few hours. Saw white peacocks, wild boar and deer. On the way back they spotted a sea turtle sleeping on top of the water (how did they see that???) and the same pod of dolphins. Besides all this our guide Daniel was incredibly knowledgeable. Telling us about everything from the animals to the environment. And, he even helped a woman from another tour who was struggling in the water. Jumped in and pulled her to her own tour boat. I can't say enough about this great team and tour.
Great tour, great value - the guides were so nice and the scenery amazing!
David_L, Mar 2022
Seeing the monkeys, snorkeling, the fabulous lunch, and enjoying the beautiful beach made this trip wonderful!
Really Great! Definitely Recommended!
Harshita_S, Feb 2022
Really great experience! Everyone was so attentive and helpful, definitely recommend this trip to others! And our driver was particularly wonderful and helpful.
Best tour in Costa Rica!!
Karyn_M, Feb 2022
Our trip to Tortuga was the best tour we have taken since being here in Costa Rica. The four of us had our own private tour so we were told take as much or as little time as we want. We saw monkeys, dolphins, birds and various beautiful topography along the way to the island. The snorkeling was very good with a wide variety of fish. The current was strong so when one in our party had trouble getting back to the boat out guides just swung around and picked him up. I especially liked the speed boat as we were able to get around much more quickly than another type of boat. Once we arrived at the island we had time to spend lounging, swimming, and having a splendid lunch. Our return to port was only about 45 minutes and once we docked we were tired but happy. This is a trip I highly recommend. I have friends coming in to visit us here and this is the first tour we will take them on.
Not a great experience.
Blaine_J, Jan 2022
We were disappointed. We missed a few of the advertised stops which was ok. Saw the monkeys and the arch. Then were dropped on the island for four hours and had tp pay to use the toilets! Not at all worth the money that we paid. Wouldn't recommend it. Guides were nice.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback, I apologize on behalf of all the crew for Don't meet your expectations. Please know that your situation was an exception. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our staff serves every customer. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. Once again thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Best tour ever!
Natalie_P, Sept 2021
We enjoyed this trip! I definitely recommend for anyone in Costa Rica! Our driver, captain, and tour guide was very helpful. They gave us all the details before our tour and we had no troubles at all. Thank you so much :)