5 iconic restaurants of Lima / 3-hour guided food tour

Barranco, Peru
Foodie Tour Barranco

From USD 69.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Starting in the evening, this foodie tour will take you to some of the most iconic spots in Lima, and fill you up with samples of 8-12 different dishes from 5 or 6 of the best restaurants in the Barranco. Try Criolla food, Japanese Peruvian Food, and more, and explore the Bajada de los Banos walking street, perhaps check out an art gallery, and end in a cool cafe.
  • Walk from restaurant to restaurant on this nearly three hour tour
  • Visit Jade Rivera World to see one of the world’s best muralists, if it is open
  • Soak up the enchanting night ambiance of the Barranco
  • Finish in a cool cafe with recommendations of where to move to next to keep the night alive

What's Included

  • Dinner
  • Gratuities
  • Alcoholic Beverages

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Starbucks - Pedro de Osma
    Av. Pedro de Osma 102, Barranco 15063, Peru

    We meet at 18:00 pm outside the starbucks, located in front of the main square of Barranco.

Start time

05:00 pm

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect


3 hours Admission Ticket Free

Bajada de los Banos (Pass By)

Jade Rivera World (Pass By)

El Gato Tulipan (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos


33 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews
Great neighborhood vibe and restaurants on this tour.
Sally_C, July 2023
We loved walking through the Barranco neighborhood. Many cool murals and quaint streets near the ocean. Very sweet tour guide.
Worthwhile tour to get to know local food
ALISON_V, June 2023
Our tour guide was superb so much knowledge on the food and the country he was fun to be with too. pick up point was ideal good value for money we liked that we tried local food the main point of booking the trip the only downside was the end of the trip when a homeless person wouldn’t go away and we had to hope in a cab and we didn’t have change to say thank you and goodbye properly ( no one’s fault)
Didn’t show up
Emily_G, Dec 2022
Unfortunately I should have checked other reviews before booking - I arrived at the start point 15 minutes early and after 45 minutes (30 minutes after the start time), the guide had not turned up. No message, no communication - aviator refunded me the next day but it spoilt my plans for that evening. I would avoid
Guide did not show up. No...
lynetteleigh, Nov 2022
Guide did not show up. No response when attempting to contact through phone and customer support. Waited for over 30mins. Disappointed.
Maggie_S, Oct 2022
This tour was arranged and paid for before I left Spain. It was cancelled just hours before. Avoid! We have limited time and arrange our trips beforehand. This is totally unacceptable!!
Does not do what it says on the tin
Jennifer_E, Aug 2022
Echoing what many have said, we only visited three restaurants and a bodega for desert at the end - not the five restaurants promised. Our host was more focused on non-food related conversation than getting us between the different stops and as such we overran by an hour even without hitting all of the promised stops. I would prefer that the tour was more efficiently organised (eg calling ahead to restaurants to order so our food was waiting or almost ready when we arrived) and focused on the food rather than chat. The food itself was delicious, so I recommend the tour from that perspective. Our guide also threw in information about cultural sights of Barranco which was much appreciated. But ultimately it’s very expensive for what it is (the food we ate must have only come to 100 soles per person absolute maximum) and does not do as a tour what it says on the tin. We had a nice time but felt overcharged and underdelivered to.
Our tour guide was...
Jonas_C, May 2022
Our tour guide was welcoming and a great host, but it was plainly obvious that we were not going to get what was promised in the title or description of the tour. I think the actual plan was to only reach 3 stops, but with all of the tour members expecting more, I think we guilted our tour guide into making a 4th stop. But that's certainly not the 5 restaurants in the title or the "5 or 6 restaurants" promised in "what's included". With the description of 5 restaurants in 3 hours, I anticipated a quickly paced tour and was ready for that, but it was more laid-back and conversational. Just a big disconnect between my expectations and my actual experience. If it was just described accurately, I think I would've had a perfectly good time and probably would've rated it with 4 or 5 stars. While the tour guide was great and I had a good time tasting various Peruvian dishes, I'm very disappointed in the operators at "Free Walking Tour Barranco" for promising one thing in the tour descriptions and then leaving their tour guide to apologize for the whole group's disappointment at not getting what was promised. I hope they update the tour description as soon as possible to reflect what will actually happen while you're on the tour.
Excellent food discovery tour
Barry_D, Apr 2022
We arrived late due to problems with traffic, but our guide, Alejandro, was waiting for us with a smile. He put us at ease immediately, and told us about the various dishes we were having as we went from restaurant to restaurant. It was a very efficiently-organised tour and we got to try many new Peruvian dishes, including some we would never have dared to try. We really enjoyed it!
3 restaurants / not iconic
Michael_K, Apr 2022
Tour operator was awesome / but we only went to 3 restaurants + grabbed dessert to go from a bodega that was not good. It was Easter so the tour should have probably been cancelled- we walked around only to find things that were open, the tour guide did his best to find a few spots but I wouldn’t call any of them iconic. We also did not have 8-12 tastings. For the price you’re better off exploring on your own, I went to much better restaurants independently in the vicinity.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with more travelers here on TripAdvisor. As we explained you, it was going to be hard to do the tour on that day because it was easter, but you said it was okay. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and wish you a great trip through Peru.
A taste of Barranco - delightful experience
Sunil_W, Apr 2022
Our tour guide Alejandro made it very special. The beautiful Barranco neighborhood and a pristine sunset helped a lot. Alejandro explained things well and was very entertaining. He even took us to a cat museum which we absolutely loved. The tour name is misleading. It’s not 5 iconic restaurants, it’s 3 iconic restaurants with 5 items to taste. I hope this corrected by the tour operator. With this said, highly recommend.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear customer, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with more travelers here on TripAdvisor. We could not make it with the 5 restaurants because it was weekend and the restaurants were very busy. We normally do the 5 places but this time sadly we could for which we apologize. We wish you a great trip in Peru and thank you again for taking part of our tour :)
Great Peruvian food
Naomi_T, Jan 2022
It was great opportunity to learn Peruvian food and its history. The guide was friendly. It took a while to move to a next restaurant, so we are all full and tired a bit. I recommend you should join this tour at the beginning of staying in Lima as we did on the last day of Lima and most of foods we already tried in the past. Overall, it was great experience

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
5 iconic restaurants of Lima / 3-hour guided food tour


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 69.00
No Photo
5 iconic restaurants of Barranco Lima / guided food tour


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 70.77
No Photo
Lima Gourmet Food Tour: Evening Experience


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 145.00
No Photo
3-Hour Guided Bicycle Tour in Miraflores


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 30.00

Explore Similar Things to Do