Mexico City

Hop-on Hop-off Mexico City Bus tour

Ciudad de México, Mexico
Mexico City Hop On Hop Off Tour

From USD 15.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 9 hours
  • Offered in: English


See Mexico City’s major attractions on this hop-on hop-off bus tour. Travel by an open-top, double-decker bus on this comprehensive sightseeing experience that covers the Zócalo, Revolution Monument, world-class museums, buildings and more. Buses run regularly from morning until night, giving you the flexibility to explore the sprawling metropolis at a pace that suits you.
  • See top attractions, including the Zócalo, Plaza Manuel Tolsá, La Mexicana Park and more
  • Enjoy unobstructed views from the open-top, double-decker bus
  • Learn about Mexico City’s sights and history from the onboard audio commentary
  • Ticket is valid for 24 hours, leaving time to sightsee or shop at a leisurely pace

What's Included

  • Audio commentary
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Start time

Opening hours

  • 2/1/2023 - 9/23/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 09:15 am - 06:00 pm

Ticket redemption point

Av. 5 de Mayo 61, Centro Histórico de la Cdad. de México, Centro, Cuauhtémoc, 06000 Ciudad de México, CDMX, Mexico

What To Expect

Hit the major landmarks of Mexico City on this hop-on hop-off bus tour, an easy way to get your bearings of the large metropolis. Take in great views and informative commentary as you travel by open-top, double-decker bus, and hop off as many times as you like within a 24-hour period to sightsee independently. Buses leave regularly, making it convenient for you to schedule your day without hassle.

To begin your city exploration, step aboard the bus in Zona Rosa and head to some of the main landmarks. In the Zócalo, you can't miss the massive Mexican flag in the center, as well as the imposing National Palace.

Make sure to check out the city’s world-class museums, including the National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropología) and the Tamayo Museum and the Museum of Modern Art.

When it’s time for a break from the sightseeing, hop off at Santa Fe shopping mall or Paseo de la Reforma Avenue for a great variety of places to grab a bite to eat or pick up souvenirs. See Itinerary below for a full list of stops.
Downtown - Polanco

8 Stops

13 Points of Interest

Duration: 9 hours

Operating Schedule: Monday to Sunday


Monument to the Revolution

Ángel de la Independencia

Mariano Escobedo

Avenida Moliere

Plaza Carso

Auditorio Nacional

Bosque de Chapultepec

Points of interest passed by on this route


Museum of Modern Art (Museo de Arte Moderno)

Museo Tamayo

Franz Mayer Museum (Museo Franz Mayer)

Museo Nacional de San Carlos

Paseo de la Reforma

Museo Nacional de Antropologia

Historic Center (Centro Historico)

Plaza Tolsa

Museo Ripley's Ciudad de Mexico

Monumento y Museo de la Revolucion

Memory and Tolerance Museum

Casa Lamm Centro de Cultura

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Audioguide languages depends of the circuit
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more


108 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 108 reviews
Not very good
Andy_T, June 2023
We were not very happy with the trip. The bus picked up in limited spots in Mexico City. The other bus tours had multiple stops and pick ups throughout the city. We would like to get a refund if possible.
Response from Host, June 2023
Dear Andy_T We deeply regret to know that you are not satisfied with the experience. Please contact us via email at to provide you with further assistance. Mariana, Amigo tours
No English!
Renata_V, Dec 2022
Don't expect english guide or spoken word. We went around the city, not knowing where to hop in again. We got off the bus and teo hours later bus never showed up at the same spot. We did not learnt anything. All Spanish.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Amig@ Renata_V We are sorry that the experience has not been completely satisfactory, it will be important to investigate what happened, and we will verify directly with our manager. Dulce, Amigo Tours
JosefaBianca_A, Oct 2022
I bought the tickets for the same day use. On Viator it states 24 hrs use. I didn't get on the bus until 4pm. The ticket gal at the bus stop had me call Viator because she said they aren't getting confirmation on my ticket. I called Viator same day and the operator said she will let the tour operator know my tickets are valid. We rode the bus all the way around and didnt get off since it was traffic and late. Bus stops operating at 6pm and we didnt want to be stranded somewhere far from our hotel. Come the following day, I'm thinking my tickets last 24 hrs as advertised online, 4pm to 4pm. Nope the tour operator told me Viator won't approve, Viator told me Tour Operator won't approve. So basically I got taken for my money since they false advertised. Don't waste your money here. Use TuriBus. They won't issue a refund, Viator says it's the Tour Operators fault. ALSO, they don't have a lit of busses so you're waiting a long time before one comes.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear JosefaBianca_A, we are so sorry for the bad experience, we will investigate what happened and won't give wrong information in the future. Ivana, Amigo Tours
No english...
Lemuel_S, Sept 2022
No english interpretations…it should have been nice if there was…We paid for English interpretations…hop on hop city bus tours like in Italy do have English where they provide earphones for English and Spanish… thank you
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Lemuel; Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are working hard to improve our services. Mariana, Amigo tours
Polanco Loop Tour
Wiliam_S, Apr 2022
The Polanco section of this tour was fabulous. Green lush shaded restaurants and beautiful town houses that anyone would envy. Freedom to hop on and off was greatly appreciated.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Your comments make us very happy, Thank you very much. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to any of our destinations. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Don’t waste your time and money
Michele_L, Jan 2022
Despite the flawless purchase process thru Viator, we had to go downtown CDMX to pickup our bracelet tickets. The service claims can be started at any stop, so once we got the ticket, we checked in our hotel and wanted to start the tour at the hotel’s closest stop.. we waited 45 minutes, watched 5 of the competitor bus (Turibus) passing and when finally we hopped on our bus, it was the last tour of the day, so we got half of it… I could have complained at the last stop with their personal, but that would’ve been another waste of time. I booked a Turibus tour for tomorrow.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Dear Amig@ We appreciate your comments and suggestions, we will pass them on to the team to be taken into account. Thank you very much for your trust. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Not worth it
S_G, Dec 2021
I read all reviews before booking and wanted to give this comoany the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, we were very dissapointed. First, you have to go a specific place to exchange your ticket for bracelet. On the booking, it specifies you can do this at 2 locations: one in historic center and another one in zona rosa. We picked the one in zona rosa since it was closer to our hotel. We uber there to find nothing at the address provided and when i call to ask, rhey tell me that they are not at that location anymore, only at historic center (there goes our uber money wasted). Then, we take another uber to historic center and when we arrive at around 10: 30 wr are told that one route leaves at 11: 30, the other at 2 pm and the other at 4 pm . Is not really a hop on hop off. They have 3 routes (each taking to complete without getting off the bus, from 1.5 hours to 3 hours!) And worst part is that the buses dont pass as often for being able to yes, hop off and hop on! We only got to do one route left at 11:30 am withiut getting off the bus and back at historic center at 2 pm so we could catch the next route leaving at 2pm, we never could because of traffic. We have taken hop on hop off buses in amsterdam, london, lisbon, prague, brussels and nyc and this has been our only horrible experience. They need to improve their system and get more buses to pass more often.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Dear Amig@ We are very grateful for your comments and deeply regret this bad experience. We are investigating your case, we assure you that we are already working on it, unfortunately as a result of the pandemic we have had to take measures to make possible the tourist activities, we assure you that we take your very seriously your review. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Good but be aware
VictorLuiz_C, July 2021
The trip was good, a little mess, but... We are in Mexico. But I'm not happy with the cost charges that VIATOR did. The official cost at the CAPITAL BUS is 40% less. So, be aware, check the official before.
Response from Host, July 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, and for letting us know your opinion. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Not so good
honey_g, July 2021
Bus service wasn’t consistent and they didn’t have English guide in most of the buses. Nobody speaks english due to which we were very confused.
Response from Host, July 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, we are a bit puzzled by what you are telling us, we will review it with the team. Normally the bus always has someone bilingual to support you and the audio guide is configured in 8 languages including English. Thank you for your comments. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Spanish vs English
Carrol_W, Jan 2020
I enjoyed the sites from the bus. I was very confused because the information received on the flyer was only in Spanish. I wish they had offered an English version. My sister and I got off at a suggested place but we’re not able to find our way back on the bus. We ended up just taking an Uber back to the hotel and we missed over half of the tour. Please consider having English information for those travelers who do not speak or read Spanish. Thank you
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hello. Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the inconvenience. We will attend your suggestion about the flyer. Regards. Amigo Group.
lgthompson47, Jan 2020
They need to let you know that you need to bring your own earbuds if you want to hear it in a language other than Spanish. Lots of driving around without much to look at
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hello. Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience. We will attend your opinion because the customers are very important for us. Please come back soon and let us show you by then that we've improved. Best regards, Amigo Group
not worth it
347phineasandferb, Nov 2019
Please choose another tour, not only does it have limited stops, it won’t even stop in some of them. We were waiting to be picked up one morning and were completely skipped over even after making attempts to catch the drivers attention; this happened twice. In addition, some of the hearing connections did not work, thus making it hard for non Spanish speakers. To have one tour only in Spanish is also completely discriminatory and prohibits diverse groups to learn more about the city and encourage them to come back. Take the hop on hop off tour bus in red, it costs the same but is much better.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology. We would like to follow up on your case. Regards Amigo Group
The actual trip was fine. The vendor would not not accept a mobile ticketso i ha
annieo62, Jan 2019
Ticket. Had to walk to many places before we could het them printed. Left a bitter taste for a viator sponsored trip, should have been told if this before hand.
Great tour
Moises_M, Aug 2018
On time. Clean, comfortable and my family got all the information in English And the price is good. I highly recommended to all my friends and family
It's very good to see the city with...
TingTing C, Mar 2018
It's very good to see the city with the hop on and off bus. Highly recommend this. Make sure you ask for an ear plug for English audio guide.
This one was really good though we...
VirginiaD_J, Feb 2018
This one was really good though we did not have enough time because my husband and I took this tour the day we arrived in Mexico City so it was late in the afternoon already after we found the hotel to get out wrist tag. We just took one straight ride to get everything and it was already dark. Anyway, we got a lot covered the next day.
This was a terrible choice. In...
Johann M, Jan 2018
This was a terrible choice. In Polanco we waited for 30 mins while the other bus came every 5 mins. Then the bus stopped at the Cathedral and I had to walk about 8 blocks to Hostal “El Amigo” to get the bracelets to be able to get back on the bus. At the hostal, NO customer service whatsoever!
This tour- terrible! (Used Viator in...
Adlermvea, Jan 2018
This tour- terrible! (Used Viator in Boston -great!) Hard to find voucher turn in, 15 minute walk from there with confused directions. Bus driver-no English, Had to ask if English translation equipment or wouldn’t have known. Finally found if go to top we can get translation. Very disorganized!
Gabriela M, Nov 2017
DO NOT BOOK ANY TOURS WITH AMIGOS TOURS! We have traveled all over the world and booked a lot of tours from Viator and have never had any problems before, unfortunately this vendor is the most incompetent, unprofessional and rude company we have ever encountered. First of all, they have two different addresses on their vouchers and their instructions are not clear, so it makes it very difficult to figure out where they want you to meet. The first office we went to, which was impossible to find, didn't have the wristbands we needed to get on the bus, so they made us go to their other offices which are located inside a youth hostel in a very hard to find street of the historic area. They are located on the second floor in a very hidden, back room office. Everyone that works there is very rude, unorganized, incompetent and don't even want you inside their office or answer any questions. We had been walking so much from office to office in the middle of a hot day, during a major political demonstration with thousands of people and blocked streets with my elderly mother, but they still very rudely kicked us out of their offices and told us to wait in the downstairs youth hostel waiting area, which was dirty and smelled gross! After waiting a very long time to get our wristbands we had to walk even more to find one of the bus stops to start our tour. They weren't even kind enough to tell us where to go to pick up the bus, so we had to figure out where to go on our own. I do recommend you doing a Hop-On/Hop-Off bus tour, but DO NOT USE AMIGOS TOUR You will regret it! Viator, please stop recommending Amigos Tours!
It was great. However, I waited...
Marcelo D, Nov 2017
It was great. However, I waited almost 1 hour to get a bus on a specific stop in Mexico city.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Hop-on Hop-off Mexico City Bus tour


9 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 15.00
No Photo
Turibus Hop On Hop Off Mexico City Tour


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 14.00
No Photo
Private Hop 1975 VW Bus to Coyoacan & Xochimilco


5 to 6 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 111.46
No Photo
Mexico City Half-Day Tour with Museum of Anthropology


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 36.00

Explore Similar Things to Do