Mexico City

Xochimilco, Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum Tour

Badge of ExcellenceCiudad de México, Mexico

From USD 38.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Save by booking two popular Mexico City tours with this Super Saver featuring some of Mexico City’s best sites. Discover the colonial beauty of Coyoacán, stroll through North America's oldest university and gain insight into Frida Kahlo’s life and artwork at her former home of Casa Azul. Then, drift through the waterways of Xochimilco, a UNESCO site, and enjoy snacks aboard a ‘trajinera’ boat. You’ll come away with unique experiences and knowledge of Aztec history and colonial architecture.
  • Mexico City Super Saver, combining two popular guided tours at a discounted price
  • Wander through the Frida Kahlo Museum, and learn about the artist’s colorful life and famous works
  • Learn about the history of Coyoacán, Frida Kahlo and Xochimilco from an expert guide
  • Museum entry, boat ride and round-trip transport from central meeting points included
  • Visit a Cooperative Shop that helps the Mexican local artisans

What's Included

  • Guide (English or spanish)
  • Ride in a colorful 'trajinera'
  • Transport from central meeting points
  • Ticket to Frida Kahlo Museum (if option selected)
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

07:50 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Coyoacán, National University, and Frida Kahlo Museum

After meeting your guide in downtown Mexico City, your full-day tour kicks off at Coyoacán, which dates back to pre-Hispanic times. Admire 16th-century mansions along cobblestone streets, and learn about one of Mexico City’s oldest neighborhoods from your informative guide. Today, the area has blossomed into a cultural nexus for intellectuals and artists.

Visit the National Autonomous University of Mexico, built-in 1551, and check out the UNESCO-listed Central Campus, a collaboration that came together in 1952 involving more than 60 engineers, architects, and artists, including muralists Diego Rivera and Juan O´Gorman.

Next, head over to Jardín Hidalgo, and enjoy a lunch break here (own expense) in the garden area boasting restaurants, studios, and craft stalls. Next, enter the church of San Juan Bautista with your guide and admire the paintings inside.

A fan of Frida Kahlo? At Coyoacán Casa Azul (Blue House), or the Frida Kahlo Museum, immerse yourself in the tumultuous life and iconic artwork of this beloved artist. It is here where Kahlo lived and loved with her husband, Diego Rivera. Enjoy an hour of free time in the museum.


Your Mexico City sightseeing adventure continues at Xochimilco, located 17 miles (28 km) south of Mexico City, a waterway network of floating gardens of flowers. An ecological reserve and a UNESCO World Heritage site, this valley was a lake during Aztec times. To get around the scarcity of arable soil back then, the people developed chinampas, islands with floating reed mats with soil.

Spend about an hour drifting peacefully along the canals and admiring the chinampas from your colorful, flat-bottomed boat called a trajinera. Hear festive music from other boats, occupied by families and visitors celebrating weddings, birthdays and other happy occasions.

As your boatman moves the vessel along by pulling a pole through the water, pass other painted vessels transporting passengers and check out boat-vendors selling fresh food. Enjoy an array of dishes and drinks for purchase, including roasted corn, mole, mixiote (barbequed meat), tacos, carnitas, quesadillas, pulque (milk-colored alcoholic beverage) and micheladas (Mexican beer-based cocktail).

Your day tour ends with drop-off back at the central meeting points.

Paseo de la Reforma (Pass By)

Palacio de Bellas Artes (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • It is recommended that you wear comfortable clothes and walking shoes
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • The tour will be monolingual when arriving to the visit. During the transportation times it will be bilingual
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

If you arrive a little early you may wonder if you're at the right place, but you are.
I would recommend bringing cash for the canals so you can buy food drinks and music!
I totally recommend this if you are visiting Mexico City, it's a must!
3,285 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 3,285 reviews
The tour guides were very...
Erika_R, Mar 2023
The tour guides were very professionals, courteous and knowledgeable in explaining our questions in Teotihuacan and Frida Khalo tour
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Erika We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us! thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to accompany you on this occasion; It was a pleasure to be at your service. Mariana, Amigo tours
An almost entirely wasted day
Paul_F, Mar 2023
I was startled that the first activity was visiting a jewelry store, so that the actual tour didn't begin for almost three hours after we were told to meet at 8:20 even though they immediately told us we were departing at 9:00 - how incredibly disrespectful of our time. The tour was Xochimilco, Coyoacan, the Kahlo house - nothing about a jewelry store and that took one and a half hours off course. The lunch was so bad they should be ashamed. Coyoacan, it was nice to see the library at UNAM but not worth the time it took in traffic. Xochimilco was a joke, we spent 30 minutes stuck in a boat jam, then people kept jumping on the boat to sell us stuff but no one was there to tell us what we were seeing, talk about history or meaning. it was bizarre. The only thing saving it a star is we ultimately did get to Frida Kahlo's house which was very emotional. But that was 4:00 after an 8:20 start and everything up to that point was a joke. I only booked this tour because a la carter tickets for the Kahlo museum were sold out and it was the only way I could go - do yourself a favor and make your reservations for the Kahlo house at least a week in advance (two is better) and save yourself the time and expense of this tour it is so not worth it a total waste of time. The tour guide kept calling us muchachos which apparently he thought was cute but really? So annoying.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Amig@ Paul_F We seek to be clear enough in the product description so that the client knows the order of things. We are sorry that this tour did not meet your expectations, we do our best to provide you with an incredible experience. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Not to miss this tour
Suranjan_R, Mar 2023
This trip is definitely worth it. Right from start to finish. We enjoyed visiting the Blue House - Frida Kahlo's home cum museum cum studio, the exceptional mural of the library of the University, the colorful and festive boat experience at Xochimilco, along with many other english speaking guests was indeed very enjoyable. And thanks to our enthusiastic and engertic guides Diane and Alicia our trip was memorable.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for being part of this experience! It makes us very happy to know that the tour met your expectations and that you also had a pleasant day with us. We hope to have the opportunity to share another adventure with you. Mariana, Amigo tours
Great tour for the price
Mary_E, Mar 2023
The trip was great, our guide Mario was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor! The only thing that was a bummer is that if you choose the Frida tour, you don't really get to spend time checking out coyoacan (the group splits here for those who purchased the museum pass and those who didnt) The xochilmilco tour was fun, you can purchase food and beverages from other vendors on boats. We got to see a lot of the "floating farms". Be prepared to be bombarded with vendors though. We also stopped at la UNAM campus and saw the world largest mural, which was impressive. The Frida house was beautiful. All in all for the price and everywhere we went I think it was totally worth it. If we had more time in CDMX we probably could have split these things up to spend more time there and really appreciate it, but since we were only here for a few days it was a great way to see several things on our list.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Mary We are excited to know that you had a wonderful experience with us, thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to accompany you on this occasion; It was a pleasure to be at your service. Mariana, Amigo tours
Avoid this tour - the main purpose was to take us to the merchants the operator had a deal with, not to show us around
Eleni_M, Mar 2023
This was a very disappointing tour and I really doubt the reviews are real. There were a few unneeded stops that I can only assume that the tour operator had a “special” deal with these shops / restaurants and they wanted us to buy from there and there was no time left to explore the areas that were supposed to be the reason we paid for this tour. The tour was going to last for 10 hours and we were going to visit 3 places as per description. Meeting was 7.50 am whixh means we ahould have enough time to see all places. The first stop we did was 30 mins drive from the centre at a local silver shop in the middle of a residential area. Initially I didnt understand why we stopped, I assumed it was for coffee. Quickly I realised that this was just a normal gift shop and they wanted us to buy stuff from there- I can only assume the tour operator had a special arrangement with the shop. The next stop was about 40 mins drive (mexico city has a lot of traffic), they took us to the University to show us murals. Then after approximately an hour we were taken to the boats at Xochimilco. By that time we were starving, and there was food served by other boats on the river - however the guide made it very clear that although we can eat food there he would recommend to wait for the next stop where we would have amazing local lunch. After an hour we went back to the bus and drove another 30 minutes to the lunch place. The photo is attached. A restaurant in the middle of nowhere, that only tourist buses like ours would stop. The food, ambience and atmosphere was not representative of the amazing restaurants all around mexico city - and there were no other options in the area so we had really no choice but to eat there. Very pricey as well as again no other options! After that, the guide told us he would take us to Coyocan where we would have ample time to explore the area and visit the museum. We had tickets for the museum for 4pm, we arrived at Coyocan at 3.40pm and we were told to meet back at 5.45pm to head back to the city. On the way to the museum, we passed through a food market and everyone was wondering if that was connected to the museum as we didn’t understand why we were not going via the road. The guide did not accompany us in the museum, so we did the tournon our own. Finished at 5pm and then had 45 mins to walk, get a take away coffee and go back to the meeting point. Needless to say we never had the time to see Coyocan which is a very beautiful area, and we wasted so much time doing stops at places that the operator apparently had an “agreement” with that we felt conned at the end - we didn’t need to pay a tour guide to take us to the biggest tourist traps in Mexico city, we could have done this on our own
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Eleni We deeply regret knowing how unsatisfactory was this experience for you. We tried our best to create a good itinerary for our guests, so it is a shame that on this ocassion, we could not meet your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us, we sincerely appreciate it. Mariana, Amigo tours
Claudia_A, Mar 2023
Diana, Daniel y Alicia were great! Knowledgeable. We had lots of fun Long day but worth it. Thanks Claudia Alfaro Arizona USA
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Claudia_A, we are very glad to read you had a joyful time throughout this exciting experience, hope to hear from you again, and have a happy weekend! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Fantastic experience for a non native Spanish speaker
Michelle_B, Mar 2023
The tour guide crew of Alicia, Deanne and Daniel were fantastic! The English translations were done with impeccable idiomatic phrasing and emotions.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Michelle_B, we are very happy to know that your experience was wonderful, thank you for your review, have a great day and we hope to see you soon! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Sorry big mistake… comercial instead of culture
Guenter_T, Mar 2023
Sesrovsky very mexicana, if a handycraft market is around the corner. Driving 45 min to see the stadium, sorry not worth it, but the worse was the boot tour, just for comercial nepp. Not a good tour at all, if the last 45 min for the Frida Khalo museo. Never again.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Amig@ Guenter_T We are very sorry that this experience has not been to your complete satisfaction. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Find a different tour
Diana_H, Mar 2023
Felt like a prisoner during certain parts of this tour. Don't go on this tour, find a different tour/company. A lot of wasted time that could have been used better as a tourist who has limited time. First off, there are 2 pickup points, it takes about 45 minutes to take off and start the trip. Then we were taken to a silver shop that was out of the way. It was not close to anything else and added another hour to the trip that was completely unnecessary especially with mexico city traffic. Then we were taken to coyoacan which was lovely but did not get enough time to explore it since we had to go to the timed frida kahlo museum entry. Loved the museum but again, felt rushed because we only got an hour to see it. Then we were taken to the university city and sat in the bus at the side of the road while the tour guide talked at us. Then we were taken to a restaurant that they were contacted with and probably take commission from. The food was ok but the area was suboptimal and took up more time from the trip. By the time we finally got to xochimilco it was about 4pm, and everybody was exhausted. The ride was less than an hour long and the tour guides were low energy. All of the points of interest could have been done in a half day and the boat ride could have been longer. A lot of wasted time.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Diana_H, we are sorry to know that your experience has not been 5 stars, thank you for sending us your comments, which we will take into consideration for future tours, have a great day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
If you can, get private tours instead
Sophie_D, Mar 2023
I hope the company would shorten up the trip with unnecessary stops. We were told to come to the meeting place at 8:20AM but didn’t actually get on the bus to get going until 9am/9:15am. The first stop we had to stop by a jewelry place which took about 30-45 mins of the trip. We didn’t care much for this activity. 2nd stop at Coyoacán, you can either go see the Frida Koalas house or walk around the town. We opted to walk around the town. 3rd stop was lunch- we opted to not pay for the buffet but went out to eat street foods which costed us $5 for 2 instead of $25 for 2. 4th stop was the canal- I was hoping for more information about the history of the canal but our tour guides didn’t mention anything. We looked up information on our phone instead. And I was hoping for a calm, relaxing boat ride but turned out just a whole bunch of boats slamming into each other. 5th stop was at the university, at this point after 12 hrs on the trip everyone on the bus just wanted to go home. If they could, they really should skip this one to be honest. Overall, we will be getting private tours in the future instead.
Excellent employees.
Maria_E, Mar 2023
Raul, Cristian (cannot remember the other gentleman’s name) were professional, funny, and so dedicated to their job. They were on time, efficient and knowledgeable of the entire facts of the trip.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Maria Our team will be delighted to get your comments, it was a pleasure to be at your service! We hope to have the opportunity to see you once again. Mariana, Amigo tours
Excellent Buffet Lunch, Frida Kahlo and Xochimilco Highlights
Rachel_L, Mar 2023
The buffet lunch restaurant pick was outstanding, the complete opposite of Amigo’s tour to Teotihuacán. The stop to the silver shop was a first one and caused some worries but the people liked it so much that many bought silver rings or necklaces to take home on my tour yesterday. The female English speaking guide was expansive and easy to understand, giving each passenger a sincere hug at the end. All of the stops allowed just enough time and the meal was about the hour promised. Could have done without the lame University stop but at least it was as short as promised. Expect a large packed bus with maybe 1 or 2 seats empty. No problems with the tour, met or exceeded expectations and would recommend.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Rachel Thank you so much for letting us know your opinion, it is truly important to us. We look forward to sharing another experience with you in the near future! Mariana, Amigo tours
Be Careful What You Wish For
Lawrence_M, Mar 2023
This tour included an unexpected & unadvertised visit to a silversmith with a goal getting tour members to purchase his wares. The university campus tour was ok. Xochilco was a joke. We expected to learn about the floating gardens and the UNESCO World Heritage Site, but neither was even mentioned. Instead sales person after sales person came on the boat selling anything and everything. A jewelry salesman opened his case on the table in front of me blocking my view and ability to take pictures. They sold beer, other drinks, corn on the cob, and more. Then there was payment for the mariachi band that played for 3 boats. The best part of the tour was the Frida Kahlo museum and that you can do on your own. In my opinion, it was commercial endeavor designed to feel like an all day tour, but with a goal to get each participant to spend as money as possible and then expect a big tip at the end.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Lawrence_M, we are very sorry to know you did not enjoy the tour, we will take into account your review, on the other hand, is not an obligation to buy anything if you don't want to, hope you have a nice day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Highlight of Mexico City trip!
Tonya_G, Mar 2023
Alexa was a fantastic informative friendly guide. Juan our driver was friendly and got us safely to all our destinations. We walked the Uni campus, toured Fridas house, had mariachi music on the trajineras(make sure to bring pesos, no ATMs on the route), lunch Buffett had several vegetarian options (along with meat choices), our bus was comfortable with AC, we enthusiastically suggest the tour!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Tonya_G, we are very happy to know you had a great time with our team, thank you for the recommendations, surely they will be very useful to other tourists, hope to see you again! 😎 Ivana, Amigo Tours
Great value tour
Jared_L, Mar 2023
Absolutely loved the guides and the energy throughout the tour. Tons of stops, allowing you to see a great number of attractions south of the city. That being said, I do agree with some other reviews that there are too many stops. We didn't get to spend much time at many of the stops.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Jared_L, we are delighted to know you had such an incredible time with our partners, thank you for your comments, we will take them into account for future tours, hope to see you again on tour with us! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Must do for Mexico City
kalpesh_P, Mar 2023
This is a must do trip if you are visiting Mexico City. Transoprtion is very comfortable in luxury bus, guides are very entertaining and professional, two guides - English vs Spanish, we bought the Frida house tickets and we highly recommend to include it - it was the most memorable experience for us. It’s a long day due to very heavy traffic in Mexico City - however, there is no way to avoid the traffic and you will walk away with memorable day in Mexico City.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear kalpesh_P, we are delighted to know you had a nice time, thank you for your comprehension, and hope to hear from you soon. Have a nice day! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Bad communication
Darlene_G, Mar 2023
Cheaper to book your trip to the museum online. The guides don’t provide art information, and the tour requires you find your own transportation to the meet up spots verusus other tours that pick you up at your hotel. Overall, bad experience.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Darlene We are so sorry to know the experience was not satisfactory for you, Thanks for letting us know your feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. Mariana, Amigo tours
Bad experience!
Toyosi_O, Mar 2023
I didn’t pay for the Frida Kahlo tour and the guide didn’t communicate the reconvening location expressly. I had thought it was where the bus dropped us off at Coyocan so I was there waiting, didn’t see anyone and decided to go back to Frida Kahlo museum by 12:25. When I got there, the bus had left. The guide did say the departure was 12:30 so either way, I was in time but they left me. Prior to that, I kept calling and messaging their line, no one responded. But guess what, when the bus had left, was when they eventually responded. I even opted to take an Uber to where they’ll be since I know at each location, they spend like 30-60mins so I wa sure I could meet up, but they said NO blatantly. Very poor customer service!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Toyosi We deeply regret to know that you had an unsatisfactory experience during the tour. We have reviewed this situation, the tour guides were waiting for you for 20 minutes and since you did not show up at the meeting point, the bus had to leave. On the other hand, our team could not allow you to reach the tour at any other location because it is pretty hard to coordinate with the tour guides once they begin with the tour. We hope you can understand this, it was not our intention to put you through this. Mariana, Amigo tours
Pro and contro
pierrette_c, Feb 2023
Without this tour, we would not have been able to get tickets to the Frida Kahlo museum. Leonardo our guide was very knowledgable and pleasant. Xochimilco was disappointing to say the least and the first stop at a silver factory was unnecessary, prices were outrageous but tequila was good!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Pierrette Thanks for letting us know your opinion. We deeply regret to know that you did not like the entire itinerary. Just as a clarification, you can get the Frida Kahlo´s museum ticket with us (just the ticket), it is not necessary to take the whole tour. Mariana, Amigo tours
Excellent tour
Patti_H, Feb 2023
Our guide was excellent, the bus was comfortable. I fell unfortunately and had to miss Frida Kahlo's Blue House.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Patti Thanks for taking the time to rate us, we sincerely appreciate it. We are sorry that you had an accident during the tour, hope you are recovering from it. Take care! Mariana, Amigo tours