Milan: The secrets of homemade pasta & tiramisù

Milano, Italy
Milan Traditional Homemade Pasta Cooking Experience

From USD 138.66

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Spend a few hours in a local Milanese home and learn how to make fresh pasta. Make the homemade pasta from start to finish with the help of your hosts and learn traditional techniques. Make lasagna, ravioli, and tortellini and then sit down to enjoy the delicious food you’ve created with local wines.
  • Spend 3-hour learning to make Italy’s most famous food—pasta
  • Learn to make lasagna, ravioli, and tortellini from start to finish
  • Enjoy the fruits of your labor with your hosts and some local wine
  • Take home the recipes and techniques to recreate the delicious meal

What's Included

  • 1/2 bottle of fine wine for every participant
  • Lunch
  • Snacks
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Creative supplies · Other Apron, booklet in English All kitchen and cooking equipment, work stations, pasta machine for each guest. One professional blast chiller. Air conditioned
  • Recipes to surprise guests back home!
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza S. Materno, 8
    Piazza S. Materno, 8, 20131 Milano MI, Italy

    The apartment is in Piazza San Materno number 8. Ring the buzzer marked "Visconti" at the building.

Start time

11:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Milan (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • free sale product
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.


18 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews
Deji_O, Mar 2022
Experience was beautiful and the host was funny, lovely and inviting. Would recommend 110%, what a fantastic evening
Best experience in Milan!!
Saranya_V, Feb 2020
If you're in Milan, you absolutely have to make time to take this class! We met Bruna, our host, at her apartment complex and immediately felt welcomed into her beautiful home. She taught us so much about Italian cuisine & culture, and we loved hearing her personal stories and chatting with her as we cooked our meal. She guided us through making various types of pasta/sauces and tiramisu -- she knew our names, was patient with us, and offered to keep in touch if we wanted more recipes! We had the best time and couldn't be more thankful to Bruna for the cultural experience she gifted us. Best 3 hours ever!
Wonderful time!
phcaputo, Feb 2020
Don’t miss this experience- Not only does it give you a break from the hotels, but you get to see a beautiful apartment. The food was so fun to make all the little tidbits were entertaining.
Wonderful authentic experience
phcaputo, Feb 2020
We were looking for something to really give us the experience of living in Italy and this was it! Seeing an apartment (instead of a hotel room) and how food we eat all the times is prepared from scratch is something I will remember forever! Our host was engaging and told us so many interesting things I will never forget. I can’t wait to go home and make the great food. One thing- if it’s during the day and it seems the host isn’t answering your buzz, check for a doorman
Trip Organizer No Show
sarai_p, Feb 2020
We showed up after coming across the city and got buzzed in but no one answered the door. We called the number to speak to the tour organizer and the person said he wasn’t aware there was anyone signed up for the activity. We were very disappointed as it was our last night in Milan and we were celebrating a birthday.
Eating the pasta we made.
Michelle_I, Jan 2020
Well worth taking the time out of our stay to do this. The host was lovely. It was a comfortable relaxed environment and very enjoyable.
Practical, friendly and fun
Pierrick_L, Dec 2019
We loved being involved in the whole process of making pasta and Bruna was a fantastic guide through it. She taught us both traditional and modern techniques of making a few different pasta types and a tirimisu. Her English was great and we also loved learning fun history stories from her. Thank you, would highly recommend!
Confirmations mean nothing
Scot_P, Dec 2019
My husband booked the Milan: Traditional Homemade Pasta Cooking Experience tour on a Monday morning as a last gift from Milan for our holiday. He received confirmation from Viator that we were successfully booked, and he planned our day around our class. After an hour walk from the Duomo to the tour destination, we arrived a few minutes early. The “host” mildly reprimanded us for arriving at early, she explained that she had to pay her staff the extra 10 minutes for us to be there and it “was not good for her”, she also told us being there was inconvenient by interrupting her last minute preparations. We were then unceremoniously asked to wait in a cramped cooking/dining area where 12 spots were set up for the class. At precisely 6:00pm she handed everyone a glass of prosecco, she made some inquiries as to where everyone arrived from and she began explaining what was on the table. At that moment another couple arrived, and there was confusion in the room. The host asked our group “is everyone here from Airbnb”, I have 12 people from Airbnb?”. We said no we arranged through Viator. She said, “this is not ok, you cannot stay here, I have 12 reservations from Airbnb, you will have to leave”. She went on to say this was a Viator problem not hers, she said this problem had happened before, it was not her fault, “but we had to go from her home”. Can you imagine our embarrassment? Can you imagine how mortifying it was for us to hand back our glasses, get our coats and walk out after such an exchange? We arrived back at our hotel an hour after this terrible exchange to find an unacceptable email sent to us 30 minutes after the class was set to start…. “sorry guys just saw your booking which was really too short notice for today . can you reschedule please ? or you want me to cancel ? thx”. This error was not a simple mix up at some random location. We were made to feel embarrassed and asked to leave someone’s home. The so called "host" was not friendly, nor welcoming and the unprofessional email we received from some unnamed person at Viator was completely insufficient in making reparation for our experience. We did get an electronic refund notification from Viator, but I dont believe they will address the issue with the instructor or their customer service team. Our tour of Milan and bus trip to Switzerland were both wonderful, it is unfortunate that the Traditional Homemade Pasta Cooking Experience was a such a failure.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
hello guys we are sorry to hear that but you booked the class just a couple of hours before the actual event and we did not have time to close out date. We also sent you a prompt message about that but we guess you did not see it. Please next time try to book with more time of notice. Thanks federico
So much fun!
reubellamarie, Nov 2019
We got into Milan and really didn't have anything scheduled besides walking the city and taking in a few sites on foot. We quickly decided we should do something unique and found this cooking experience late in the afternoon... we booked it only a few hours prior to the start time and hoped for the best. We were absolutely blown away by Bruna's beautiful home and hospitality. She told stories through her cooking and helped us understand the culture behind the food. We learned a lot about making pasta and the best tiramisu! I actually have pasta making supplies on my Christmas wish list thanks to her! Bruna also gave us a huge recipe book and a copy of things to do at Lake Como as she knew we were headed there the next day! This experience, among all our tours in Italy, really stood out as one of the best! Do not leave Italy without trying this!
Not what we expected
Tania G, Oct 2019
When we made the reservation we were given a specific location. One day prior the location was changed and it was now 40 minutes further then we were originally told. The information online stated we would be making 3 different pastas and were only going to make 2 until we told the instructor that we were told 3. He showed us how to make a third. Although we made it, he never prepared it for us to eat. The instructor was very nice and informative however it was definitely not what was presented online. He also said he would send us instructions on what we made and how to make it ourselves and he never did. All in all it was disappointing and would not book with this company again.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
hello i m sorry we did not reach your expection but unfortunately the main host got a personal issue and we had to arrange a class with another host.. I m really sorry ... usually these changes never happen
Paige_C, Sept 2019
My work team and I did this class while traveling for a conference and absolutely loved it. We had such a good time and of course the food was delicious!
Pasta cooking class review
Joshua_C, Aug 2019
Overall, the class was great. The teacher was from India, which was a surprise to me but after all she knew her stuff. When I paid, I was expecting an Italian chef and that did not happen. Also, the tour company and the teacher need to be on same page. The teacher telling us her frustration with the tour company giving out wrong directions should not be shared with paid guests, but behind closed doors. It went great but i hope everything comes out better for new guests looking forward to an italian cooking class. I even had to pay a taxi driver to reach new location.
Homemade pasta cooking nightmare
Manuel_A, Aug 2019
Throughout the years I have done multiple tours with Viator, however the Milan homemade pasta cooking experience was a complete disappointment. First of all the location was changed at the last minute. Once we arrived to the apartment complex we were extremely surprised at the fact that the instructor was Indian and not Italian like we expected. In addition, she was prepared for a group of three instead of our group of four; she only had ingredients, set up, and space for three which forced her to had to go out and purchased more materials for the class. I am glad I had my voucher with me. The class was held in a tiny, messy and crowded apartment that didn’t have air conditioning. I kept starring at the messy bedroom, destroyed kitchen cabinets, broken countertops, and stacked boxes around the tiny kitchen. We had to leave the door open so that the air the fan was providing could ventilate. Lots of flies and mosquitoes came in and bit us. It was so hot that the instructor had her belly exposed (which we considered totally inappropriate) and her messy hair up in some type of a bun. She kept talking about Indian food and even though we love it, frankly it was not the place to constantly bring it up. We were supposed to also make lasagna which we never did. She made a sauce for the pasta, but didn’t teach us how to make it. I had given her money when she went out to bring me a Coke Zero because my husband is diabetic and she brought regular Coke. We were also promised half a bottle of wine for each participant, but we only took a zip of the one provided because we wanted to leave so badly. Apparently the apartment did not belong to her but to another chef that was out of the country. The cups were dirty and I did not want to touch anything. When I went to the restroom to wash my hands there was no liquid soap and had to use a bar soap that belonged to the owner and was disgusting. I have enjoyed most Viator tours but this one left me with a bitter taste, especially when I had done everything in my power to make it on time coming from Capri. I would recommend using an Italian instructor, finding a nicer location for the class, ( we could barely fit) and providing a real three course meal! (our dessert was taken out of a frozen box). Although my family tried to make the most out of it because they are troopers, I felt completely embarrassed having taken them to such place!
Great Cooking Class
Beate_H, July 2019
My 19 year old daughter and I recently took a trip to Milan and decided to take a pasta making class. We were very impressed by this class. The setting was inside the home of the chef and we got to enjoy the meal we prepared on her beautiful roof top patio. The Chef made the class fun and we were surprised at how easy it was to make home-made pasta. We also got some fun information on the culture of cooking and wine in Italy. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone wanting to learn how to make pasta from scratch.
Dominic is the Best
Gail S, June 2019
Our guide was interesting, amusing, and knowledgeable about all six courses. I learned a great deal, and I are and drank far more than planned. The pizza was my favorite, but calamari was the best I have ever had. When I return to Rome, I will take this tour again!
The highlight of my trip to Milan...
Madolyn D, June 2018
The highlight of my trip to Milan. Bruna was extremely welcoming and showed us around her home, taught us her secrets and tips from her years of cooking, and was a blast to be with. You have hands on demonstration as well as eat all you make. She sends you home with the recipes. The homemade tiramisu and limonchello she served you at the end were the BEST you will ever have. Would definitely recommend.
Cooking instructor Bruna is the real...
Kathy T, Mar 2018
Cooking instructor Bruna is the real thing!! Felt like having dinner with a Michelin Chef and a good friend! She provided demonstration and recipes to take home. We mixed dough, and used both traditional pasta maker and KitchenAide attachment to make lasagna, ravioli and tagliatelle!
This was a highlight of our trip to...
Adam H, Jan 2018
This was a highlight of our trip to Milan. It’s at the ladies home. She makes you feel very welcome, her experience is vast and great.The cooking lesson is great you come away knowing you can do this at home and feel get receipes to take home. 100% recommend you do this on your trip.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Milan: The secrets of homemade pasta & tiramisù


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 138.66
No Photo
Crunchy Pizza, Wine Tasting and Chocolate Tiramisù


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 149.41

Explore Similar Things to Do