Newport Cliff Walk Self-Guided Walking Tour

Newport, United States

From USD 6.99

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 to 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore scenic, Newport’s historic Cliff Walk at your own pace using this self-guided, GPS-based tour. Download an easy-to-use app and set off on an attraction-packed audio tour. Learn the little-known stories behind famous families of the Gilded Age—the Vanderbilts, the Astors, and other millionaires—and see their iconic oceanside mansions.
  • A self-guided walking tour of Newport’s Cliff Walk
  • Enrich your visit with the stories behind Newport’s iconic millionaire mansions
  • Enjoy a mix of natural and historical attractions on a carefully chosen itinerary
  • Benefit from online support as needed and an easy-to-use downloadable app

What's Included

  • App on your phone: A link to download the Action Guide app. Password for your tours. Preview at home
  • Flexible schedule: Use any day, any time. Travel over multiple days or on next trip. Never expires.
  • Easy to use: Stories play automatically by GPS. Hands-free. Get HELP all day: Call, Chat, or Email.
  • Offline use: No cell signal or wifi required. Offline GPS Map & route. Stop-to-stop direction.
  • Don’t miss a thing: Full itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated, videos, text, hidden gems.
  • Transportation, parking fee, food/drinks
  • National Park/attraction Passes, entry tickets, or reservation

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Easton's Beach
    175 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840, USA

    After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection. Note: Please park your vehicle at Easton Beach.

Start time

Opening hours

  • 3/18/2020 - 3/27/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 06:00 am - 11:30 pm

End point

  • Bailey’s Beach
    Cliff Walk, Newport, RI 02840, USA

What To Expect

Easton's Beach

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Forty Steps

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • How it works: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a text/email with instructions. Download the app (while in good wifi/signal) and use your unique password to access your tours. To begin touring, go to the Starting Point and launch the app. The audio starts automatically. Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience. Please note that no one will meet you at the starting point.
  • Good value: Purchase one tour per person. If you are a couple and prefer to share, purchase one tour and remember to bring headphones you can split.
  • Flexible Schedule: Once the app/tour is on your phone, you can use it any day and at any time. You can use it over multiple days. And, also use it on your next trip here. This tour never expires.
  • Preview the tour: You can use it before the trip at home (highly recommended), use it during the trip, and use it after you come back.
  • Don't miss a thing: You will get everything with the app - a complete itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated audio stories, story script, images, videos, deep dives, hidden gems, exciting locations, recommendations for hikes, adventure, activities, treks, and stop-by-stop direction.
  • Private tour: You can use it in your car or rental car. No worries about groups or crowds. Start the tour app on your phone. And it will direct you step by step. You can stop for as many breaks as you like. Take a break for Instagram photos, and take a break for lunch/snacks. Go on a hike. The tour will wait for you and start when you start again. You can even do the tour over multiple days. Go at your own pace.
  • Easy to use: The stories play themselves as soon as the GPS is activated. It requires no use of your hands at all. You can get HELP by calling, chatting, or emailing any time of the day.
  • Offline: There is no need for a cell signal or Wi-Fi while touring. App’s GPS map works offline.
  • Expiration/go again: The tour will last for the rest of your life on your phone. It is available for use on any day of your next trip.
  • Use pictures for a photo book: Create a photo book using clean (no crowd) app images of each spot to make a memorable trip. All the photos and the correct sequence is ready in the app for you to use.
  • Social media: Share clean (no crowd) images with friends/family.
  • This 3+mile-long tour covers the essentials of Newport Cliff Walk in 2-4 hours.
  • Devices supported include iPhones with iOS 13 & above, Android phones with version 9 & above and all cellular-enabled tablets & iPads.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Bathroom facilities were available only once early on the walk, with an inoperable water fountain (due to COVID).
41 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews
Clift walk
Sandra_M, Nov 2022
Excellent self guided tour! The app work perfectly, we downloaded at the apartment the night before. We enjoy the stories of each landmark!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback, Sandra! I’m thrilled that my tour of Cliff Walk added to your learning and that you enjoyed it. I also have 100 other self-guided tours for other parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic sites in the US — hopefully, you’ll get the chance to try them next time! Also, to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
Loved knowing where we...
Barbaraman, Oct 2022
Loved knowing where we were and snippets about the briefing homes that way passed. So nice to have..
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks so much for your feedback, Barbara! I'm thrilled that my tour of Newport Cliff Walk added to your learning and that you enjoyed it. I also have 100 other self-guided tours for other national parks, scenic drives, cities, and historic sites in the US. Hopefully, you’ll get the chance to try them next time! Also, just to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
Not what I expected
Kirrily_J, Aug 2022
The commentary was good but the Cliff Walk is not the best way to see the Gilded Mansions if that is what you’re after. Most are not visible on the walk. You’re better off doing the free trolley tour and booking to go inside those open to the public.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks for your feedback Kirrily! The first 12 stops on tour do not pass by any mansions. After stop 13, you come across eight mansions that face the ocean. So, all the mansion stories are after stop 12. A free trolley tour only takes you to the places. It does not tell you the stories. You have to go inside the mansions to hear the room-by-room story. I have created a separate tour of the mansions inside for the Preservation Society of Newport. If you enter any of their mansions, they will ask you to download the tour to go around it when you are inside. I would be more than happy to exchange your tour with one of my 100 other tours in the US — hopefully, you’ll get the chance to try them next time! Also, to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
There was nothing to see...
Cheryl_B, Aug 2022
There was nothing to see aside from views of the water, hedges are too high to view homes. Add in the detour….pass.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks for your feedback Cheryl! This is a self-guided walking tour, so you should keep walking to get to the points of interest. When you arrive at the point of interest, the audios will play automatically and will provide you with information about the specific location.
Not worth the $$
Cheryl_D, June 2022
I was unable to get the app to work correctly, even after 3 tries. We did better on our own with a map.
Response from Host, June 2022
Hi Cheryl, I’d love to help you get set up. Once you have the app downloaded on your phone, the tour is a straight and simple walk down the Cliff Walk! Support is available over call, chat, and email (all linked in the intro message) and if you’ve already left, I’m happy to exchange this tour for any other. Let me know!
Not necessary.
Rick_P, Nov 2021
The Cliff Walk is incredible. PLEASE note: the red sections ARE HARD!!! But Why buy this guide when you can get it for free from the city?? It skips. It starts over. It repeats itself. Not a total waste as the bavkground information was good.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
We created this tour for the simple reason that it offers more than free versions do — after all, you could always just use Wikipedia when vacationing! This is meant for visitors who want more. The “welcome” audio plays each time you re-start the app. However, this doesn’t mean the tour is starting over. It picks up where you are. The best practice is simply to keep the tour running while on the cliff walk because then the welcome won’t re-play. Other stories will appear to skip or repeat if directions like “pause and look” were not followed. The tour naturally works best when all instructions are followed. If you feel that the issues you faced were unique, please feel free to reach out! We care deeply about our tour and test it regularly across all types of devices. We’d love the opportunity to improve our app.
The only way to walk the walk.
Lois_R, Oct 2021
This was the perfect way to walk the Cliff Walk. There was so much interesting information offered. Without the self-guided tour, it would have just been a “pretty” walk. With the tour, we learned so much and had immediate answers to questions raised as we walked by.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
That’s exactly what we were aiming for! I’m so glad to hear about your experience. We have a number of other self-guided tours (some walking, some driving) across the country at Thanks again!!
Sometimes starting backwards is not all that bad. It worked for us!
John_H, Oct 2021
Our walk was delightful. By pure accident we started backwards of the audio. The map showed some rough terrain at our start but the trail was worth it. The audio program worked automatically and was great informative company along the way. My only suggestion would be to somehow allow for a reverse option. Since we started at the end and worked our way towards the audio beginning we had to look back to match audio to visual. Great experience. I would recommend this self guided tour.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Good to know! As you mentioned, walking the Cliff Walk in reverse requires looking “backward” a bit but it’s great to know that this wasn’t a problem (and we will definitely consider a standalone “Reverse Tour” too)! If you enjoyed the self-guided experience, we have more tours at Thanks again!
Not able to use it
Kim_E, Sept 2021
I was not able to download it on my phone for some reason we were never able to use it was a waste of money for me I was very disappointed
Response from Host, Sept 2021
Did you reach out to us for support? We’re available nearly 24/7 over call, chat, and email, along with an extensive FAQ. Please reach out now so that we can help you get set up and going before your trip ends!
Broken, would like a refund
Meri_L, Aug 2021
The link to the audio tour was broken when I got there and I was unable to use the audio tour I purchased for 3 people
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hi there! Can you help us understand what was broken? The app link is currently working and your password is still valid. We have 24/7 support to help if you need it! If you would prefer a refund, please email us with your purchase receipt and we will take care of that for you.
Audio crashed on pixel, couldn't recover
Babette_C, Aug 2021
The program crashed and lost the so-called download (that's not what is considered offline mode). Further, cell coverage was weak so we couldn't re download. Unacceptable! We want our money back as you ruined the cliff walk experience as I fought with both my phone and my spouse's!
Response from Host, Aug 2021
We’re so sorry to hear this! Were you able to get in touch with our 24/7 support team? This sort of crashing is very unusual, so we’ll have our team look into the matter right away. For a refund, please email us with your purchase receipt.
GPS challenged battery eater
Sean_M, July 2021
The info in the audio was interesting. However, the code didn’t arrive that quickly. The download of content took multiple tries. The GPS was never accurate, so it would skip whole areas to the point where we had to watch the map to see if it had passed an audio stop or not, and at the end, it had chewed up 50% or more of the battery.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thanks for your feedback. We don’t usually see reports of poor GPS on the Cliff Walk — it’s a well-serviced area. I’d love to know what type of phone you were using. We’re working on delivering the password faster but are constrained by the time it takes for your order to reach us in the first place. Thanks for letting us know.
Wonderful guide on challenging walk!
Erica_P, July 2021
My sister and I had a great time with this challenging walk! It was so helpful to listen to the audio guide as we walked. We actually started from the end of the Cliff Walk as was suggested to us. The map gps connection adjusted to that.
Response from Host, July 2021
Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed the Cliff Walk tour. If you are still in town, we have a driving tour of Newport that you may enjoy as well - more details on the website,!
Great experience
Katherine_M, June 2021
Loved it. When we went it was foggy out but still was a great experience. Rocky area isn’t recommended for ppl who are unstable in their feet. Also wear proper shoes!
Response from Host, June 2021
Thank you so much! I’m so glad the self-guided tour was fun despite the fog. And both tips are excellent! Are you still in town? You may enjoy our self-guided driving tour around Newport — it’s a different perspective on the mansions (and visits a whole lot more of the town).
Michael_C, June 2021
Didn’t take it because of parking. Heading back to New York. A waste of my money . Refund!!!! Refund!!!!!
Response from Host, June 2021
This is not a parking pass. It’s a self-guided audio tour along the Cliff Walk.
Beautiful, scenic and a rugged challenge too
Stacey_B, May 2021
It was longer that expected (that's a good thing), just be prepared. Bathroom facilities were available only once early on the walk, with an inoperable water fountain (due to COVID). At least one large water bottle needed. We made it too Ledge Road, some spots seemed impassible. Free parking at College after graduation. We were there May 23.
Response from Host, May 2021
I’m so glad our tour was able to give you a great Newport Cliff Walk experience! You may also enjoy our self-guided driving tour around Newport.
Great View
Linus_T, May 2021
With good weather, it was worth it. We enjoyed it. It was. A little difficult because we have somebody in wheelchair.
Response from Host, May 2021
I’m so glad our tour was able to give you a great Newport Cliff Walk experience! You may also enjoy our self-guided driving tour around Newport.
Very poor service
Nessa_L, Mar 2021
Don’t waste your money on this. Password was not sent in time so couldn’t use the service. There are free downloadable guides plus information points along the way
Response from Host, Mar 2021
Overall we’ve done our best to have multiple levels of contact to make sure that everyone can take the tour. The tour app and password links are sent by both text message (under 5 min) and TripAdvisor/Viator email (15-30 min). Occasionally, the automated email system goes directly to spam or is delayed. But in those cases, we’re very reachable by chat, call, or email, as well as an online “resend password” form. In this case, the text message sent on time but we weren’t notified that the automated email hadn’t sent. By the time we re-sent the email, it was too late for your plans. We already initiated a refund, since it’s entirely warranted. (Additionally, you still have access to the Newport tour for your next visit). Our tour goes beyond the free signage on the walk. We would love to share a gift card with you for a future tour with us so that your next experience can be great. Please reach out!
Informative walk
Lbh75, Oct 2020
Good information as I passed the sites. Much easier To have the narration than scanning the QRS scanner sections in front of each attraction. Only downside is in between some of the attractions a lot of the recordings were repetitive. I’m sure there are other little facts that could have been supplemented. Would I recommend this to someone...yes!
Response from Host, Oct 2020
So thrilled you enjoyed the tour! We have a few history/background stops repeated for folks who entered at 40 Steps instead of Easton’s. But we will definitely take this suggestion to revisit that choice and replace those with different stories in the next update. Thanks!