Ultimate Newport Self-Guided Bundle Tour

Newport, United States

From USD 16.99

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 to 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit historic, coastal Newport at your own pace during this attraction-packed, self-guided tour. Follow a carefully chosen itinerary and live GPS map, with stops at celebrated mansions like the Bellevue House, the chateau-inspired Elms, and the iconic Vanderbilt home, the Breakers, plus natural sights like Easton’s Beach and Fort Adams State Park.
  • A self-guided tour of Newport’s top historic and natural attractions
  • Ideal for groups: purchase only one tour per car, and everyone can listen in
  • The tour is available from the moment you book, with no expiration date
  • Take as long or as little as you’d like in each location, with plenty of enriching audio

What's Included

  • App on your phone: A link to download the Tour Guide App by Action and Password for your tours.
  • Flexible schedule: Use any day, any time. Travel over multiple days or on next trip. Never expires.
  • Good value: Buy just one per car. Don’t pay for each person. Save money compared to a bus tour.
  • Easy to use: Stories play automatically by GPS. Hands-free. Get HELP all day: Call, Chat, or Email.
  • Private tour in your/rental car: No group. Take breaks for photos/ snacks/hikes. Go at your own pace
  • Offline use: No cell signal or wifi required. Offline GPS Map & route. Stop-to-stop direction.
  • Don’t miss a thing: Full itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated, videos, text, hidden gems.
  • Transportation, parking fee, food/drinks
  • National Park/attraction Passes, entry tickets, or reservation

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 23 America's Cup Ave
    23 America's Cup Ave, Newport, RI 02840, USA

    After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection. Note: This 16-mile-long tour covers the essentials of Newport Bundle in 6-7 hours.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 4/11/2020 - 4/10/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 06:00 am - 11:30 pm

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Newport Visitors Information Center

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

International Tennis Hall of Fame

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • How it works: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a text/email with instructions. Download the app (while in good wifi/signal) and use your unique password to access your tours. To begin touring, go to the Starting Point and launch the app. The audio starts automatically. Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience. Please note that no one will meet you at the starting point.
  • Good value: Purchase only one tour for the entire vehicle instead of taking the bus and paying for each person. You will see a significant saving. Connect your phone to car speakers by a wire or bluetooth. Enjoy the tour by listening together as you drive.
  • Flexible Schedule: Once the app/tour is on your phone, you can use it any day and at any time. You can use it over multiple days. And, also use it on your next trip here. This tour never expires.
  • Preview the tour: You can use it before the trip at home (highly recommended), use it during the trip, and use it after you come back.
  • Don't miss a thing: You will get everything with the app - a complete itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated audio stories, story script, images, videos, deep dives, hidden gems, exciting locations, recommendations for hikes, adventure, activities, treks, and stop-by-stop direction.
  • Private tour: You can use it in your car or rental car. No worries about groups or crowds. Start the tour app on your phone. And it will direct you step by step. You can stop for as many breaks as you like. Take a break for Instagram photos, and take a break for lunch/snacks. Go on a hike. The tour will wait for you and start when you start again. You can even do the tour over multiple days. Go at your own pace.
  • Easy to use: The stories play themselves as soon as the GPS is activated. It requires no use of your hands at all. You can get HELP by calling, chatting, or emailing any time of the day.
  • Offline: There is no need for a cell signal or Wi-Fi while touring. App’s GPS map works offline.
  • Expiration/go again: The tour will last for the rest of your life on your phone. It is available for use on any day of your next trip.
  • Use pictures for a photo book: Create a photo book using clean (no crowd) app images of each spot to make a memorable trip. All the photos and the correct sequence is ready in the app for you to use.
  • Social media: Share clean (no crowd) images with friends/family.
  • Devices supported include iPhones with iOS 13 & above, Android phones with version 9 & above and all cellular-enabled tablets & iPads.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

11 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-5 of 11 reviews
Needs to be GPS based
Jessica_H, Aug 2022
Worst experience ever. The routes and map need to sync with phone GPS so the user can start where you are. The driving tour gave you directions to turn after you past the road so be prepared for turning around multiple times.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks so much for your feedback and suggestions Jessica! I'm so sorry for your experience! Unfortunately, it cannot be GPS-based because we also feed the information in the tour other than the map service, so you can only begin the tour from the starting point specified. Once you have fully downloaded the tour, it will work completely offline. In response to your concern about the turns, my team checked the tour and found that there are no turn instructions after you pass the road; this appears to be due to the slow GPS syncing, which is triggering the audio after you pass the turn. In addition, I have 100 other tours in the US. I hope to see you on one of my other self-guided tours in the future. Also, just to remind you that the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit also.
Newport RI - Self ride guided tour
hoathi, Oct 2021
Excellent tour for lowest cost, easy to follow instruction. Beautiful sceneries and gorgeous mansions
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thank you so much! We love bringing the history and beauty of Newport to life with our tour. Hope you get the chance to try out other tours in the future. Thanks again!
Entering the Breakers and...
Rubby_G, Oct 2021
Entering the Breakers and Marble house. However we were given a location to go to to start the tour and it was closed. We were not given a warning of that.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
So glad you enjoyed the tour and visiting the mansions along the way! The Discover Newport Visitor Center sadly closed during the pandemic. If you enjoyed the self-guided style of touring, we have lots more tours across the country — details at Thanks again!
Don't buy-- Did not work as advertised.
Su_R, Sept 2021
I used part of the Cliff Walk tour. We took a break and could not sign back in. I could also not access the Scenic Newport part of this tour at all, as it said that the password had already been used. They falsely advertise that this tour has no expiration. I tried to contact them via the app and the provided phone no., but got no response. I asked Viator for a partial refund, after returning home the next day and the tour provider refused, sending me a new password, which is useless, as I don't plan on visiting Newport again.
Response from Host, Sept 2021
We’re sorry to hear you had this experience! Our support team is available nearly 24/7 to assist with these sorts of issues, so it’s odd that you weren’t able to get in touch with them. Our tours definitely don’t expire, however. Once purchased, they’re good forever. We do offer refunds to anyone who is not entirely satisfied with our tours. Feel free to email us with your purchase receipt so we can process this for you.
Great self audio tour!
Cindy_J, June 2021
After an inicial hiccup the tour worked beautifully, loved all the information and seeing so many places from the car.
Response from Host, June 2021
So glad you enjoyed the tour! Thanks so much for the great review! What was the initial hiccup? I’d love to be able to fix that! Please shoot me an email via