Incredibly Fun 2-Tank Coral Reef South Shore Boat Dive in Oahu from Waikiki

Badge of ExcellenceHonolulu, United States

From USD 198.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Learn the basics of scuba diving during a 5-hour introductory course in Waikiki. Your professional scuba instructor teaches foundational scuba skills before taking you out by boat to a dive site in shallow water. Have time to get comfortable with the equipment in the water, then follow your instructor as you scuba dive around the coral reef. You can see marine critters such as sea turtles and colorful fish, an amazing experience to add to your vacation in Hawaii.
  • 5-hour introduction to scuba diving experience
  • Learn to scuba dive with a professional scuba instructor
  • Try out scuba in Hawaii’s warm ocean waters
  • See tropical fish, sea turtles and other critters

What's Included

  • Full equipment rental
  • Water
  • Snacks
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 424 Nāhua St
    424 Nāhua St, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

    Please arrive to the shop at your scheduled time well rested and ready to dive! Please review medical waiver before arrival.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Traveler shoe size option and a T-shirt size upon booking.
  • Must review medical questions (https://www.padi.com/sites/default/files/documents/padi-courses/2.1.5%20rstc%20medstate%20v201.pdf) in advance so that you have time to obtain a consent from a doctor's office for you to go diving. You are required to present the doctor's consent. Free cancellation is up until 24 hours prior to the scheduled trip departure time, Cancellation, change or rescheduling due to delay in clearing medical, late check in beyond 15 minutes or failure to comply for safety advice will incur full booking cost..
  • Must remain sober. No drinking is allowed prior to go diving. We reserve the right to deny anyone's diving trip should safety concerns arise. No refund is eligible if cancelled or denied within 24 hours of the trip check-in time or during the dive trip.
  • + When safety comes firstly, fun always follows. Please plan and reserve your dive schedules accordingly. Do not consume alcohol or anything that may cause drowsy, lethargic or impaired decision making before attending the activities. We reserve the right to deny attending activities for any divers or snorkelers for any reason. No refund or free rescheduling will be extended. + If you are going to do a shallow coral reef two-tank boat dive (40-60ft), you should not be catching a flight within 18 hours. If you are going to do a deep dive (60-100ft), you should not be catching a flight within 24 hours. You are responsible to email or call us regarding your departure prior to your scheduled diving trip + For beginners, non-certified divers or new students, it's your responsibility to carefully review the PADI discovery diver information and medical questionnaires (https://www.padi.com/sites/default/files/documents/padi-courses/ and (https://www.padi.com/sites/default/files/documents/padi-courses/2.1.5%20rstc%20medstate%20v201.pdf). Cancellations due to absence of required Medical Statement after the cancellation period forfeit any reimbursement. + Dive or Snorkeling Trips (FOR PARTY OF 4 OR LESS): We require 24 hours advanced notice of cancellation for a full refund. Cancellation, change, medical issues, late check-in or reschedule requests made less than 24 hours in advance will incur in full booking charge. No refund or free rescheduling will be given. Please understand that the instructor's time is pre-arranged and blocked days prior to ensure safety compliance for crew and diver ratio. Please arrive on time. There is a 15 minute cut-out time. If you or your party do not show up by 15 minutes after the scheduled check-in time, your trip will be automatically cancelled and without refund or free rescheduling. + Private Charter, Group Students or Party with 5 or more: Please let us know what special event we can help prepare in advance. Cancellation policy is different from the individual bookings. It is free cancellation up until 21 calendar days prior to the scheduled trip. Within 21 calendar days to the scheduled trip, 100% of the full booking charge will incur. Please kindly understand we have turned away other divers and additional opportunities in keeping the booking exclusively reserved and blocked.
  • Avoid booking the dive trip within 18 hours of flying. No refund is eligible if failed to comply and/or when the dive trip is denied to protect for customer's safety. Always advise directly if you are flying within 18 hours. All participants will be required to complete a health questionnaire prior to diving. Some pre-existing medical conditions (eg asthma, heart conditions, etc) may prevent you from diving, please consult your doctor
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Experienced divers, stay away, even if it is for family members who are not experienced.
And if stinky damp wetsuits bother you bring your own 😂
98 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews
Perfect scuba trip for beginners
Jack_G, Mar 2023
Perfect scuba experience for beginners. Our instructor (Josh) was so knowledgeable, clear with his instructions and entertaining during the instructional period and the dives. We had an absolute blast and the pace was great for us who had never done it before. Saw some really cool stuff too.
Great trip, they did...
Russell_K, Feb 2023
Great trip, they did everything for us. Got to see a variety of undersea life- turtle, urchins, colorful fish.
Dancing Divers
Jvondalyn_N, Feb 2023
Josh, Captain Steve and Red were very patient and made my first dive an experience I will never forget. We saw a Fin Shark and danced with the local fish. I will be coming back, and might actually get certified. Thank you all.
Great experience
Sean_H, Nov 2022
This is a great way to dive without being certified. The instructors are very knowledgeable and make sure everyone is safe and comfortable. I am a certified diver, but it has been awhile since I dove and the first dive was a food refresher. My boys have never dove before and they thought it was one of the best things we have done together.
Great dive experience...
Bob_S, Nov 2022
Great dive experience with Josh! Very good pre-dive safety briefing and follow through. Just a short boat ride off shore and we were in the ocean on the first dive, practicing dive skills. The second dive we saw all kinds of sea life, “gently petting”small octopus, saw many big turtles and a couple of eels. The reef and reef fish were magnificent. Great trip for newbies and experienced divers. Thanks for a great time!
Josh was a great instructor!
Donna_D, Oct 2022
Laid back diving tour with few people. Josh and Captain Tim were awesome. Saw needle fish, turtles, and octopus. Had a great time!
Best bday ever
Louis_G, Oct 2022
First time scuba diving and fell in love with it! Makes me want to get certified to do more dives the crew was amazing I had Josh as my instructor and we connected well because of our military history and he was an amazing and funny guy definitely want to going diving again real soon
Great intro with very competent crew
Rachel_M, Oct 2022
My sister and I had an amazing time! This was my way of introducing her to scuba diving to see if she would want to get certified one day and the crew made her feel very comfortable and slightly less nervous. For myself, the last time I had been diving was easily over 10 years prior, but again the crew helped with reminders and made sure we felt safe the whole time! Captain Steve even taught my sister how to snorkel when she was finished learning to use the tanks! Josh was very patient and found all of the good spots to see the sea life! We saw a tiny octopus, a couple of turtles, a small tiger (I think) shark and plenty of fish and coral. And Myranda was extremely knowledgeable of the diving and kept some of the other guests entertained answering all of their questions which seemed to be asked all of the time… all in all, when everything was said and done, we felt like this was one of the best ways for us to spend our morning and would totally have done it a second time if there wasn’t so much other stuff that we had already had planned.
I'm going back for more
PATRICK_B, Sept 2022
The diving instructors and Captain Steve were all seasoned professionals. They communicated clearly, and inspired confidence, wonder, and fun.
Best Dive
Dan_C, Sept 2022
Josh, Christian, Yoshi and Rachel are AWESOME! Josh crushed the instruction and dive…made us all feel comfy in the H2O. Rachel was great at getting us set-up and has a great smile willing to help everyone!
Good For Inexperienced Divers Looking To Try It Out
JC_W, July 2022
Very comprehensive experience. I hadn't dived in over 15 years, and my brother never had and this trip worked out great for us. Starts with a 20 minute instruction session at the shop, followed by a quick ride to the docks. Instructions are clear and well delivered, good for new drivers. Crew takes the training pretty seriously too, but in a fun way to keep you engaged. Dives themselves are pretty tame. Follow a rope down about 50 feet, performing the basic skills they teach you in dive #1. Then swap tanks and go back down to explore for about 30-45 minutes (depends on how quick your group members deplete their tanks). Saw some Eels, starfish, lots urchins in the coral, and of course fish. Was told rays and turtles are around sometimes, but didn't see one. As an inexperienced diver though, I had fun just being down there, doing flips in the water and just feeling like you're "flying" around in the big open water. Skills they teach are for sure important too. Had my respirator knocked out while under water by a stray arm from a fellow diver and was easily able to retrieve it with what was learned. Felt pretty safe. Had a great time. Probably not for experienced divers, but great for those trying it for the first time or for the first time in a long while. Great crew.
Katie_J, May 2022
Overall, I think the team was very knowledgeable. That said, they could benefit with better organization. At literally the very last minute as we go to enter the water, they realize some of the divers in my group are getting their certificates. WTF. It was chaotic, and not enjoyable for my first time diving. Definitely ruined my experience hated the cluster, I was thrown into.
Response from Host, July 2022
Aloha Ms. Jensen, I'm sorry to hear about your experience in your point of view. We assigned three most experienced dive leaders on the island to guiding your trip. It is impossible for the crew to not know who the students were on the boat as we had manifest to show US CostGuard on the entire trip each and every trip who the students, certified divers and beginner divers are. In addition, we pride ourselves for keeping the ratio extremely small in the last 43 years as the top 5 star PAD IDC academy. I see you are a certified diver and allow me to assume you are familiar with the PADI standard and guidelines. The PADI standard on the certified diver to instructor ratio is 6+ divers to 1 instructor. Unlike some diving companies will do 10+ to 1, we do less than 6 to 1 ratio. As evident in your dive trip, there were 3 certified divers including you to one instructor. Your guide is one of the best experts and an avid free diver on the island who's known as "Octopus Tracker". Rest assured we do not throw any divers into a cluster but a highly attentive small group for increased experience, albeit at a higher cost for us. The 4 students on your boat were with a separate instructor by design, but I understand how it can be perceived. We also have other options to consider such as having a private instructor at additional cost. I hope you could let us know at the shop so we can help address your concerns. I personally didn't understand how "WTF" served any value in helping others improve, and representing our shared passion for ocean and humanity. Nonetheless, we love our divers at Waikiki Dive Center. Our team always go out of their ways to make divers happy within safety measures. There is always something we take immediate actions per your feedback to do better with our communication, in raising the bar. I'd like to invite you to come back to dive with us again. If I can be further assistance, please contact me directly. Anna
Mike was great!
Jamila_S, Apr 2022
My tour started with a call stating that I was about to get left as the tour started at 0945 but my booking stated 1015. I kept insisting that my booking said 1015 and they looked it up and saw that I was correct and the tone changed to, “oh, we will be waiting.” It took a long time to leave even after I arrived, although I was told that I was about to be left. During the dive, Mike and Josh were great. This was my second time trying scuba but I struggled badly this time. Mike was super patient and tried to help me as much as possible. I wasn’t able to do my second dive and Mike suggested that I ask for a partial refund (wasn’t expecting a refund at all) but since it was suggested, I figured that it would be welcomed. So I got back to Ana and asked for a partial refund and she was not having it, which was fine, but she was a little rude. Don’t ask Ana for a partial refund even if it’s suggested to you lol.
Upset customer
Justin_K, Mar 2022
They cancelled the trip about 12 hrs prior to the trip. Still have yet to be refunded for the trip. Thats all folks.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Aloha Justin, I'm sorry to hear. We issued the refund request to TripAdvisor the same time of the cancellation. We do not have your payment the first place as TripAdvisor will not pay us until a month after the service is actually completed, in this case the trip did not start. TripAdvisor will process your refund accordingly. Feel free to call the shop at 808-922-2121 if we can be further assistance.
Amazing Instructors!
Jay_K, Mar 2022
Great group! They are fun and very experienced! Never a dull moment with them! I was new to scuba diving and they taught me and my family step by step! Amazing instructors! Will be coming back!
Awesome dive company!
Lisa_F, Mar 2022
Jared and Phil were absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend diving with this company. If we ever come back to Hawaii I will be using them again. And I also wanted to mention Grace she was working in the shop when I came in and she was so pleasant and kind. Loved listening to all the places that she has dived at.
BOTB scuba diving.
Tasha_V, Jan 2022
We had a fantastic time with Nick. We are a bit older and had been 10-20 years since we have dived. He was very patient with us. Yoshi (sp?) captain, was wonderful too. He kept our friend who was not able to dive comfortable and entertained. Absolutely loved the experience!!! Will do again for sure!
Fun from Wisconsin
chris_S, Dec 2021
Jeremy was so helpful with me and my son! He fell in love with scuba diving now!! Very nice people!!
Best way to see ocean life
jsjamieson33, Dec 2021
Very awesome and very safe. Chad is a very very good diver who is constantly checking on you and looking to show u the best the reef has to offer saw shark, turtles and fish such a blast!!
Too many students per instructor
Yinglu_W, Dec 2021
I definitely did not feel safe. One instructor would take 3-4 people. One girl in front of me being panic made me panic. Then I felt drowned for a good 5-6 seconds because the instructor did not see me (busy dealing w the girl in front of me). In addition, not recommend the area. The water was extremely dirty..
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Aloha Yinglu_W Our Student per Instructor ratio is always in full compliance with all PADI standards and governmental regulations. In fact, we often run our beginner diver charters with an extra instructor on board, in order to assist those that might find this activity to be difficult. In addition, we also offer private, one to one instruction and career training. Aloha,