Oaxaca City

Mitla, Tule, Tlacolula and Teotilán

Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico
Mitla Tule Tlacolula and Teotilan

From USD 55.15

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover Oaxaca's rich, cultural history on a day trip to several nearby towns. Join a small group and visit the Mitla archaeological site and the town of Tlacolula to learn about the ancient Zapotecs. Then, it's on to the artisan village of Teotilan del Valle before concluding at a mezcal distillery to sample the drink and learn about the manufacturing process.
  • See a 2,000-year-old tree in the middle of Oaxaca
  • Learn about Mexican history and culture on the tour
  • Hassle-free transfers from your Oaxaca hotel included
  • A small group means more attention from your guide

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Professional driver
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
  • Guide
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Oaxaca
    Oaxaca, Centro, 68000 Oaxaca de Juárez, Oax., Mexico

    The operator will meet you in the lobby of your Hotel/Airbnb; he will ask at the Front desk for your name. We can pick up in any hotel or Airbnb located in Oaxaca Downtown.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 4/29/2021 - 12/15/2023

    Wednesday - Sunday : 08:30 am - 10:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

The operator will meet you in the lobby of your Hotel/Airbnb; he will ask at the Front desk for your name. We can pick up in any hotel or Airbnb located in Oaxaca Downtown.

What To Expect

Tule Tree

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Zona Arqueologica de Mitla

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Santa Maria de la Asuncion Tlacolula

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Teotitlan del Valle

1 hour Admission Ticket Free


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Operated by Encuentro T

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos


15 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews
Great tour!!!
Andrew_H, Sept 2023
Angel was very friendly knowledgeable and professional. Great tour! He had very interesting stories and made ut fun.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I will send your comments to Angel :D Hope to see you again soon All best
Thajany_C, Aug 2023
It was a great experience. We had the chance to habe an AMAZING AND WELL PREPARED GUIDE NAMED MARTHA. She’s one of the best tour guides we have had in all of my travels around the world, honestly!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello Tahany Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! For sure I will send your comments to Martha :D We hope to see you soon All best
Left in the lurch
Annie_S, June 2023
I would give more stars were it not for the fact that we were dropped off 6km from our hotel and told to find our own way back. This was in spite of me having proof that drop off and pick up points were the same. The tour guide refused to honour the agreement made with Viator.
Response from Host, July 2023
Hello Annie_S We are sorry about what happened, As we spoke a few days ago I apologized for this situation, and hope the refund we gave for transport can reduce this bad experience. Let's hope to see you again soon for another opportunity!
Jane_T, Jan 2023
Out visit to Mitla et al was mixed. The locations were beautiful and interesting. However our driver was terrifying and our guide (Angel) egotistical and arrogant. I cannot recommend this tour although the locations are worth visiting.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello Jane, Thank you for your comments, I apologize for what happened, we already sent the report to this driver and the guide so it won't happen again. Your comments help us improve. All best
Mix up and overpriced
Ann_L, Aug 2022
By booking through Viator,I paid more than twice as much as anyone else AND they put me on a different trip for some reason. They did arrange for someone to drive me home before seeing site I’d already seen. You can purchase what you want from person in Oaxaca selling tours. I will not use Viator again.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello Ann_L We are sorry you had a bad experience, unfortunately we do not have any influence on third party operators prices. We will verify this won´t happen again to improve our service. Kind Regards
Skip this tour
Maria_C, Apr 2022
Horrible experience, I would not recommend this tour. It all started when we had to go to lunch at a buffet restaurant. The food was not the best and the desserts tasted old and flavorless. The owner apparently was offended because my kids tried the desserts and did not eat it all. The owner told my husband “I don’t know how it’s in the United States but here we don’t waste food”. We then told the tour lady about what had happened. She basically brushed it off and told us not to think about it. We did not want to offend anyone but I was offended and it ruined my tour. If you like to be treated like you don’t matter then go ahead and go on this tour. I’ll I ask is for us to be treated with respect, I’m not asking for much.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hello Maria_C, Thank you for your comments as this makes us grow, improve and be better, I apologize for what happened in the restaurant, I will verify this directly with the operator this situation so it won't happen again. Thank you for your comments, and sorry one more for what happened All best
Great day trip.
Arlyn_E, Oct 2021
It was overall a good day, loved the carpet making demonstration and Hugo was a great guide, knowledgeable and genuine.
Great tour
Jim_A, Oct 2021
Every place we visited was very interesting. I wish they had stopped at more historic churches and given us a bit more free time.
A must see
Susan_B, Aug 2021
Mitla is amazing. A must see experience. And Pablo is a fantastic guide - very knowledgeable, interesting and patient. I never felt rushed.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hello Susan_B I'm very happy you enjoyed your tour so much! For sure I will send your comments to Pablo! We really appreciate all your comments as they allow us to improve our tour and be better. All best and hope to see you soon!
A very good experiance!
Bill_G, Aug 2021
The tour on 13 August, 2021, was quite good. The driver/guide was informative, but not real personable. He did a very good job though, having to share the info in both Spanish and English. The places we visited were great, especially the church that was having a wedding at the time. There was no water available during the trip and the stop for lunch (which was quite good and varied) was paid for by each customer. I had thought that a full day tour at USD $50 each would have had lunch provided. The rug weaving village stop was excellent and very educational. It was a full day with a lot of walking, but fortunately very few steps to climb. Another fine VIATOR tour, like the many others that we have done around the world.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hello Bill_G Is nice to hear you had a great day on your tour! I'm sorry about lunch, I will verify it with the operator to see if it can be included on the future. We really appreciate all your comments as they allow us to improve our tour and be better. All best and hope to see you soon!
No lo recomendaría
Lidia_J, Jan 2022
Nuestra experiencia no fue la mejor, la descripción del recorrido en esta plataforma no es la que se vive en la vida real. No se visitan las cuevas (que estábamos muy emocionados por conocer), se hacen otras paradas adicionales que restan tiempo a las importantes, en el árbol del Tule no te acompaña el guía para explicarte qué estás viendo, la cata no es en Mezcaloteca, la explicación en Mitla dejó mucho qué desear, nuestro guía no estaba muy capacitado o certificado (los certificados portan gafete). Nuestro chofer y la señorita con la que nos comunicábamos siempre tuvieron la mejor actitud y disposición para ayudarnos, desafortunadamente la descripción del tour no es la que sucede en la vida real.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hola Lidia_J, Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, hemos actualizado la información para futuros tours, lamento que tu experiencia no haya sido la mejor con nosotros. esperemos pueda visitarnos en el futuro para mejorar su experiencia. Feliz año!
Está bien pero necesitan mejorar las medidas de seguridad contra el COVID
Nathalie_H, Oct 2021
Al menos durante la pandemia pienso que las medidas de seguridad deben ser más fuertes. No deberían permitir que nadie esté dentro del vehículo que transporta a los participantes de la actividad sin mascarilla, en un ambiente tan cerrado como esos vehículos, con tantas personas, una sola persona contagiada sin duda contagia al resto por el tiempo de exposición sin ventilación. Esto debería aplicar para niños también, yo se que es muy difícil pero lamentablemente hoy los contagios a niños y por niños son los más frecuentes ya que no están vacunados, debemos cuidarnos entre todos. Por otro lado, no había buena comunicación con el guía, el solamente nos decía: ya llegamos, y yo no tenía idea a dónde, a cuál de todos los lugares nos estábamos dirigiendo. Además hubiera sido de valor saber que no es posible acercarse al árbol de Tule.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Mitla, Tule, Tlacolula and Teotilán


8 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 55.15
No Photo
Hierve el Agua, Mitla, Tule, Tlacolula and Teotilán


11 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 69.50
No Photo
Hierve el Agua, Tule Tree, Mitla and Mezcal Distillery Tour


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 45.00
No Photo
Full-Day El Tule, Mitla & Hierve el Agua Tour from Oaxaca


11 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 58.55

Explore Similar Things to Do