Shared shuttle - Panajachel to Guatemala City (airport)

Panajachel, Guatemala

From USD 40.00

Select Date and Travellers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket


Eliminate the stress from your journey between Lake Atitlan and Guatemala City Airport with a departure airpor transfer service that lets you skip the hassle of public transport and expensive taxi rides. Traveling in a small group limited to only 10 people means you won't have to wait for multiple pickups and drop-offs, while air conditioning ensures you stay cool, calm, and collected throughout the ride.
  • Make your departing flight in plenty of time with an airport transfer
  • Letting someone else drive lets you sit back and soak up the scenery
  • Avoid the hassle of public transport and the expense of a taxi
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off mean you don't have to find a meeting point

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle

    Meeting And Pickup

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Drop-off point

    • Guatemala City Metropolitan Area
      Guatemala City Metropolitan Area, Guatemala

      We can drop travelers at the airport, hotels near the airport in Zone 13, hotels in Zone 10, or the bus stations in Zone 1 only.

    Pickup details

    We can pick up travelers at the main dock (Muelle Tzanjuyu), located at the end of Calle del Embarcadero, or, we can collect you at central Panajachel hotels. If you are staying in another village, including Santa Catarina Palopo, you will need to come to Panajachel for pickup.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Child safety seats are not legally required in Guatemala. If you are traveling with a child, please bring your own child safety seat or hold your child on your lap. Children in safety seats OR aged 3+ will be considered paying passengers.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    Cancellation Policy

    This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

        Traveller Photos

        Traveller Tips

        We needed to get from Panahachel to Guatemala Airport for a 3:00 pm flight, leaving Pana at 9:00.
        10 reviews
        Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
        Reviews by Viator travellers.
        Showing 1-6 of 10 reviews
        Speedy driver but no leg...
        Molly_D, Mar 2023
        Speedy driver but no leg room so was very squished. Convenient way to travel. Wish it had air conditioning. Also more than 3 time slots a day.
        Response from Host, Mar 2023
        Hi Molly, thank you for your review! We're sorry the van didn't have much legroom for you. We always have private transfers available at any time of day if the shared shuttles didn't accommodate your schedule. We appreciate your business!
        Pleasant affordable
        Lydia_D, Mar 2023
        Shuttle was able to drop us off at our Hotel so that was nice because our flight wasn’t until next day. So they saved us a trip
        Response from Host, Mar 2023
        So glad we were able to accommodate you! We appreciate your review and hope you loved Guatemala!
        Bait and switch
        Kevin_C, May 2022
        Bait and switch. Booked shuttle to GUA and wound up in Antigua and switched vans. So much waiting in Pana, Antigua that. 3 hr ride turned into 5 hours. Luckily, I left early enough to not miss my flight. I thought I would give Viator a try even though it is more expensive than booking locally but learned my lesson quickly. Just use Uber.
        Response from Host, May 2022
        Hi Kevin, Our product description for this shared shuttle service clearly states that you should plan a minimum of four and a half hours to get to the airport as we have a pass through Antigua with a change of vans. I'm sorry you missed that information but we are clear up front and not engaging in a 'bait and switch' practice. We also offer private taxis that are bookable through Viator and you are open to contact us to ask questions about any of our listed services. Although Uber is used within Guatemala, finding a ride from Panajachel through an Uber driver is very risky, as its such a small town and you won't always find a car. We are sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience but glad you didn't miss your flight. We'll be sure to write directly to everyone booking this service to reiterate that a shared shuttle takes more time than a private service. Have a nice day!
        Marisa_M, Nov 2021
        As someone who has traveled all of Central America and most of South America, I can easily say this was by far the worst shuttle experience I’ve ever endured in my life. And I’ve taken 18 hour shuttles in the past. Those were a breeze compared to this nightmare! This trip started out with the shuttle company informing me they couldn’t pick me up at my hotel in Pana and instead to meet up at the Selina for a 9 AM pick up. I was happy to comply (cancel my current hotel and rebook at the more expensive Selina hotel/hostel for a smooth experience in the morning). I assumed this central meeting point would mean we would go directly from Salina in Pana to the airport within a 4 hour time period, as the ticket implies. However given my one star rating this was obviously not the case! After the Selina pick up, the shuttle bus continued around the city center to pick up other passengers and added about 20 minutes to the itinerary. Following this pick up we were on our way, however about 45 minutes into the trip our shuttle bus stopped on the side of the road, told everyone get out of the car, while we proceeded to wait for 30 minutes for a different shuttle to come, which we were then able to transfer to. Finally after this vehicle transfer we were on our way to what I assumed was the airport… however this was not the case. The shuttle proceeded to take us to the Antigua city center to a tourist office where we were told once again to get out of the shuttle and wait for about 40 minutes until the new shuttle came. Throughout this process I asked the tour operator when the shuttle was leaving because I had a 3:30 PM flight out of the international airport Guatemala back to Miami Florida. The tour operator insisted that the new shuttle would be here within one minute and I had nothing to worry about as I would be able to get to the airport within 45 minutes… once again, this was not the case. After about an hour and a half drive from the city center to the airport, the driver circled around the Shell station a few times and then proceeded to drop off passengers at the gas station instead of bringing the passengers that needed to catch a flight to the airport. The end result in all of This came to me missing my 330 flight and I’m now stuck in Guatemala from Sunday until Tuesday - when the next flight that departs for Miami. I have contacted Viator and the tour agency to explain my problem, however it looks like the tour company has no remorse nor has brought forth an apology. I now have to worry about accommodation, food, transportation, and finding clean clothes to last me the next three days until the next flight. Also keep in mind that if you miss a flight it’s up to the passengers responsibility to book and pay for a new flight, which has also added additional monetary stress to this traveling nightmare. I highly encourage anyone who is looking at this tour company to look elsewhere. The tour company also goes by the name of visatravel/ visatours. You’ve been warned!
        Response from Host, Nov 2021
        Hi Melissa, My name is Valerie and I'm the owner of Due South Travels. I am so sorry to hear about your delayed experience that resulted in missing your flight. Prior to this review, I have received no contact from you so I apologize if you did not get my first message confirming pickup where I provided our agency numbers, travel voucher, and email address. When we informed you that we do not collect passengers from outside of Panajachel, we set Selina as the collection point but in no way required you to change your hotel stay. Also, we wrote that the shuttle picks up around town as its a shared service and that there may be a wait during pickup time. I apologize if that information was unclear. Second, you definitely did not have the experience we strive to provide, and I will check with the transportation agency as to why that was the case. Our website has more information about booking our third-party shuttles but I promise, this was below our standard. If you'd like to reach out to us directly I can help you deal with your travel insurance company to submit any paperwork you might need in order to be reimbursed for your trip delay. Please message us on whatsapp or email Again, we are extremely dismayed and surprised to see this review since we had no contact from you during travel or after, but contacting us directly for assistance will be the best way to rectify this.
        Shuttle to the airport
        Sandydilena, Jan 2020
        We needed to get from Panahachel to Guatemala Airport for a 3:00 pm flight, leaving Pana at 9:00. Although the shuttle left 15 to 20 minutes late, the ride was smooth, and got us to the airport with time to spare. We did not travel through Antigua. The van was clean and in great condition.
        Response from Host, Feb 2020
        Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to review our service and hope to welcome you back to Guatemala someday soon.
        Viaje de Panajachel a Cd de Guatemala
        ELEONORA_M, Dec 2022
        El chofer fue puntual, pero no nos dijeron nunca que ibamos a hacer escala en Antigua y que el siguiente shuttle salia una hora mas tarde lo cual ponia en riesgo nuestro vuelo. Al final resolvieron bastante rapido y nos enviaron en un shuttle solos hasta CD de Guatemala.
        Response from Host, Dec 2022
        Hi, it does explain this on the product listing that you booked, and we’re sorry you did not see that. We explain that the shuttles pass through Antigua and sometimes involve a change of van and to plan for a 4.5 hour trip, which is accurate including the wait time. Unfortunately there are no direct shuttles from the lake to the city. Thank you for booking our service and we’re glad we got you to the airport as promised. Please make sure to read the product listings thoroughly before booking. Hope you enjoyed your time in Guatemala!