Eiffel Tower Climbing Experience with Guide and Optional Summit Upgrade

Badge of ExcellenceParis, France

From USD 42.29

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours to 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


See a different side of Paris’s ‘Iron Lady’ on a guided climbing tour of the Eiffel Tower. Take the slow and scenic route and climb the stairs! Learn all about the construction, controversies, and mystique surrounding the iconic tower from a guide as you ascend to the first and second levels, admiring Gustave Eiffel’s intricate design from angles and viewpoints that most visitors miss. It’s an adventurous way to go behind the scenes—and under the beams—of one of the world’s most popular attractions.
  • Climbing tour of the Eiffel Tower in Paris
  • Take the stairs to the first and second levels of the famous monument
  • Learn about the history and engineering of the tower from a guide while climbing
  • Athletic challenge ideal for those in good physical shape
  • Walk out onto the glass floor suspended 57 meters above the ground on the 1st floor
  • Upgrade to include an elevator ride to the summit

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Instead of taking the elevator, participants on this tour take the stairs up the Eiffel Tower. 

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Entrance tickets to the 1st and 2nd floors of the Eiffel Tower
  • Small group of 20 people max or fewer
  • Fully guided climbing tour via stairs to the 1st & 2nd floors
  • Optional elevator entrance ticket to access the Summit
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pick-up/drop-off
  • Skip the Line Access
  • ** Please note the Summit is closed until February 3rd, 2023

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Tour Eiffel
    75007 Paris, France

    The meeting point is NOT at the Eiffel Tower. It is located on the steps leading from Pont d'Iena to the river. The steps are by the carrousel on the end of the Pont d'Iena just in front of the Eiffel Tower (on the right when you are facing the tower from the bridge).

End point

  • Eiffel Tower
    Champ de Mars, 5 Av. Anatole France, 75007 Paris, France

    Conclusion Point: 2nd Floor of the Eiffel Tower

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Upgrade Option - Clients that chose the 'Upgrade Option with Summit Tickets' have a free time to go up to the Summit. Please note there is a line for the elevator to the summit
  • In some instances, the summit of the Eiffel Tower may be temporarily closed due to situations beyond our control, such as inclement weather or crowds. When this occurs, the group will be unable to access the summit, even if it reopens during your tour. In this event, you will be refunded the price of the summit access within 5-10 days. THE REFUND WILL BE DONE AUTOMATICALLY.
  • We will do everything within our power to ensure timings and itineraries are respected. However, due to the popularity of the Eiffel Tower, we sometimes experience delays from security, or ticket desk lines while purchasing your entrance tickets. In these instances, the tour duration may exceed the allocated 2 hours. We recommend allowing extra time before your next activity to ensure you make the most of your Eiffel Tower experience.
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guests with wheelchairs or any impairments requiring special assistance. We are also unable to accommodate strollers or baby carriages on our group tours.
  • We strongly suggest that you avoid bringing large purses, bags, or backpacks on your tour.
  • Travellers should have a strong physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

It is a tough climb for people who aren't in decent shape but the guides do good job of letting people catch their breath and legs, stopping at the different platforms.
The Description of the Tour Is not clear enough, no fast lane, no summit possible, hours of waiting, not to recommend.
1,367 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,367 reviews
Todd_S, Mar 2023
SCAM! DO NOT BUY! Guide was over a an hour late. The person representing the tour. Implant provided no updates except to say”she is late”. We purchased ticket for summit (to go all the way to the top). They have us a ticket for only second level. I said we wanted the top ticket and they said we could call the customer service. Tour guide gave almost no information to share on history. NOT worth the purchase. Could have done better on our own. NO benefit to buying this except incompetence from the tour people. It was not just us that experienced this. Others had the same feelings.
An experience
Timmy_T, Mar 2023
Brilliant experience not for the unfit due to the amount of stairs but the tour and skip the line were informative and amazing. Well worth the money
Fantastic, thanks Marie S
William_S, Mar 2023
Great tour of the Eiffel tower, guides extremely helpful to us and friendly, they also have a great knowledge of Paris and the surrounding area. Many thanks to our guide, Marie S for a fantastic tour!
Excellent experience!
Reinaldo_R, Jan 2023
Very well prepared and knowledgeable guide. Interesting tour with great information. Well organized and always on time.
Absolutely Terrible
Kira_S, Jan 2023
When looking for the meeting point we was walking for 30+ minutes to find it. Nothing was signposted clearly. There was no one nearby to tell us where to go and when clicking on the address for the meeting point it took you to the eiffel tower. We missed our experience because of this and was denied a refund which simply ruined our holiday completely.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello Kira_S, We are sincerely sorry to hear that you were unable to find our meeting point for your tour of the Eiffel Tower with us. On the booking voucher we always include directions to the meeting point along with GPS coordinates and pictures. Customers who have difficulty finding us are also invited to give us a call and our Customer Care team would be happy to direct you further. As we cannot accommodate late arrivals, we advise on the booking to be at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the starting time. Our deepest apologies for all the inconveniences that were caused on your travels. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Good experience, but consider if you should just go on your own (read on)
Rachel_B, Jan 2023
It’s a must-do experience, let’s face it. By my math we would have paid around $62 AUD in total for two people if we had done this by ourselves (in comparison to about $170 AUD in total through this tour). That equates to about $55 per person for a tour guide to give you some interesting facts about the tower, and show you how to navigate the queues etc. I would have thought this was better value if we hadn’t had to queue with the guide for an hour just to get the tickets. Whilst I knew this was not a ‘skip the line’ tour, the price felt like it warranted a little more of a premium experience - so that’s really what you need to assess when deciding if this is for you. Otherwise, we loved going up, but possibly could have just done it ourselves and read up on the history.
We thougt, that we booked...
Reto_L, Jan 2023
We thougt, that we booked a Eiffel Tour Experience with guide and tickets without beeing part of queeing in the normal line fir approx 1 1/2 h.... unfortunateley this was not the case... we received the 'normal' tickets that everyone receives queeing for more than 1h
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello Reto_L, We would like to apologize as your tour of the Eiffel Tower did not meet your expectations nor the high standard of quality service we have set for ourselves at City Wonders. During high season, the Eiffel Tower welcomes high volumes of visitors and the tower often gets crowded. Our guides do their best to provide an exceptional experience despite the crowds. We apologize once again for any inconveniences caused on your visit. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Great Access and Informational
Matthew_A, Nov 2022
Our tour guide, Deb, was great at providing additional information about the tower, its history, and then also pointing out different sites from the second floor (e.g., Sacré-Cœur) which are worth a visit but not always the most obvious destinations. I would strongly recommend her. We did the climbing tour (to the second level) and the elevator to the summit. If in good health, would recommend the climbing tour as it provides a different perspective (and still allows you to take the elevator down at the end).
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. Everyone at City Wonders is delighted to hear that you loved your tour with us. It was our pleasure having you for this memorable experience. We hope to see you again on some of our other unique tours in the future. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for choosing City Wonders. Feel free to follow us on our social media pages such as Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook to keep up with our exclusive content. Instagram: citywonderstours Twitter: @City_Wonders Facebook: City Wonders Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
My horrible experience
Milagros_U, Nov 2022
The guide leaf earlier and I didn’t go to the Eiffel Tower. We lost 350.00 I will never use any more.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello Milagros_U, We are deeply saddened to hear that you could not make your tour with us at the Eiffel Tower. On the booking voucher we always include directions to the meeting point along with GPS coordinates and pictures. Customers who have difficulty finding us are also invited to give us a call and our Customer Care team would be happy to direct you further. As we cannot accommodate late arrivals, we advise on the booking to be at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the starting time. Kind regards, Edgar J. from City Wonders
Excellent experience,...
Igor_V, Nov 2022
Excellent experience, great building, interesting story about the tower, how to build, when etc. and great guide.
Not to the top!
Samson_E, Nov 2022
Our guide was good but we couldn’t get to the summit. Viator needs to change the way they do business here.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hello valued customer, We apologize that we could not provide you with the full experience you desired and deserved. Unfortunately, the Eiffel Tower sometimes closes the summit off without any prior notice to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the company of your guide, but by no means are we satisfied with providing 3-star experiences. We hope in the future we are able to provide you with just that on any of our other unique tours. All the best, Edgar J. from City Wonders
Hilarious guide but too crowded
Aimee_B, Nov 2022
Went to the Eiffel Tower for our daughters 16th birthday. Glad we had the experience but I wouldn’t do it again because of the large crowds and long elevator lines.
Eiffel Tower experience
noeliasantana84, Nov 2022
Awesome tou. Our tour guide was Ash he’s very knowledgeable and very funny. He explain everything in details.
The tour was pointless....
Robert_C, Oct 2022
The tour was pointless. They did not buy the tickets ahead of time, so we did not get to go to the summit even though we paid to. We also had to stand in line for 2 hours instead of skipping the line like the rest of the tours. The tour guide also did not provide any services except standing in line with us
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello Robert_C, We sincerely apologize that our tour guide and our skip-the-line service was not able to provide you with the value you were looking for, nor the value we intend to provide all our customers. This is not at all close to the type of experience we aim to provide. Unfortunately, the Eiffel Tower has bene allowing an increased number of crowds at the venue the last few months. We are working to ensure that our customers do not feel the effects of these crowds diligently. Thank you again for your time and input Robert -- it means a lot to us. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Poor quality guide - not recommended
Marie_T, Oct 2022
Poor guide and low quality information. Did not know any information about the tower (only told us info that was available on posters on site). No knowledge regarding surrounding buildings and every time someone asked about certain a buildings, she replied “I will tell you later”, but never did. Did not spend waiting time with good facts or the like, but looked at her phone. Seemed like she had never been to the Eiffel Tower before. She asked us whether we had tickets, and did not even know that tickets were bought after security check. We ended up leaving the group, since waiting alongside the group only made our experience worse. Would not recommend this to anyone. Would have been much better and cheaper to do by ourselves. Everything I now know about the Eiffel Tower, I could have learned via 2 minutes in google.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello Marie_T, Firstly, everyone at City Wonders would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed, honest and insightful review on Viator. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear that you were not remotely satisfied with your experience at the Eiffel Tower with us. For this, we also apologize sincerely. It's very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your guide company, and we will undoubtedly be communicating your comments to our guide management team so that we may all improve the quality and attention to our service. The fact that you did not find your guide to be at least informative is very alarming to us as we strive to provide all our customers with the most knowledgeable and qualified guides possible. While it is a bit tougher to hear the negative feedback, it will only help us improve the quality of our tours. Thank you again for your time and input, Marie. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Good trip - though leave plenty of time
Leilia_B, Oct 2022
good trip, was a little longer than advertised so would advise not booking something else straight after. Ash , our guide, was very knowledgeable and made the trip very entertaining.
Shouldn’t be missed.
John_V, Oct 2022
No waiting to enter. Lots of stairs but worth the experience. Learned a lot about the history of the tower.
Eiffel Tower climbing tour
Patricia_R, Oct 2022
We were only able to go up to the second level of the tower. The reason stated was that the top of the tower was at capacity. Our guide was very dramatic. We all felt that she was more interested in practicing her acting skills than giving us a history of the Eiffel Tour
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hey Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We apologize that you could not make it up to the summit of the Eiffel Tower. As well, we lament that your guide could have done a better and more serious job at keeping you informed and entertained. Your comments have been communicated to our guide management team so that the necessary actions are taken. We really thank you for your time and input. All the best, Edgar J. & the CW Team
Amr_R, Oct 2022
Natalia was very pleasant and a wealth of information. The climb is tough, make sure you have water or are willing to take your time- even with a lot of cardio. It’s 35 flights..don’t go early, we heard it’s more crowded when they first open.
Bought 3 tickets and...
Kadeajah_M, Oct 2022
Bought 3 tickets and could not get to use them spent 38 min looking for the host only to be dismissed due to the crowd and not given enough information tried calling got no one email response was late
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello, Everyone at City Wonders would like to apologize for the unfortunate events that happened resulting in you missing your tour. We understand how frustrating this can be. We know how difficult it can be to find your way in a foreign city so to help our guests we always provide our contact numbers and we’re happy to offer further assistance when needed. We ask our customers to check in for their tours 15mins before the scheduled start time. However, if you feel we may have been at fault, please email us at with your full name, booking reference number and some general details as to what happened on this day as we may be able to accomodate you. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders