Paris Eiffel Tower Guided Climb Tour by Stairs

Badge of ExcellenceParis, France

From USD 41.61

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Most visitors ride the elevator at the Eiffel Tower, but travelers with a sense of adventure can save time by taking the stairs. Climb the 704 steps to the second viewing platform of the Eiffel Tower on this guided tour and be rewarded with spectacular views of the Louvre, the Arc de Triomphe, the Seine River, and the Champs-Élysées. Opt for a ticket to the summit and take the lift to the very top.
  • Challenge yourself to scale the 704 steps up the Eiffel Tower
  • Enjoy magnificent views of Paris, the Seine River, and the Champs-Élysées
  • See landmarks such as the Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, and Notre Dame Cathedral from above

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Get a workout in with this tour by climbing up the stairs of the Eiffel Tower.

What's Included

  • Professional, entertaining, local guide
  • Summit Access by Elevator Option (if purchased)
  • Eiffel Tower Entry to climb to the Second Level
  • Paris shuttle for convenient transportation:
  • Boat tickets for Seine river cruise (ONLY IF option chosen) Tickets will be distributed upon arrival
  • Gratuities
  • Skip the line entry

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Allée des Refuzniks
    All. des Refuzniks, 75007 Paris, France

    Meet the team outside the Eiffel Tower, without passing any security checks. They will be near the trees and benches outside the South Security Entrance (Entrance #1) on Allée des Refuzniks. The representatives will have orange hats and signs reading "ExperienceFirst" or "ExperienceFoundry".

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • This is not skip the line and COVID restrictions, construction, closures, and security measures at the Eiffel Tower could result in wait times with your guide of 1.5 hours or more to enter the tower
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Near public transportation
  • IDs showing proof of age required for child/infant ticket purchasers. Eiffel Tower have refused entry to those without IDs or required them to purchase full price tickets
  • Summit access is not included unless you book that option
  • Summit access may be subject to last minute closures according to safety measures at the Eiffel Tower. In the case of closure of the Summit, the portion of your tour price for the upgrade will be refunded.
  • Take our Paris shuttle for convenient transportation, included with your tour. Copy and paste this link in your web browser:
  • There are no storage lockers at the Eiffel Tower. If you bring a foldable stroller you will be responsible for carrying it up the stairs. Large luggage will not be allowed through security.
  • Seine river cruise tickets included ONLY IF option chosen at checkout. You MUST arrive on time for your tour in order to receive your boat tickets as they are distributed during check in. Tickets are valid for a year and can be used at any time following your Eiffel Tower tour.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Climbing the tower steps is quite easy and rewarding as you see the view gradually change as you climb.
It's a good amount of steps to walk up to the 2nd floor, but there are breaks in between so it's not a straight walk up the 672 steps.
2,699 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 2,699 reviews
bad customer services ... tres tres bad
John_O, Mar 2023
We signed up for a 2:30 tour. Before you sign up there is NO indication that they expect you to be there by 2 pm. We were a few blocks away in a cab at 2:15 and I called to say that we were on our way but obviously not there at 2 pm. The tour rep with whom I spoke advised that he would notify the tour guide, and assured me that they would wait until 2:35 in case we were a minute or two late. We arrived at 2:28 (and no discrepancy because it was apple watch time) and the tour had already left. I have called and emailed and they respond by labeling us "late arrivers" which we were not ... and have refused my request for a refund. Very bad customer service ... they should not call it a 2:30 tour if they leave before 2:30. The only bad experience on an otherwise great family vacation
Eiffel tower worth to see BUT not in this tour.
Judith_R, Mar 2023
The guider tour was by Rawda, she told us to go up to first floor and wait for her there. We never found her and looks for her for around 30 minutes. We went up to second floor and same story. No guide thought out the tour. Not a good experience.
It's an easy walk!
leah_b, Mar 2023
It was my first trip to Paris and if I didn't do this one thing I would have missed a great event! My husband and I loved every minute of it!
James is GREAT!
Jeff_T, Feb 2023
Our guide James was fantastic. definitely recommend if you want some exercise and great history on the Eiffel tower.
Ellen was wonderful
Steven_V, Jan 2023
Ellen was amazing. She was so knowledgeable, friendly, willing to answer questions, and very sweet. Bless her heart for walking all those stairs sometimes 4 times in a day.
Good value experience that was fun and informative
Duncan_L, Jan 2023
Well organised amongst the chaos of visiting the tower. This package didn't skip any lines but made the experience easy. We walked to level 1 and 2, and caught the lift to the top. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Our tour was at 9am.
Great experience.
Alexander_C, Jan 2023
Nice introduction and presentation regarding the story of the tower. She was really nice and well explained herself.
Good tour
Bethany_W, Jan 2023
The guide was very nice. She knew a lot about the Eiffel Tower. It would not have been worth extra cost if we had to wait longer. It was not very clear it was not a skip the line but thankfully we didn’t have to wait that long.
Jordan_P, Dec 2022
Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Great way to navigate the confusing Eiffel Tower. Great service.
The tour my family...
Sarah_C, Dec 2022
The tour my family attended was interesting and well organized. I am grateful to Bayo for a great experience and lots of fun information.
The guide, Sara was...
Trevor_M, Dec 2022
The guide, Sara was absolutely incredible. She was friendly, knowledgeable and fun to be around. Highly recommend
Do not use Viator for booking
Uma_W, Nov 2022
Do not book through Viator. You will lose your money if you miss your time slot. Our friends who did make it in time had the hardest time finding the location to pick up the tickets and the tour was not worth the price they paid. MUCH easier & way cheaper to wait in line and get tickets.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you weren't able to be a part of the experience with us. I see that we reached out to you at the point when you didn't arrive for your tour, and tried to reschedule you for another tour, but you weren't available to be rescheduled. I hope the next time you're in Paris, we'll be able to have you on one of our experiences. We thank you again for your review and wish you safe travels! Best regards, Russell
Great experience, even with the rain.
Christina_C, Nov 2022
It was a cold and rainy day but still worth it. Views were obstructed by clouds but it kind of added to the experience (so high up we’re in the clouds! Haha) What made it wonderful was Remy. He was informative, funny, engaging, and charming. I could not have asked for a better guide. He made sure we were together, amended the commentary due to weather and ensures that everyone was safe and had a good time. For physical reference my husband and I are in our 40s + our children 15 and 9. We had no problem with the climb (no breaks or struggle) but we were winded!
Eiffel visit - little disappointment
Celine_R, Nov 2022
Friendly guide and nice couple of facts about the reasons why Eiffel towers was built, put in perspective with few elements of context delivered at the bottom of the tower. Few names were given of monuments at the top. However we’ve been waiting for a proper and engaging narrative of the Eiffel story until arriving to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Once there we were left on our own to finish the visit at our pace and it was a pity the 10 mins we had at level 1 were not used by the guide to set a more substantial account of the Eiffel construction/ Gustave Eiffel’s story/ broader historical context. Few anecdotes could not really give us a good grasp nor taste of the unique adventure that represented the Eiffel Tower .
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thanks for the feedback. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the guide and the facts given. The overwhelming number of guests we see review us highly for the value our guides bring to the experience. I am not happy to hear this is not your experience. Due to restrictions provided by the Eiffel Tower, the guide is not allowed to present information on the first level. The guide has to go all the way to the top to point out the monuments. However, if you were lacking the broader historical context, I'll be happy to reach out to your guide to see if there are some points that could be improved upon to provide a better experience for everyone. As a thank you for your help I will offer you a free walking tour. Please email us at I hope we hear from you soon and wish you safe travels! Best regards, Russell
Walking the steps!
Jacqueline_C, Nov 2022
Enjoyed all the stories Remi told us. This made the waiting in line not so terrible. The amount of people in the group was just fine.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Remi is excellent, there is no doubt about it. Thank you for the 5 stars - we appreciate you sharing this. Hope we'll have a chance to host you again!
Eiffel tower
Jason_h, Nov 2022
The tower itself was obviously great, but the tour itself was poor. We still had to queue in the "without tickets" line which was far longer than the "with tickets" line. The tour guide spoke too quietly for people at the back, even though one person did ask at one point for her to speak up. It wasn't worth 2.5x the price of a non guided tour that the Eiffel tower itself charge on their website.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thanks for the feedback. The overwhelming number of guests we see review us highly for the value our guides bring to the experience during the occasional wait, which we speak of this possibility in our tour description. I am not happy to hear this is not your experience. We will speak with your guide to ensure they're providing a great experience to everyone. As a thank you, I will offer you a free walking tour. Please email us at I hope we hear from you soon and wish you safe travels! Best regards, Russell
Scammed by tripadvisor/viator and experiencefirst
Susanne_v, Nov 2022
The company agent didnt show up at the promised time and location. We never went on the Eiffel tower and paid 199,-for nothing. Half an hour later an email was sent with details of how to meet them. Saud they would be wearing orange hat on the designated spot and there was no one claiming to be them. We didnt see other so called group members either. The information was dodgy and too late and the chat function didnt work and no other way of reaching them at the time not surprisingly. We really feel scammed and do not get a refund, only a promise for a voucher with which probably will happen the same. Never book via viator or agent Experiencefirst again. Just directly with the sight. I worked in tourism fir many years, this should have never happened. Be adware and only book directly and well ahead. This -too good to be true- cancellation Policy is a trick to get bookings.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not able to find the meeting point. We try our best to make it easy to find out meeting locations, by providing a google maps location, photos of the meeting location, and the description of the team that you will see at the check-in. Thank you again for your review and I wish you safe travels! Best regards, Russell
Ask for BAYO!!
Hannah_A, Oct 2022
Initially scheduled for 930am but operator asked to move to 1030am or pick another date/time that works best for us. We were ok with the 1 hour setback since we didn't have to pay extra. Tour started on time & was easy to find our guide at the specified meeting location. We used the Google Maps option on the app and it brought us right to the meeting location. Our guide Bayo was wonderful the entire way. He was very knowledgeable with info regarding the Tower from construction to current news. He also helped 3 sets of couples who have lost their guide & thought they were taking the tour with him, I don't know of any other guide doing that. It was a few minutes setback on our excursion but anyone who has planned a trip to Paris understands the cost & time that it takes so everyone in our group was pretty understanding. Bayo got our tickets & climbed with us to the 1st level and 2nd level, each time stopping for a few minutes to take pictures, buy snacks/water, visit the gift shop and use restroom. We took the lift from 2nd to summit where Bayo left us to explore on our own. We were advised to stay as long as we would like, revisit the 1st and 2nd levels if we wished. The ticket was only 1 entry, no in-out privileges. There was a long line to go back down with the lifts so my husband and I took the stairs again on the way down. Got our steps in that day for sure!!
Very Disappointed with Viator/would not recommend
Debbie_D, Oct 2022
We didn’t get to view the Eiffel Tower, as we were not aware there were actually Two entries, we walk around for over 40 minutes, once we worked out there were two entries, Viator were not accepting any responsibility, so take it from us, when you are in front on the Eiffel Tower and the arrows are pointing for you to go left, please make sure you go right towards entry one.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We go to great lengths to help our guests who are confused when they arrive and I want to make sure you were properly taken care of if you tried to reach us. I would like to know more about your experience with our customer service team so I can possibly do something for you and also make sure the team is following all the protocol we have in place. I hope we will hear from you soon. Please contact us at Best regards, Russell
You’re essentially paying for the guide, which may not be worth it
Matthew_W, Oct 2022
You’re essentially paying $25 a ticket for a tour-guide that in our experience wasn’t worth it. It’s only 11 euros for the ticket to climb the stairs if you didn’t do the tour. This isn’t a skip the line entry (which is okay because it’s not advertised as that), so you’re standing in line just to purchase the same ticket you could purchase by yourself. Guide didn’t have much usual information and you couldn’t really hear her.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks for this feedback. We are never happy to hear that someone did not fully enjoy their experience with us and I appreciate that you pointed out we do not offer "skip the line" with this experience. Our goal is that the guide will make the occasional wait times worthwhile and I see this is not the case with you. Your feedback is extremely valuable as it helps us identify where we can make improvements. I would greatly appreciate it if you would share the name of your guide so we can be sure to speak to them. You can contact us at, and as a thank you, I would like to offer you a free walking tour. Thank you, and I wish you safe travels! Best regards, Russell