Paris

Skip-the-Line: Paris Catacombs Tour with VIP Access to Restricted Areas

Paris, France
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 141.12

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Free cancellation before 29 May.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover the darker side of the City of Lights with this skip-the-line tour of the famed catacombs of Paris. Explore these fascinating underground passageways lined with the bones of thousands of former Parisians and learn the history of the mesmerizing and macabre labyrinth. Bypass the long lines for this popular attraction and enjoy personalized attention in a small group limited to 19 people.
  • Small group guided walking tour inside the Paris catacombs
  • Personalized small group tour (maximum 19 people)
  • Skip the line to enter the catacombs and avoid two-hour queues
  • Expert English-speaking guide

What's Included

  • Skip-the-line access and visit to the Parisian catacombs
  • Small groups to ensure an intimate experience
  • Local English-speaking expert guide
  • Special access to restricted areas closed to general public
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Catacombs of Paris
    1 Av. du Colonel Henri Rol-Tanguy, 75014 Paris, France

    Meet at the entrance to the Catacombes de Paris. He/She will be holding a sign. To arrive at the Catacombs by Metro please take Line 4 or Line 6 to the Denfert-Rochereau metro stop and exit using “Sortie 1”; the entrance to the Catacombs can be found directly across the street from this exit.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

The Paris catacombs consist of an extensive underground network of tunnels originally dug as limestone quarries during the building of some of the city’s famous monuments. Beginning in the late 18th century, remains from Paris’ overcrowded cemeteries were exhumed and transported here for storage, with thousands of bones neatly arranged into piles along the walls.

Delve into this eerie underworld with an exclusive small-group tour. Lines to enter the catacombs often exceed 2 hours, but you’ll head to the front of the queue with your knowledgeable guide. A group maximum of 19 people provides a more personalized experience.

Wander through the dimly lit labyrinth that winds beneath the city’s famous streets. Marvel at the stacks of human skeletons that greet you at every turn while your guide illuminates the history of this soul-stirring ‘empire of death.’

The Paris Catacombs

Why wait in a long line to see less of the Catacombs? Your guide, an English-speaking local expert, will lead your group straight past the lines and down into the 200-mile labyrinth of bone-lined galleries and former quarry tunnels. An inscription at the entrance reads “Arrête! C’est ici l’empire de la mort”, or “Stop! Here lies the empire of death”. In this eerie empire, you’ll encounter the remains of such dignitaries as Rabelais and Robespierre, among more than 6 million other former Parisians. While individual ticket holders must remain on the public routes, your guide will lead you off the well-traveled path. As well as other significant remains, like the hidden Gilbert’s Tomb, here you’ll find monuments to those who made their living in the empire of death. In the Port Mahon Gallery, you’ll see sculptures that an 18th-century quarry worker spent five years chiseling secretly from the tunnel walls, before being crushed in a cave-in. You’ll see the Quarryman’s Footbath and the Sepulchral Lamp, whose constant flame reassured the living that there was enough air in the tunnels. As you wind your way around the Catacombs, you’ll hear all about the history of this parallel city – and the many legends surrounding it. Once you’ve seen what lies just 65 feet below the city, your view of Paris will be forever changed.

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible.
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate pushchairs or strollers on our tours.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Please note that Special Access areas may be closed on some days.
  • Not recommended for travelers with claustrophobia
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Wear comfortable shoes as it’s 2 hrs long and the stairs back up can be challenging - just take it slow.
It is chilly as you're underground, so consider your needs there, and wear good walking shoes.
This tour gets you to skip the line which is important since they really control the number of people in the catacombs and without it you would probably have to wait a long time in line.
Reviews
4.5
913 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 913 reviews
Expensive, not worth all the money
Catherine_M, Mar 2023
Great guide. Sweet , funny. Just thought it was super expensive for what you actually get. Disappointed in that aspect, thought it would be better.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello Catherine_M, Thank you for reviewing your Paris Catacombs Tour with us on Viator. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your tour and your tour guide, however at City Wonders we are not satisfied with producing 3-star experiences. Our apologies that you feel you should have received a bit more value than you did. Is there anything in specific we could have done to improve this for you? We really value your feedback as a valuable source of improvement for our unique experiences. It was our pleasure having you with us in Paris, and we wish you all the best going forward. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Addie, our guide, was...
Sandra_M, Mar 2023
Addie, our guide, was great. She knew much of the history. Very friendly.She took her time. Enjoyed it very much!
Great experience, all in all.
Coby_C, Mar 2023
The Paris Catacombs has been on my must-see list for quite some time, so I’m glad I finally visited. This tour has three important advantages: getting in ahead of everyone in a very long line (alone worth the price), access to private areas in the catacombs so you’re further separated from any crowd, and a knowledgeable tour guide that you can interact with. The guide in my case was Addie (sp?) and she was absolutely splendid. Some notes: 1. You will walk down 130 stairs on a winding staircase to descend into the Catacombs. 2. If you’re 5’8” (est.) or taller you will do some stooping to get through the corridors, but not that much (this isn’t a reason not to go). I’d suggest a ball cap in case you whack the top of the ceiling like I did (I’m 6’1”). I lucked out wearing it. 3. You’ll walk up 112 steps on a winding staircase to exit and that definitely requires effort. The upside is that I definitely got my exercise in that day. 4. Restrooms are available when you enter the complex at surface level and when you exit after climbing 112 steps. None in between, so think about that before you go inside. 5. The tour may start a little late because the operators of the Catacombs don’t always open at the posted time. 6. The entrance is right across the street from the Metro exit, which is nice. When you exit the tour, it’s about an eight-minute walk to get back to the Metro. My only complaint—and it is totally minor—is that the Viator description says you’ll be met by a guide with a sign. The guide did not have one which caused some guesswork as to who it was. I highly recommend this experience.
Viator is a scam and steals your money
Charles_C, Mar 2023
No one showed up. No contact before hand. Now they refused to refund for what they did not provide. This company is a scam and steals your money. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello Charles_C, We are sorry to read your feedback regarding your Paris Catacombs Tour with us. We completely understand your frustrations, and one of our customer service representatives should have already reached out to you regarding your refund request. We have provided you with a full refund for the inadequate quality of our services. While last-minute guide cancellations rarely occur at City Wonders, we do our best to find a certified replacement when it does happen. We apologize that we were unable to do this for your tour group. Please know that this service is not reflective of the high standard of quality we have set for ourselves at City Wonders. We take these comments very seriously, and we apologize for the inconvenience caused on your travels. If you have any remaining questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via phone or email at edgar.chavero@citywonders.com. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Shocked and dismayed
themartachause, Mar 2023
5 March, 2023 I need a refund. No tour guide. No explanation. We were allowed admission, we are grateful for that. However, admission to the catacombs is €30 to anyone off ofthe street. So that’s €60, approximately $66.00. I paid $279.50. That’s a difference of $213.50, which I would like refunded. Thank you, Marta Chausée +1 310-922-1800 Focusonaction@gmail.com
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello themartachause, We are extremely sorry to read your feedback regarding your Paris Catacombs Tour with us. We completely understand your frustrations, and one of our customer service representatives should have already reached out to you regarding your refund request. While last-minute guide cancellations rarely occur at City Wonders, we do our best to find a certified replacement when it does happen. We apologize that we were unable to do this for your tour group. Please know that this service is not reflective of the high standard of quality we have set for ourselves at City Wonders. We take these comments very seriously, and we apologize for the inconvenience caused on your travels. We will do all we can to make things right with you. If you have any questions or would like an update on your refund, feel free to reach out to us via phone or email at edgar.chavero@citywonders.com. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Great experience!
Jimmy_E, Mar 2023
Our tour guide was Addy and she was great! I would highly recommend this tour. There is so much to learn and you really do get to go into areas where the general public isn’t allowed.
Creepy but one-of-a kind experience
Huy_H, Feb 2023
Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, and great at storytelling. Having done this with a semi-private group and getting access to restricted areas was worth the price in my opinion-- dont think it would have had the same impact if we had just went in a big group or with an audio tour.
Not quite worth it
Louisa_J, Feb 2023
She barely spoke English. We couldn't hear her because she didn't have a mic and we ended up with 22 people instead of 12 because people joined the group and she didn't notice. The good part was seeing some of the cordoned off parts. But honestly. Laughable.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello Louisa_J, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review on Viator. We are extremely disappointed to read your feedback, and we understand that the inability to properly hear your guide contributed to a less than adequate experience at the Catacombs. As well, your guide should not have allowed extra people to join your group for whatever reason. Your comments have been communicated to our guide management team in Paris and the necessary action to resolve this matter will be taken immediately. Once again, we apologize for not being able to provide you with a perfect experience on your travels. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
A must do!
Emily_D, Feb 2023
Absolutely enjoyed this tour! It was easy to find the guide and he made it a very enjoyable experience for everyone. The restricted access really does take the tour to the next level and I would recommend that to anyone really wanting to see the catacombs. Thank you!
Do the self-tour
Kim_H, Feb 2023
The catacombs were fascinating, but the tour is NOT worth the money. The group was too large - 18 people with the guide at the front and being part of the back 6 we couldn’t hear much at all. The reason we were part of the back 6 is because 2 groups that showed up late, the guide moved them to the very front as if they had reserved seating. If I was the last to show up I would’ve respectfully said I will go to the end of the line. Entrance fees and audio tour is about €24. I would not do this tour again with a guid unless the group size was 8.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello Kim_H, We’re sorry to read your feedback and we’d like to apologize for your negative experience with one of our guides. We work closely with our guides in order to offer a meaningful customer experience and we’re disappointed to learn that wasn’t the case on your tour. As well, we will communicate your comments regarding group sizes to our product development team to ensure that we are doing everything we can to take your input into account. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Viator. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Catacombs
Erik_M, Feb 2023
Our tour was canceled due to a strike and I was issued a full refund within a day. Great company to qorkyqoth and easy to get a hold of. I book everything through Viator.
A must see!!
canterbury1994, Feb 2023
This was such a great experience! Siad was a great tour guide!!! Very informative! Would book with him again!
Very interesting
Jesper_L, Feb 2023
Saiid is a brilliant guide with huge knowledge on the topic, a great storyteller.. We were 13 visitors on the tour, in my view not what they claim is a small group.
Fantastic tour guide!
Elizabeth_C, Feb 2023
I absolutely loved our tour guide! He was the best! A great storyteller and very knowledgeable on the subject and history of Paris.
Perfectly creepy with a history lesson
Janel_Q, Feb 2023
Our guide, Justine, was super informative and really funny. Made the 2hrs down in the tombs go by quickly. Definitely recommend!
Fantastic Guide
adamsaulwagner, Jan 2023
Our guide, Sayeed, was just phenomenal. He brought the tour to life with his charisma and knowledge of all things related to the catacombs.
No Tour Guide
Stephanie_M, Jan 2023
We showed up and there wasn’t even a guide. We were given devises for an audio tour and that was it. No access to restricted areas. No other information. Definitely not worth the $100+ for one single ticket. This was our second time having a tour through City Wonders. The first time the guide was an hour late. Don’t use them!!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello Stephanie_M, We must extend our sincere apologies for your guide not being able to make your scheduled tour of the Catacombs. While these sort of guide cancellations rarely happen, unfortunately your guide fell ill last minute and we were unable to find a proper replacement for them. A partial refund has already been issued, and you should see this reflected in your bank within 7-10 business days. Once again, we apologize for the unexpected inconvenience that was caused on your travels. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Disappointing
Doreen_S, Jan 2023
Our guide was unavailable so we had to use the headphone option and we did not get to see the restricted areas.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello Doreen_S, We must extend our sincere apologies for your guide not being able to make your scheduled tour of the Catacombs. While these sort of guide cancellations rarely happen, unfortunately your guide fell ill last minute and we were unable to find a proper replacement for them. A partial refund has already been issued, and you should see this reflected in your bank within 7-10 business days. Once again, we apologize for the unexpected inconvenience that was caused on your travels. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Highly recommend
Anastasia_S, Jan 2023
I learned so many interesting things and got to tour the private sections. Vic was an amazing tour guide with lots of knowledge and passion for the Catacombs. Highly recommend!
Vicky was very friendly...
Keisha_P, Jan 2023
Vicky was very friendly and knowledgeable and just a breath of fresh air no worries as she was easy to find the catacomb’s were amazing to see and to know the story behide everything
...