Self Guided Haunted Walking Tour in Portsmouth (APP/GPS)

Portsmouth, United States
Self Guided Haunted Walking Tour in Portsmouth

From USD 6.49

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 40 minutes to 1 hour
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Uncover the sordid history of Portsmouth, New Hampshire as you embark on a self-guided walking tour through the city’s haunted locations. The GPS activates each audio description as you walk past it and informs you of the spooky history of each location. See important landmarks like the Old Red Light District and the African Burial Grounds and listen to spooky tales of ghosts, witches, and murderers.
  • Set your own pace to explore Portsmouth
  • Learn about the spooky history of the city
  • Avoid the hassle of a large group tour
  • Only one tour per group is needed

What's Included

  • Smartphone Guided Walking tour on the WalknTours app
  • Recap tour you can take after taking the in person tour

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Ceres Bakery
      51 Penhallow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801, USA

      The tour begins at the Ceres Bakery where you'll discover it's ghostly past and it's residents that seem to not want to leave. One the Sheaffe street Inn Tavern this old building offers plenty of ghostly tales.

    Start time

    Opening hours

    • 5/20/2021 - 10/15/2024

      Monday - Sunday : 12:00 am - 11:30 pm

    End point

    • Portsmouth Brewery
      56 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801, USA

      The last stop is the Portsmouth Brewery, the perfect place to end the tour for a drink and a bite to eat. And while you are there you might just see the ghost that haunts its halls.

    What To Expect

    111 State Street (Pass By)

    177 State Street (Pass By)

    222 Court St (Pass By)

    African Burying Ground Memorial

    3 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    401 State Street (Pass By)

    John Paul Jones House, part of the Portsmouth Historical Society (Pass By)

    The Music Hall (Pass By)

    56 Market St (Pass By)

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Operated by WalknTours

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Traveller Photos

    See more


    36 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
    Would not do it again
    Ann_C, Sept 2023
    Not very enjoyable. We did it during the day which may have been a part of why it wasnt very enjoyable but it was just walking by buildings and hearing stories. Not really sure they were even true. The kids were bored. Very difficult to find parking.
    Ghost Walk
    Angela_G, Aug 2023
    It was nice to walk around at your leisure listening to the podcast. He was very knowledgeable and very interesting stories.
    Going nowhere
    JoAnn_W, Aug 2023
    We were unable to access the correct tour. Whenever the app loaded a tour it was for a different city. After three tries and the app loaded St Augustine, Florida when we wanted Portsmouth, New Hampshire , we gave up. We worked with the program for over an hour while we were standing on the street. Obviously, I’m very disappointed and would not recommend this tour group to anyone. It would be considerate of you to give me a refund.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    HI! Are you sure you had the WalknTours app? I tested today and the cities are all there :). You do need to select your city (portsmouth) or your tour, which you'll see on the top in the "Near Me" section. I'm sorry you did not see it, please contact me at info@walkntours.com.
    We liked seeing the town ...
    Sally_F, Aug 2023
    We liked seeing the town - not much else to say. Too complicated to sign in - not the same as having a real guide.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hi! All you need is to get the WalknTours app :). I did see you did not get the app or take the tour. It takes one minute to complete and the tour never expires. But great note, this is for those looking to explore at their own pace, anytime, and for only $6.99, this is a great option. If you like big group tours lasting hours at 11am that cost $40, and don’t like apps, this tour may not be best for you. Thank you for your feedback! I’ll be sure to make these details clearer. You can contact me anytime at info@walknTours.com and I’m happy to help anyway I can.
    Cought 3 ghosts on a pictures.
    Cassia_F, July 2023
    I caught some ghosts on pictures they took. I am amazed. Lots of fun lots of information and interesting..
    This is was a great way...
    Juliet_M, June 2023
    This is was a great way to learn some history about Portsmouth in a slightly creepy and fun way. I enjoyed the virtual tour guide and how he directed me to the next sight. My only gripe was how difficult it was to start the tour. I entered the bakery at the beginning of the tour thinking they were help, but the owner told me many people have entered his business looking for assistance. I ended up calling the number listed on my virtual ticket and was happy to reach a person. The guy texted me the code to start the tour (which was not on the ticket) and everything worked fine after that. Make sure your phone is charged since you will he walking for 45 minutes or more depending on if you pause the tour to enter different sights/businesses on the tour.
    Nice, spooky walk
    Crystal_T, Mar 2023
    We stopped in a couple bars and got lots of more info from the residents! It was a very fun and exciting experience!
    Lakeisha_W, Nov 2022
    Horrible experience! The maps and directions were all over the place. Not even worth the $7. It would be better if they just had a map with information and you just walk around
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Hi Lakeisha, I don't have you registered as taking our tour or using our app :( . I am sorry to hear your issue, and I'm guessing you had the Viator app and tried it there? We are WalknTours, and our tour is on the WalknTours app. You'll need to get our app to take our tour :) If you have questions please email me at info@walkntours.com with details please and I'll help :)
    Underground railroad was...
    Dawn_B, Oct 2022
    Underground railroad was interesting to learn that the graves were found under the road. Loved the tribute memorial
    Ghostly fun at any time of day or night.
    Pamela_W, July 2022
    This was a fun tour. Wish I had been able to take it at night but it was fun during the day too. Lots of history and ghostly tidbits. It’s great that you can walk at your own pace and it recognizes when you’ve gotten to the next stop. It’d be great if it beeped or something if you took a wrong turn tho as I did that! 🤦‍♀️
    Response from Host, July 2022
    Thank you for the great review and thank you for using the WalknTours app! Look for our tours all around the USA :) That is a great suggestion for the beep, I'll look into it, thank you!
    Nice tour. Easy to...
    Lu_W, July 2022
    Nice tour. Easy to follow. Could pause whenever necessary and pick back up where left off. Good way to familiarize oneself with area.
    Response from Host, July 2022
    Thank you for the great review and using the WalknTours app!
    I could not get the...
    marciagreen1722, May 2022
    I could not get the Internet there and therefore the app did not work even when I downloaded the tour beforehand as suggested.
    Response from Host, May 2022
    Hi! That stinks the internet did not work there. If you download the tour before hand, then go back to the tour and click 'start tour' it plays, I just tested it this morning. The tour never expires, you can take it anytime. So if you are still in portsmouth, feel free to take it again! Also, please email me at info@walkntours.com, I'd love to help out with any issues you face. Have a great day!
    Learning the fun facts of...
    Martha_M, Apr 2022
    Learning the fun facts of Portsmouth NH. It was a cute little activity to do with my boyfriend. Although we didn’t see any ghost have any drinks slapped out of our hands it was all in all a fun activity.
    Response from Host, Apr 2022
    Glad you enjoyed the tour Martha! Sounds like you had fun, went at your own pace, explored the great sites in Portsmouth and stopped at the Haunted Portsmouth Brewery at the end of the tour! This review sounds more like a 5 star, at least a 4 star fun activity :). Ghosts are not guaranteed, but great ghost stories, historical sites, and a fun adventure it is.
    No funciona
    Elena_Q, Aug 2023
    Las casas cerradas, una aplicación que no ayuda a extranjeros Creo que no hay nada como el turismo face to face
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hi, as we talked on text, this tour is not in Spanish. I know you said you want it in Spanish. This tour is professionally narrated by a spooky voice with music and sound. It's guided step by step by your smart phone so you can go anytime (1pm or 1am, anytime!). And it's the best deal in town :). You did call, and text, and asked to put in in Spanish, for the moment being it's only in English, it's very expensive to translate this into every language with narration, and this is a tiny start up. I hope one day we have enough demand to have it in many languages :). Have a great day!

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 2
    No Photo
    Self Guided Haunted Walking Tour in Portsmouth (APP/GPS)


    1 hour
    Free Cancellation
    USD 6.49

    Explore Similar Things to Do