Downtown Providence Self-Driving Audio Tour

Providence, United States
Special Offer

From USD 13.49

USD 14.99 Save USD 1.50

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 to 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • App on your phone: A link to download the Tour Guide App by Action and Password for your tours.
    • Flexible schedule: Use any day, any time. Travel over multiple days or on next trip. Never expires.
    • Good value: Buy just one per car. Don’t pay for each person. Save money compared to a bus tour.
    • Easy to use: Stories play automatically by GPS. Hands-free. Get HELP all day: Call, Chat, or Email.
    • Private tour in your/rental car: No group. Take breaks for photos/ snacks/hikes. Go at your own pace
    • Offline use: No cell signal or wifi required. Offline GPS Map & route. Stop-to-stop direction.
    • Don’t miss a thing: Full itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated, videos, text, hidden gems.
    • Transportation, parking fee, food/drinks
    • National Park/attraction Passes, entry tickets, or reservation

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Convention Center, Providence, RI
      Providence, RI 02903, USA

      After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection. Note: This 11+mile-long tour covers the essentials of Providence in 1-2 hours.

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    • 7/20/2021 - 4/16/2024

      Monday - Sunday : 06:00 am - 11:30 pm

    End point

    • 1 Exchange Terrace
      1 Exchange Terrace, Providence, RI 02903, USA

    What To Expect

    Rhode Island Convention Center

    5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Garibaldi Square

    5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • How it works: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a text/email with instructions. Download the app (while in good wifi/signal) and use your unique password to access your tours. To begin touring, go to the Starting Point and launch the app. The audio starts automatically. Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience. Please note that no one will meet you at the starting point.
    • Good value: Purchase only one tour for the entire vehicle instead of taking the bus and paying for each person. You will see a significant saving. Connect your phone to car speakers by a wire or bluetooth. Enjoy the tour by listening together as you drive.
    • Flexible Schedule: Once the app/tour is on your phone, you can use it any day and at any time. You can use it over multiple days. And, also use it on your next trip here. This tour never expires.
    • Preview the tour: You can use it before the trip at home (highly recommended), use it during the trip, and use it after you come back.
    • Don't miss a thing: You will get everything with the app - a complete itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated audio stories, story script, images, videos, deep dives, hidden gems, exciting locations, recommendations for hikes, adventure, activities, treks, and stop-by-stop direction.
    • Private tour: You can use it in your car or rental car. No worries about groups or crowds. Start the tour app on your phone. And it will direct you step by step. You can stop for as many breaks as you like. Take a break for Instagram photos, and take a break for lunch/snacks. Go on a hike. The tour will wait for you and start when you start again. You can even do the tour over multiple days. Go at your own pace.
    • Easy to use: The stories play themselves as soon as the GPS is activated. It requires no use of your hands at all. You can get HELP by calling, chatting, or emailing any time of the day.
    • Offline: There is no need for a cell signal or Wi-Fi while touring. App’s GPS map works offline.
    • Expiration/go again: The tour will last for the rest of your life on your phone. It is available for use on any day of your next trip.
    • Use pictures for a photo book: Create a photo book using clean (no crowd) app images of each spot to make a memorable trip. All the photos and the correct sequence is ready in the app for you to use.
    • Social media: Share clean (no crowd) images with friends/family.
    • Devices supported include iPhones with iOS 13 & above, Android phones with version 9 & above and all cellular-enabled tablets & iPads.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    14 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-5 of 14 reviews
    Solo traveler
    Camille, June 2022
    My time wasn't great bco some of the streets were blocked off and having to reroute to get back on track deterred me from finishing the tour. I think that this tour would be best on a motorcycle or scooter bco of convenience.
    Response from Host, July 2022
    Thank you, Camille, for your feedback and for suggesting some tour vehicles. I'd like to know more about what kept you from finishing the tour. Please contact us with your booking receipt to receive a refund.
    Dangerous Waste of Tme and Money
    Garrett_V, June 2022
    I'm moderately technologically savvy and I couldn't get the thing to work as described. Furthermore, it was difficult to use while navigating busy city streets. I have the distinct impression the app developer never actually used it.
    Response from Host, July 2022
    Sorry for the inconvenience Garret, it appears that the route was difficult to traverse due to a GPS issue. We would be more than happy to issue a refund if you contact us using the information in my app.
    Disappointing app
    John_G, Apr 2022
    It is a good concept, but issues with the app (no “go to” icon) and delayed GPS tracking left us without any real memorable moments, although we were able to find most of the stops.
    Response from Host, Apr 2022
    Thank you for your comments! Getting about Providence may be difficult, and our new audio instructions should assist. Due to work along the route, we had to temporarily rearrange the tour and instructions, but most of it is now back to normal.
    Interesting but hard to follow at times
    Schalane_N, Sept 2021
    Trip was informative and interesting. Several times I was told to turn right after I had already passed the street. There happened to be a funeral on Knight St for a police officer so we were not able to make required turn. Also difficult to travel at 20 mph with traffic. These issues weren’t things that were controllable by the company.
    Response from Host, Oct 2021
    So glad you enjoyed the tour! It can be difficult to drive in Providence due to the traffic and construction, but many of those edits have been updated in the tour now. Thanks again!
    A lot of stops along the way
    Brandon_C, Aug 2021
    This tour was a little more difficult to navigate than the other one that we purchased. There were no audible driving directions after each stop which made navigation a little difficult. Also there were so many stops, it almost felt too much. The quality of the narration was very good and the app easy to use. All in all, it wasn’t bad considering the cost.
    Response from Host, Aug 2021
    Thank you for your review! Providence is a bit different than our usual tours. Since there’s so much to see, we prefer to let the listener pick and choose what stops they’re most interested in, rather than following one specific route. We’re glad you appreciated the quality of the narration, and we hope you’ll continue using our tours in the future!