Haunted Boat Tours

Providence, United States

From USD 40.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy a memorable way to explore Providence—and learn all of the city’s spookiest ghost stories and creepiest lore—on this after-dark boat tour. Make your own way to the dock, hop aboard your vessel, and set sail with Captain Peter. Your costumed guide, accompanied by flickering lanterns, will share stories and secrets as you cruise along the water and admire views of the city illuminated after dark.
  • This nighttime boat tour offers a new way to explore Providence
  • Travel the city’s waterways, and spot many key historical landmarks
  • BYOB options are available on board
  • This spooky tour is perfect for ghost-story fans and history buffs

What's Included

  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Local guide
  • Gratuities (optional). Our Captains and Crew appreciate your cash gratuities!
  • Alcoholic/soft drinks are available for purchase next door, or you may BYOB.
  • Price does not include parking fees. There is free & metered parking throughout our neighborhood.

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 101 Dyer St
    101 Dyer St, Providence, RI 02903, USA

    We are located at 101 Dyer Street, Providence, RI 02903, a leisurely 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the Rhode Island Convention Center, Kennedy Plaza and most downtown hotels. Come on inside to check-in and explore The Landing, our new Rhode Island-themed art, gift and souvenir store!

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Providence River (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 17 travellers
Operated by Providence River Boat Co.

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more


21 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-8 of 21 reviews
Interesting but overpriced
Deborah_L, Oct 2022
The guide was very good, the captain friendly and overall it was a pleasant and interesting experience. Initially, I thought the price a bit steep but the description said that you get a glass of wine or champagne as part of the trip, so I thought that would explain the extra cost. However, we never received the drink which brings me back to feeling it is overpriced.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hi Deborah! Thanks so much for the review, and for joining us for a Haunted Boat Tour. A couple of things to clarify: Our Haunted tours are priced at $27-$30 (children/adults), which we feel is very reasonable, considering our costs to run our tours. I don't know what you paid for the tour through Viator, a third party website, but you definitely paid more than going directly through our website. (I'm guessing you were the party of (4) this past Sunday at 8pm, which was indeed booked through Viator/TripAdvisor.) Although Viator is a helpful tool to many, my suggestion to everyone is to try to book on a tour operators direct website to avoid extra service charges. In reference to the wine: we do not advertise or offer complimentary wine or prosecco on these particular tours, that is something that we do on our Twilight River Cruises only. Perhaps you were reading about our different tours and got confused, as our Haunted rides have never included beverages in the 5 years that we've been running them. Hope this cleared things up a bit and thanks again, we do appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed the tour with the Providence Ghost Tour guides!
Very fun experience!! We...
Devon_T, Oct 2022
Very fun experience!! We hit traffic and ran late and they were very accommodating! Definitely recommend
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks for joining us for a Ghost Tour this past weekend Devon! We truly appreciate the great review and we're glad that you made it (just) in time! Have a great fall season and we hope to see you aboard again soon!
They were so kind! Kept...
Caren_H, July 2022
They were so kind! Kept in touch as we were running late and made sure to wait for us! The tour was fun and very entertaining.
Enthralling Stories and Fantastic Views
Stacey_B, Oct 2021
Really enjoyed the whole experience. The informative stores were shared with such enthusiasm and knowledge. It was very enjoyable and we will definatly do this again. We also would like to do the fire boat tour and are going to also do one of the walking ghost tours.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thanks so much Stacey_B! We so appreciate the awesome review and (if I'm not mistaken) for sticking it out in a drizzle with us! Hope to see you aboard again.
Fantastic stories and Sites!
joaquin_l, Sept 2021
I had so much fun. Courtney was very mesmerizing weaving stories both creepy and historical. Captain Pete was a great storyteller as well and they seamlesly passed stories and information back and forth. Just going back and forth on the river was fun but being guided by spooky stories was just so kickass. I also thought I knew about my Poe and Lovecraft and was blown away learning about their deep connection. to Providence. The two of them are also very professional and kind . I've got great pictures but tripadvisor is saying they are too big. Let me know how to send these pics to yoj.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
What an awesome review, thank you SO much! Please email us those pictures, we'd love to post them so that other guests can see what this tour is all about. Our email is info at providenceriverboat dot com. Thanks again, we so appreciate your business!
Fun Evening
Ann_M, Aug 2021
Just being able to see the city from the water was itself a really great experience. The guide telling the stories was also really interesting and knowledgeable. We had a great time.
Response from Host, Sept 2021
Thanks Ann! I am so glad that you enjoyed the Haunted Boat Tours with our guest guides from the Providence Ghost Tours! I believe you got rained out once or twice, so I'm happy that we finally got you aboard. Much appreciated!
Karen_W, July 2021
Courtney was awesome! Your was fun and very informative. Captain Tom was also very knowledgeable and very nice. I would definitely recommend this tour!
Response from Host, July 2021
Thanks for the awesome review of our Haunted Boat Tours, Karen! We usually just get reviews of our narrated tours, so this is a welcome addition today. We love collaborating with the "ghosties" over at Providence Ghost Tours, they're just so cool to work with, so we really appreciate this feedback! Thanks again, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your tour!
Jennifer_C, Oct 2020
They didn’t have us booked.. Had ice 28 almost didn’t let us on boat had to wait a hour I would like a refund..
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Hi Jennifer, Wow, sometimes we're a bit perplexed by a review, and yours certainly fits into this category. When your friend called us this past Sunday night, October 18 at 7:53pm, asking where check-in was for the 8:15pm tour, I immediately jumped into action mode as we didn't have an 8:15pm tour that night. And even though your friend was verbally disrespectful, cutting me off, not listening to a word that I was saying, even hanging up on me at one point, I was determined to find a solution to the problem, which I did. Luckily, your friends mother took the phone from her, apologized for her behavior, and had a rational conversation with me. Within minutes, I was able to contact our Captain, who was out on the 7:45pm tour at the time, and confirm that we could accommodate your group, even though YOU had showed up on the WRONG DATE. And, no, you didn't have to wait an hour, it was actually 45 minutes from the time of your friends initial call until you were boarding. Please see the email thread that I cut and pasted from Viator's website that details the correspondence that you and I had regarding your reservation in early September. (I also emailed you later this past Sunday night to explain this, but I never heard back from you.) I'm sorry that you came on the WRONG NIGHT, but this was 100% not our fault AND we still accommodated your party, so I really don't understand why you had to write a lousy review, demanding a refund?? I do hope you enjoyed your night out with the ladies and thank you for your business, we do appreciate it, especially these days of COVID. But please, get the facts straight. EMAIL THREAD FROM VIATOR: Kristin: Hi Jennifer, the only dates that I have left for 4 passengers would be Oct 25 at 7:45 or Oct 28 at 6:30pm. Do either of these work? Kristin Stone Sep 4, 2020, 08:25 PM J: 745 is good. Jennifer Cole Sep 5, 2020, 04:13 AM Kristin: Please call me at 401-580-BOAT. Someone purchased the last four tickets for 7:45pm after I emailed you last night. Please call to discuss all of our open dates. Thank you! Kristin Stone Sep 5, 2020, 09:24 AM J: Hi what is open?? Jennifer Cole Sep 5, 2020, 10:10 AM J: I could take the Oct 14 at 7 pm. Jennifer Cole Sep 5, 2020, 10:12 AM J: I can to Oct 28 at 630 Jennifer Cole Sep 5, 2020, 02:56 PM Kristin: OK, I will book you for October 28 at 6:30pm, per your email. The Viator booking will still show your original request date/time, so please ignore that information. Please arrive for check-in on October 28 by 6:15pm. Thank you! Kristin Kristin Stone Sep 5, 2020, 09:27 PM

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Haunted Boat Tours


1 hour
Free Cancellation
USD 40.00
No Photo
Narrated Boat Tours


50 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 35.00
No Photo
WaterFire Boat Rides


30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 51.00
No Photo
Welcome to Providence Walking Tour


1 hour 45 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 33.00