Puerto Plata

2 Person Buggy Tour

Puerto Plata, Caribbean

From USD 129.00

per group (up to 2)

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


This buggy tour is the perfect way to explore the scenery of the Dominican Republic at a much faster pace than a walking tour. Start the day with a hotel pickup, and enjoy the perk of having equipment rental included for extra convenience. Once in the dune buggy, follow your guide through sugar cane fields, along beautiful beaches, and past stunning mountain views.
  • See the beauty of Puerto Plata at a fast pace on this buggy tour
  • No need to organize transport—enjoy round-trip transfers
  • A guided tour eliminates the need to study a map
  • Pass by amazing scenery, such as beaches, mountains, and sugar cane fields

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Buggy tour
  • Bottled water
  • Guide

    Meeting And Pickup

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    What To Expect


    20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


    10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 2 travellers
    Operated by Eric Tours International

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    12 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-7 of 12 reviews
    Nice views of countryside
    Sarah_W, Aug 2022
    Tour started off fine. Got into the buggy with my friend she drove first then I drove. Nice views of the countryside and back roads. This was my fourth time visiting the DR and first time for my friend. Our buggy kept shutting down on our way back , towards the end we had to get a new buggy in order to go back . Buggies are old and not properly maintained saw other drivers needed jump start many times. I would recommend doing a private tour or going with a different company.
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    Thank you for taking the time out to leave a review. We have a had a lot of rain this summer and have been rough on the equipment. We are waiting for our new buggies to arrive this fall.
    Buggy Experience
    Lisa_H, July 2022
    Pick-up driver was prompt. After arriving to the site, we were offered googles to rent for $5 and bandanas for $5. They are necessary for the dust and mud, if you didn’t bring them. After getting into our buggy, we drove maybe 20 minutes before stopping at the beach. There was a restaurant hut selling food and drinks, along with locals selling handmade items. I’m not one to be rude but not taking no for an answer became irritating. There were local military police presence with assault rifles, which was a little intimidating. We were only supposed to be there for 25 minutes but were there closer to an hour, if not more because others in our group were eating and drinking. Once we left it was maybe another 20 minutes or so of riding. Our expectations were, we’d have a lot more riding time, which was a disappointment. After arriving back at the site we were offered pictures and video on a thumb-drive. I’d read online in other reviews people were charged $30. Price offered to us was more. Others in the group were offered different pricing. Didn’t make sense. We tried to negotiate and the entire group, ended up not purchasing anything. The staff was nice, the ride was fun, but could have been organized better, in my opinion. Upfront pricing for everything is much more accepting than dealing with the bait and switch that was happening.
    Response from Host, July 2022
    Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your inputs so that we can make the excursion even better.
    We had so much fun ! FYI...
    Dominique_G, June 2022
    We had so much fun ! FYI bring extra dry clothes . The guys was great even down to the camera men. The beach was also nice
    Response from Host, June 2022
    Thank you so much for the review! Good to hear that you fun and enjoyed it.
    Fun and dirty
    Carl_J, Mar 2022
    I really enjoy the excursion. I really enjoyed how we were able to interact with the locals and try the food and drinks. I definitely learned alot
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    Thank you so much for your feedback! It is a great way to interact with the locals and fun.
    Had a good time on this tour
    Aftha_P, Dec 2021
    I did this tour with my husband and overall it was a good activity that didn't take a whole day away from my vacation time. Hotel pick up and drop off went smoothly. The staff is nice and the tour started on time. The drive is fun. The buggies are well kept. We felt safe throughout the whole experience. Bring cash to tip and buy the pictures. You can also ride with your phone and take a few snaps yourself. I am comfortable recommending this tour to anyone.
    Response from Host, Jan 2022
    Thank you for taking the time out to leave a review. Good to hear that you felt safe throughout the experience and had a good time.
    Bad Experience
    Jacqueline_D, Sept 2021
    It was too dangerous way too much mud which obstructed your vision my people got into an accident because they Couldn't see just a bad experience overall
    Response from Host, Sept 2021
    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry that you had a bad experience. As it is mentioned online this excursion goes out in all weather conditions; however, I will talk to our partner that safety needs to go first.
    Nass-dreckiges Vergnügen!
    Petra_G, Sept 2021
    Viel Spass und auf dem Weg eine Menge zu sehen von Land und Leuten. Lohnenswert. Der technische Zustand des Buggys war gut inkl. der Vollbetreuung durch die netten und hilfsbereiten Guides. Nichts für Wasserscheue!
    Response from Host, Sept 2021
    Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir freuen uns über Ihr Feedback zu Ihren Erfahrungen mit uns.