Puerto Plata

Puerto Plata City Tours with Rigo / Leonel / Marlény and Agustin

Badge of ExcellencePuerto Plata, Caribbean
Puerto Plata City Tours

From USD 55.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Skip the hassle of looking up public transport schedules and instead see the best of Puerto Plata in just a few hours, with a private driver taking you to a curated list of interesting sights. Learn how local products are made with visits to a rum factory, cigar factory, and amber museum. The excursion also reaches the San Felipe Fortress, which offers exceptional views, and the Central Park.
  • Ideal for travelers short on time: enjoy a wide variety of Puerto Plata sights
  • Avoid crowded public transportation and enjoy a private ride
  • See some of the most transparent amber specimens in the world
  • Learn more about the rum making process at a rum factory

What's Included

  • WiFi on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • rum factory
  • Chocolate factory
  • cigar factory
  • San Felipe Fortress
  • amber gallery museum
  • umbrella street
  • Paseo de doña blanca / Rosada street
  • Cableway

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 11/12/2019 - 9/24/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 09:00 am - 01:00 pm

Pickup details

It includes Pickup in Puerto Plata, Amber Cove and Taino Bay, does not include Pickup from Sosua and Cabarete, you would have to pay an extra cost for pick-up in Sosua and Cabarete. You can bring cash because if you only bring a credit card at the Surbenir store, you they charge the government itebis / We pick you up at hotels Amber cove tourist port & taino bay puerto plata Dominican Republic Pick-up will be inside the amber cove port at the taxi station inside the port you will see a person in a green shirt ask for Rigo / Leonel / marleny o Agustín the Pick-up is at 9am but if your ship arrives later than 9am please contact us to confirm the pick-up time and in Taino Bay we will pick you up inside the port when you leave the ship bengan always to the left pass all the gift shop Chop after the gift Chop you will see a person with a green shirt ask for the person who will be sent to you by private imail or by popdominicantravel tours for more information contact our phone number 1 809 878 9163 Rigo or Leonel 1 829 401 7420. We pick up all our clients within the Amber Cove and Taino Bay Puerto Plata Cruise Ports, you do not have to walk outside the Ports

What To Expect

Macorix House of Rum (Pass By)

Puerto Plata Province

4 hours Admission Ticket Free

Puerto Plata Cigar Club (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • It is wheelchair accessible but we do not have a ramp for the wheelchair you use. Battery only the wheelchair that are closed because we do not have a ramp to go up there is a traveler on the ramp
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more


249 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 249 reviews
Excellent service
Donna_H, Sept 2023
Rigo was amazing! I was pleased with his service. He was on time for pick up and Rigo took his to time to show us around the city, allowed us to take pictures, stop at local shops. I would definitely recommend him to others.
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Thank you somuch for trusting me and my team and prefer ours services with hope in god see you soon again blessings Best regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours and excursions company
Hands down, THE BEST!
Jenny_W, Sept 2023
Once we booked, Rigo confirmed where he would meet us. He was so amazing! The trip he planned for us was EXCELLENT! I highly recommend booking!
Response from Host, Sept 2023
Thanks for somuch for sharing you good experiences with us was a big pleasure for us I hope In god see you soon again blessings best regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours
Good value
luvusports1, Aug 2023
Driver Rigo was great...van was new...price ŵas right. He took us to just the places we wanted, with bathroom breaks when needed. Took pictures for us to make great memories.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing you good experiences with us best regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours and excursions
Great half day tour of Puerto Plata
jimhessler, June 2023
Jose was our guide and did a great job showing us the highlights of this wonderful city. His love of and knowledge of Puerto Plata really showed. We were a bit hesitant about the cigar factory tour - our expectations were pretty low, but my wife got to roll a cigar herself and it turned out to be a real highlight. The rum factory, pink street, umbrella street, independence park and the fort were all great things to experience. Jose made sure we were comfortable and got the most out of our day. I highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing you beatifull experience with us was a placer for us I hope in god see you soon again blessings 𝐁𝐞𝐬𝐭 regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours
A great experience!
Stephanie_L, June 2023
Agustín did a wonderful job on our tour. He stayed within the vicinity of us the whole time so that we never felt uncomfortable touring a city as 2 women, he was friendly and knowledgeable and we got to see many highlights of Puerto Plata.
Response from Host, June 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing you beautiful experience with us I hope in god see you soon again blessings best regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours and excursions
Fun tour
Vinnie_A, May 2023
Tour was great. Guide was very friendly and informative. Got to take many great pictures. Just be wary of shops attempting to charge you 4x the price they would charge locals
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you somuch was a big pleasure for us I hope in god see you soon again regards from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours company
Fun Casual Way to See the City!
Jessica_U, May 2023
Our Private Tour was a great way to see the city thru the eyes of a local. Our guide was extremely personable and very knowledgeable! - we (two couples) enjoyed rum tasting, the chocolate factory and the walking tour around the city. I highly recommend booking this tour
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing your beautiful experiences with us I hope In god see you soon again blessings a hug from Rigo and Leonel popdominicantravel tours and excursions company
This is a walking tour !
Elizabeth_G, Apr 2023
Overall it was a decent tour and our tour guide, Marleny, was great. However, there were two major issues we encountered. Directions where to meet our tour guide were lacking. The directions read verbatim as follows " When you come outside of the ship pass the duty free and the shopping after the shopping you are going to see the bus station inside the port on the left side of bus station you going to see men with green shirt asking for marleny she will be there weithin for you the pick up will be 9:15am inside the port amber cove remenber asking for marleny". Problem - there were many men in green shirts. When asked for Marleny, they claimed not to know who she was or didn't understand the directions I was given. One who pretended to know, directed out of the port terminal and on what felt like a 3 mile hike. Once we reached a point were someone was able to help us, he called the tour company and Marleny came to pick us up. Issue # 2 - it is advertised as "Travel between dispersed sites in a private air-conditioned vehicle". Once we reached the Puerto Plata Province, it was a walking tour extending over 2 and one-half hours of walking.
Response from Host, May 2023
Sorry for the inconvenient but marleny was inside the port weithin for you I text you 10 day before you come to amber cove and you never respond us to hen you was outside of the port marleny was inside the port so sorry about the inconvenient
Highly recommend this tour
Joe_S, Apr 2023
Knowledgeable driver. Shared a lot of info about the city etc. pick up was easy right outside of the cruise port. Nice clean AC van. Rigo help to take great photos.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing your good time with us I hope in had see you soon again
Fabulous tour and guide!
Sandra_C, Apr 2023
Rigo was amazing! He took so much extra time with us, sharing wonderful information about his home- taking us to more than just touristy places. Would highly recommend him!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you somuch for sharing your experience with us was a big pleasure for me and team meet you and your family I hope in god see you soon again blessings
Best Tour
Daniel_C, Mar 2023
Rigo was best.....It was the best tour during our entire cruise. He gave us personalized attention every step of the way. Excellent all-around tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thank you somuch was a big pleasure for me I hope in god see you soon again
First time in Puerto Plata
Joseph_T, Feb 2023
The 2 Brothers were great hosts! The weather didn't fully cooperate but they did all they could to make our excursion nice!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you for sharing you amazing experience with us god bless you and you family regarding from Rigo and. Leonel popdominicantravel tours and excursions company
A Taste of Great Discovery
prosey, Feb 2023
Standing above the city and view in the bay and the open ocean, it was easy to see why Christopher Columbus thought he had found paradise
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank You I hope in god see you soon in the paradise again regarding from Rigo / Leonel and marleny popdominicantravel tours and excursions company
Excellent Experience with Fantastic Tour Guide
singerwannabe1, Feb 2023
Our guide, Vasilio, couldn’t have been more accommodating. My husband uses a mobility scooter and Vasilio was willing to lift it and take it out whenever we wanted to leave the car. We chose a personal tour and paid $80 more than the advertised price. It was well worth it. We saw all the sites we had hoped to. Vasilio even helped me to get a good deal on some souvenirs I purchased. I highly recommend this company as an alternative to sightseeing tours offered by the cruise line.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you for sharing you beautiful experiences with us was a big pleasure for us services to you and you husband I hope in god see you soon again say hello to Tim please
Bad experience
eszinbarg, Dec 2022
He took us to a rum tasting factory at 10am in the morning. then to a jewelry store where they try to pressure you into buying jewelry. Then we had a little walking tour of the city. I asked him to take us to a local restaurant which he did and of course we paid for him. I wanted to go to the top of the mountain and the cable car was broke so he said he would take us by car saying he would have to put new brakes on his car and charged us (4 people) $300. When we got to the top, he took pictures of us and scenes from the mountain saying he would send them to us but didn't. I hope I don't see myself in any promotion because I would sue. I did not give permission.Then he didn't take a credit card so we had to go back and forth to the boat to get cash. Also, he didn't wear a mask and was coughing . I would not recommend a family use him as a tour guide.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Si sorry for the inconvenient but asking to you where I I bring you and you said was okay and the jewelry you said thii it the amber museum is part of the Tours if you don’t whan to go inside you just said not because I asking to you before if you whan to go and about the money with done with the tours when you talk me go to the port to Pick up my grandson’s and go in the truck to the cable car I tell you how much will be the price because not everybody like to drive on the top of the mountain because when with go up you see how was my where the temperature of the oil rose 100% the engine almost broke down and you know it because you saw it with your own eyes and then when we were on our way you saw when they were fixing the street how the oil got dirty with all the oil in the street Iam sorry about the inconvenient but I told you the price before and you accept I even have to change the brakes also because of the height when I came down I spent almost all the band of the brakes Tours is 4 hours and I lasted 8 hours with you going up and down mountains risking my car and I spent 7,000 dollars for the motor of my car in this country you didn't see that, only what I charge you and I don't force you I told him the price before going up
Puerto Plata city tour
Sally_E, Dec 2022
Before booking this tour, I was impressed with the reviews of small groups and how people wrote about flexibility of the tour sites. But what spoiled what we anticipated as a great tour was having to walk over a mile trying to find the tour meeting area from the Norwegian docked at Amber Cove. Meeting place info was not well communicated. Lots of green shirts along the way—unfortunately, no one we asked along the way directed us correctly for the meeting place. When we got just outside the shopping area (which is where we later learned was the meeting place) we were informed incorrectly when showing our ticket to someone in a green t-shirt that we needed to walk to the Amber Cove grounds exit out by the highway. Unfortunately, this was incorrect and this is what made it unpleasant as it was hot—we are in our mid 70’s. Both my husband and I are cancer patients so this walk was a bit taxing for us. When inquiring outside the main gate where taxis are—one of the men recognized who we were looking for and made a call to the correct person who had been waiting for us right outside that first exit from the shopping area. Finally, someone in the official green shirt came to pick us up. We were told upon return of the tour we would be dropped off at the correct meeting point so as to not have that long walk from the main exit again. After a wait someone else came to pick us up for the tour. I don’t think this was one of their regular guides— no green shirt. However, as nice as our guide Ramon was, at the end of the tour he said he was not allowed to enter into the area inside the entrance gate to drop us off and we had to walk the long mile again in the heat. Another clue that this was not one of their regular guys. Earlier, while waiting to be picked up we were asked if there was anything special we wanted to see and inquired about the cable car and agreed to the additional $80 cost. But when we got to the cable car our guide was not aware that he was to purchase our ticket but he called was informed and did. After entering the cable car building, we were turned over to another guide to whom we would have to pay extra for the park tour at the top, which we declined since we had already paid $80 for this extra add on. So we just went up ourselves. Our guide Ramon was very nice and we did enjoy the rum factory, walk through town, seeing the pink street, umbrella street, city center decorated for Christmas, the church, and shopping. Ramon was kind enough to pick us up from the church so we would not have to walk back to where he had parked for the walk through town. Had we been able to meet our assigned guide at the correct place, I think we would have had a better tour as described in the better reviews and would not have wasted a lot of time if we had the normal tour with one of the Green shirt guys. My suggestion is to have someone with a sign at the Amber Cove shopping area exit to greet the tour guests.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
I wrote to you many times before you arrived here even my brother was waiting for you inside the Amber Cove port, he told you where he was waiting for you inside the port and you left outside the port you arrived late and I sent you with a private tour I sent you In a minivan for the 2 of you, you should have looked at the Pickup location on the page when you arrived at the Amber Cove port a. sorry for the inconvenience that happened
Great alternative to cruise line excursion.
Jesus_R, Nov 2022
These gentlemen are great! Wonderful experience for my wife and I. As a comment not a complaint this “private tour” may include 4 or 5 other in a larger van. That said it was a good tour introducing you to the Dominican Republic. Many of the stops as larger cruise ship tours but without the waiting for those that don’t understand be back in “x” minutes. Convenient pickup and drop off. Good value for the money spent
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Was a big pleasure meeting you guys come back soon
Taking in the sights
Carolyn_N, Nov 2022
Having a Private tour makes the experience so much better. You get all your questions answered your able to to really get into the history and not get lost in translation. Pigeon park was fun feeding them. Visiting the local shops. Learning how to roll cigars. Our guide was Rigo. Very knowledgeable and attentive too. I wanted avocado and he got me the 2 most sweetest ones I have ever eaten. This company knows how to take care of their clients. I will suggest bringing cash on this tour. Though Credit cards are accepted its just so much more easier using cash. Puerto Plata is a beautiful city. If your reading this and are wondering if i should book this tour YES you should 100% they are the Best.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you somuch for everything I hope in god see you soon again blessings
Not a good experience.
Mindy_C, Nov 2022
Sadly we didn’t have Rigo or Lionel. The young driver(emphasis) on driver was very nice. But didn’t speak English. He knew a very few words. We learned nothing about DR, the history, culture or people. There also didn’t seem to be a destination plan. As we weren’t interested in rum or cigars we heard from other cruisers when back about an amber museum, which would have fit our interests. Maybe other venues we could have gone to. When I tried to ask about the fort and war statue he unsuccessfully tried google translate. We ended earlier than four hours as the communication was so poor. And this was our first time in DR. We really should get a partial refund. We’ll stick to ship tours from now on. This was our first viator experience. Very disappointing.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Si sorry for the inconvenient this never happens before
If you're interested in...
dmware4, Aug 2022
If you're interested in simply shopping with high pressure sales this is the tour you should book. We were very disappointed.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
this excursions all way is 3 hours or more if you have to do something after the horseback riding you post to do it before

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Puerto Plata City Tours with Rigo / Leonel / Marlény and Agustin


4 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 55.00
No Photo
Amber Cove Shore Excursion: Eat Drink & Be Merry City Tour!


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 109.00
No Photo
Puerto Plata City Tours


4 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 55.00
No Photo
Private Puerto Plata Airport Transportation


45 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 64.00

Explore Similar Things to Do