Monteverde Cloud Forest Bird-watching & Photografy Tour

Monteverde, Costa Rica

From USD 150.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 to 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Situated atop the Continental Divide, the high-altitude Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve is literally shrouded in clouds. Experience the full breadth of Monteverde’s flora and fauna on this nature walk, during which your naturalist guide provides useful insight and helps navigate through the forest. Plus, this small-group tour is limited to six participants so you can escape crowds and immerse yourself in nature.
  • Explore Monteverde Cloud Forest and learn about its complex ecosystems
  • Naturalist guide provides commentary and navigates through the reserve
  • See species such as howler monkeys, sloths, and toucans
  • Small-group tour limited to six participants for a personalized experience

What's Included

  • Local taxes
  • Optic Gear
  • Entrance fee to Monteverde CLoud Forest Presere
  • Transportation from the local hotels
  • Naturalist Tour guided

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Preserve
      8633+3P3, Carr. a Reserva de Monteverde, Provincia de Puntarenas, Monteverde, Costa Rica

      we meet in the entrace front desk where you can ask for Johnny Villegas

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • We start at the Monteverde Biological Preserve entrace fee
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Operated by Johnny loves nature

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    39 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-3 of 39 reviews
    Decent tour, but not the best place.
    Anna_B, Apr 2022
    I would recommend this tour if you cannot go to any other tours in the area. It was good because our tour guide was engaging, but the scarcity of the wildlife (visual) was sad, considering this is where we should have seen a lot more animals than anywhere else in CR, other than the most remote places like Osa Peninsula. Also it would have been totally fine for us to not spend so much time waiting for quetzals but focus more on the rest of the wildlife existing in the Cloud Forest. Finally, I don't think Monteverde Cloud Forest is the best place in general--do try other reserves in the area if possible. So crowded that we couldn't hike on one of the trails. I only went to this one because the one I wanted never replied to my email inquiries.
    Response from Host, Apr 2022
    Hola Thank you for your recomenations,
    Worst experience and double charged and rip off
    Surya_P, Jan 2019
    We booked for 7.30 AM and confirmed appointment. However, when we reached the Cloud forest, we had all kinds of surprises, nothing as promised.1. Guide did not care for our appointment and told us that he has 5 other tourists, and moved our appointment to 11.30 without notice or our approval. We booked this appointment specifically at 7.30 so that we can see more birds and other creatures. 11.30 was of no use to go on the tour. Guide was very reluctant and did not give respect or care for our appointment. Bad attitude.2. Finally, he said that he can do the tour at 9.30 am. When we came back at 9.30 am, he said that we should buy the tickets to park, which he did not mention at all when we met at 7.30 am. He said that we may not be able to get the entrance tickets as they may be sold out. He said that he cannot help and it was not his problem.3. Viator mentioned that mobile tickets are accepted and to print the voucher. However, to our surprise and disappointment, the guide said that we should buy the tickets and pay again for the tickets to entrance. This was a rip off, and news to me.4. Finally, upon waiting for a while, we were lucky to buy the entrance tickets. Guide took us to the tour, however, he had shown lot of attitude throughout the tour. He was not paying attention to us. However, he set up the telescope to show a bird and was showing some others, who are not part of the team, and collecting tips / money from others while making us wait longer and not showing us properly.We are completely disappointed and not satisfied. We request for full REFUND of our amount paid by us.Hope you consider our situation what we have to go through. In the past we booked several other tours with Viator and had no issues. However, this experience made me very dissatisfied with Viator your operator.Hope Viator will take appropriate action to keep up their service standards and refund us.Thank you,SP
    Frescura frondosa de vida en estado puro
    LuisAndres_P, Apr 2022
    El trato y el conocimiento de todo el recorrido del guía Olberg fue un punto a destacar. El tour es muy agradable.