Recent Searches
Clear

Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion

star-4.525 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion

From USD115.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Maximize your port day in Puntarenas with this jam-packed combo tour that introduces you to the best of the Gulf of Nicoya. Drive through the Costa Rican countryside to a nature reserve, explore the rain forest canopy on hanging bridges, and spot crocs on a cruise down the Tarcoles River. Check out local culture with shopping stops at a replica Spanish Village and fun souvenir store, and finish with a city sightseeing tour.
  • Combo shore excursion from Puntarenas
  • Experience the best of the Gulf on Nicoya with a diverse itinerary
  • Pass farming villages and sugar plantations on a drive through the Costa Rican countryside
  • Explore the rain forest on a hanging bridges tour at a nature reserve
  • Shop for souvenirs at a recreated Spanish colonial village
  • See wild crocodiles on a cruise down the Tarcoles River
  • Stress-free way to make the most of your day at port
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Fresh Fruit Snack
Gratuities
Alcoholic Beverages
Lunch
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Muellero Park , Parque de Los Cañones, P.º de los Turistas, Provincia de Puntarenas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica

We pick up all passengers at the cruise ship terminal in Puntarenas or Puerto Caldera

  • Muelle de Puntarenas , X5G9+4GQ, P.º de los Turistas, Provincia de Puntarenas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
  • Caldera Puntarenas , W7RC+8H3, Caldera, Provincia de Puntarenas, Espíritu Santo, Costa Rica
  • 8:00 AM
    This activity will end right where it started.This tour is exclusive for cruise ship passengers. If you are not arriving by cruise ship please do not book this tour From Puntarenas Cruise Ship Pier: Pick up is inside the pier. Close to Gangway From Caldera Cruise Ship Pier: Pick Up is at the entrance of the pier. You should proceed to the main entrance. There is a shuttle bus service you can take. it is complementary
    When your cruise ship docks at the port of Puntarenas, meet your driver and guide at the pier, and climb aboard an air-conditioned bus with room for up to 20 passengers. Travel through the Costa Rican countryside past traditional farming villages and mango and citrus plantations to reach Villa Lapas. Straddling the country’s unique tropical and dry forest ecosystems, this nature reserve is home to hundreds of bird species plus an array of other wildlife like raccoons, monkeys, anteaters, and poison dart frogs. Explore this incredible biodiversity on a SkyWay tour along suspended bridges and walkways.

    Head next to Santa Lucia, a replica of a Spanish colonial settlement nestled against a river and the rain forest. Enjoy free time here to shop for local goods like gourmet coffee and small painted oxcarts. Refresh with a snack of fresh fruit and iced tea here before continuing on to the Tarcoles River.

    Hop aboard a river boat for a cruise down the waterway famous for its population of large American crocodiles. Keep an eye out for the jaw-snapping crocs and soak up scenic views along the northern border of the Carara Biological Reserve.

    After the boat tour, you’ll have a chance to pick up more souvenirs at the El Jardin store and restaurant and get a glimpse into coastal culture with a short sightseeing tour of Puntarenas city. Your tour concludes with drop-off back at the cruise pier.
    Itinerary
    Pass By:  
    Catedral de Puntarenas
    During City Tour we visit the Cathedral of Puntarenas
    Stop At:  
    Tarcoles Bridge
    On this tour you will be able to enjoy a boat tour in the Tarcoles River for enjoy the huge crocodiles
    Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    Stop At:  
    Carara National Park
    We will enjoy the rainforest and hanging bridges in Villa Lapas Private Reserve
    Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 300 travellers
    • OPERATED BY Greenway Nature Day Tours
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Face masks provided for travellers
    • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitisation during Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion?
    A:The policies on sanitisation are:

    • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
    • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
    See all safety measures taken by Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion.

    Traveller Tips


    • "this tour is well worth it when you cruise ship is only at port for 6-7 hours." See review
    • "Nice assortment of activities Problems; no lunch or edibles and all participants were given the same 6 for 1 tour." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    25 reviews
    2 stars
    0

    Reviews by Viator travellers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
    star-5
    Loved it!
    debbiehinchey
    , Feb. 2020
    Awesome experience!!! This was our favorite part of the whole trip! Biggest Crocs I’ve ever seen...so cool 😎
    star-3
    Rainy day in Costa Rica
    Trek35254572989
    , Dec. 2019
    cold water "snack"" was refreshing!! Five hour tours should either provide lunch or allow for time to eat
    icon Response from Host , Dec. 2019
    Thank you for your review. If you can provide the name of your tour we can check your complaint. However, in our tours descriptions it is clear that we do not include lunch, but we include in all our tours a fresh fruits snack, water and Ice Tea. Besides this, all our tours includes stops at restaurants and souvenirs where you are able to purchase some food. So, we don´t understad your negative comment about this issue. Regards,
    1 traveller found this review helpful
    star-1
    Big Disappointment
    Neil_E
    , Nov. 2019
    We waited where told for your tour after disembarking our cruise ship. No one showed up. We called the local vendor. He said to go to the end of the pier and wait for someone. We waited over 45 minutes. We called again and were told our tour had been cancelled. No notice from the vendor or Viator. After returning home I contacted Viator and did receive a refund, but I lost an hour of time waiting for someone who did not keep their appointment and lost out on what I had contracted for.
    icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
    We are sorry for the inconvenience you experience on this date. Unfortunately the tours departure without you because for any reason your name was not in the list and the guides didn´t wait for you. I explain this to you over the phone and that at that time was too late for connect you with the groups because they were far away and it was when I apologize and offer the full refund for the tour. This normally do not happens to us, but unfortunately happens this day and our guides didn´t have your reservation. We are so sorry for the inconvenience.
    star-5
    excellent tour
    mn k
    , Nov. 2019
    this tour is well worth it when you cruise ship is only at port for 6-7 hours. watch out for mosquitos!!
    icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
    Thank you very much for your positive review. WE really appreciate it
    star-4
    Fun and interesting first look at Costa Rica
    Jayson_M
    , Mar. 2019
    Guide was good and knowledgable. Nice assortment of activities Problems; no lunch or edibles and all participants were given the same 6 for 1 tour. Most did not pay for that tour. They paid less. I paid by far the most. Obviously, I got the least value. That does not make me pleased
    star-5
    Rudy knew his city. All the...
    ChristinaA_K
    , Feb. 2018
    Rudy knew his city. All the locations he took us too seemed to waiting for Rudy and provided top-of-the-line service
    icon Response from Host , May 2020
    Hello We really appreciate your positive review about our services and tour. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards
    star-5
    Tour guide, Miguel, was very...
    Bosco_H
    , Feb. 2018
    Tour guide, Miguel, was very knowledgeable about Costa Rica, the environment, birds and plants. Really enjoyed seeing exotic birds flying around in their natural habitat. Boat tour was great and saw crocodile and many shore birds.
    icon Response from Host , May 2020
    Hello We really appreciate your positive review about our services and tour. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards
    star-5
    Tour was great!! Gravien was so...
    KarenK_C
    , Feb. 2018
    Tour was great!! Gravien was so informative, interesting and fun! Our driver was great as well. Highly recommend. Was on the cruise ship and did not like any of the excursions they offered. So glad we took this one. Lots of fun things to see and do
    icon Response from Host , May 2020
    Hello We really appreciate your positive review about our services and tour. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards
    star-5
    Greenway Tours was excellent Walk in...
    Martin_H
    , Jan. 2018
    Greenway Tours was excellent Walk in the Clouds very informative re: Rainforests of Costa Rica and Central America the Crocodile portion was unbelievable the boat pilot got out with pieces of fish and actually walked up to a 6 foot female who leaped out of the water to grab her meal - the pilot survived, of course, by jumping out of the way of those large teeth. Obviously, he was no beginner with the crocs. Awesome tour!
    icon Response from Host , May 2020
    Hello We really appreciate your positive review about our services and tour. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards
    star-5
    Well worth the , we had a great...
    Thomas J
    , Dec. 2017
    Well worth the , we had a great time. The boat guide was the high point in the way he got so close you could touch a crocodile.
    star-5
    This was a really enjoyable trip...
    Anna M C
    , Dec. 2017
    This was a really enjoyable trip. Guide very informative and knowledgeable showed many species of flora and fauna. We liked the river boat trip and the encounter with the crocodiles.
    star-4
    While the tour itself was excellent...
    susan s
    , Dec. 2017
    While the tour itself was excellent, our tour guide was disappointing in that we were left sitting on our bus for 45 minutes before leaving despite fact that all scheduled passengers were ready. No explanation offered for delay and guide needed reminders when we got to our destination 1 hour away that the bus passengers needed to use the restrooms immediately. The trip to Antigua was most interesting, except that we had to walk on narrow sidewalks in disrepair, and our guide was at the head of a long line and did not caution people re: potential dangers. The trip to the mineral springs spa was delightful, and a pleasant end to a tiring day.
    star-3
    The guide was late to the port so we...
    Carolyn L
    , Apr. 2017
    The guide was late to the port so we had to walk quite a way to his van. The pier was filled with tour busses from the cruise line or other tour companies. The tour confirmation stated it was good for all activity levels. No so! The walk through the rainforest was horrible for a person with mobility issues. There were at least 1-200 uneven concrete block steps going down through parts of the rainforest over about a 1 km distance. Anyone with any issues should not take this part of the tour but wait on the bus! The rest of the tour was fine, the guide knowledgeable and spoke English well. The tour on the Tarcoles River with the crocodiles was fascinating. When the driver saw animals along side the road he stopped so we could all get out for photos.
    1 traveller found this review helpful
    star-4
    We really enjoy our tour. Seeing the...
    Steven S
    , Jan. 2017
    We really enjoy our tour. Seeing the crocs and other wildlife was awesome. Tour guide was great.
    star-5
    Nicely packaged tour that covered...
    Thomas J
    , Dec. 2016
    Nicely packaged tour that covered the highlights that were of interest to our group. Guide was well informed and shared his knowledge freely and in an interesting manner.
    star-5
    Really enjoyed this trip. Our guide...
    Rosemary_G
    , Nov. 2016
    Really enjoyed this trip. Our guide, Alberto, met us on the cruise pier and we were one of the first groups away from the ship. There were 4 of us travelling in the minibus - great! The first highlight was the river cruise were we saw a variety of birds and many crocodiles sunning themselves on different parts of the riverbank. The boat driver took us over to the riverbank and we were right beside a very large crocodile half submerged in the river! The second highlight was the walk through the rainforest, starting higher up the hillside and descending down a pathway and over 2 very interesting bridges.
    star-4
    The walk thru the tropical rain...
    Gary_k
    , Oct. 2016
    The walk thru the tropical rain forest was nice, we only saw a few birds from a distance. We did see one monkeys riding to the river trip. On the river trip we saw many crocodiles and different birds.
    star-3
    Nice bus and guide was very good...
    Tanya_L
    , Oct. 2016
    Nice bus and guide was very good. Didn't see any bird life on the bush walk. Boat trip was great and saw lots of bird life then. But we didn't do everything listed. No Shopping at village of Santa Lucia and didn't do short tour of Puntarenas City.
    star-5
    Guild at the Pier to greet us...
    Luzanne t
    , Sep. 2016
    Guild at the Pier to greet us. Wonderful experience
    star-5
    Muito boa excursão que nos deu uma...
    Gina
    , Jun. 2017
    Muito boa excursão que nos deu uma visão de diversos locais pela floresta nativa. Avistamos muitas aves, com caminhada pela floresta e suas pontes suspensas foram belas experiências assim como navegar pelo Crocodile River e avistar esses gigantes das águas foi intrigante.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion
    Puntarenas Highlights 6 in 1 Shore Excursion

    star-4.525

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD115.00

    star-560

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD80.00

    star-55

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD155.00

    star-45

    2 hours 40 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD45.00

    star-425

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD133.00

    star-51

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD120.00

    star-00

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD136.22

    star-45

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD128.21
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations