Private Bird Watching Esquipulas Manuel Antonio

Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

From USD 175.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Take a 3 hour private birding tour at Esquipulas, a small town at the foothills of the highest mountains of Costa Rica, at one of the best spots in the world for bird watching- Manuel Antonio National Park. At 400m above sea level, you can see Trogons, Manakins, Toukans, Tanagers, and many other birds with the help of your naturalist guide.
  • Entry/Admission - Manuel Antonio National Park
  • Hotel/ Airport/ Port pick up and drop offs can be arranged
  • Breakfast, snacks, bottled water are included
  • Guide, professional equipment, and all fees and taxes are included

What's Included

  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Naturalist guide
  • Professional equipment
  • Breakfast

    Meeting And Pickup

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Start time

    05:00 am

    Pickup details

    We can pickup at any Hotels, Vacation Rentals, Airbnbs... Please give us the name of the place for the pickup. Thank you! : )

    What To Expect

    Manuel Antonio National Park

    3 hours Admission Ticket Included

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Operated by Costa Rica Jade Tours

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    14 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-1 of 14 reviews
    Avoid like the plague
    Lezlie_M, Mar 2022
    Do not take this tour unless you a professional bird watcher and are okay with doing things on your own. From the moment we got in the car, the tour guide, Edgar, asked us questions to see how much we knew about birdwatching to see how much he could get away with doing as little as possible. After I told him we were beginners and I wanted to see a toucan, he showed us a toucan and turned to his driver and told him in Spanish, "She saw a toucan, the rest of this tour is going to be easy." And that's exactly what is was for him. He took us on a "coffee break" for at least 45 minutes which consisted of him and some acquaintances sitting down for coffee. My partner and I do not drink coffee and we stood and watched the birds alone from the telescope while he kicked back, drank coffee, and walked around with his friends. We hired a guide so he could be with us and tell us about the birds. Later, we looked up some of the birds we found and they were a different name than what he told us . A little after, he decided he wanted breakfast so he took us to breakfast without asking if we even wanted that. They had already provided us with many fruits and a sandwich, we did not need another breakfast, but again it was one long break for him. The tour also ended exactly one hour early. The description does not say there is a breakfast or coffee stop. It also doesn't say 5 hours it says 6 hours and they dropped us off after 5 hours. So all in all we got about 2 and a half hours of bird watching after you take out the unnecessary stops and the fact we got dropped off early. The time that we did actually get to bird watch with him was uncomfortable as well. The tour guide kept reminding us how expensive his equipment was. He told us he would let us use HIS binoculars because we only had one pair, but he was watching them like a hawk, telling us to use the straps when we already were, grabbing them from us when we put them down on the table etc. There were many times he used them to spot birds for himself and take pictures and videos of the ones he liked. It was very much Edgar's terms and we were just the idiots that paid. After we told the tour company, Costa Rica Jade tours, how he acted, they acted just as terrible as him. They berated us for not being professional bird watchers and bringing our own equpment (we didnt know we had to), they made excuses for the unnecessary stops saying they didn't want us to starve and that it was impossible that we could have eaten breakfast before so early (we did eat fruit and Granola before we went because the tour description did not say we would be eating multiple times) and that the hour we got ripped off of was appropriate because they tour said "approximately 6 hours." I l am now fighting with viator to get my money back so we can actually go with a real tour company birdwatching and not this awful company. We cancelled all other tours we booked with them after this awful experience. We showed the locals at our Casita the birds that Edgar showed us (19 in total when many reviewers said they saw over 50) and they laughed and told us they could show us more birds in their backyard. Terrible they treated us this way. One star.
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    Hello Lezlie, Why you don't describe the true story? Why you don't say that you are thieves? You are the type of person who books an experience, goes on, fully enjoys the whole activity and later makes a whole fake story to request for a full refund. Why you don't say in your review that you even threated us with writing this stupid "terrible" review in Viator if we weren't willing to issue the refund? Why you don't say that you even requested your guide to get some local craft souvenirs and a costarican salsa, as Edgar was happy to share with you. We even have your friendly whatsapp conversation with your tour guide asking him to get those items for you, so you could take home. You know what? We are not affraid of people like you. We are not affraid of what a dishonest person can write in social medias. You though we were gonna fall in your game. Sorry for you!! Actually, there are many people who like to use social medias to travel for free just like you. You are just like one of those parasites in nature who act nice and at the end shows its real face. After all, we are still happy to wish you a nice life and hope you change your philosophy of life (for your own good). Jade Tours Team