Manuel Antonio Park Nature Guided Tour

Quepos, Costa Rica

From USD 59.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Make the most of limited time in Costa Rica with a guided half-day nature walk through Manuel Antonio National Park. Don’t waste time wondering what to see next; instead, head straight to the park’s highlights in the company of a naturalist guide and benefit from their animal spotting expertise and spotting scope to see creatures you might otherwise have missed.
  • Take a half-day tour of the Manuel Antonio National Park
  • Benefit from the animal-spotting expertise of a naturalist guide
  • Small group capped at 10 guarantees a personalized experience
  • Round-trip transportation from all Manuel Antonio and Quepos accommodations

What's Included

  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Spotting Scope
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

    Meeting point

    • Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio
      Puntarenas Province, Quepos, Costa Rica

      Please ask for Jade Tours right at the Park entrance gate

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    Please give us the name of the place, hotel or house where you'll be staying so we can give you the proper pickup time. Also, we require to get complete name plus nationality from every person going in this tour. This is necessary for registering every person to the park ticket's system. We highly appreciate you to send us this information to avoid eventual troubles like missing the chance to visit the park, as there are limited tickets available everyday. Important note: If you don't send names plus nationality then your booking may be cancelled if the park tickets get sold out. Thank you!!

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    1,353 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 1,353 reviews
    Abundant Wildlife, Horrible Guide
    Joshua_D, Mar 2023
    Where to even start… Arrived at parking area to chaos. It was truly a free for all. Not clearly marked. No one from tour company holding up a sign indicating we were in the correct place. Once we parked, we were greeted by a confrontational parking attendant demanding money. I found a tour guide and asked him for clarification - we were told we had to pay as parking wasn’t included even though in the tour description it said all fees and taxes were included. Once we got the parking situation taken care of, we checked in with a guide who told us we could not take in any single use plastic of any kind, including water bottles. I asked him why that was not stated anywhere in the tour description and he had no answer. I also asked him why it was not communicated during the half a dozen message exchanges I’d had with them in the days prior to our tour and again, he had no response. We were then told we could buy reuseable water bottles from a local store which felt very much like a tourist trap. After spending $18 on bottles, we finally made our way inside the park. Fast forward to about 20 minutes into the tour. Our guide pulled us aside, and in front of my 3 children, told us he was not going to continue the tour with us. It was extremely awkward and upsetting - he very rudely chastised me for being on my phone and said he did not like that we were not participating enough for his liking. It’s worth noting here, I was “on my phone” delivering insulin to my Type 1 diabetic son and monitoring his blood sugar levels so that he could be safe on the tour, which is something I’ve had to do on every single excursion we have done and not once did I ever have a guide be rude about it until this one. Floored doesn’t even begin to explain my emotion. I told the guide we were very much paying attention and, in fact, recited everything back to him (nearly verbatim) that he had just shared with our group. He then said we needed to get over what happened earlier with the parking and water situation, which had already been resolved half an hour earlier. Never in my life have I been shamed by a total stranger the way I was with this guide. I honestly thought about walking away then but decided for the sake of our kids to continue. On a positive note, the guide was actually very knowledgeable and we saw a ton of animals. Unfortunately, neither of those things made up for the communication issues or rudeness. We have taken 10 guided tours/excursions during our trip to CR and have had so many amazing adventures but the guide absolutely ruined this one for us. He most certainly had some sort of God complex that made our time with him strained at best. Unbelievably, when my son told him to be careful not to step on a crab that was on the trail, he told my son it wasn’t a big deal because there were lots of them. Truly, who says that to a child, especially on a tour where we are trying to teach about respecting nature, animals, and the Earth. Anyway, 1 out of 5 stars for our guide and the shoddy communication. 4 out of 5 for the beautiful scenery and abundant wildlife.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Hello dear client, You came claiming that our tour agency should pay for your parking. Our guide smoothly explained you that the parking is a seperated service. On the other hand the national park doesn't own a parking lot. All parking lots outside the park are privately owned. After this you started being rude, trying to show you were uncomfortable. At that point the guide told you that this is not an actitud to go along sharing the experience with other people. As, about the park policies with bottles. This is a very new rule which the park decided to just apply. We are sorry that you had a bad taste in your visit. Jade Tours Team
    Great experience
    Aleksandr_G, Mar 2023
    Amazing! We saw 4 sloths, 2 of them with their babies. Sloths are the cutest. Our guide Diego is the best. Awesome experience!
    I traveled with my sons...
    Lauri_M, Mar 2023
    I traveled with my sons and their girlfriends. They are all in their 20s. We had a great time and we able to see so many animals that we would never have spotted without the assistance of our fabulous guide. Definitely a highlight of our trip. We have wonderful pictures and memories.
    Incredible experience in the jungle!
    chandrad36, Mar 2023
    First of all, Costa Rica is amazing, and this park and the wildlife is incredible. But our guide Roberto really made this a special day. He was passionate about the wildlife and did everything he could to give us the best experience possible. And he did it…we saw 3 sloths and he helped me get an amazing picture with the help of the scope. Along with several other animals, including monkeys. It exceeded expectations. Do not do this without a guide, and don’t get swindled by the dudes out front (no offense to them, but Roberto was top notch!)
    Our guide, Daniel, was...
    David_C, Mar 2023
    Our guide, Daniel, was entertaining and informative. Excellent tour! Loved the sloths and don’t think I would have ever seen them without Daniel’s assistance.
    Highly Recommended with Yuli at Jade
    amrita_g, Mar 2023
    Yuli was very knowledgeable, patient and engaging with our group. The tour was fun and relaxing. He was constantly looking for wildlife for us to look at and provided us with as much information as possible.I would highly recommend this tour with Yuli
    Bob_B, Mar 2023
    Daniel was our tour guide. He was super knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants. We saw sloths monkeys and a lot of cool things. There was also a beautiful beach. I would highly recommend this tour. We would have never found the wildlife on our own. These guys know where to look.
    Lisa_J, Mar 2023
    Our guide was great. If you want to swim at the beach go on the early tour. The beach closes at 3 and we got there at about 3:15. Great hike and we did see many animals.
    No bottled water provided while in park
    Sandra_B, Mar 2023
    The 4 of us purchased the guided tour for $59 each for 7 am on Monday 2/27. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to the park. The park was crowded but our guide was excellent. Items to be included with the tour were bottled water and snacks. It was hot and luckily two of us brought a bottle of water thinking we would have bottled water available based on what the tour said. There was NO bottled water available to us in the park at all. The one store in the park was closed. We had to leave the park before the tour was over due to one of our friends being dehydrated due to the heat. We did not want to drink unbottled water out of the few faucets in the park but used it to cool the person off until we could get our friend out of the park. Our guide was concerned and arranged for a taxi to take the person and one other person from our party back to our hotel which was most appreciated! The tour company should not advertise that the tour includes bottled water unless it does. If it is offered at the end of the tour, add the company should that fact so people can come prepared with adequate water/drinks for the tour. We noticed many people without water/drinks while there that were on other guided tours also.
    Change To Recommend
    Robert_S, Feb 2023
    They use a sloth for advertising although you rarely see a sloth(my experience and what others have said). You see monkeys, lizards and some other small species. You need a guide to point most of this out, except for the monkeys. Our guide, Michelle was wonderful and pleasant. Very good command of English and extremely knowledgeable about wildlife in general. If you can request J company in particular or better yet, Michelle of J Company I would recommend.
    Great tour
    Linda_D, Feb 2023
    Michelle was great. My goal was to see a sloth and we saw 2! There were so many animals we would never have found on our own, but she knew where to look. Great tour!
    Very good tourguide! Only...
    Sebastian_V, Feb 2023
    Very good tourguide! Only bad thing was that you won't get the promised bottle of water and snacks if you choose to stay in the park (and they don't tell you before).
    Wonderful tour!
    Gabriela_F, Feb 2023
    We had a great time and managed to see a lot of wildlife. Our guide George was fantastic. Highly recommended!
    Tour company & guide can make the difference!
    Gail_B, Feb 2023
    Our guide, Edgar made our experience most memorable. He had extensive knowledge of not only the Park and eco-tourism, but had a great sense of humour and partial knowledge of a few languages. Having a small group was great in such a busy park. I would highly recommend Costa Rica Jade Tours!
    Great tour
    Sangeetha_A, Feb 2023
    We had an excellent guide by name Luis. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. He took the time to make appropriate stops and patiently answered our questions. Overall, a very good tour. Highly recommend it.
    Great tour
    Jan_W, Feb 2023
    Great friendly guide that gave a lot of interesting facts of the wildlife in the park & we got a bunch of nice pics as well.
    High price and not much to see
    Jennifer_N, Feb 2023
    It is expensive to visit the park, 60USD. And no many animals to see during the day. I joined the afternoon tour and got just about 3 hours to be in the park. And the guide took us to the beach at 3pm after a stop at a coffee shop, when the beach just closed, he could show us the beach first instead.
    Beautiful Park and Beach
    patty_c, Feb 2023
    Beautiful and friendly place. A little difficult to navigate parking! Town is fun and park is absolutely gorgeous .
    Excellent wildlife tour
    Michael_O, Jan 2023
    The park is amazing.Had a great tour guide and saw lots of wildlife.Would definitely do it again.Well worth the trip there
    if you are expecting to...
    Oscar_M, Jan 2023
    if you are expecting to hike the other more secluded trails in the park than this guided tour is not for you. This tour takes place on the main gravel road then back out on the main trail leading out of the park. I’m sure there are other tours that allow more time? The guide was knowledgeable and pointed out things we probably wouldn’t have seen with the naked eye. From the time we got to the park to the time we exited it was, give or take 3 hours. My opinion if I come back would be to just purchase the entree ticket online (which you have to do at least 24 hours prior)and enjoy the park all day including the beautiful Miguel Antonio beach which we pretty were given about 15 minutes to see on the guided tour. We felt rushed towards the end. Also no food allowed in the park.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Hello Oscar, Thank you for giving us your opinion. This tour is a nature tour which main purpose is to see the wildlife such as monkeys, sloths, birds and more. This is the reason of why we don't walk the other trails, as those other trails aren't as good for wildlife. Although, after the tour the clients can stay in the park and walk the rest of the trails on their own.