Walking tour and Authentic Cooking Class in Rome with Lunch or Dinner

Roma, Italy

From USD 96.86

Select Date and Travellers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 3 to 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See historic highlights of the Eternal City and learn secrets of Italian cooking on this decadent combo tour in Rome. After working up an appetite on a guided walking tour of landmarks like the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona, head to a local kitchen where you’ll learn to whip up an authentic 3-course meal under the guidance of a professional chef. Begin with bruschetta, make fresh fettuccine from scratch and end on a sweet note with creamy tiramisu. Choose from a lunch or dinner tour.
  • Combo walking tour and cooking class in Rome
  • See iconic sites like the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona on a guided walking tour
  • Learn to prepare an authentic 3-course meal with the help of a local chef
  • Prepare classic Italian recipes like scratch-made pasta and decadent tiramisu
  • Enjoy your homemade creations after the cooking lesson
  • Choose from a morning or afternoon tour with either lunch or dinner

What's Included

  • Pickup and drop-off from a centrally located meeting point.
  • Local guide
  • Lunch or Dinner
  • All taxes, and fees are included in the tour
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza di Spagna, 18
    Piazza di Spagna, 18, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    Tours departs from the third palm tree in Piazza di Spagna. This palm tree is a few steps away from the steps/ stairs. You will see the row of palm trees are in front of you, in the right hand side. It is also right in front of the metro gate Spagna at ground level.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum of 4 per booking .
  • Workshop is usually held in a restaurant for an authentic experience with a licensed and experienced chef; however, if there are a few participants or under request, the class will be held at the chef´s house.
  • This is a hands on pasta making class only, the sauces will be shown to you how they are made in front of you by the chef
  • The desert will be explained in theory , however, if you would like how to make the desert from scratch, please send us a note, and we will add you to a different class of ours ( surcharge applies)
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    Featured review
    We spent our 12 hour layover wandering around Rome and I would highly recommend this tour. Exceeded expectations by a lot. Our tour only had two couples in it so it was practically a private tour. The guide took us to many popular sites in Rome and was very knowledgeable. The pasta making portion was a highlight of our trip. The pasta was AMAZING and it was a lot of fun being able to make the bruscetta and pasta from scratch, as well as eat homemade tiramisu. We also ended up getting one glass of wine on the house. Such a great tour for the price and well worth it.


    72 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews
    Could be a scam
    Imran_N, Aug 2022
    Terrible scam - booked with an error and never could change anything. Operator never returned contact requests nor did they follow up with Viator.
    Not a great del of history
    stephannie_w, Aug 2022
    The tour guide did not have a lot of historic knowledge. The cooling class was good and the foos as well
    Cooking class was amazing!
    Josephine_H, July 2022
    Highly recommend this tour and cooking class. Sara was our tour guide and showed us great hospitality while also providing us recommendations of places to go Rome. We had a wonderful time at the cooking class, the restaurant was amazing and the owner Christian was a treat. Both sara and Christian helped accommodate us with our needs for transportation. Just know that this is a walking tour and may not be for disabled or elderly who have trouble walking far or on uneven turf.
    Enjoyable tour and class, but not without room for improvement
    Eric_H, July 2022
    Overall the class and tour were enjoyable. There was a last minute change to the cooking class location which led to needing to get to metro transfers and a long walk to get to the cooking class site after the walking tour which was not enjoyable. Wasn't anything our tour guide could have avoided necessarily, but the company could have done more to make it easier on the guests or make it up to them at the dinner somehow.
    Great experience!
    Eve_A, July 2022
    It was a very relaxing and fun way to start a trip to Rome. The cooking class was fun for beginners and a family experience. Would definitely recommend it.
    Good experience
    Steve_C, June 2022
    The walking tour part was too long. With the guide, we took 2 trains and walked up a steep hill to get to the restaurant to make pasta. (They said they normally do the class at a restaurant in central Rome, but supposedly the chef had covid). Once we got to the restaurant, we had fun and enjoyed making the pasta and eating. The guide and chef were kind, and the overall experience was good.
    Response from Host, June 2022
    Hello Steve. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. However, I am very sorry that you thought the walking part was too long. We usually wanted to make sure everything is covered in the walking tour as far as the main highlights of history goes because there are both the history part of this tour, and there is also the cooking class.
    Cancelled without refund
    Dana_C, June 2022
    Cancelled on us last minute and have not been refunded yet… have messaged several times. We were so looking forward to it!!
    Response from Host, June 2022
    Hello Dana. I'm sorry you didn't get our message earlier, but we didn't send it last minute like you said, and we offered an Alternative time but you didn't take it. It s been ONE DAY as the refund takes a few business days to process. You have already received an email from us confirming the REFUND so what you said here is totally not true . It is Your Bank that can take sometimes to post the credit so please rest assure that your refund will be there instead of making false statement AFTER ONE DAY that there is no refund since we already confirmed the refund. Thank you
    Our guide was very nice,...
    Bonnie_T, June 2022
    Our guide was very nice, but we did not learn a lot. As mentioned in previous reviews, the cooking class is very basic. The bruschetta was already done. All we did is learn to run garlic on the bread. The cook made the pasta sauce. In addition, we were charged 15 additional Euros per person on the spot because other people (who we did not know) canceled the night before making it a private tour. However, we were not refunded for my husband’s fee who could not attend due to his flight being delayed.
    Come hungry, leave happy
    Ashley_J, May 2022
    Great guide for the Spanish area and great pasta making experience! We made pasta by hand, made bruschetta and they topped it off by giving us tiramisu.
    Lots of fun, highly recommended
    Victoria_K, Apr 2022
    This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was informative, friendly and spoke perfect English. We were a small group of four which was also nice. Saw some of the best sites and made a delicious three course dinner. I would definitely, highly recommend this tour.
    Great guide
    Albert_M, Oct 2021
    Great guide! Sara was extremely kind and took extremely good care of us. Wonderful person. I would certainly recommend this tour.
    Nice walk but the class could be better
    Daric_M, Oct 2021
    Our guide Sarah was very knowledgeable about historical facts and art history. She was pleasant and we enjoyed conversing with her. We were a little disappointed with the cooking class. While we did have a chance to make fettuccine, we did not prepare the bruschetta (only ladled the tomatoes onto the toast) and did not make a dessert.
    Expensive, but worth every penny
    Eric_S, Aug 2021
    This tour was expensive as my wife and I were the only 2 on it, and the price went up. This was okay with us. We had a little trouble finding our tour guide, but we did. Our guide, Sara, was fantastic. Making pasta was fun. Please have fun with the guides, but be careful asking for ketchup may be bad for you. The tour guide as great got to see some things that are not part of common knowledge. Learned about the artists who made some of the fountains. Worth the extra cost.
    Didn't show or contact
    Eric_S, May 2021
    Didn't show up or attempt to contact by phone or email, even after i attempted to contact them. Dont do this tour.
    Response from Host, July 2021
    Hello Eric , I'm sorry you have a bad experience. We tried to always contact the customers in case there s changes to the tour and depending on how their email is set up, our mail can go into the promotion or spam . Could you please give us your booking reference so we could look into this for you? Thank you
    Book this tour at your own peril
    Amy_K, Jan 2020
    e sat in the meeting area for 1 hour waiting for the guide. I called the number on the booking and it went to an answering machine. I also sent a text message and the did not answer for over an hour. Was told guide was there at the meeting spot on time. If he was at the meeting place as they claim he made no attempt whatsover to find us. Also if he was there no sign indicating the tour as said on ticket. I believe this tour is a scam, do not book it. They are refusing to refund my money.
    Response from Host, Jan 2020
    Thank you for your feedback. You know what you are saying here is not true because you were at the wrong Location or late or both. There were 6 others on the tour , and they all showed up on time. When we offered you to catch up, you refused because you missed already over half of the tour and only wanted the refund which wasn't our fault that you were late or at the wrong Location then Didn't want to catch up. Others on the tour was proof for that because otherwise if it was a scam or fraud, you would have gotten a refund from your bank. You also didn't call us till about 45 mins after the tour start to ask where the tour was ? If you were on time, it would have made sense to call before departure time, not 45 mins after the tour departed. I'm very sorry we missed you, but your review does not reflect what had happened.
    Best first day in Rome
    Brian_V, Dec 2019
    We arrived in Rome from Canada, around 10 am and our tour started around 3 pm. After checking into our hotel; we met our wonderful tour guide Sarah. She did her best to keep these two weary travellers going with all the beautiful sights in Rome Sarah obviously has a passion for the city and filled us in with the history and attractions. We finished the tour at a wonderful restaurant where we got to make from scratch, fettuccine, bruschetta and the restaurant provided tiramisu. After dinner she helped us find a couple of shops, and gave us good directions back to our hotel, Thank you Sarah
    Change of route...
    Carl J, Oct 2019
    The route was changed meaning we ate before the tour which wasn't ideal as we had not long had lunch
    Mariateresa_R, Sept 2019
    Our guide, charlie was very knowledgeable about the spots we saw. She was also very sweet and funny. However, when we got to the restaurant, they were clearly not waiting for us,, so it passed some time while they fixed up something at the restaurant and we we able to start. The class was also nice
    Not up to the tour description
    Miki_U, Sept 2019
    I would not recommend this tour because this was poorly organized and the contents were not up to the tour description. One of the worst parts was that it was once cancelled after 9PM previous day of the tour. They asked me to reschedule it last minute. Then when I agreed with the new timing suggested by them, the guide was late like 20 minutes. As tourists, we are paying money for every minute in Rome, but the guide or the company did not seem to be aware of this. Walking tour was fun and educative, and the guide was nice. However, the cooking class was again not very good. We had to wait for like one hour in total because the restaurant was busy and the cook who would teach us was busy, too. We made pasta (very quickly) but sauce was prepared by the cook. The guide promised us to send the recipes, but they never arrived. What we leaned was "how to mix egg and flour and cut the dough to make pasta" and "how to put chopped tomato on toast to make bruschetta"....well, I don't know about what tourists are like in Italy, but in my case, I kind of know these things. Putting tomato was not cooking, either. All in all "authentic Italian cooking class" was an overstatement. We ate Tiramisu, but we did not make it either. Finally, the tour description said we will end somewhere near the Colloseo, but the guide left us just in front of the restaurant, which was like 30 minutes walk from the Colloseo. I would not mind saying good-bye there. Not at all. But if this was as planned, the tour description should be more accurate. All in all, it was far from what we had expected from the tour description. I have joined cooking classes in various countries, but this was the worst. Way too expensive considering what we get (and the time we lost). This was my first visit to Italy, and this tour even deteriorated my impressions about Italy and Rome. Everything is very expensive, and the quality is not up to the cost.
    Best of Both Worlds
    Michelle_M, July 2019
    We were looking to cram a lot of Rome into a 3 day trip and this was perfect for our first day. The walking tour got us a little more acquainted with the area with some excellent knowledge about the history. Plus, it ends in a pasta class which was a must do for us. Our tour guide, Cecelia, was super knowledgeable, relatable, and just fun to walk around with. Our pasta chef was definitely authentic. He only spoke Italian so our tour guide translated for us while snapping pics of us with our camera. Don't skip this tour. It was well worth the money!

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    Walking tour and Authentic Cooking Class in Rome with Lunch or Dinner


    4 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 96.86
    Special Offer
    No Photo
    Rome Cooking: Pasta & Tiramisu making class with dinner & wine


    4 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 97.95
    USD 88.15
    No Photo
    The #1 cooking class of Rome!


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 81.62