Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor

Roma, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 86.06

Select Date and Travellers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Tour the amphitheater and other sites of Ancient Rome under the atmospheric cover of darkness during this evening tour. Learn about the ruins of the Roman Forum seen from the Piazza del Campidoglio, and enter the Colosseum after the daytime crowds have disappeared and the temperature has dropped.
  • Sightsee in the cooler evening temperatures and see Rome’s top attractions without the busy daytime crowds.
  • Walk around the Colosseum’s reconstructed arena floor, in the space where gladiator battles were fought.
  • Admire recently discovered graffiti dating back to the late Middle Ages.
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 20 people.

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

See the Colosseum—including typically off-limits areas—after dark, when crowds disperse and temps drop.

What's Included

  • Local expert guide
  • Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum including the Arena Floor
  • Small groups of 20 people or fewer
  • Roman Forum is seen from the outside only
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Trajan's Column
    Via dei Fori Imperiali, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    The tour starts on the platform directly in front of Trajan’s Column: located on Via dei Fori Imperiali near Piazza Venezia. Standing right in front and facing the Victor Emmanuel II Monument, it’s directly to the left across the street. The guide will be waiting there wearing a blue polo shirt.

End point

  • Colosseum
    Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Colonna Traiana

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Roman Forum

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included


1 hour 20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Avoid bringing large purses, bags, or backpacks on your tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guest below 6 years old due to venue security reason.
  • Due to Colosseum security regulations, a PASSPORT OR VALID ID DOCUMENT IS MANDATORY to join this tour
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed
  • Due to the fact that Colosseum by Night at 19:30 or later includes Underground entry tickets, which must be purchased using the full name of each passenger and cannot be modified or cancelled, no refund will be given for any tour cancellation once the tickets are purchased on the passengers’ behalf.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more

    Traveller Tips

    There are stairs and lots of walking so the requirement of moderate fitness by the tour operator is accurate.
    Honestly, it's a good tour, but go during the day.
    The Colosseum at night is lovely, and the underground and arena floor is a must.


    795 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 795 reviews
    Great Tour
    Connor_K, May 2023
    Our tour guide was great. He clearly loves his job and it shows. He took us through the colosseum and had lots of fun facts. I will definitely recommend to my family coming later.
    Not really an evening tour
    Dennis_P, May 2023
    Colosseum is always amazing. Wasn’t really evening or close to sunset. Read carefully and don’t mistake arena floor for underground tour
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hello Dennis_P, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. We appreciate your comments and apologize for any confusion or disappointment you experienced during the tour. We're glad to hear that you found the Colosseum to be amazing, as it truly is an incredible historical site. However, we apologize if the timing of the tour did not align with your expectations of an evening or sunset experience. We will review our tour descriptions to ensure that the timing is accurately represented to avoid any confusion for future participants. Additionally, we apologize if there was any misunderstanding regarding the arena floor and the underground tour. The arena floor provides a unique perspective and access to the central area of the Colosseum, but it does not include the underground sections. We apologize if this distinction was not clearly communicated, and we will ensure that our tour descriptions provide accurate and detailed information to prevent any confusion. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will use it to improve our tour offerings and communication. We appreciate your understanding, and we apologize for any dissatisfaction caused by the tour experience. If there is anything else we can do to address your concerns or assist you further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Poor communication. And...
    Steven_s, May 2023
    Poor communication. And then you tried to take a fee for something we didn’t get. Not our groups problem that your tour company cancelled on us. They told me you were reimbursed for everything except price of tickets and then you want to take an additional fee? You work it out with tour company and get your money from them not ME.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hi Steven_s, We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We'd like to take a closer look at your case. Could you please reach out to us via email at with your booking reference number? If we were at fault in any way, we will not hesitate to make it up to you. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Customer service horrible
    Susan_H, May 2023
    Customer service terrible, could not find the tour guide, and tried to text and got no response at all, called the 1800 number (during their stated business hours) and was put on hold for 20 minutes with messages constantly encouraging me to leave a message. By the time a live human came on the line the very short window to redirect me to the correct meeting place had passed.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hello Susan_H, We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with our customer service during your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we would like to address the issues you encountered. We deeply regret that you were unable to locate the tour guide and experienced difficulties in reaching us. It is our priority to provide prompt and reliable assistance to our customers. We understand that the time-sensitive nature of redirecting you to the correct meeting place was not properly addressed due to the delay in our response. This resulted in a missed opportunity for you to join the tour as planned. We sincerely apologize for this unfortunate situation and any frustration it may have caused. We take your feedback seriously and will review our customer service protocols to ensure that such issues are addressed promptly and efficiently in the future. We will also assess our communication channels to improve responsiveness and minimize wait times for our customers. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. We value your time and trust, and we deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations in terms of customer service. We would like to make it right and regain your trust. Please reach out to us directly via email at, and we will be more than happy to discuss a suitable solution or compensation for the inconvenience you encountered. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience in the future. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Worst tour - and Colesseum closes at 7pm so there is no night option also
    Sanjeev_M, May 2023
    The worst tour operator. Do not book this run away. We were contacted while our Metro was delayed and underground. They asked us to meet 1.5 km away from Colesseum to finally go inside Colesseum. At 5:05pm were standing at tbe Colesseum gates and they told us they forfeitedour tour. Frauds, cheaters and thieves. I have filed a complaint against Viator and the tour company and will be calling tbe credit card company for non delivery of service. DO NOT BOOK this tour. Nadaaaaa . Don't walk but run away
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hello Sanjeev_M, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced during your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with us. We understand that the situation you described was highly disappointing, and we regret any negative impression it may have left. Due to circumstances beyond our control, including unforeseen restrictions imposed by the Colosseum, we were unfortunately compelled to cancel the tour on the day of your scheduled visit. We understand that this must have been disappointing and inconvenient for you, especially after making the effort to be at the Colosseum gates on time. We want to assure you that City Wonders is a legitimate and reputable tour operator, and we take our customers' satisfaction seriously. As a gesture of goodwill, we have already processed a full refund for your tour, which will be reflected on your credit card statement in the coming days. We understand that this experience may have left you with a negative perception of our services, and we deeply apologize for that. We value your feedback and will use it to improve our operations and communication with our customers. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to our customer support team. We would be more than happy to assist you and address any remaining issues. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we appreciate your understanding. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Awesome Guide
    Sarah_P, May 2023
    MJ is an excellent guide. She is very well versed in the history of the colosseum. She told us some fascinating history. The colosseum is at its very best in the evening. Having the chance to be there under the glow of the setting sun was a real highlight of our visit to Rome.
    Great Experience
    Julie_S, May 2023
    This tour was great. Our guide, Tatiana, was fantastic. She was very informative and made sure we had enough time to take pictures. We learned a lot. Definitely would recommend this tour!
    Was okay.
    Cynthia_F, May 2023
    The rain could not be helped so this won't count. The walk to the Colosseum was a fast walk because we are short so our stride is shorter - definitely had the heart rate going while trying to keep up. As for as our guide, it would've been nice if Barbara was better groomed. Her hair looked like she got out of bed and never brushed it. However, the explanation of the history was great and entertaining.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hello Cynthia_F, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. We are glad to hear that despite the rain, you enjoyed the tour and found the history explanation great and entertaining. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the pace of the walk. Our tours are designed to provide a comprehensive experience within a specific timeframe, and we apologize if the pace was too fast for you. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the appearance of your guide. At City Wonders, we strive to maintain a high level of professionalism, and we apologize for any lack of grooming that detracted from your experience. We will be sure to address this with our team and ensure that our guides maintain a professional appearance at all times. Thank you for choosing City Wonders, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on one of our tours in the future. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Less Traffic
    Severyn_S, Nov 2022
    Very informative guide and funny at that. It was a nice way to see the Colosseum, with a little less foot traffic. I was a little disappointed to realize after I booked it, it did not include the underground - that is for Saturday’s only (at least when we booked it). Overall, great tour.
    Couldn't find meeting location...
    Kym_C, Oct 2022
    We could not find the meeting place in time and completely missed it. So, it really wasn't terrible, but I'm out $200 and didn't get to see it.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hey Kym_C, We're so sorry to hear that you were unable to find your meeting point for your Colosseum by evening tour. On the booking voucher we always include directions to the meeting point along with GPS coordinates and pictures. Customers who have difficulty finding us are also invited to give us a call and our customer care team would be happy to direct you further. As we cannot accommodate late arrivals, we advise on the booking to be at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the starting time. Please give our customer service department a call when you get the chance to see if we may be able to reschedule your tour for a future date. We would be more than happy to help as we would hate for you to miss out on the experience you were hoping to share with us. Our phone lines can be found on the contact us tab of our website: Kindest regards, Edgar City Wonders
    Great tour!
    Michael_T, Oct 2022
    Great tour! The colosseum is so amazing and being able to see a recreation of the arena floor was fantastic. A little bit of a misnomer in the description though as we did not have an “optional” visit under the colosseum
    Euan_C, Oct 2022
    Nikolas, our guide, was excellent. Made the trip to the colosseum very special . Would recommend this trip to anybody
    Great tour knowledgeable...
    NITIN_B, Oct 2022
    Great tour knowledgeable guide. Really enjoyed. It was a great tour. Highly recommended for travelers
    My favorite trip to the Colosseum
    Kathryn_W, Oct 2022
    Damiano was wonderful! So knowledgeable and entertaining. I’ve been to the Colosseum before but this was my favorite experience. Give yourself enough time to find the meeting place. They’re very organized, but Rome is sometimes hard to navigate—they have clear instructions but it was still hard for some of us to find. But worth the search!
    Fascinating tour of the Colosseum
    Hilary_C, Oct 2022
    Fascinating narrative from Damiano - what he doesn’t know about the ancient Romans isn’t worth knowing. Really made the place come alive
    We could not find the...
    Thomas_O, Oct 2022
    We could not find the meeting place for tour to start on time. Agent on phone was not willing to give us a credit for the tour on a future date. Very rude. We will never use Viator again !
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Thomas, Apologies that you could not get to our meeting point in time for your tour of the Colosseum. We know how difficult it can be to find your way in a foreign city so to help our guests we always provide our contact numbers and we’re happy to offer further assistance when needed. We ask our customers to check in for their tours 15 minutes before the scheduled start time. Unfortunately, however, we cannot wait for late comers as this will result in delaying the whole group. We try to provide all our customers with reliable and available customer service every step of the way. We are sincerely sorry if this caused any inconveniences in your travels. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Not so much of a “Special Visit”
    Matthew_L, Oct 2022
    Our guide was amazing but the tour agency was terrible. There was no arena floor visit or “optional underground”. He let us know this in the beginning of the tour and told us that we should be refunded. Luckily, our guide still made our experience very enjoyable.
    Wonderful experience!
    Evan_F, Oct 2022
    Rita was a great guide. She did an amazing job at bringing the history of the Colosseum to life and she had a great sense of humor.
    Missed tour
    Walter_H, Oct 2022
    We went on a Vatican tour that started & ended late, causing us to miss the Roman Colosseum tour. I was looking forward to it but these things happen
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Walter_H, Apologies that you could not make your tour of the Colosseum with us. We lament to hear that you were on another tour and this was the reason as to why you could not make ours. Unfortunately, we cannot wait for late arrivals as this delays the rest of the group. Hopefully you give us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience in the future. All the best & safe travels, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Did not get to see it at night!
    Kimberly_S, Oct 2022
    The guide did not show up. We were told that there are no night tours in September. Why were we sold tickets? Please provide a refund.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Kimberly, Apologize for any and all inconveniences caused today. Please contact with your full name, booking reference number and preferred contact details so we may properly resolve what happened. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor


    2 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 86.06
    No Photo
    Colosseum Arena Floor Guided Tour with Ancient Rome Access


    2 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 86.06
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Colosseum Arena Floor Tour with Roman Forum


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    USD 110.19