Moonlight Tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome

Badge of ExcellenceRoma, Italy

From USD 96.17

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Marvel at the sights of Ancient Rome illuminated after dark on this nighttime tour. The already fascinating attractions like the Colosseum and other ruins take on an even more magical look under the moonlight. Enter the Colosseum after it closes to the general public for a VIP-style experience. Tour operates with a maximum of 25 people.
  • Night tour of Ancient Rome sights
  • Enjoy exclusive after-hours access to the Colosseum
  • Explore the amphitheater's arena and dungeons
  • Admire imperial ruins lit up after dark

What's Included

  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Professional guide
  • Skip-the-line tickets
  • Entry/Admission - Colosseum
  • Entry/Admission - Colosseum Underground
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Santi Cosma e Damiano
    Via dei Fori Imperiali, 1, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

Start time

07:00 pm

End point

  • Colosseo
    Piazza del Colosseo, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Roman Forum

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Via dei Fori Imperiali

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Backpacks are allowed but huge backpacks will not be permitted.
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions.
  • The dungeons of the Colosseum may be closed in the case of unfavorable weather conditions. In this case you will visit other areas of the Colosseum. We are not responsible for unfavorable weather conditions.
  • Please note: the tour departs 15 minutes after the meeting time.
  • If you arrive late you might lose a part of the tour or lose entry to the Colosseum!
  • Near public transportation
  • Please note that due regulations, this tour is not available for kids under the age of 6.
  • Please note that this tour involves social interaction at our office, a walk through Ancient Rome and last but not least entry into the Eternal City's most iconic symbol, the Colosseum. So if you are looking for a tour that is simply Colosseum please consider one of our other tours.
  • Due to Colosseum rules, no sharp objects, liquids glass bottle, drones, selfie sticks, perfumes & sprays are allowed. Only plastic water bottles are allowed.
  • A current valid passport or ID document is required on the day of the tour for the entrance at the Colosseum.
  • Please note the meeting point is at our office in Via Frangipane 30 00184 Roma. Please use Google Maps to ensure you find the location successfully.
  • Please note that due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not suitable for any persons with disabilities.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

It was about 10pm at this point so no crowds and no sun!


117 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 117 reviews
Excellent way to see the colosseum without the crowds.
Kenneth_B, Oct 2019
Beautiful, haunting and quiet. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. The nighttime view was awesome. Lots of walking. My college aged kids loved it.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Moonlight Tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome is indeed a fascinating experience. Thank you for reviewing us, Pennie!
Great way to see the Colosseum!
Kristin_B, Oct 2019
Our tour began with pizza and prosecco at the check in point. We then took a walking tour of the Forum area. You don't actually go into the ruins, but walk around on the street level above them. The tour was very informative, as they take you through the history of the area. The Colosseum at night is beautiful and quiet. Much different from the daytime crowds. I only wish there was more lighting on the floor of the arena so it could be seen better. We went into the underground area as well, which was very interesting to see. We really enjoyed the tour and would recommend it for people who would like to avoid the crowds. The tour guide was wonderful!
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Glad you enjoyed the pizza and prosecco and most importantly that you loved touring the Colosseum and learning about Ancient Rome. Thank you for choosing to book with us!
Good night tour but didn't include any entry to the forum per description.
Diane_B, Sept 2019
The forum part of the tour was informational but only included views from the main road, other tours were down in the forum itself which we expected from the description of what was included. The Colosseum part of the tour was as expected.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Thank you for your feedback, we have updated the description of this tour to better describe the experience. Thank you for choosing to book with us!
Not worth it, Rude customer service, Mateo was wonderful
Donna_v, Sept 2019
Tickets and website stated 7:30 start. When we arrived at 7:15 per instructions, they said no, 830...with no reason. Well it finally started at 9:00. We walked around for an hour, not really seeing anything/didn't enter any areas. Then at 10 we went to the colosseum. Which was interesting. Mateo was our first guide, and was wonderful! Unfortunately, we had a different guide at the colosseum who wasn't wonderful!
Response from Host, Sept 2019
As stated in the description page, due to availability the schedule is subject to change. Please note that the reason we call you in earlier is to get you checked in and prepared for the security check., this is all done to ensure the entrance goes smoothly and that you are covered security wise. As for the Colosseum guide, it is not imposed by us but by the company that has the rights to the Colosseum and so, unfortunately, you experienced a guide that was not a part of our company. Thank you for beautifully reviewing Matteo!
cgscion, Aug 2019
I am very disappointed, I thought we were going to be able to see the Colosseum first. We couldn't even see hardly anything by the time we got there. Not what I expected.
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Hello, As mentioned on the product page The Colosseum is the very last site you visit, as listed on your itinerary. This tour is a Moonlight tour which means it was specifically designed for those who wish to visit the Colosseum by night. We are very sorry you booked a tour that was not in line with what you actually desired. We hope you had a wonderful experience nevertheless!
Description and Info is Misleading
Pamela_F, Aug 2019
We arrived on time for the tour. Although I did go back and read where the first 45 mins are supposed to be when we all have an appetizer, NO ONE realized we would all be standing in some alley with plastic cups of Prosecco and cheese pizza. A number of us rushed from dinner to be at the tour at 8pm. We could’ve just came when this “appetizer” portion of the tour was over - complete waste of time. We left the meeting place at about 8:25 and spent 90 minutes walking around the city - not 45. It was as if they were trying to fill time with this and the appetizer to justify a three hour tour cost. It was great to see the Forum, but that could’ve been 45 minutes max. We then walked around and were told about whatever was on the way to the Colosseum. The actual Colosseum portion was 1:15. By the time we got there, though, everyone was irritable about the 90 minutes wasted on doing “filler” time. The actual Colosseum tour was pretty cool. But they again created a filler of 15 minutes with this stupid film depicting a Roman gladiator and his feelings before a fight. When walking around the Colosseum, it was mostly dark so you couldn’t see where you were walking. The guide didn’t have a flashlight and there was no mention of possibly needing one (people started to use the flashlight on their phones). At one point the guide was describing something but admitted we couldn’t see it because it was dark. Someone used their phone flashlight so we could see what she was talking about. Why wouldn’t the guide have something to illuminate areas she was talking about? This tour should be a max of two hours. But then they couldn’t charge as much as they do......
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Hello, Please note that the tour usually goes through as mentioned on the tour page unless there are security or health situations that lead to shifts in the way the tour is handled. We do our best to protect our clients during the heatwave. The video you mention is a part of the Colosseum's official presentation. As for the lighting, it is handled by the Colosseum staff but we will take your feedback to our guides and provide them with torches. The tour includes an appetizer to allow you to meet your group and share an experience. An appetizer is never dinner but simply includes some drinks a few snacks and fun times in good company. It is an Italian habit and often people have appetizers during the day just to meet up with friends and chat. As for the walk through Ancient Rome, as mentioned on the website it is a part of the tour and is meant to have you explore history, most of our clients genuinely love it as it is a unique opportunity to explore ancient times. Thus, no time fillers are required as the whole tour is designed as an exploration of ancient Roman society and is full of knowledge. Please note that if you wished to experience a shorter tour, we have different options available. I am sorry to learn you booked a tour that was not ideal for your preferences. In the future, please remember you can always contact our staff and let them know what you need so that they may recommend the tour type for you,
Mostly ancient Rome, some Collosseum
charles_r, Sept 2018
I highly recommend this tour. It was a great way to end our first full day, which was spent walking for 10 hours... so what was 3 more?! Just be aware that you will spend 2 hours walking around the area near the Colosseum, which was actually awesome since we had seen some of those places earlier in the day, but without a guide. The hour in the Colosseum was good, too. Probably all you need. Our second guide who took us around there wasn't as good as our first guide. So, not complaints, but I do wish we had started closer to on time, rather than a half hour late. Ah Italy!
It poured down rain a couple hours...
Jason_C, Aug 2018
It poured down rain a couple hours before we started our tour, which delayed the tour. However, the tour was great and both tour guides were excellent. It is definitely a unique experience to see the Colosseum for the first time at night. We loved the tour.
I highly recommend this tour...
David_B, Aug 2018
I highly recommend this tour, especially in the summer when the days are so hot! This was our second time doing this tour. I really enjoyed the appetizers and wine beforehand and loved our very enthusiastic and energetic tour guide, Fi! Being able to go into the Colosseum after dark, when it is closed to the public, is pretty magical!!
Excellent Night Tour
lialeon1990, July 2018
I went on this tour with my parents, brother and my husband last night. It was amazing. At the meeting point you're welcomed with a table with pizza, chips, olives and booze. From there our tour guide introduced herself and started the tour. I forgot her name but she was fantastic. Very knowledgable and enthusiastic. I actually wish she was our tour guide for every other tour I've taken. I'm sad she only gave us a tour of the first part which was of ancient Rome. She then handed us over to a 2nd tour guide for the Collosseum. It was about 10pm at this point so no crowds and no sun! This was perfect as it was about 95 degrees earlier in the day. We were taken inside to see the collosseum on 3 different levels. It was spectacular. I highly reccomend this night your as you avoid the crowds and the heat if you're visiting in the summer. Their tour guides are very knowledgable and friendly.
Longer than needed to be
jeff_a, July 2018
We specifically chose this tour in addition to our day tour of the Colosseum because we wanted to go into the dungeons and on the arena floor. We met at their office and or given pizza, cheese and wine, not quality but didn’t expect it to be. . After a lengthy walk of the neighborhood around the office and looking at the forum under lights, we made it to the Coliseum after about 2 1/2 hours. The tour of the underground was less than 30 minutes, 10 minutes on the arena floor, and about 20 minutes walking around the second deck of the Colosseum. We were told our tour started at 7:30 and I saw our paperwork to enter the Colosseum was scheduled for 10 PM, so we had 2 1/2 hour of filler touring the town. While we enjoyed the Colosseum part, walking around of the neighborhoods & Forum were very drawn out,
This was a fantastic night tour...
Robert_S, Jan 2018
This was a fantastic night tour. Before going to the Colosseum we had prosecco, pizza and nibbles. Then the most fantastic tour guide, Fi surprisingly from Liverpool, took us on the most wonderful walk with a brief history of ancient Rome. Her knowledge,enthusiasm and passion was a highlight. Then we were handed over to the Colosseum tour guide who took us through parts you can't normally get to on a normal ticket. A fascinating night, very enjoyable and glad we booked it.
We had so much fun! Having a small...
Michelle N, Dec 2017
We had so much fun! Having a small group aloud us to get to know the others. Our guide was awesome, the farm was interesting, the views were incredible, and getting to hear the Gregorian monks chant was an unbelievable experience we will always treasure. We also loved the little wine bar. Thanks!
Unfortunately, this tour was not all...
Russell F, Nov 2017
Unfortunately, this tour was not all we had hoped for. We had several problems with the technical equipment and our guide just didn't seem interested in resolving the problem. The first time, I waited until the guide took a break from speaking and I told her that my sound device stopped working and I couldn't hear her. She said the battery must be dead and handed me a new one and walked away. She didn't wait to see if it worked....and it didn't. So I waited for another pause, found her, and told her the new device didn't work. She did the same thing....handed me another device, didn't stick around to see if it worked, and never checked back in with me. I had to wait again for another pause and tell her I still did not have a working device.The third time this happened, she literally handed me all the extra devices she had and walked away. Then our friends had a similar problem, which none of us even bothered to address. She wasn't rude or dismissive...she just didn't seem to care whether or not our equipment was working, and certainly didn't try to find any kind of work around such as suggest we stay close to her on the tour so we could hear her. It was a disappointment but luckily not out first visit to the Colosseum so we didn't feel that we missed all that much. I hope in the future the tour company will check equipment before each tour and better train tour guides to handle issues when they arise.
This tour was very good, but the...
Gillian N, Oct 2017
This tour was very good, but the directions to the office where we were to meet were terrible!! The written instructions told us to take a little alley called Via del Colleseo, walk a few meters ahead and once you reach a little square with a restaurant. Opposite the restaurant is our office and meeting point. But, which way were we to go in the little alley? What was the name of the restaurant? Was it to the right or left on that street? What was the name of the tour office? Our group of 4 met up with another group of 4 similarly confused tour participants and, together, we asked 6 different local people working in the area if they could interpret where we were to meet staff in stores, hotels, police officers, and none of them could figure it out. Finally, we stumbled upon the little office in just enough time to take the tour. After that shaky start, the tour was well organized and interesting. I would recommend this to someone wanting to do a nighttime tour of the Colosseum and area, with the proviso to ask for more specific instructions than those printed on the tour receipt!
Both the guides were amazing but the...
Tarik C, Oct 2017
Both the guides were amazing but the tour itself was too long. I specifically selected the 90 minute tour of the Colosseum but it ended up being over 3 hrs. While I appreciate seeing ancient Rome at night, we had to cancel our dinner reservation because the tour that started around 7:10 ended after 10:30. It was also not easy to find the place where we met the tour guides. It is impossible for a tourist from a foreign country to find the place on their own. I sincerely hope you find a different place for initial gathering.
Thought this was very interesting...
Ronald E, Oct 2017
Thought this was very interesting and fun to see at night without the crowds! Two different tour guides but both very good. Skip the crowds and lines and do this one at night.
I would recommend this tour. We...
Roxanne C, Oct 2017
I would recommend this tour. We booked it ourselves, outside of the escorted tour we were on. i was very impressed with the overall experience and knowledge the guide had on Rome's history. The tour of the Colosseum was amazing as well.
This was an amazing tour. You get a...
Kira_b, Oct 2017
This was an amazing tour. You get a little wine and appetizer before you start your walk. It was a lot of walking but the tour guide was amazing. We saw a lot more than we thought we would including a walk to Capitoline Hill and the Victor Emmanuel 2 monument.
This was an awesome after hours...
Alexandra_K, Oct 2017
This was an awesome after hours tour. After the tourist rush is over, you walk and listen to interesting history of Rome and the Colosseum. Our guide Vivian was really great, sharing history in a way that really stays in your mind. They offered appetizers and drinks before departure, which was a nice welcome. Definitely recommend it!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Moonlight Tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 96.17
No Photo
Colosseum Under the Moonlight


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 71.04
No Photo
Moonlight Colosseum Tour


1 hour
Free Cancellation
USD 218.57
No Photo
Moonlight Tour in Rome


3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 97.26