Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel

Vatican City, Italy

From USD 34.83

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)


The Vatican Museums are among the largest museums in the world and with over five million annual visitors they can get incredibly crowded. This self-guided tour is ideal for those who want to take their time and not be restricted by a guided tour. Save time with fast-track, skip-the-line entrance tickets, browse the galleries at your own pace, and visit the magnificent Sistine Chapel at a time that suits you.
  • Skip-the-line entrance: avoid the long queues and head straight inside
  • See magnificent artworks by Michelangelo, Raphael, Titian, and Bernini
  • Self-guided tour: spend the entire day exploring the museums
  • Choice of entrance times to suit your schedule

What's Included

  • Entrance to the Vatican Museums
  • Entrance to the Sistine Chapel
  • Skip the Line entrance tickets
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Ticket Redemption Point

Via Germanico, 8, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Vatican Museums

2 hours 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Sistine Chapel

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Please be informed that the Vatican Museums provide wheelchair free of charge in the main lobby. You can easily pick one up upon entering, before starting your own independent visit.
  • If you are looking for a tour with wheelchair access you can choose our private wheelchair accessible tour so our guide can lead you through an alternate route.
  • Please note also that - the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica maintains a strict dress code year-round. All visitors must have their shoulders covered and pants/skirts must come to the knee. Please wear comfortable shoes.
  • Backpacks, tripods and big umbrellas must be left inside the cloakroom upon entering Vatican Museum. To reduce any disruption for your group, we recommend that backpacks are not taken on this tour.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Please arrive 25 minutes before the activity starts at the meeting point VIA GERMANICO 8 (Tours About). late comers will not be guaranteed with the entrance.
  • St. Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel close without notice on rare occasions; if this happens, no refund will be issued
  • The ticket can be used only for entrance not for guided tours. No external guide can enter with Tours about vouchers. the Guided tour can be purchased only through Tours About.
  • Individuals with Disabilities MUST NOTE it on their booking.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

it started at close to 10, but the wait in line outside was incredibly long, over an hour, even for prebooked tours.
Booking fast track was easy, voucher received by email straight away.
Skip a line was great but tour guides were a bit disorganized.


837 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 837 reviews
Great tour but better to...
Beth_M, May 2023
Great tour but better to do it when it isn't so hot and so many people. Our guide was very knowledgeable and witty.
Wasted a lot of time.
Vimal_S, May 2023
Bought the tickets online. Went to the location agents office, 30 minutes before our time; we had scheduled to be at the Vatican at 1:30 pm finish the visit and head to St Peter’s Basilica and then back to Forum. The tour operator kept telling us we will leave in the next 10 minutes. Finally left the tour office at 3:00 pm. Waited outside the Vatican for another 20 minutes. Missed seeing the Basilica.
Easy entry
Maria_S, May 2023
Easy to find office, friendly staff and guide. Seamless entry. Vatican museums and St Peter's basillica were the highlight of our trip
Very much a must do!
Kevin_C, May 2023
We enjoyed going up into the Dome! This was the most memorable! Seeing the Sistine Chapel was very serial after learning about it my whole life!
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Valued customer, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Dome and found it to be the most memorable part of your visit. The Dome offers breathtaking views and a unique perspective of the surroundings. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we're glad that we could contribute to making your visit memorable and fulfilling. If there is anything else we can assist you with or if you have any further feedback, please feel free to reach out. We're here to ensure that you have a wonderful and enriching experience. Thank you!
Scam, hustlers, taking advantage of tourists
Ryan_S, May 2023
Scammers, hustlers. Avoid this company if you can, & if you have to don’t fall for the scam of having to buy the extra tour for entrance to st.peters. The scam, they tell you your skip the line ticket won’t get you into the basilica, but it totally will! They tell you that you have to buy the add on tour to enter & tell you that you’ll have to exit the museums & wait in a long line & pay extra. But that’s a total lie!!! & then they only take cash, for which they conveniently have an atm for your use. Said atm has the highest fees I’ve seen in all of Europe!!! charged $50 in fees!!! Don’t fall victim avoid & if you do have to get the skip the line ticket from them, don’t fall for the added “ tour” scam!!!
Bad experience
Radostina_D, May 2023
We’ve bought tickets for Vatican and Sistine chapel at 134 EUR for 2 adults and 2 children for skip the line entry. Our initial ticket was for 3:00 and not only did we not skip the line but we entered at 4 p.m. we had limited time to view the museums and had to leave at 6, as the guards started to close the museums. We barely saw the basic stuff through a rush and we’re very disappointed with the organization. Do not recommend as we paid twice the normal price for zero added value.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Customer, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your visit. During peak seasons, such as holidays or popular travel periods, the number of visitors can significantly impact the overall visitor experience. We understand that time constraints and the rush to see the exhibits can diminish the overall experience. We regret that you were unable to fully appreciate the museums and the attractions they offer. Once again, we apologize for the disappointment you experienced, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better and more enjoyable visit in the future.
The staff taking us in...
Gary_H, May 2023
The staff taking us in we’re impolite and unprofessional- We were herded through from beginning to end - made for an awful afternoon- nothing spiritual about it and nothing to do with Jesus !
Quick entrance only. If...
Kathleen_G, May 2023
Quick entrance only. If you have more time pick up an audio device- extra cost. Be prepared for extreme crowds
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your observation regarding the quick entrance provided by our service. We understand that time is valuable, and our skip-the-line tickets aim to minimize waiting times, allowing you to make the most of your visit. We also offer an optional audio device at an additional cost for those who prefer a more immersive and informative experience. This allows you to delve deeper into the attractions and gain a better understanding of the historical and cultural significance. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we continuously work towards improving our services and providing the best possible experience for our customers. Thank you!
Easy and as described
Chris_R, May 2023
Trip was as described. Skip the line tickets. This is for tickets only and no guide, just as we wanted. This does the museum and Sistine chapel. St. Peter’s square and basilica is free and a different part
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Customer, thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you found our skip-the-line tickets to be efficient and cost-effective. Our goal is to provide a hassle-free experience and help our customers save valuable time during their visits. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we're delighted that our skip-the-line tickets allowed you to gain more time for your visit. We believe that maximizing your experience is crucial, and we're pleased to have contributed to that. If you have any further feedback or if there's anything else we can assist you with, please feel free to reach out. We're here to ensure that you have a memorable and enjoyable visit. Thank you!
Molly_B, May 2023
Completely overbooked. Pushed shoulder to shoulder with the crowd all the way through the Museum and Chapel. Didn't get to see anything for more than 20 seconds.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, we sincerely apologize for the crowded experience you encountered during your visit to the Museum and Chapel. We understand how frustrating it can be when the crowds hinder your ability to fully enjoy and appreciate the attractions. It's important to note that booking limits and visitor capacity are determined and enforced by the Vatican, as they strive to manage the flow of visitors and preserve the cultural heritage of the Museum and Chapel. During peak seasons, such as holidays or popular travel periods, the number of visitors can significantly impact the overall visitor experience. While we strive to provide our customers with the best possible experience, we do not have control over the number of visitors allowed inside the attractions at any given time. However, we continuously communicate with the Vatican and advocate for measures to improve the visitor experience, including crowd management techniques and scheduling adjustments. Your feedback is essential to us, and we appreciate you sharing your concerns. Thank you.
Would definitely...
Colette_J, May 2023
Would definitely recommend skip the queue as they were so long. We were happy not to have a guided tour
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a great time using our skip-the-queue service. Skipping the long lines can indeed save valuable time and enhance your overall visit. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, as it means a lot to us. It serves as a testament to our commitment to providing efficient skip-the-queue services that enhance our customers' experiences. Thank you!
Avoid this company
ANDREW_B, May 2023
The company that we were directed to for the fast track entry by Viator was very unprofessional , very poor communication re the very time consuming process, we were sold a completely useless "audioguide" for €10.00 they would only accept cash, facilitated by using their cash machine. The whole feel of this company was very unpleasant, totally user unfriendly. Avoid
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, we apologize for the negative experience you had, understand the frustration caused by the time-consuming procedures and the inconvenience of having to pay for an audioguide. We will take your feedback into account and evaluate the suitability of recommending such services in the future to avoid similar inconveniences for our customers. Once again, we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had and any inconvenience caused. Thank you.
Forced to miss it due to ground strike
ann, May 2023
Due to a pending airport strike at Rome Airport, our flight was cancelled for 5/19/23. We were forced to head to the airport on 5/18/23 instead of the Vatican so we could stand on line for hours and reschedule a different flight for our departure are Friday 5/18/2023. We are requesting a refund for the full amount under the circumstances surrounding the situation. I emailed Viator and notified them but did not hear back. I’ve been using Viator for years and recommend them all of the time to our family and friends. Now I am asking for help. Thank you in advance. Sincerely, Ann Armenti
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, we would like you to know that we sadly cannot proceed any refund requests through reviews. We kindly ask you to reach the Viator and ask to file a refund request. Thank you!
Don't buy their tickets
yochay_b, May 2023
The time of the tour changed drastically one day before the tour, it took more than 90 minutes to 'skip the line', we stood in another line while the the usual line was going much faster. Disaster
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Customer, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with the changes to the tour time and the lengthy wait to skip the line at the attraction. We understand that these unexpected changes and inefficiencies impacted your overall experience, and we deeply regret any disappointment caused. We strive to provide accurate and up-to-date information regarding tour schedules and efficient skip-the-line services. However, in this instance, it appears that we fell short of meeting your expectations, and we take full responsibility for the inconvenience you encountered. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with tour services. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with a much-improved experience.
Visitor didn't deliver.
Paul_B, May 2023
Your company did not provide the tickets as contracted. When I asked about a refund your agent who called to tell me I was not getting my tickets less than a day before I was supposed to go could not provide an immediate refund. Missed out on the Vatican a museum because of this. Very disappointed and will be sharing this negative experience.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. We deeply regret any confusion or miscommunication that may have occurred during this process. Our aim is always to provide a seamless and reliable experience for our customers, and we acknowledge that we fell short of meeting your expectations in this instance. Regarding your request for an immediate refund, we understand the urgency and regret that we were unable to provide a resolution promptly. We apologize for any additional inconvenience this may have caused you. If there is anything we can do to rectify the situation or assist you further, please let us know. We genuinely appreciate your understanding and patience.
Excellent tour of the Sistine Chapel
Franklin_W, May 2023
This is one of the best experiences of our trip. The Vatican museum and the Sistine Chapel are incredible. It took my breath away when we walked into the Chapel. Totally worth the trip. The exchange of tickets were easy and get right in the museum without any lineups.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We're thrilled to hear that your experience at the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel was one of the highlights of your trip. It's truly a remarkable place, and we're glad you had the opportunity to witness its beauty firsthand. Your kind words mean a lot to us and serve as a motivation for our team to continue delivering exceptional experiences. We're honored to have played a part in making your visit to the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel a memorable one. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future for more remarkable experiences.
Scam service
Andrew_M, May 2023
Still waiting on a refund for this completely bogus scam. No skip the line, just desperate agents trying to plug holes and exchange tickets that HAVE NOT been secured in advance. It’s easier and far cheaper to just line up and purchase tickets directly. SCAM! Be warned.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We understand your frustration regarding the situation you described, and we take such matters seriously. we recommend reaching out to our customer support team directly. They can provide you with specific information and updates regarding your refund status. We apologize for any confusion or disappointment caused and appreciate your patience while we address your concerns. Thank you.
Vatican Museums excellent
Josh_T, May 2023
Bring your hiking shoes. The fast track skip the line pass is definitely worth the price. We chose no tour guide because we were moving quickly, more absorbing all the art than studying deep.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Client, thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you found the fast track skip-the-line pass to be worth the price and that it allowed you to move quickly and absorb the art at your own pace. Your suggestion to bring hiking shoes is noted, as exploring the museum can indeed involve a fair amount of walking. We appreciate your choice to enjoy the art without a tour guide and focus on absorbing the overall experience. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to serving you again!
Vatican museum
Dorothy_D, May 2023
We met up with Marco our guid throughout the museum and the Sistine chapel. He was extremely pleasant and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. The expert was made easier by the voucher ticket exchange process.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear customer, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to meet Marco, your guide, who provided you with an extremely satisfiying tour throughout the museum and the Sistine Chapel. It's fantastic to know that Marco's expertise enhanced your visit and that the voucher ticket exchange process was made easier for you. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back for more memorable experiences in the future!
Very disappointing
sally_p, May 2023
We booked a skip the line tour at 2.30pm. It was changed the day before to 3.30pm. On the day we joined the main queue and did not get into the building until after 4pm. The queue for the Sistene chapel was over an hour and the building closed at 6pm. It was very disappointing.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear customer, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the timing of your skip-the-line tour. We understand that the change in schedule and the subsequent delay in entering the building greatly affected your overall experience. We apologize for falling short of your expectations and for the disappointment caused by the long queue for the Sistine Chapel, especially considering the limited time available before the building closed. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will take it into account to improve our scheduling and crowd management for a smoother and more enjoyable visit in the future. Thank you!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 34.83
No Photo
Fast Track Tickets to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel


7 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 43.52
No Photo
Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Basilica Entry skip the line


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 38.09
No Photo
Sistine Chapel First Entry Experience with Vatican Museums


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 69.65