Icons of Rome in 1 day: Vatican & Colosseum Skip the Line Tours

Badge of ExcellenceRoma, Italy

From USD 108.47

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours 15 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Combine a trip to two of Rome’s greatest sites in one day. Take advantage of special no-wait entry at the Vatican and skip-the-line access to the Colosseum during this full-day tour. While others wait in line, you experience the majesty of the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel followed by the ancient glory of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and Roman Forum, all with an expert guide.
  • Full-day Rome combo with skip-the-line walking tours of the Vatican Museums, and Colosseum
  • Combine two best-selling Rome tours in one memorable day, led by expert guides
  • Avoid the lines at the Colosseum and explore its first and second tiers
  • Enjoy free time between the Vatican and Colosseum visits

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Skip-the-line passes to the Vatican Museums and Colosseum mean you can save hours of waiting-in-line time during high season. Although not all areas require special clothing, be sure shoulders and knees are covered for when you explore holy sites.

What's Included

  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Reserved Skip-the-Line Accessn to Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica
  • Reserved Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill
  • Audio headset so you can always hear your guide at the Colosseum
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Transfers between the two tours

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Start the day with a border crossing into Vatican City, where you breeze past the long lines and through an exclusive partner entrance into the ornate Vatican Museums. More than 200 tour operators have “Skip the Line” entry to the Vatican, but this Official Partner Tour grants you special access through the Private Partner Entrance, which allows you to enter immediately, saving up to four hours during peak season and giving you even more time to explore the beauty of the Museums.

Once inside, you and your small group enjoy all the highlights of the Vatican with an expert guide by your side. The tour takes in a treasure trove of artistic wonders, from masterworks such as Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel frescoes. Throughout the tour, your expert, English-speaking guide shares fascinating insights only a local could know.

After your Vatican tour, enjoy free time to sample some authentic Italian cuisine (own expense) before meeting your next expert guide for a tour of the historical heart of ancient Rome. Begin by skipping yet another line to enter the Colosseum immediately. Dominating the center of the Eternal City, this ancient arena puts modern stadiums to shame.

Then your tour continues to the Palatine Hill, where Rome originated in a battle between two brothers. You are then taken from the origin of ancient Rome to its hub: The Forum, that bustling marketplace where business, politics, and religion mixed. No other tour takes you so close to so much of the history, significance, and fabulous riches of Rome.

Please note: During the low season, the itinerary described operates in reverse. Tour the Colosseum and Roman Forum in the morning, followed by the Vatican Museums.


2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Roman Forum

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Palatine Hill

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Vatican City

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Vatican Museums

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Sistine Chapel

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

St. Peter's Basilica

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Only very small bags are allowed.
  • Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women to enter to the venue
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Depending on your morning tour start time (9am or 10am), you will have between 1h30 and 2h30 break between the Colosseum and Vatican tours.
  • You have to make your own way from the Colosseum to the Vatican. There is plenty of time to travel either by taxi or metro.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Take pictures when possible, so you can look at details later.
Travellers be aware though that the two tours involve a lot of walking, so pack your most comfortable shoes!
Bring sunscreen and a hat, and possibly a parasol, but mind your belongings.


1,080 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,080 reviews
Vatican was very unorganised and very rushed
Denise_B, June 2023
Colesseum was great , the guide was great and very knowledgeable, vatican not so good you were rushed through with not much chance of taking in the beauty and history
Good tour but very crowded during our time
Kathleen_F, May 2023
Sistine chapel was too crowded, everyone was talking in the silent places. It wasn't the tour's fault but the rude guests. The best part of the Vatican was St Peter's basilica.
Keep transportation in mind!!!
Sandra_M, May 2023
Tour guide was great. But, beware, there is no transportation between the Colosseum and the Vatican. You are on your own. Rome is a crazy place. Our ticket said our tour started at the colosseum but when we got there, they said it started at the Vatican. $20 taxi ride to the Vatican and then had to taxi back to the colosseum $48!!! Was not expecting the extra expense or hassle of finding our own transportation between places.
A long but rewarding day.
Nigel_B, May 2023
Guides to both trips were excellent, hitting the right levels of information without over killing the subject matter. They were enthusiastic and understanding, perfect English- thank you !!! The trip to the Colosseum was perfectly timed for early morning. The afternoon trip to the Vatican was chaotic, I did not like being ordered around the Sistine Chapel, it was overcrowded and there was nothing spiritual about it.. The Basilica made up for it.
Carisa_T, May 2023
Viator messed up our time and squeezed us into a different tour. We made it to the colosseum but did not get to make it to the Vatican because viator messed up our times compared to what they had us scheduled for in Rome.
Response from Host, June 2023
Hello Carisa_T, We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your tour schedule. We strive to provide seamless and enjoyable experiences for our customers, and we regret that your expectations were not met on this occasion. We would like to investigate this matter further to understand what occurred and ensure that it is properly addressed. To assist us in resolving this issue, we kindly request that you reach out to us directly at with your booking reference number. Providing us with this information will enable us to investigate the discrepancy and take appropriate measures to prevent similar incidents in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we appreciate your cooperation. We look forward to hearing from you and resolving this matter to your satisfaction. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
WORST tour group (CITY WONDERS)!!!!!!
Cherry_D, May 2023
We booked for a guided tour inside vatican museum, sistine chapel and st peter’s basilica. Instead they just gave us a ticket to go inside without a tour guide. They said that they were sold out on the guided tour but I booked the guided tour 3-4 months ago. It was a headache as I was with my toddler and we even got lost inside. I will NEVER ever rexommend this tour group (CITY WONDER). They even said that they will just me a partial refund. I reached out to viator and they don’t want to give me a partial refund.
Response from Host, May 2023
Hello Cherry_D, We are disappointed to read about your inadequate experience with us at the Vatican. Please reach out to us via email at with your booking reference number so that we may look closer at your case. We have already processed a partial refund for the downgraded experience, and we will absolutely work to ensure this does not happen again and all our experiences are up to standard. We thank you for your feedback, and once again apologize for the inconveniences caused on your travels. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
JANET_M, May 2023
When you plan some very historical sights as a tour and to hear when you get to both of these that you're not down on their list, this brings undue anxiety and frustration. Who wants that after the money you paid, almost seems like a scam. It wasn't just us, there was at least 3 other couples this happened to. They said wait at the end of the line and "see" if we can fit you in. We all did get to go, but it did not put us in a good frame of mind. This is not professional at all, I don't know if it's Viator or City Wonders Ltd, but to take everyone's money and then treat them like that is not right. Viator, you should look into this.
Response from Host, May 2023
Hi JANET_M, We apologize for the frustration and anxiety you experienced during your Icons of Rome in 1 day: Vatican & Colosseum Skip the Line Tours. We understand that being informed that you were not on the list upon arrival can be distressing. We assure you that this is not the standard of service we strive to provide. To assist you further and address your concerns, we kindly request that you provide us with your booking reference number. Please send it to us at With this information, we can investigate the issue thoroughly and take appropriate measures to prevent such incidents from occurring in the future. We regret any negative impact this had on your tour experience, and we appreciate your patience and understanding. Our aim is to ensure a seamless and enjoyable experience for all our guests. We will work closely with our team to address the situation and ensure improved professionalism and communication moving forward. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your cooperation in providing us with your booking reference number. We look forward to assisting you further. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
This was a good tour just...
Wanda_M, Apr 2023
This was a good tour just a little shocked to have to take a taxi from one destination to another without much time for lunch
Group Colosseum tour..Vatican sprint and chaos
Preeta_B, Apr 2023
The Colosseum tour was great..The guide was very knowledgeable and engaging The Vatican tour was a mess. The guide spent a very long time outside talking about the paintings in the Sistine Chapel and then literally sprinted through the Vatican..She rambled on about this and that but it was very hard to follow - there was no coherent thread in the narrative and she walked too fast without checking to see if we were following. Our family and another got separated from the group and the guide didn't even wait.
Worst experience ever!!!
ighergu26, Apr 2023
The tour started 30 to 40 minutes later than it was scheduled. Because we started so late and because it was a super busy day, the tour guide rushed us through the Vatican Museums in order to get to the Sistine Chapel because it was closing for tour groups. In the middle of literary running to the chapel and trying to make our way through the crowd, my niece got pushed and lost her balance and dislocated her ankle. We ended up in the ER room where we waited for 5 hrs. If your tour guide rushes you, just let them go and take your time and look around at your pace. Also stay safe!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hello ighergu26, We are deeply sorry to hear about the unfortunate incident that occurred during your Full Day Combo: Vatican and Colosseum Skip the Line Guided Tour, and we offer our sincere condolences for what happened to your niece. Your feedback is important to us, and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have experienced during the tour. We understand that the delayed start and rushed pace due to the closing time of the Sistine Chapel on a busy day may have impacted your experience. We take this feedback seriously and will address it with our tour guides to ensure that our guests have ample time to enjoy the attractions at their own pace while also prioritizing safety. We appreciate your reminder to our guests to prioritize their safety and take their time during the tour. The well-being of our guests is our top priority, and we will continue to emphasize this to our tour guides and staff. Please know that we are committed to providing excellent service and experiences to our customers, and we will take your feedback into consideration for future improvements. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope that your niece has fully recovered. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
Best tour guide ever!
Martin_L, Apr 2023
Sylvia with the colosseum tour was the best tour guide I have ever ever had! I travel world wide and she was the best I ever had. Funny, knowledgeable, read the group for what they wanted and needed out of the tour! If there was a higher rating, she would get that from us. I cannot not say enough how she went beyond making this bucket list so memorable us! We are still talking about her and how happy and grateful that we got to take a tour with her! 100%.
Great tour! Would do it again.
Laura_B, Mar 2023
Great tours! They were very informative and the tour guides answered all of our questions. Just a word to the wise… there is a lot of walking and standing around. My back started aching after awhile but I’m just old.
I give 10/10 to Jaber and our guide at Vatican
Khalid_B, Mar 2023
The archeological wonders of the colosseum and the grandeur of Vatican Our tour guides were wonderful
Sherry_B, Mar 2023
My tour guide was Excellent! Very animated, passionate; beautiful curly black hair in furry, stylish black coat, leggings and boots. She made the tour Very enjoyable and helped me to gat to vatCity afterwards. Thank you.
Knowledgeable Guides
Patrick_S, Mar 2023
Both tour guides were very informative and extremely knowledgeable about the locations they shared with us. While the groups were large (24 people), the guides did a good job navigating through crowded spaces and answering individual questions.
Highlight of trip
Peter_S, Mar 2023
The coliseum with Nick and the Vatican with the other guide was extremely well done. They were both informative and well spoken.
The guides were very...
Lynette_R, Mar 2023
The guides were very knowledgable, helpful and friendly. The tour to palentine hill was amazing with the terrace views!
Rome is everything you imagine it to be
Lynn_W, Mar 2023
Seeing the colosseum for the first time what an amazing structure that brings to life all those films you have seen in your life. The Vatican experience was rushed with little time to truly appreciate its greatness
Great tour for short 1 day visit
Brinnet_P, Feb 2023
Colosseum was our first part and Emilio our guide was great! He was so passionate about the topics and provided so much great information. Wow he was super! These are 2 different tours and you must get a taxi at the end of the first to the other. They are about 5km away from each other. Elena our tour guide for the Vatican was very nice . She knew a lot of the information. Great tours to see a lot. Does take the entire day.
Very nice tour and good...
Luciano_V, Feb 2023
Very nice tour and good guides. We loved being able to see both things same day. Definitely recommend

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Icons of Rome in 1 day: Vatican & Colosseum Skip the Line Tours


8 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
USD 108.47
No Photo
Rome: Vatican Museums and Colosseum Skip-the-Line Tour


9 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 97.51
Special Offer
No Photo
Rome in a Day Tour with Vatican and Colosseum


7 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 185.92
USD 102.25