Private Vatican Hidden Gems Tour

Badge of ExcellenceRome, Italy
Private Vatican Tour with Hidden Gems
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 346.48

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 to 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Skip-the-line at the Vatican Museums on this tour of one of the world’s most renowned collections of art. With a private guide, go straight inside the complex to admire the Vatican’s architecture, marvel at works by masters like Raphael and Caravaggio, and see some of the ‘hidden,’ off-the-beaten-path sites that many visitors miss. Of course, you visit the Sistine Chapel to see Michelangelo’s famous frescoes, and enter St. Peter’s Basilica from the museums, avoiding the main entrance line.
  • Explore the Vatican Museums on a skip-the-line tour
  • See the Sistine Chapel and visit St. Peter's Basilica
  • A private guide ensures a personalized experience
  • Round-trip transfers from your Rome hotel included

What's Included

  • Private Walking Tour
  • Professional Licensed Blue Badge Tour Guide
  • Hotel pickup with Sanitized Vehicle (centrally located hotels. Within Aurelian Walls)
  • Access to the Rooms of Raphael or Cabinet of Masks
  • Skip The lIne Tickets
  • St. Peter's Dome and drop off service (if Luxury Option Selected)
  • +1 hour guiding service St. Petr's Dome (if Luxury Option selected)
  • Food & Beverage

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

Pick up from centrally located accommodations (within the Aurelian Walls)

What To Expect

Vatican Museums

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Sistine Chapel

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

St. Peter's Square

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

La Pieta (Pass By)

St. Peter's Basilica

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Cupola di San Pietro

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • St. Peter's Basilica may close at the last minute for ceremonies or masses without warning
  • Stroller accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved - comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Please advise in case of mobility issues - wheelchair partly accessible
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

Personal attention, great guide, plus you get to pass everyone and see extra things that others didn't see.
Since it was New Year's Eve, the tour company arranged to pick us up earlier than originally scheduled so that we would be able to see all of the Vatican before its early closing.


195 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 195 reviews
It was worth every cent of the price.
Nancy_B, Sept 2023
Our guide was a complete professional who exhibited a true “labor of love” in conducting the tour. He made this ‘bucket list’ event for us all the more special by his wealth of knowledge coupled with his warm presentation.
Elisa Dattile a Treasure
Frederic_F, Aug 2023
Our guide, Elisa Dattile was so good. She gave so much information as we traveled thru the museum. Unfortunately my wife got overheated due the the intense heat and we had to leave mid tour. If we ever get back to Rome I would love to have Elisa give us another tour. Anyone who is lucky enough to get her as their guide is in for a real treat.
Amazing Vatican experience
Oksana_S, Aug 2023
Our guide, Mirta, was fantastic. The tour was very informative, we got to see and experience the Vatican and all of its treasures and beauty. I would highly recommend this tour
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Ciao Oksana, thank you for taking time in sending this lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed your time with Mirta. The Vatican Museums are a stunning experience for everyone's eyes and soul, we believe that touring with a private guide makes this even more amazing!
Rendel_S, July 2023
This tour was absolutely incredible. I questioned the price at first, but after seeing the long lines to get in plus the large groups all trying to keep track of someone with a flag on an umbrella, I was happy we did a private Vatican tour. We had a 17 month old baby in a stroller and a 66 year celebrating her birthday, so we needed the flexibility to make stops or rest on multiple occasions. Our guide Tania was phenomenal and even helped carry the stroller up and down stairs. I would highly recommend this tour!!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you! We're honored you found our private Vatican tour incredible, especially with a baby and a birthday celebration in tow. Tania sounds like a star, and we're glad she made your experience so special. Looking forward to your next adventure with us!
The guide was terrific. ...
Reba_R, June 2023
The guide was terrific. We learned so much and really appreciated the added areas we were able to see as part of the tour. Getting to get out of the crowds and see something special was a real treat.
Response from Host, July 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a terrific experience with our guide. It's delightful to know that you learned a lot and enjoyed the additional areas we included in the tour. Escaping the crowds and discovering something special is what we aim for, and we're glad you found it to be a real treat. Your kind words mean a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back soon for more memorable adventures! If you have any other feedback or questions, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels!
Ornella was incredible!
eugene_z, May 2023
Our guide, Ornella, was incredible. She was very knowledgable and thorough. She explained the history, the nuance of the art and made it very interesting. The sistine chapel, the rafaello rooms and the climb to the dome are a must.
Totally worth it!
April_T, Apr 2023
Such and incredible tour. Our guide was highly educated in the history and made the tour so much more interesting! We also got to go in a private section of the Vatican museum. Super cool experience!
Wasted valuable money on these tickets.
Linda_G, Apr 2023
Super disappointed in this trip! We splurged on very expensive tickets as we expected to skip the lines and get to see some Vatican ‘gems’ that were not on a general admission tour. That was not the case. Other than the first line to purchase entry - we waited in line along with everyone else. We saw nothing hidden and I guide’s English was difficult to understand.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent Vatican Museums Hidden Gems tour. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we would like to address your concerns. First and foremost, we appreciate your honesty as it helps us to improve our services and offer better experiences to our future clients. We have taken the time to investigate the issues you mentioned, and we would like to share some insights with you. Regarding the hidden gems, we can confirm that our guide took you to the Cabinet of Masks and the Room of the Animals, which are exclusive areas reserved only for a few tour operators in the world. We apologize if you did not feel that these were unique experiences. Regarding the lines, we would like to clarify that our tour includes skip-the-line tickets for the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. However, we cannot control the mandatory security line, which is necessary for all visitors, including those with skip-the-line tickets. Additionally, during the high season and Easter period, the number of visitors to the Vatican Museums can be exceptionally high, leading to longer wait times. We understand that you did not feel that your skip-the-line tickets were useful for the security check line. Regarding St. Peter's Dome, we regret that we could not provide you with the tour due to an unexpectedly long queue. As a place of worship and a free admission site, we cannot purchase skip-the-line tickets in advance. Our guide informed you of the queue and asked if you wished to wait in line, but you declined. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We value your feedback and appreciate your consideration of our services in the future. We would be delighted to offer you special treatment on your next visit to make up for any shortcomings you experienced on your previous tour. Thank you again for choosing Eyes of Rome for your Vatican Museums tour. Best regards, Eyes of Rome Customer Care Team
Karen_W, Feb 2023
This was absolutely a very in depth tour of the Vatican that I could never have planned on my own without missing anything. Our tour guide was absolutely top notch. I highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Karen How lovely is to receive your feedback. We are pleased you rate both this tour and your guide as outstanding! Great memories like these ones are what we love to achieve for our customers on a daily basis. Thanks for choosing Eyes of Rome again and we hope to see you again!
Highlight of my trip to Rome!
Jerome_H, Nov 2022
St. Peter’s Basilica is staggeringly beautiful, and the opportunity to see areas of the museums off limits to most tourists was well worth the modest added cost. Overall, this private tour was beyond any expectation… and having a lovely and brilliant guide like Azzurra made all the difference. Strongly recommend!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you so much, Jerome, for your kind review and words. The Eyes of Rome team and Azzurra send you our best greetings, hoping to see you again in Rome soon!
Great experience
Brian_B, Sept 2022
Tour was amazing. Saw everything possible in the timeframe and didn’t feel rushed. The dome was a great experience. Our guide was exceptional.
Response from Host, Sept 2022
Ciao Brian, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are extremely pleased to learn your experience was great. Thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you soon in Rome again!
Excellent Tour!
Brandon_R, Aug 2022
The Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica were absolutely a joy to tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pick up and drop off at our hotel was seamless and made the trip very easy. Our guide provided great narration of all the art pieces and various places throughout the tour. He also pointed out some great spots to take pictures. Highly recommended!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Brando, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to see you enjoyed the tour with us. Since your guide name isn't mentioned, we will share your positive comment among us all :) We hope to see you again in Rome!
An experience I will cherish forever
mzjvw4bcf5, Aug 2022
We opted for the transport roundtrip and the top of the Basilica. The transport was on time and efficient. An Uber might have worked just as well and might have been better for us as we could have stayed longer at the end. Our guide was easy to find, efficient, and enthusiastic. We were a tough crowd with two teenagers and my father who is more of fantasy sports guy. She did a great job; and the shock and awe of the whole place was more than enough for all. I had done a Vatican tour on a prior trip and this tour definitely had more sculpture than the prior tour which as I recall had been almost exclusively paintings. I think this was a better tour. This was July 19th. It was crowded and "skip the line" is of extreme value. I don't know how anyone could do the Vatican without a guide. I really prefer small/private tours and this one was indeed our group of six only. The trip to the top of the basilica was a highlight for me and an experience I will always cherish. I had no issue but my parents are in their seventies and did have to stop to rest three times, the guide was attentive and understanding. None of us are "big people" but beware if you are, that last spiral staircase is tight. I recommend any "big people" or claustrophobics look at a youtube video of this climb before signing on. Because of the relatively long wait for the Basilica climb (July in Rome is very crowded with tourists) and my parents rest stops on the climb we had basically no time in St. Peter's before our transport. I kind of wish we had taken care of transport on our own so we could have decided when to leave. Our group consisted of me, my wife, two teenagers, and my parents in their 70's, All six of us put this tour in the top three experiences of our two week three city tour of Europe.
Great tour!
egwaterboy, July 2022
Wow! Marco really knows his stuff! He helped us navigate the crowds, made sure my daughter on crutches had access, showed us the highlights, surprised us with seldom seen corridors, and was patient and thoughtful!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to raite Marco's tour! We, at Eyes of Rome, are extremely happy to read your comment and most of all that your experience with us went well! We wish to see you soon in Rome and to tour with you again soon! Marco and Eyes of Rome
Fantastic private Vatican tour
Terence_B, July 2022
Great private tour, Bi⁰liana was fantastic as a guide. Transportation from and to our hotel was much appreciated and needed due to the heat of the summer. A private guide made it easy for us to ask questions and pursue our interests versus following a crowd. Very much recommended.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Terence, Grazie for your review and for raiting Biliana a 5-stars guide! We are extremely happy to see you enjoyed the tour, the driving services and your Rome experience. We wish to see you soon in Rome again!
Our tour guide Manuela was Awesome!!!
Mandy_B, July 2022
Manuela , our tour guide was incredible, smart, super informative, passionate about her job and kept my boys (7 year old twins and 12 year old) engaged and interested. Highly recommend her for this private tour!!
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you soo much Mandy for your review! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with Manuela and that the kids were well engaged throughout. You can always contact us back if you happen to come back to Rome! Grazie for choosing Eyes of Rome
Fascinating time at St Peter’s Basilica
Neil_L, July 2022
We loved the whole tour however St Peter’s was very special. Michaela was very informative gave us time to ask questions as well as take photo ops.
Response from Host, July 2022
Dear Neil, Many thanks for taking the time to rate your tour with Eyes of Rome! We are happy your Vatican experience was memorable and that Michela met your expectation. We wish to see you in Rome again soon! Grazie Michela and the Eyes of Rome team
Bad. Cancelled last minute.
Matthew_P, July 2022
The tour was cancelled in the middle of the night before the start date. We ended up having nothing planned for our last day in Rome. My family was very disappointed. I expected more consideration from Viator than just here’s your money back.
Response from Host, July 2022
Dear Matthew, First of all, we are extremely sorry for your disappointment. We completely understand that having a tour cancelled with short notice is as much dissatisfying for you as it is for us. As we explained when this occurred, the guide informed us of being Covid positive the evening before the tour. Our team has been working hard to find a substitute that unfortunately wasn't found. Therefore it was with great regret that we were to cancel the tour after a tough hunt. As per the official data, Covid infection cases are sharply raising up leading to the disruption of several services. Unfortunately, this bad disease is not over in our lives and beyond our control. We did as much as possible to save your experience and we are sorry we couldn't be of more assistance to you. Thank you for your understanding. Valentina Public Relation Manager Eyes of Rome
Not to be missed - request Marta!
Elizabeth_H, July 2022
Marta greeted us at our hotel and every moment was a joy. She was informative and had a great way of relaying it to the entire family. Tour was well planned and flowed nicely. Wasn’t too long and she always found a spot to stop and rest our son’s legs when he asked. She left us at a perfect gelato spot with a list of her favorite restaurants. Should we come back we would do this tour again without any doubt. Request Marta - we would have her for every tour if we could!
Response from Host, July 2022
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your review and for rating Marta's tour 5-stars! Marta and the Eyes of Rome team are very happy to learn you enjoyed the tour and we wish to see you soon again. A presto! Marta & Eyes of Rome
Private tour good the last minute time change was bad
Mary_C, June 2022
The guide was very good. A private tour is the way to go because of the personalized attention and he let us go to the papal tombs. The tour company pushed the time back by 30 min due to “COVID restrictions” and gave us notice the evening before the tour. When we arrived, the line was so long to get into the Basilica, it’s the first thing we wanted to do because we knew the line would be longer as the day went on. This made us need to skip the dome tour - which was a big reason we booked the tour. If the tour operator kept the original time, I think we would have been able to to see the dome. Very disappointing.
Response from Host, July 2022
Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback are hughly valued to us as we always seek to improve our services aiming to customers satisfaction. In your case, we are sorry to read your disappointment. Moving the tour earlier than planned was a new disposition from the Vatican for whcih we do not have control over. Your tour happened indeed during St.Peter's and Paul's holiday and the crowd was largeer than expected. In our opinion, if the tour wouldn't have anticipated by half an hour, the crowd would have been even bigger. We are delighted however, to see that you enjoyed your tour and time with your guide. We all hope Covid will soon be a memory for everyone and that it will not keep affecting our lives. Thank you for your understanding and we wish to see you again in Rome. Valentina and the Eyes of Rome Team

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Private Vatican Hidden Gems Tour


4 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 346.48
No Photo
Hidden Rome - Private Tour with Driver


6 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 297.75
No Photo
Rome: Guided Hidden Gems Private Walking Tour & Trastevere


3 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 465.58

Explore Similar Things to Do