Ticket for St Peter Basilica Dome with Digital Self-Guided Tour

Vatican City, Italy
St Peter Basilica Cupola Hosted Entry and Digital tour
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 31.38

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour
  • Pickup offered
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy the freedom to explore St Peter's Basilica, including the Cupola, at your own pace and on your own mobile device with this Wi-Fi audio-guided tour. First, climb the spiral staircase, admiring the intricate details of the Cupola, and then enjoy unparalleled views of Rome and Vatican City from the top. Then, use the access code and the basilica's Wi-Fi to download the audio guide to your phone or tablet and discover the history of the most important Catholic pilgrimage site.
  • Self-guided audio tour of St Peter's Basilica and Cupola
  • Take in the views of Rome and Vatican City from the top of the dome
  • Explore the famous church at your own pace, learning about its history at each point in the tour
  • Use the basilica's own Wi-Fi network to download the guide

What's Included

  • Entrance ticket to the Cupola of St. Peter's Basilica
  • Digital Audio-Guide Tour of the Basilica with fully narrated tour
  • Digital Audio guide of the Cupola
  • Assistance of the staff at the meeting point
  • Entrance ticket (the entrance in the Basilica is free)
  • Shuttle service to and from the Hotel
  • Live guide
  • Skip-the-line service

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup point

  • Borgo Santo Spirito, 17
    Borgo Santo Spirito, 17, 00193 Roma RM, Italy

Pickup details

Meet your guide at the bar " Al San Michele" (Borgo santo Spirito 17)

What To Expect

Immerse yourself in the history and art of St Peter's Basilica at your own pace with this Wi-Fi audio guide. Listen on your own mobile phone or tablet and see the church's exquisite attractions in any order you like.

First, meet at a central point and be escorted to the entrance of the Cupola, the dome of the famous basilica. Climb the spiral staircase, admiring the intricate details of the dome along the way, and be rewarded with panoramic views of Vatican City and Rome when you reach the top.

Then, using the access code, download the audio guide tour directly to your own mobile device using the basilica's Wi-Fi network. See the enormous Baldachin designed by Bernini, the bronze canopy over the high altar, where you'll learn about the martyrdom of St Peter and his burial location. Gaze at the splendor of Michelangelo's 'Pietà' sculpture, or the bronze of St Peter himself – note the one polished foot on the statue, rubbed by pilgrims over the centuries.

Start at any point in the church that you like, since you don't need to follow the order of a tour leader. Spend more time admiring things you want to see most and skip things you're not as interested in – it's all up to you.

Cupola di San Pietro

Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Entrance to the Vatican requires a strict dress code
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Meet a member of our staff at the bar "Al san Michele" (Borgo di Santo Spirito 17, 00193 Rome)
  • Shoulders and knees must be covered
  • Please note that this is not a guided tour, our staff will only escort you to the Cupola's entrance
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Please download the audio guide prior the visit by scanning the QR code on your voucher
  • Not recommended for people with heath conditions as there will be 300 steps to climb to the top of the Cupola

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips

It is worth it for fast entry as the line is long.
I recommend bringing your own earphones/earbuds and making sure they work with your phone.


448 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 448 reviews
Lot of steps to the top...
Heather_A, Sept 2023
Lot of steps to the top but well worth the view of Rome.. Stunning inside the dome too. Would definitely do it again.
Waste of time
Christofero_M, July 2023
Absolute waste of money. It’s only like €10/€12 euro to buy on the day and this was no quicker. Same amount of time waiting, actually would be quicker to not use this as it takes time to wait and the meeting point for the guide etc by then you could just go early and beat the crowd. Don’t recommend.
Cheated tour!
Elsa_C, July 2023
I arrived St Peter's Basilica at 7:15am, and was looking for the meeting point over 2 hours but still couldn't find the meeting point! There is no address of the meeting point on the voucher, and it is very confusing me, and there is no any sign of the tour guide. The tour guide asked me come back the next Monday but I am leaving the next day! Very disappointed with the terrible process! Please refund me!
Great experience ...
Marco_C, Mar 2023
Great experience Just remember to download the app to get the audio Otherwise would recommend and do again
This was an unfair sales!
Hans_M, Sept 2020
To date I have been a frequent user of your service in multiple countries. I thought those services were always correct though selling skip the line tickets when there isn’t a line and this seems to be the case for weeks now/ months gives me the feeling of being cheated. Don’t threat people like you don’t want to be threaten yourself.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Dear Judith, We are sorry you felt cheated. The fact that you did not find any line is something nobody could predict and usually in the summer months ( also in 2020 ) and especially for the COVID controls the lines were pretattica long By all means we do not like to have unhappy customers and we would appreciate you could send us an email in order to have a direct contact. We would like to have you as our guest for a guided tour of the Basilica next time you came to the Vatican City . Pls accept our apologies and best regards
Not great.
Emily_K, Aug 2020
When we arrived at St. Peter’s, the staff said that we could not use the ticket that I purchased on this website, despite the website stating that we would get early entry nor were we able to skip the line. We had to pay an additional free when we got there to get into the basilica as the tickets from this site were invalid and had to be purchased on the day at the ticket booth (where it is cheaper too).
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Dear Emily Pls accept our apologies for the late answer am for the problem you have reported I guess there was a miss understanding with the purchase We NEVER sold the slip the line entry to the Basilica with any other experience ( I think you also purchased the Vatican Museums ) . Pls trust us when we say that NO ticket booth sell tickets for the Basilica because the Basilica has No entrance fee (while instead the Vatican museums has) What we charge is an audio guide or a guide tour with the skip the line service to enter in the Basilica. Pls contact us on our website for more details Best regards
Could not get in touch.
George_H, May 2020
I received several emails from Viator with the option to cancel. When I went to it I got an error message everytime. I cruise and trip was cancelled 2 months ago
Response from Host, July 2020
We are very sorry for what you explain. We will do whatever it takes to give you satisfaction. Pls let us know (write to us) if we could do more. Just for your information we aare not responsable for the refunds of Viator and if asked we are more then happy to reimbourse.
St. Peter’s basilica
sue_p, Feb 2020
The skip the line went fast and easy. We saved a lot of time entering the basilica and the audioguide was excellent
Waste of money
Nicole_D, Feb 2020
Tickets were not checked. They weren’t even needed. This was a waste of money. The church was beautiful but didn’t need to pay for this.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Dear Guest We are realy sorry you did not use our preffered line and the audioguide for the Basilica. In order to have the reserved line we must scan the voucher and authorize the code for the audioguided tour. Pls write an email using our website and we will try to clear your issue. Again our apoligies for whaat you are describing. Best regards
Jack_R, Dec 2019
My recorder didn't work; in spite of instructions, hard to find where to pick up the recorders, and confusing where to return them. The employees were friendly when we located them.
Wayne_C, Nov 2019
Definitely worth buying this one. We chose the 8.45am entrance time and there was already a long queue. We found the rep and just walked straight in after security.
ellen672, Oct 2019
I paid for a self guided audio tour of the Basilica. We only wanted to see the inside of the Cathedral. I ordered and paid for the tickets from my phone for a 1:00 viewing time. We got there early around 11:00 and were pleasantly surprised that they let us go right in 2 hours early. That was great and we literally went right to the front of the line. There was no waiting at all!
Easy access to St. Peter’s
memshaker, Oct 2019
Got our tickets-went right through security and into the Basilica. Lines we’re already part way around the square when we got there at 9:45, so it was worth it to pay for the skip the line.
The vest way to enter by far!
drbob711, Oct 2019
It was so easy tidbits the company representative and simply walk right into the Basilica. Highly recommend this company.
Worth the price to skip the long line
Anne_C, Oct 2019
This was a good decision for us only because it allowed us quick entry and access to an app for the audio tour in the cathedral. There was no personal interaction with any guides, which was fine with us as we had visited before.
Excellent option for a number of reasons
DreamReal, Oct 2019
We did some other tours of tourist destinations in Rome using tour guides, but this one we decided to do as a self-guided tour so that we could spend time in the Basilica and do it at our own pace, whilst still being educated as to the symbolic meanings and reasons behind the beautiful art work and sculptures. It also promised us that we would be able to skip the line. Well, we arrived early in the morning (08h15) and the queues were already hectic. We were worried that we would not be able to find the Viator people as there had been some negative comments about this recently. But we followed the pictures and the written directions and they were exactly where they said they would be. We literally were pushed into the very front of the queue (much to the horror of those in the queue) and straight through the security bag check. The download of the audio was a little slow, but the team were helpful and kind. From there on, it was A for away. Perfect sound, good information and a great 4 hours spent walking around the Basilica. Awesome experience. I have used Viator in the past in the USA and I will use them all over the world, again and again.
One of the most beautiful places on Earth
John P, Oct 2019
What can you say about St Peter's? It is breathtakingly beautiful! This was my third visit and it still awes me. Unfortunately, on the day of our visit, large portions of the interior of the Basilica were blocked off in preparation for a Papal event later that day, but it was still more than worth visiting. The no-wait tickets got us right in without standing in the hours-long line otherwise. Highly recommend you visit St Peter's if you're anywhere near Rome.
Skip-the-Line Great, App Not So Great
Ian_T, Oct 2019
Skipping the line worked really well and saved loads of time. Downloading and using the guide app was a bit fiddly and took a while for our group. The level of detail provided was far too much for those of us with limited attention spans! The app would benefit from having a ‘Top Ten Highlights’ feature.
Easy access, very good audio tour
Dreamer321281, Oct 2019
We purchased the self-guided tour for St. Peter's Basilica just hours before our scheduled time. There was no difficulty finding the tour representatives, they were where they said they would be: right side of the square between the pillars and just before security. We were given stickers to wear and Vatican security accepted us immediately. We were helped with audio setup on our phones just outside entry doors to the church. This involved installing the app and getting WIFI access. We had a little trouble getting sound, but the problem was my phone case prevented the plug from seating properly - pushing in harder solved the problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful with technical problems, knowledgeable about different phones and situations. I recommend bringing your own earphones/earbuds and making sure they work with your phone. My Pixel phone only has a USB-C jack so I needed an adapter to connect an audio plug for earbuds. I purchased one beforehand, I doubt that the tour company could provide this. The audio tour is very useful to learn the significance of the various side chapels and statues. But ultimately I just took advantage of the time to soak in this magnificent cathedral.
CarmenLucia_B, Oct 2019
It was very convenient. When we arrived the staff was waiting for us. We were satisfied with the service.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Ticket for St Peter Basilica Dome with Digital Self-Guided Tour


1 hour
Free Cancellation
USD 31.38
No Photo
Guided Tour St. Peter's Basilica and Dome


2 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 44.37

Explore Similar Things to Do