Venice Independent Day Trip from Rome by High-Speed Train

Roma, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 301.47

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 15 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Take this independent day trip to Venice from Rome for a chance to wander the city’s maze of alleyways, visit St Mark’s Square and float down the famous canals by water bus. You’ll travel from Rome to Venice by train, arriving in just 3.5 hours to explore the city however you wish. Get to St. Mark’s Square, turn left and breathe in the magnificence of the western façade of St. Mark's Basilica. From St. Mark's Square, take the opportunity to go shopping or to sip a good Italian coffee in one of the historic venues in the center, to get lost in this romantic alleys labyrinth. A vaporetto pass for the city’s water bus is included so you can make the most of your time in Venice before returning to Rome on the train.
  • Independent day trip to Venice from Rome with round-trip train transport
  • Explore independently and discover top Venice attractions such as Doge’s Palace at your own pace
  • Make your way around the city with ease by using a vaporetto ticket

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Visit Venice from Rome in 1 day by train with a water bus pass.

What's Included

  • High-speed train round-trip from Rome
  • Waterbus one-way ticket
  • Tour leader for the whole length of the trip
  • Aperitivo Veneziano (Spritz and crostino slices of toasted bread with different toppings)
  • Headsets
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Via Marsala, 46
    Via Marsala, 46, 00185 Roma RM, Italy

    Meeting Point 07.00 at Via Marsala in front of the Bar Caffè Trombetta (Via Marsala, 46/48) Address: Via Marsala, 46/48

Start time

07:30 am

End point

  • Roma Termini
    Via Giovanni Giolitti, 40, 00185 Rome, RM, Italy

    Return point: Concludes at Termini Station in Rome at approximately 10:00 PM

What To Expect

Canal Grande

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Piazza San Marco

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Ponte dei Sospiri

35 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Doge's Palace

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
Operated by Gray Line I Love Rome by Carrani Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
First time in Venice. What a beautiful city! Our tour guide Rossalia was wonderful and knowledgeable. She helped us arrange a gondola ride, which was unforgettable! Highly recommended this tour!! Very, very impressed with Viatour.


213 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 213 reviews
A Well Managed and Pleasurable Trip
Krishna_N, May 2023
This is extremely well managed trip. Valentina, the guide was super nice and knowledgeable. I spite of a large group of 38 people, she made everyone feel special made sure that everyone is comfortable and enjoyed the trip.
Not worth the money!
Cathy, May 2023
The guide was separate from us in the train, we weren't sure where to get off. Upon arrival, she left us and we didn't have guided anything. Upon arrival at the meeting site to return, she was late and ot answering her phone, the train was canceled, and we were all panicked. We caught a late train. Took 5 hours to get there and 5 hours back. Horrible day!
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Cathy, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience with our tour. We sincerely apologize for the negative aspects you encountered during your trip to Venice. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the separation between the guide and your group on the train, as well as the lack of guidance upon arrival. This is not the level of service we strive to provide, and we apologize for failing to meet your expectations in this regard. Furthermore, we apologize for the guide's late arrival and unresponsiveness to phone calls, which only added to the stress and panic you experienced. We understand how frustrating and unsettling this must have been for you and the rest of the group. Regarding the train cancellation, we acknowledge the impact it had on your day and the extended travel time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and any distress caused as a result. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve our services and ensure a smoother and more enjoyable experience for our future customers. Your comments will be shared with our team to address the issues you raised and implement appropriate measures to prevent similar occurrences in the future. Kind regards, Gray Line Rome Reviews Team
Excellent experience
anna_r, May 2023
I highly recommend this tour. The meeting place was easy to find and our tour guide Valentina was smart and funny. She took excellent care of the group showing us around Venice, gave us shopping advice and pointed out points of interest along the tour. Our train home was canceled but Valentina quickly addressed the situation and made sure we were on the next train. I felt safe at all times and enjoyed the tour immensely.
Venice old world charm
Michael_C, May 2023
We took the high speed train and it is just like airplane seats. It is a long ride 5 hours each way so it is something to consider. Our guide was good but really walked so fast it was difficult to get pictures at times. The Gondolas made it worth the trip....
A must to do on your trip to Italy!
Theresa_L, May 2023
Tour guide was Valintina, she was amazing, we stayed with her from start to finish. Had aa amazing experience!
Deanna_M, May 2023
This was my most expensive excursion and the one I was most looking forward to however, it was not what I expected at all! I basically paid $600 for two train tickets and 2 Preseco as we got lost and spent hours trying to work our way back to the meeting point, so never got to ride the water taxi, gondola, shop…etc. Our guide basically walked us down the main path, told us her favorite places to eat, places to avoid, best place to get a gondola ride (which we could never find again) and stated that it was easy to navigate back to the meeting point, which was absolutely not true! We found out that several other couples got lost as well! She was receptive when I reached out to her and told her we were lost and gave me an address, which I was able to use to get us back to where we needed to be, but I could not find this address on any of the paperwork given! Had it been included, perhaps we would have been able to enjoy our time in Venice and not be panicked that we were going to miss the train because we were lost for so long! Also a tour to me, means including historical information/landmarks and if this was included, it was either mentioned so briefly and quickly, that it was not picked up! We had 3 other excursions and they were absolutely fabulous, so this was beyond disappointing to me!
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Deanna, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent excursion with us. We are truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, especially considering your anticipation and the investment you made for this particular trip. We apologize for the challenges you faced in finding your way back to the meeting point, resulting in a missed opportunity to ride the water taxi, gondola, and enjoy the shopping experience in Venice. It is disheartening to hear that you spent hours trying to navigate and ultimately got lost. We understand the frustration and disappointment this must have caused. We also apologize for any confusion regarding the directions provided. It is our aim to ensure clear and accurate information is provided to our customers, including any necessary addresses. We regret any inconvenience caused by the absence of the address on the paperwork provided. Your feedback highlights an area for improvement, and we will review our processes to ensure better communication and inclusion of essential details in the future. We understand that a comprehensive and informative experience is essential, and we regret if this aspect fell short of your expectations. Your redflag will be shared with our guide to address these concerns and enhance the quality of our tours. In a few words, we take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve our services and ensure a more enjoyable and seamless experience for our future customers. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with an exceptional experience on a future excursion. Warm regards, Gray Line Rome Reviews Team
Hopeton_S, May 2023
None. I wish we had more of a guided tour. I could have gotten my train ticket and do some internet searching and got the same for half the price.
Very limited time in Venice for so much travel time ... not worth it!
Peter_R, May 2023
Group too big, multi-languages confusing and an imposition/annoyance. Venice is difficult to 'navigate' (even for Italians) and so lot of focus spent on watching the clock.
Great day in Venice
Robin_B, May 2023
Amazing things to see in Venice, enjoyed the gondola ride. We did sign up for an English speaking tour, our guide said everything in English and in Spanish. This made it hard to follow sometimes. Antonella was an exceptional guide.
Terry, May 2023
Overall the trip was great - only negativity I have is I think the tour company should reach out the night before with details on the time to meet for the tour and I also was not happy initially with our tour guide that morning.
Train was delayed couple...
Joe_J, Apr 2023
Train was delayed couple hours due to unexpected accident. We asked the trip to be refunded. There would not be enough time to be in Venice.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Joe, sorry to read about this force majeure incident! We usually do not refund tours when a train has a delay but if you have already sent an email to our Customer Service, just let us know - we will look into it and speed up the a responde on their part. Best regards, Gray Line Rome
Lost in Venice!
Julie_W, Mar 2023
Venice was a lot bigger than I expected. Tour company was fabulous in insuring every detail. We did get lost in Venice which is to be expected.
Good guide. Included...
mark_d, Mar 2023
Good guide. Included restaurant stop… the food was poor quality. Choose a better place. Thanks for sending a survey.
If you can navigate the easy train system, do that instead.
Jenna_A, Mar 2023
If you know how to use the train system (which is incredibly easy to figure out), then this booking won’t be necessary. We learned how to use it for an earlier day trip and I regret not canceling this one to schedule the tickets myself. It would’ve saved us hundreds. Train tickets are expensive, but then you have the freedom to leave and return when you want and not wait for participants who don’t respect other’s time. The “tour” guide was kind and made sure everyone was taken care of but it wasn’t exactly a tour.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Jenna, we appreciate your feedback! Traveling alone has its pros and cons, just like traveling on an escorted tour! We are glad you found our tour leader kind and organized, on the other hand we're sorry other participants weren't so respectful. Believe us when we say that our tour is value for money because of the many promotions we get from the train company (seats always guaranteed) and because costs are better shared in a group. This said, thanks for expressing your concerns, they will be taken into account! Best regards, Gray Line Rome
Loved our time in Venice!
Shea_B, Mar 2023
We loved this tour! Rosella was our guide and she was amazing - after the train ride to Venice, the tour started with a guided walk through several different areas where she told us interesting information and allowed us to take pictures as we went. After about an hour and a half, the guided portion of the tour ended at St. Mark's Square. We then had free time to explore. On Rosella's recommendation, we went up in the Bell Tower for a great view of the whole area. It was definitely worth the 10euro/pp to go up. We decided to use the rest of our time taking a gondola ride (80euro/cash only) and wandering through all the charming streets and shops. At the end of the day, the tour included a drink and appetizer plate (3 pieces of bruschetta with various toppings) that we took advantage of before heading back to the train station. Rosella also had told everyone there was a grocery store to pick up any items we might want for the train ride back - and I'm so glad she did. Our train ended up being delayed for 2 hours because of an accident, but luckily we had purchased some items for dinner. For those that did not though, there was a cafe car on the train where you could purchase small food and drink items. We finally arrived back in Rome close to midnight and Rosella made sure to walk everyone to the taxi stand and make sure we all got safely on our way back to our hotels. Long day, but a great taste of what Venice has to offer if you only have one day to go and explore. Highly recommend this tour!
Venice Day Trip
Robin_P, Mar 2023
High speed train made the roundtrip from Rome easy. Guide was wonderful, very attentive to any need. Tour allowed enough time to explore the city. Would highly recommend!
Gondola ride
Ray_T, Feb 2023
Was a fun trip. Gondola ride is a must. Its $80 to ride fir like 25 minutes , lots of stores to shop at
Perfect Honeymoon
John_M, Feb 2023
Rossella was great! Definitely recommend! She was so knowledgeable and made sure that we had no problems finding our way around when we were on our on in Venice.
Great moments
VICTOR_B, Feb 2023
Ms. Rossella was our leader ( guided) is a great person explain us step by step everything in our languages, thanks for great moments expended with my wife
New friends and Gondolas!
Pri_D, Dec 2022
This tour was one of my favorites from our trip(honeymoon). Our tour guide was Antonella. She was really personable and helpful trying to help us all get water boots for a reasonable price. Venice had so many shops and things to see. My husband and I rode the Gondola with two other group members from the tour. It was nice meeting new friends and getting to experience a once in a lifetime adventure like we did in Venice.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Venice Independent Day Trip from Rome by High-Speed Train


15 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 301.47
No Photo
Florence Day Trip from Rome by High-Speed Train


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 243.74
No Photo
Venice Day Trip by Train from Rome - Private tour


12 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 489.80